A very minor and silly one, given that Mayo aren't a big team. But imagine, for a moment, the blow that could be struck for liberty if the Greatest Team of All Time chose to take a stand! And on their home ground at that, this nonsense about Parnell being just that, nonsense, Jim Gavin needs to get the whole panel onto the pitch at Croker at 7, half the squad at either goalmouth and Dermo (who has been flown back specially) alone and bare-chested in midfield like a Marianne type figure. What a glorious statement that would be (and good craic too). C'mon the Dubs - you can make a difference! timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 26/06/2018 12:28:41 2115310 Link 1 |
Very poor statement from Ned Quinn suggesting now that potential crowd trouble was a factor in the decision. Pretty sure if I was a Kildare supporter i would be fairly teed off with this insinuation. ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 26/06/2018 12:30:14 2115314 Link 2 |
Perhaps if you read the statement from the Kildare Co Board you might have a different view, where it states that the Gardaí backed the fixture going ahead and that criteria was already in place, passed by the National Facilities/Health and safety Committee, that was going to be adhered to. There was no other reason other than financial (whether that be sky or capacity related) for that game to be re-fixed. Fixed being the operative word here
mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2018 12:30:26 2115315 Link 0 |
Just for the sake of argument, Mayo decide, for some strange reason to show up in Newbridge on Saturday evening what will be the likely outcome! The best thing that can happen is the one milliion to one chance that the game will actually go ahead with half the nine thousand Mayo supporters who turned up in Thurles last weekend being unable to get in. The worst that can happen is that we are fined heavily and thrown out of the championship. Hardly a win, win situation now is it.
Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 26/06/2018 12:33:01 2115318 Link 0 |
Health and safety my eye. There's even an attempt to link it to an avoidance of potential crowd trouble this morning, which is a total disingenuous load of nonsense. Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 534 - 26/06/2018 12:34:05 2115319 Link 5 |
I think what's being referred to is the situation where Mayo (and I think all the other Connacht counties) nearly always have to play Munster opposition in Munster in situations where a neutral venue is specified. This happens at every level and is an absolutely consistent obligation when it comes to Kerry or Cork, the most significant being the 2014 AI semi-final replay. I'm just hoping that sense will prevail somewhere... my preference is for Newbridge because that's what the draw handed us. I've a lot of sympathy for the players in both camps and a lot of time for Cian O'Neill.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/06/2018 12:36:15 2115320 Link 0 |
The may move the sold out Munster final to Croker then so.
joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 230 - 26/06/2018 12:40:07 2115321 Link 1 |
Well I wouldn't want to see Kildare thrown out over this.. that 100% hopefully won't happen jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/06/2018 12:45:22 2115325 Link 1 |
Bottom line the ground is not fit to hold a match of this size, Kildare opted years ago to develop a centre of excellence rather than upgrade their county ground. No sympathy for them at all they are quite selective as to who they allow use their centre of excellence. It is not fair on Mayo fans sorry you can't all go to the match in the super 8 series because we are going to hold the game in a rubbish ground. Nothing to do with crowd trouble, H&S, fire regulations etc etc its to do with spectacle and generating interest and finances to enable the GAA to function. The GAA can't back down it will cost a fortune to host the game in that ground. On these pages we have had many posters complaining about GAA not doing enough to promote the games to enable it to compete as a spectacle with other sports and what to the bally-go-backwards crowd want - yeah I give you St Conlaiths....its a spectacle all right and unholy how of one, the latest i heard on radio yeah we upgraded the jacks - for god sake the toilets!!
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 26/06/2018 12:48:50 2115328 Link 1 |
Fergal McGill was at the draw yesterday morning. It was clearly stated a number of times that first team drawn had Home advantage. McGill said nothing to contradict this. A few hours later he is saying Kildare have no choice but to abide by Croke Parks dictat. So what happenned in the intervening few hours? Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 26/06/2018 12:50:36 2115330 Link 1 |
"People are eager to see their own county playing championship and it was a possibility that people would turn up seeking to get admission to try and buy tickets outside the ground despite knowing that tickets weren't available," If an all ticket match is announced as being sold out a few days before it's due to take place how many fans would still make the trip? I can't imagine many Mayo fans would be foolish enough to travel 5 hours knowing there's a strong chance they won't get close to a ticket outside the ground. "The risk would be that people would get involved with other spectators, that's the risk. "I wouldn't call it crowd trouble but there could be animosity shown to people who had tickets and they couldn't get them, claiming they were regular supporters of Kildare." There shouldn't be any difference between an all ticket match in Newbridge, Thurles, Ennis, Rosscommon, Ballyshannon or Croke Park. Where was the concern for tickets holders at any previous all ticket game? if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 26/06/2018 12:57:46 2115333 Link 1 |
Well said , and you're spot on.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/06/2018 12:59:26 2115335 Link 3 |
It's not a Super 8 match ! You seem to be obsessed with thinking it is as you've mentioned it so many times. Amazing how you fail to answer any questions put to you in this thread instead you prefer to wade in every now & again just repeating the same stuff and then back out. Classy.
KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 26/06/2018 13:02:09 2115339 Link 1 |
My intention is never to attack anyone personally of their opinions. The basic point is in my view. That because of the rules of the competition, as soon as Kildare, or anyone else, came out of the hat first then it was automatically a home fixture. Newbridge. What the CCCC essentially did was re-fix the match, that is the point some are missing. The fixture was not open to re-fixing, unless say on the grounds that you rightly pointed out previously. However. Newbridge had been passed fit to play by the Gardaí and previously by the Health and Safety committee as long as certain criteria was adhered to. mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 26/06/2018 13:08:16 2115341 Link 0 |
Mayo county board did not urge Mayo fans to buy tickets..typical rubbish from a roscommon fan. The vast majority of Mayo fans have said Kildare should get their home game...but with tomorrow midweek, some clarity is needed now fast as it's unfair on both sets of fans and teams.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11567 - 26/06/2018 13:09:24 2115344 Link 1 |
Kildare might find it difficult to cross the red line and might be ejected from c'ship, but they are 100% correct and FairPlay to them. Max capacity in Kildare is circa 8500? Wow, that is the bigger issue. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 26/06/2018 13:09:45 2115345 Link 0 |
Kildare are 100% right on this hopefully they will see it out and hold up the championship. This will teach those in their ivory towers a painful lesson
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1702 - 26/06/2018 13:09:54 2115346 Link 0 |
I doubt Mayo had much of a say in this decision and to be fair their priority to trying to get through the tie. Whilst there may or may not be sympathy in Mayo for Kildare's situation, Mayo of all counties are very focused on success. They will do what the GAA tell them and in no way get involved in the politics of this debacle. Privately though of course Mayo will be delighted at not having to play in Newbridge but that doesn't mean they asked for it to be moved. If you look at another forum I called this soon after the draw was made prior to the decision being announced. Cavan do not have Breffi Park available - they along with Tyrone, Mayo and Kildare have a huge following. When you thought it out and know the history of the GAA, added to the fact Croke Park was available this was always going to be moved to Croke Park. The GAA were quick to ask Kildare for an alternative as they did Cavan. Cavan provided Enniskillen but that alternative was ignored for Croke Park. I suspect if Kildare had of given an alternative, the GAA would have said there was agreement to move it from Newbridge from Kildare CB so why not have it in Croke Park!? The fact Kildare refused did not matter as I suspect minds were made up to use Croke Park. Your correct to question the CCCC's decision, I agree somebody may have stepped in from another depaerment - it may have been a simple comment that Croke Park is free on Saturday. I don't think Sky or the Mayo County Board had a say - I doubt Sky would have a problem broadcasting from two different venues. sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 26/06/2018 13:10:52 2115348 Link 0 |
Super piece here in the Independent on the matter by Ewan MacKenna: Andy (Laois) - Posts: 371 - 26/06/2018 13:14:12 2115351 Link 0 |
If Croke Park attempt to bully Kildare and threaten them with expulsions etc then county and club players across the island, in both codes, should simply refuse to play. This is a chance for the grassroots to show their strength and send a clear message to the GAA. Many of us have had our fill of this hectoring and dictatorship from Croke Park. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 26/06/2018 13:16:29 2115357 Link 1 |