All-Ireland MFC down to last four while Down claim Tier 3 crown

June 08, 2024

Armagh's Shea Loughran and Conall Wilson celebrate a goal against Longford ©INPHO/Leah Scholes

The 2024 All-Ireland minor football championship is down to its last four stage following today’s results in Cavan and Ennis.

Kerry were in impressive form as they handed Roscommon a 3-18 to 2-3 defeat at Cusack Park, where their goals came from Joey McCarthy and Ryan O’Driscoll (2).

Connacht champions Mayo also had a handsome victory at the Ennis venue earlier in the day when they saw off Cork by 3-14 to 0-6.

The Westerners bagged first-half goals via Oisin Deane and Kobe McDonald to move towards a 2-8 to 0-3 interval lead, and Deane would bag his second major 10 minutes from the finish as the won out by 17 points in the end.

Derry's Dara McGuckin tackles Josh Kennedy of Dublin ©INPHO/Leah Scholes

At Kingspan Breffni, Derry showed Dublin the exit door with a 0-18 to 2-10 victory, with Turlough McHugh, Eamon Young and James Sargent all landing four points each for the Ulster champions, while Armagh proved too strong for Longford (1-16 to 1-3) at the Cavan Town venue.

The semi-final pairings in the race for the Tom Markham Cup now see Derry up against Kerry and Mayo facing Armagh on the weekend of June 22/23.

Elsewhere, Cavan will play Kildare in the All-Ireland MFC Tier 2 final after the Breffni lads edged out Tyrone by 0-16 to 1-10 in Clones, where the Lilywhites were also victorious over Donegal on a 3-12 to 1-13 scoreline.

This evening also saw Down clinch the All-Ireland minor football championship Tier 3 title thanks to a thrilling 4-13 to 1-17 win over Westmeath.

After having fallen 0-7 to 0-2 behind in the opening quarter of an hour at Kingspan Breffni, the Mourne County banged in goals from Daire O’Brien, Barra McEvoy (2) and Paul McGovern (penalty) to take home the silverware.

Most Read Stories