Burns' time has come

February 23, 2024

Newly elected GAA President Jarlath Burns is congratulated on his election by his sons Jarlath Og Burns and Conall Burns ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Jarlath Burns will become the 41st GAA president in Newry tomorrow.

The former Armagh midfielder and Ulster SFC-winning captain will succeed Larry McCarthy at the GAA’s annual congress in the Canal Court Hotel. Burns has been president-elect for the past 12 months following an emphatic victory at the second time of asking.

As well as playing senior football with Armagh for 13 seasons, the Silverbridge clubman has served a variety of administrative roles at local and national level. He was chair of the inaugural Players’ Committee in 2000 and also chaired the GAA’s 125th anniversary committee in 2009 and Scór Naisiúnta.

The secondary school teacher has served as Armagh’s Central Council delegate as well as sitting on the GAA’s Medical and Scientific Committee and Pitch Presentation group, and the Standing Committee on Playing Rules.

He is the first person from the Six Counties to hold the presidency since Fermanagh’s Peter Quinn in 1991-94.

Most Read Stories