On this day 10 years ago…

September 23, 2022

Donegal's Colm McFadden celebrates his goal against Mayo in the 2012 All-Ireland SFC final ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Today marks the 10th anniversary of Donegal’s famous All-Ireland SFC final victory over Mayo.

Jim McGuinness ran the rule over the Tir Chonaill men as their remarkable season ended with a 2-11 to 0-13 win against the Connacht champions at Croke Park.

Donegal never looked back once captain Michael Murphy took Karl Lacey’s superb pass on to the edge of the square and rifled to the roof of Mayo's net three minutes in at headquarters.

Colm McFadden provided the Ulster champions’ second goal less than 10 minutes later and the rest was history, as a second All-Ireland success was secured for the Tir Chonaill County – 10 years on from its first in 1992 when they triumphed over Dublin.

Murphy was named ‘Man of the Match’ for his performance, with McFadden finishing the competition’s top-scorer (4-32) and centre-back Lacey winning the 2012 ‘Footballer of the Year’.

Most Read Stories