St Faithleach's, Clonbullogue and Gneeveguilla claim provincial football glory

January 15, 2022

Roscommon champions St Faithleach's were crowned Connacht club IFC winners in Salthill

There was more provincial club success for Roscommon this afternoon as St Faithleach’s defeated Galway’s Naomh Anna Leitir Móir to claim Connacht intermediate football championship glory in Salthill.

It finished 2-14 to 2-12 at Pearse Stadium, where both teams served up a cracking decider and, in the end, it was a goal from defender Mickey Fox at the end of extra time which handed St Faithleach’s the title.

Both teams had chances to win the game in second-half injury-time, it was Diarmuid Murtagh’s point in the 58th minute which ended up forcing extra time for the Roscommon men with the scoreboard at full-time reading 1-12 to 2-9.

Murtagh’s point would also see St Faithleach’s lead at the halfway stage in extra time, but Naomh Anna looked to have their name on the cup when Myles Seoige’s put them ahead in the dying stages only for Fox to break their hearts.

In Newbridge, Offaly’s Clonbullogue made their goals count in a 5-3 to 1-10 victory over Kilcullen of Kildare to clinch the Leinster club junior football championship title.

The winners had only struck goals during the first-half but it was enough to see them lead by 3-0 to 1-4 at the break.

The second-half saw the Kildare men throw everything at their opponents but it was goals from Joe Foran and Jamie Guing that sealed the title for Clonbullogue.

Down in Mallow, another Kerry side collected the Munster club junior football championship title after Gneeveguilla eased to a 4-18 to 1-6 win over Tipperary’s Ballina.

Goals from Shane O’Sullivan and John O’Leary cruised the men from the Kingdom towards a commanding 2-9 to 1-4 lead at the break and they’d bag more majors via O’Sullivan and Con Buckley to record the 21-point victory.

Most Read Stories