2022 hurling championship draws pit Shefflin's Galway against Cats on May Bank Holiday weekend

November 27, 2021

Brian Cody and Henry Shefflin celebrate Kilkenny's All-Ireland SHC success in 2012

New Galway manager Henry Shefflin is set to come up against Brian Cody's Kilkenny on the May Bank Holiday weekend after the fixtures for the 2022 Leinster senior hurling championship were revealed this afternoon.

Shefflin’s charges will start with by visiting Wexford on April 16/17 before hosting Westmeath (April 23/24) and his native Kilkenny on April 30th/May 1. Then it’s a trip to Laois before finishing off the eastern province’s group stage at home to Dublin on May 21/22.

Defending champions Kilkenny open their title defence away to Westmeath while Dublin take on Laois, with the competition’s final pencilled in for June 5.

The Munster senior hurling championship draw sees All-Ireland champions Limerick up against Cork in a repeat of this year’s Liam McCarthy Cup decider.

The Rebels will have home advantage over Treaty men in Round 1, as will Waterford against Tipperary on opening weekend.

Clare have a bye week in Round 1 before beginning their provincial campaign with a trip to Tipperary in the second round.

The dates for the Munster SHC fixtures have yet to be confirmed.

2022 Leinster SHC draw

Round 1 (16/17 April)

Dublin v Laois; Wexford v Galway; Westmeath v Kilkenny

Round 2 (23/24 April)

Kilkenny v Laois; Wexford v Dublin; Galway v Westmeath

Round 3 (30 April/1 May)

Laois v Wexford; Galway v Kilkenny; Westmeath v Dublin

Round 5 (14/15 May)

Dublin v Kilkenny; Laois v Galway; Westmeath v Wexford

Round 5 (21/22 May)

Kilkenny v Wexford; Galway v Dublin; Laois v Westmeath


2022 Munster SHC draw

Round 1

Cork v Limerick; Waterford v Tipperary

Round 2               

Limerick v Waterford; Tipperary v Clare

Round 3

Clare v Limerick; Waterford v Cork

Round 4

Cork v Clare; Limerick v Tipperary

Round 5

Tipperary v Cork; Clare v Waterford

Most Read Stories