FL1: Magnificent Mayo maul Galway

October 18, 2020

Mayo's Tommy Conroy and Cillian McDaid of Galway. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Mayo 3-23

Galway 0-17

Mayo produced a sensational first half performance as they routed arch-rivals Galway by 15 points in Tuam.

Debutant Mark Moran and Paddy Durcan both found the net as James Horan's wind-assisted side built up an unassailable 2-17 to 0-7 half-time lead. Galway, who had been flying high in Division 1 of the Allianz League prior to lockdown, were shell-shocked and their misery was compounded by injuries to Damien Comer and Johnny Duane inside the first 10 minutes.

With Aidan O'Shea making his presence felt on the edge of the square and Tommy Conroy and Cillian O'Connor in fine scoring form, Mayo opened up a 0-5 to 0-1 lead before the excellent Moran raised the game's first green flag in the 12th minute. A pair of Paul Conroy points narrowed the deficit before Mayo completely took over.

They led by 1-10 to 0-7 before rattling off 1-7 without reply, with Durcan's 28th minute goal coming in the middle of an incredible scoring burst.

Galway's Johnny Heaney and Mark Moran of Mayo shake hands. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

It was a case of damage limitation for the Tribesmen after they restart when scores from Robert Finnerty (two), Cillian McDaid and substitute Adrian Varley helped them to make some inroads into the visitors' huge advantage. But Mayo remained in total control as Conor Loftus' 53rd minute goal capped a stunning performance with the championship - COVID-19 permitting - just around the corner.

Cillian O'Connor led the winners' scoring charge with 0-10 (0-8 from frees), with Moran, Durcan and Loftus bagging 1-2 apiece.

Mayo - D Clarke; O Mullin, D McBrien, L Keegan; P Durcan (1-2), S Coen (0-1m), E McLaughlin; M Ruane, C Loftus (1-2, 0-1m); F McDonagh, M Moran (1-2), D O’Connor; T Conroy (0-3), A O’Shea (0-3), C O’Connor (0-10, 8f). Subs: B Walsh for F McDonagh, P O’Hora for D McBrien, R O’Donoghue for D O’Connor, D Coen for C O’Connor, J Flynn for M Ruane.

Galway - C Gleeson; C Campbell, S A Ceallaigh, J Heaney; L Silke (0-2), J Duane, C McDaid (0-1); C Darcy (0-1), J Maher; E Brannigan, D Comer, J Leonard; R Finnerty (0-7, 6f), P Conroy (0-3), I Burke. Subs: M Daly for D Comer, G O’Donnell (0-1) for J Duane, A Varley (0-1) for E Brannigan, T Flynn for J Maher, M Barrett (0-1) for C Darcy.

Referee - M Deegan.

Most Read Stories