Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from Shelbourne1

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Terrible stuff to watch last nite. As for Sunday, let's be realistic about the quality and interest of the team we struggled in the end to beat."
Under 20s weren't going to achieve this year. Mark Counihan & his staff who brought these players at minor level to Ulster titles wanted to stay with them & manage under 30s thus year. But Banty stepped in & insisted his man McCague had to be appointed instead. This is common knowledge throughout the county & yet another example of Banty making a 'hames' of Monaghan football. Remember it was Banty & his man McCague who, just a few years ago, suffered another humiliating defeat to another poor Cavan side at this level. How long can this go on for ? Meanwhile Counihan & his coaches thankfully are still doing a great job this year with our minors even though they could have walked away in disgust. Every year they prove themselves. Banty is ruining Monaghan football at ALL LEVELS !

Shelbourne1 (National) - 02/04/2022 13:59:29

Division 1 - 2019 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To kupa:  "3 balls fumbled inside when played into him. He scored a great goal .. won a free. The set up for the goal you can't count"
Idiotic points........the whole country sees him as a class act following that smashing debut...except you that is ! Responsible for 2-1 on his debut against the AI champions !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 31/01/2019 16:27:00

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To mick2007:  "Shocking result and performance.. I sadly feel this is the end of an era for this current Monaghan team..imagine what a Donegal or full strength Tyrone side would do to us.. flogging the same core of players year in year out in the league came back to haunt us today, ran out of steam and no strength in depth.. I have Said on here numerous times there is an unhealthy obsession with playing division 1 football.. fact of the Matter is given the small squad and age profile of our elder statesmen division 2 would be a much better place for us to rest players and rebuild... Regarding John McEntee he knows exactly why he "suddenly" dropped out of the race to become manager last year and it had nothing to do with his weak back room team.. Banty is what Banty is... he described a 4 point last year as embarrassing Which he thought was going to set him up as the messiah today with beating Cavan but it sadly back fired.."
Agree totally. We're in a straight jacket selection wise with our obsession for staying in division 1. The league is for trying out new players but we feel we cant afford to do that & stay up. Its all about the championship & the league is simply preparation for it. We won an Ulster title from division 3 remember. Anyway latest wisdom from Banty acoording to hi after match comments on Hogan Stand. "McEnaney disputed the notion that Monaghan had engaged in keep-ball tactics too early in the second half, stressing that their downfall lay in their unwillingness to maintain possession in their own half. "We should have held onto the ball a lot longer in our defence. It was in the Cavan defence that we lost the ball when we went in there. They got us turned over and hit us on the counter-attack. "We should have been calm enough to hold it on our own half of the field and draw Cavan out. No lessons learned there.......Trumpesque !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 31/10/2020 18:22:25

Cavan V Roscommon - 3 Like(s)
Roscommon have much better players than Cavan & beat them every time. This time should be no different.

Shelbourne1 (National) - 20/02/2019 14:15:40

Ulster Championship 2021 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're being very generous to Monaghan there. . This is the tail end of their greatest ever team, but its not a patch on that Armagh team of the 00s."
Spoken like a true cavan man. 50 years to another Ulster !

Shelbourne1 (National) - 24/06/2021 00:41:15

NFL 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Bernardo:  "Not sure what you are talking about. Have my tickets v dublin. Monaghan abu"
Remember our flag is white & blue.........not your blue & white !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 06/02/2020 14:56:10

Can Monaghan GAA Stand By Their Man? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "??? Monaghan's rate is 86 per 100k. Half the national rate and indeed lower than all but 2 EU countries. But sure believe the hype-merchants if you like."
Pay no attention to patmouse....he's a cavan man just here to stir it up ....pathetic !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 09/04/2021 22:06:45

Minors - 3 Like(s)
Great win for minors today against Antrim. Most of them underage next year so this years wins against Cavan & Antrim a definite bonus. Fermanagh up next in semi. YouTube link to today's game........hope this works ! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJeOfU7vdbU&feature=youtu.be&ab_channel=MarkQuinn

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 20/12/2020 23:13:29

Championship 2019 - 3 Like(s)
At least F Kelly red rescinded so okay for Breffni.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 09/04/2019 17:06:50

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To BreffniGael:  "Agree on both of those, potentially a 2 point swing there. Anyway we are still owed from Beggan's 13 steps in 2013 when we should have had a 21 yard tap over to draw level in the last minute!"
Same game when tv reported that ball clearly over Cavan goal line and then handled on the ground to clear it. But who care now lol

Shelbourne1 (National) - 13/04/2024 20:22:34

Malachy's Successor - 2 Like(s)

Replying To detruth:  "Heard a name being mentioned the other night for the managers role.. Mick Bohan.. anyone hear any of this?"
Mick Bohan, managed Dublin Ladies to All Ireland titles since taking the reins in December 2016. But he committed two more years in late 2018 so has a year left unless he decides to go early. A PE Teacher by trade, he previously worked as a skills coach alongside Jim Gavin when All-Ireland wins were achieved at U21 level in 2010 and 2012, and then with the seniors in 2013. He was involved in Sigerson Cup wins with DCU, and has enjoyed spells with Dublin clubs Lucan Sarsfields, Thomas Davis and his home outfit of Clontarf. He worked as a coach to the Clare senior footballers in 2016, alongside Colm Collins.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 01/07/2019 20:32:41

Division 1 - 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Have to admit we got exactly what the performance deserved today. Roscommon made less mistakes then Monaghan. In the first half we were slow and predictable. No direct ball going into the full forward line. Jack and Dermot Malone slowing the ball down all the time allowing Roscommon to retreat behind the ball. Second half with McManus we went more direct and it paid dividends going two clear. Then Jack and Malone started taking way too much out of the ball yet again. The two black cards had no impact as Roscommon cutely ran the clock down with head injuries. Roscommon were continuing there off the ball stuff and O'Hanlon fell into the trap. Look Hurson done us no favours with a blatant free not giving in the first half and also Walshes mark. One player today showed he is no longer fit for inter county. Malachy needs to start playing more senior players, far too many changes from last week. Anyway on to Inniskeen next Sunday and let's get back to winning ways."
Respect your opinion but who were you referring to when you said "One player today showed he is no longer fit for inter county".........wasn't at game ....Gavin Doogan ?

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 03/02/2019 20:22:44

Cavan Seniors 2024 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Lads will ye cop on and stop replying to monaghan veteran gaa and he will like the great Tom Smith stop posting here and turn to knitting to help with his boredom."
Agreed. I sympathise with you all & suggest it's just better to ignore him. We have a Cavan man on our site, Bernardo & he's similarly annoying us. Obviously they both have sad lives !

Shelbourne1 (Cavan) - 18/01/2024 21:18:23

Monaghan In The Qualifiers! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To .tribute:  "I don't mean to stick the boot in. It was a great few years fo Monaghan. Just found it strange Monaghan doing better than Cavan for a few years. Not normal"
"found it strange Monaghan doing better than Cavan for a few years. Not normal" What a joke.....check the facts......for practically the past 50 years Monaghan have been more successful than Cavan ....fact !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 24/06/2019 18:19:38

Kerry V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'd say a handy Kerry win by 5 or 6, Kerry look like they are back in business, Monaghan are over the hill."
More like Donegal over the hill. Come championship time Monaghan will have their main men back plus a few new additions & we will take Donegal's scalp...that is if they hang around long enough !

Shelbourne1 (National) - 02/03/2019 14:29:39

Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Bernardo:  "As long as conor I'd there does it really matter? Hand pass around until we find conor-"
Spoken like a true Cavan Man !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 01/05/2019 01:30:20

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To drumalee11:  "Armagh by 8"
Sorry to disappoint you Cavan man ....yet again !

Shelbourne1 (National) - 02/07/2023 01:17:41

NFL 2021 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Bernardo:  "Donegal were poor and still drew. Our forwards are skillful but not the biggest. Disappointed"
Bernardo from Cavan.....your team could be in division 4 !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 22/05/2021 19:56:51

Tyrone Vs Cavan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "If you're going to send lads off for being stupid, you'll end up with 5 aside matches. He was stupid to get involved but the sending off was stupid too IMO"
I disagree , the rule was correctly applied and the Tyrone player will never do that again....hopefully. It's obviously a lesson for other payers as well !

Shelbourne1 (National) - 10/07/2021 20:28:28

Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To expat345:  "I agree some of our best players do not have the legs to run for 70 mins from one end of the field to the other which is all the more reason to question our first half tactics of packing the defence followed by a slow build up giving Cavan time to filter back. We have lost many matches using the exact same game plan. Dick Clerkin's analysis at half time was spot on but our management, as usual, were totally oblivious to the problem."
Malachy should hang his head in shame with that game plan. Cavan played with 3 up front while we had just 2...... embarassing. While we were playing fist ball slowly up the field Cavan were hitting simple balls on front of their 3 forwards. Fair play to Graham....he wiped the floor with Malachy tonight. I thought we got over this 'stone age' approach in recent times & were mixing it up with more kick passing on front of our forwards....well Malachy you can't do this with 2 up front ! Basic tactics from Cavan with simple kicked passes into forwards while we were continually trying all sorts of intricate stuff & only confusing ourselves. Well done Mickey Graham...football was the winner today !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - 19/05/2019 00:25:27