Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from stoneygrey

Tyrone Team For Eurovision - 14 Like(s)
Loved the Tyrone teams singing, could go places as a group .. fair play to them .. enjoyed every minute of it

stoneygrey (National) - 09/07/2019 20:21:48

Malachy's Successor - 6 Like(s)
Some have wrote here that the true fans voice is never heard , unfortunately these forums don't allow for proper debate on any topic , as for a super backroom team ... most of which were over the under 20's . They lost every game , Wexford and Meath done well under control of our newly elected manager .. not .. This is some reflection on all the grass root supporters who work hard at their clubs .. this is rotten to the core .. as time will tell

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - 17/09/2019 18:11:26

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "Monaghan are one of the greatest underachievers in the last 20 years. With forwards like Mcmanus, McCarron, McCarthy(when he was in there) and Bannigan, backs like the Wylies and Boyle, adding in both Hughes and Beggan, etc, to have won nothing in 10 years in shocking. In that time, a mad obsession with div 1 meant consistently running out of steam when it actually mattered. Look, we're not exactly ripping up trees down here either but we won an Ulster title with a hardworking but workmanlike squad. Great performance today in a game that you were never realistically winning but it seems like the end of the road for some of your stars."
Probably one of the sourest posts I've ever read on hoganstand about the attributes of a team .if underachievement is what you think of our county , what do you think of your own? Anyway not to dwell on your resentment we as Monaghan folk are very proud of the endless enjoyment that our players have given us over the years . And I'm sure other counties would love to have the dedication that our players and management have shown . There are endless Monaghan players that I'd loved to have seen win an all Ireland, but one thing they have all won is the respect of everyone in Monaghan and further afield and will continue doing so for a long time to come

stoneygrey (National) - 15/07/2023 23:30:44

Oscars For Diving Goes To.. - 4 Like(s)
Hopefully the soccer style diving doesn't infest our game , my Oscar for diving would go to TiernanmcCann for the hair toss he received from Darren Hughes … any more ?

stoneygrey (National) - 10/03/2023 10:19:55

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Well done Ballybay , well deserved win and impressive to watch . The poor bookies !

stoneygrey (National) - 05/11/2022 21:21:11

Shane Ross Comments On Facilities - 3 Like(s)
Sure why doesn't he come and meet to discuss this in a rural pub somewhere with no broadband and we can listen to what he has to say about what he would like to do with GAA facility's that local communities have worked hard at to have them to a standard they are today ..

stoneygrey (National) - 30/01/2019 13:19:42

Monaghan For AI?? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "If Tyrone had won yesterdays clash v Monaghan in the way that Monaghan won, there would be people calling Tyrone one of the favourites for the AI and the team to knock Dublin's dominance. Why is it then that people aren't saying the same of Monaghan? Most of the plaudits coming to them after yesterdays win is that they will win Ulster and make the super 8's but I haven't heard one commentator say they have All Ireland credentials or maybe thats because they don't have the media power that Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin posses. The facts speak for themselves: - They have won two Ulster titles in the past 5 years. - They are now a consistent division 1 team. - They beat Dublin IN Croke Park this year (Only Kerry have managed that in the past few years) - They are not solely reliant on the brilliance of Mc Manus any more. - They have a stronger panel now than the past 5 years. These lads have the experience to go all the way and I'm a big fan of their attitude and preparation. With the greatest respect to Fermanagh, they'll have too much for them and although we are probably favourites to meet them in the Ulster Final, this young Donegal team aren't ready for them yet. I'll be putting a sneaky few quid on them anyway."
This Topic is like a politician calling at your house,he'll tell you all you want to hear and clapping you on the back at the same time....I think Monaghan are cute enough now,as Sunday showed to think like the Old Bull,not the young Bull...Donegal cute whorisim at its best

stoneygrey (National) - 22/05/2018 11:47:02

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To farney_exile:  "People celebrating and congratulating banty. For what ? Remaining in division 1 by the skin of our teeth and relying on other results to keep us there. That was a terrible league campaign and very little positives to take from it. Gary Mohan being 1 of them. That win yesterday was down to the players grit. Not the Banty."
Couldn't agree more , yesterday was the players showing grit , Vinny probably the only one on the line that would have any effect on what the players are doing . McEneaney hasn't a clue . Great to see what the players done yesterday .Gary Mohan is getting there .

stoneygrey (National) - 28/03/2022 21:50:12

Tyrone Team For Eurovision - 3 Like(s)
Not the first video a Tyrone player has stared in

stoneygrey (National) - 09/07/2019 22:58:36

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mick2007:  "Banty has led monaghan to ZERO ulsters titles in 9 attempts.. facts speak for themselves..time for a change even if it is 3 years to late..my fear is we could slip into an abyss with the current management.."
Correct.. some strange positions held yesterday.. even the sub goalie ..

stoneygrey (National) - 16/05/2022 21:54:06

Fermanagh V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)
Monaghan by 5 at least , No weak links from no 1 to 20 , as shown in the Tyrone game .

stoneygrey (National) - 02/06/2018 09:33:00

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "We are now in a position where a few of the bigger names will select a manager that suits their short term plan, 1 or 2 more years hanging onto the sponsored cars etc. I predict certain relegation, and a championship determined by how long we avoid Don, Tyr, Arm, Der. The ego monsters will then jump ship, sure Div 1 wouldn't be high profile enough for this big lads. Co board have put the handbrake on the development of the 2 promising minor teams just to appease a very select few has-beens."
Well said

stoneygrey (National) - 23/08/2022 16:12:38

Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
On returning to the local after the Down game I felt as low as a bull that was after being squeezed,I encountered a pub full of fair weather supports who had viewed probably their first county game of the year.Their knowledge of our county team had to be laughed at,some even using the match programme to show how well they knew the Team! It's probably the same here as some of the comments about certain players are totally unjust .These group of players have given us the best of times and as any human beings the worst of times.we all make mistakes.The management are doing their very best too.this is probably as near to a carlsberg Monaghan team as we will ever get so enjoy it and give everyone a wee tap on the back with something positive, you never know what will happen over the coming weeks, Dreams sometimes do come true...

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - 12/07/2017 19:56:24

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 2 Like(s)
County board to blame .. players didn't deserve this infliction ..

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - 31/10/2020 19:57:28

Dublin V Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Monaghan generally love winter football, it suits them, heavy men playing on heavy ground. However once the hard turf starts to set it then Monaghan will fade, happens year in year out, not enough speed there for the dry summer days, unfortunately"
I don't think Monaghan are one bit afraid of Tyrone , heavy men on heavy ground ..the match was played today in hq , roll on may ...

stoneygrey (National) - 25/03/2018 17:14:58

Replying To RHF:  "Mayo fans thinking the same. If we are good enough we should win…if not so be it. No point going far and getting knocked out. I've never seen the appetite so low in the county. With our injuries I wouldn't be putting any money on us. As for the home record…I don't ever remember us losing a qualifier game at home but I'm open to correction on that. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10924 - 24/05/2022 14:22:10 Banty will have the Monaghan lads ready for this one."
How will he have them well ready for this one ? He had enough time to get ready for the Derry game…. I'd say it will be more a case of the players being well ready themselves

stoneygrey (National) - 24/05/2022 21:54:47

Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Last night is done and dusted and Monaghan are still in the mix,job done and all that go to matches regularly know that the team is far better than they have showed lately.on the point of more support which we need for the next game in Croke park why don't we as regular supporters here commit to getting more support, I promised some of the older folk in the local that I would organise a bus for Croke park if we got a game there this year,on my head be it but I will have a bus full come 2 weeks.So there, who else will stand up?? These lads deserve it from us

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - 16/07/2017 13:22:58

Replying To Pet:  "And we survived"
Well done all !

stoneygrey (National) - 26/03/2023 15:50:31

Banty's Minor's - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sleater:  "They are quite a talented bunch and carrying on from last year's success at u-16 where they beat dublin and Meath. Banty has added some current u-16s to the team like Gallagher and Irwin but mostly it's the core group from last year. I Spoke to someone who's coached this group from u-14 development squad and he reckons there are 5 or 6 that could go one to be outstanding county seniors."
I would say the credit must ly with the underage coaching of this group of players , Seamus mc Enaney would have a habit of Landing at the door of a well established outfit and taking it over ...Credit to all these lads previous coaches , with out the grass root coaching being done in every club throughout the county managers jobs would be jobs...any comments from anyone that was actually at the match v Tyrone ??

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - 10/04/2018 19:12:13

Monaghan In The Qualifiers! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Hard game to watch but a win is a win.. On to Armagh now. Another all Ulster game which should be a cracker. Armagh and Cavan both played an open game yesterday. 15 on 15 and played football. Would love to see Monaghan take this approach also and see where it brings them. Can see this being a high scoring game with both teams with scorers while the game flows. We saw last year against Kerry and Galway that we had a great spread of scorers when football was played. These players didn't become bad shooters all of a sudden. Let the shackles off and go for it and see where we are at half time.. Anyone notice yesterday McManus started at number 11 but within 5 minutes he was back inside. Feel this should of been left in place for the whole first half. Thought Hughes and Kearns were brilliant. Fermanagh did not win too many kickouts that went long. Also Kearns taking on the long shot after maybe 3-4 minutes of hand passes was great to see and maybe more players should have a go. if 3/5 went over it wouldn't be a bad idea. Beggan back to himself with the kickouts and great save. Could have walked though for his shoulder on Quigley. Personally don't think Armagh has the man to man mark McManus like Fermanagh and Cavan do. They will put Morgan on him who is likely to get the line if he is not getting on well. Would love to see Jack back for this one as he can take his scores. McCarthy McManus McCarron Mc Anespie Malone and Carey would be my 6 forwards. All can take their scores and Malones work rate is unbelievable covers alot of ground and wins breaks"
Carey ? Explain how you think he should be one of the starting forwards ???

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - 11/06/2019 09:52:41