Popular Posts from nobull456

Tailteann Cup - 24 Like(s)
I think it is sad that perhaps through frustration at this early stage of development frustration degenerates to destructive posting. I accept this forum is all about opinions .Since Colm O Rourke was appointed it seems posts clearly showing strong bias and Anti Colm agenda have made it to print publish stage. This seems a consistant pattern.One recent post in particular could be deemed to be destructive to efforts in development of standards where. players were advised to ignore the managers advise. How that person can claim to be a Meath "supporter" beats me. We are all frustrated maybe ,and hope for better times Perhaps modulators of the forum might review posts over the last months to gain specifics and consider adjustment . I accept that current policy does not allow personal critisism and rightly so. Perhaps where efforts to improve standards by anyone such as a manager are dealt with in a destructive manner should not be published either. Even one destructive post is one too many and not acceptable under any circumstances.

nobull456 (Meath) - 07/05/2023 20:13:02

Congratulations Ladies - 23 Like(s)
Well done ladies for div 2 winners and promotion to Div 1. Refreshing to see a Meath team play with flair, and free from fear. Well organised forward play and use of open spaces. Clear to see Eamon and his background team work quietly but effectively. Impressed with his interview after the match on Tg4. Well done to all !!

nobull456 (Meath) - 26/06/2021 18:45:03

After Andy - 22 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "No. But is threatening and abusive messages by faceless cowards on internet ok ? Also the dopes who sent threatening letters to his home , is that ok? Abusing his family members is that ok ? Telling lies about our former captain that cb paid for his flights is that ok ?? Just wondering where a guy with 9 posts draws the line on what is acceptable critique and what is downright lowlifes having a pop at someone whose done more for Meath football than any of these clowns could ever dream of"
The first 2 lines i completely agree with you . Your next 2 line i would call total bulls..t

nobull456 (Meath) - 11/06/2022 21:43:07

Tailteann Cup - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. Says the guy who posted nothing only destruction and trolling of previous managers. I give up. And yeah the best thing for the players to do is totally IGNORE anything this current set up says. For their own good and the good of Meath football"
Hang up your hat ! As you do not support Meath now. Just support Antrim ! No further comment from this poster as i will be passing on any of your posts that get published anyway! Over and out !

nobull456 (Meath) - 07/05/2023 22:21:32

So It'S Clare - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "So just to clarify there WAS NO TACTIC of hitting high ball into Conlon. Since it didn't happen to say it did is blatantly inaccurate"
Whatever about it being a tactic ..the reality was it happened on more than one occasion. In fact to make it more confusing Newman kicked the ball in. Common sense suggests Newman should have stayed in with Conlan used as picking up breaks to feed him etc. . Then what has common sense to do with some posts on here ??

nobull456 (Meath) - 06/07/2019 17:05:10

V Dublin - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ok other thread gone totally bananas and not relevant to anything. So team to start v dubs ?"
1 Mickey Mc QUILLAN 2. Bob O Malley 3 Mick Lyons AND Darren Fay 4. Donal Keoghan 5. Red Collier .6 Liam Harnan 7.Martin O Connell 8 John Mc Dermot.9 Liam Hayes 10 David Beggy 11.Mattie Kerrigan 12. Trevor Giles .13 Colm O Rourke 14 Brian Stafford 15 Bernard Flynn ..... Caption Graham Reilly .... Manager Mick O Dowd . Meath to win by 10 AGAIN weather permitting ! Hon the royal UP ya boya ! cant wait tickets got!

nobull456 (Meath) - 10/05/2022 13:26:26

Graham Reilly - 21 Like(s)

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Agree 100%. A thread to celebrate an also ran and then a thread to slate a thoroughbred"
Will this be the end of an era then where the call was ''defend Graham at all costs". His contribution over the years was sporadic ranging from a match winner to standing back and waiting to be given the ball . I also think Graham has had one major plus over any other player in that it seems no other player has as many friends on here to support him regardless..At times it seemed this should read the Graham Reily and Colmcilles forum Efforts on here to extend his time on the team will most likely prove fruitless .Look back on his last appearance AGAIN standing back , I do not expect to see Graham playing any part on Meath seniors from here . Yes Graham has made some massive contributions to Meath in the past. That is an undisputed fact. Andy seems to have finally instilled strong work ethic now, and more power to him. Any young emerging player will get that message clearly and rightly so. With a Meath jersey on you simply dont stand back. Work work work or get out ! Surely thats the basics of any coaching manual. Mickey Bourke would not have half Graham Reillys footballing skills Mickey Bourke had attitude that dictated he felt compelled to always give his best. Thats the crunch........ do your best if selected and that means never standing back. This poster will always favour the trier over the flashy moody type who you really cant depend on, even if you may have superior skills. Putting it simply DEPENDABILITY rates higher than anything else for this poster ,and no apologies to anybody. Thanks to both men for hanging in there during such a long valley period.

nobull456 (Meath) - 08/08/2019 21:28:42

After Andy - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't really care who gets it once they believe in themselves and the players. That only rules out Colm orurke."
. May I suggest you check and report accurately on what Colm actually said that could rule him out Colm a defeatist I don't think so. Agenda?? . Again you may be saved by the bell as very unlikely he will! be a candidate.. He can be awkward and has a problem accepting "gombeenism" That could rule him out maybe.

nobull456 (Meath) - 05/06/2022 18:21:46

After Andy - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Royalmc:  "So you now need 18000 posts to have an opinion on here ?? On my 9 posts where did I say any abuse is ok ??? There's low lifes everywhere but I've no doubt a very small number would stoop as low as to send treating letters to any man if this happened the guards should have been called . Abuse of his family is not acceptable and gossip as regards paid trips home is loose talk by a small number and more than likely not even gaa supporters. When you have social media this is always going to happen shouldn't but it will sadly . The only thing I will say is we shouldn't let a very small minority of low lifes distract from what has been a very poor few years for meath football under Andy McEntee. And by the way I lost my last password and username so it was easier to set up a new account"
Well fair play to you you defended you position very well. I suggest you had nothing to defend anyway. i do find it " amusing " that your number of posts should even be mentioned or a factor at all. Now when i think about it i think 9 posts that could be fresh new thinking great thats whats needed now. Then the bubble bursts you were here before. who cares ? Anyway i agree with your views re the abuse not being acceptable etc. I like the way you brought the real issue back into focus by stating the obvious Some things just cant be defended ! Then who was it that said "common sense is not so common" ?

nobull456 (Meath) - 11/06/2022 21:23:20

Meath Vs Down - 20 Like(s)

Replying To seadog54:  "Dont think there was ever a chance of JW playing football this year, so why would he take a place on panel? Hopefully all his needs are being taken care of, either club or county insurance and he gets back on time for next season or with luck latter stages of County Championship. Not aware of any breakdown in comms with players, they are a commited bunch and so far no rumblings of discontent. Sure Joey knows the way back, get well, get fit and available for selection. What more would you expect?"
Yes that is important that his needs are cared for .No doubt when recovered he will play his way back for selection. Indeed the same goes for any other player..In fact i think even being dropped can be positive. Regardless of what spin is pushed out if a player is competitive enough he will silence the doubters by working his way back. If he does not wish to do that well then there are no losers if he is not competive enough he is not good enough Because i have a bee in my bonnet about workrate,slow starts i got the opportunity to ask a person who would know the score..The real reason is inexperience and nervousness amongst younger players with the current level of expectation . The suggestion that there was any rumblings of discontent as on social media .was dealt with "Total Rubbish lies.....ah we all know who is trying to spread that......just ignore it. That was dealt with emphatically and honestly I believe him . I await developments on how the mental weakness of slow starts and inconsistent workrates are dealt with. When that is dealt with i do believe improvents will flow .to all areas.That issue has to be at the top of the only agenda... IMPROVEMENTS !!

nobull456 (Meath) - 25/05/2023 09:18:21

Replying To Meath10:  "I think we are underdogs v Down but they are also in the TC for a reason so still a winnable game"
Agreed.....winnable BUT we are underdogs no doubt. It is a learning curve for everyone including management. The sell by date is 2 years since Colms appointment to show real improvement or he will walk himself....Thats the deal! Now its clear we are pretty poor at this point because its a results driven business.....no argument. We cant forget we are on a steep learning curve. Im sure Colm MUST be asking himself questions any good manager would Am i as manager making the best use of the required resourses ? The expertise that i have in the backroom do they feel free to do it their way and i am a co ordinator. How good am i at delegating as required? How good am i at bringing people with me ? Am i ruthless if the need arises like when having listened to counter views i am prepared to make a decision because thats my job to lead and its the only way we can improve.I dont know Colm .I do support him for the 2 years NOT just because he had the courage to try to improve our lot from a very low status. More importantly i do believe because i trust his integrity. I do believe he is asking himself all those questions. I do believe as he said he will bring in help when required. In my view the most immediate need is a sports psychologist to deal with slow starts and workrate. In hindsight i am sure Colm has that on the top of his priority list. I expect he will be keen to see who will be back from injury before deciding on the second most urgent need to shore up the defence and come up with a game plan.......A sweeper ??? Who ?? what type? good fielder, speed out of defence to set up attack. 1st half then review ! Can we afford him if he is a scoring forward? Dont know and their is only one way to find out. Whats the alternative? The only agenda is to Fully support Colm O Rourke for the agreed period.Maybe after that time i will do my own review and update after learning .

nobull456 (Meath) - 22/05/2023 18:54:47

Not directly related related to anything .Sometimes as in boxing instead of slugging away and trowing punches at fresh air maybe it would be wiser to just take a rest on the ropes. Take the compulsary count of 8.. Its even ok to pretend injury ..to throw in the towel even. Anything is better than punching at fresh air and burning yourelf out for what? Maybe a review of "progress"( or lack of it) of objective or agenda could help here This journey is very much about learning for all including us posters.......mature people they say look for nourishment not punishment! Its never too late to learn !

nobull456 (Meath) - 25/05/2023 11:52:19

Tailteann Cup - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Greenfield:  "I would have criticisms of the current management but the one thing I would give them credit for is taking on a job that no-one wanted. Regarding what direction we are going in I don't think we are moving in any direction.....last year's performances were just as bad as this years and this has been coming for years. I think it's unfair for people on here to pick 2 examples (Gallagher and McEntee) and use them as a stick to beat our management with. They took over with teams in division 4, so in a sense, improvement was a given as the only way was up. Just like in a game, momentum over a sustained period is vital. It's much easier to build momentum from the base those guys started at and after 2-3 years a team can really get on a roll. For the last 10 years any momentum our teams have built up has been well and truly stopped when we ran into a GAA-funded juggernaut in the summer. It's impossible to build up that run of form. Derry are in a province where the teams operate at a more equal level. Sligo are in a province where they are up against it, but people are judging them on this year when they had the easiest route possible to their inevitable tanking. If they had got the beating they took from Galway in the first round they wouldn't get a mention. And I say that with full respect to Sligo. Management did nail their colours to the mast and say they would use a kicking game. They tried it, it didn't work for us, for now I'll assume they are working on something else. They also get a slagging here for going man v man against Dublin. Again, it didn't work. I'd only have a problem if they did it again next time they played them. Clare didn't exactly park the bus against Kerry last week, yet Colm Collins is rightly praised as a solid inter-county manager. Teams that take a hammering in Munster every year have never been allowed to build the momentum that gets them to the level of a serious contender either. Regarding the TC, I would be more than hopeful that we can get to the knock-out stages. Our aim should be a semi-final, but that will depend on the draw. There are plenty of teams in this competition of a similar standard to us and it will be good to see how we measure up against them."
Yes i think you make very fair and balanced points ,especially where same errors are repeated consistently.That is the bit that annoys me most. No learning has taken place in that situation. If we are honest no matter who was manager even Jim Gavin himself he would have a lot of learning to do because of where we are at No disrespect to previous managers over the last 10 years they did the best they could in the circumstances. Yes i think we can do well in TC and thus use it as a building block I just wonder also what the top table are doing now in the push to improve our lot in the long term What are their plans for sucession plans .? Not indeed that i want Colm out now certaintly not ! Gavin was the major benificary of a couple of visionary people on CB ably assisted by Pat Gilroy. To me lack of vision at the top is the real problem in the long term What Colm as manager is trying to do reminds of pulling up weeds .He can see whats overground and pulls up what he can see ,and only sometimes the roots come up as well BUT a lot of roots left behind to come again. The roots have flourished in several years of neglect by the top table. To begin with maybe cb would refrain from just naval gazing. look outwards. have a look at Dublin for example. It didnt just happen itself They made it happen ! Vision and real leadership ! Perhaps clubs could give this some airtime and prepare their delegates for the next AGM. To me the biggest disappointment of all is to see the lack of competition for places at the top table.That tells its own story. However , back to the weeds overground we cant just leave them there and Colm has to be given time to deal with them For his courage in taking a job nobody else wanted he deserves time and that should be flavoured by real support and encouragement The roots the real problem well thats another story altogheter. Plenty will not agree with those views of course ...thats ok......I wont change that view . Its important yes but its still only sport after all. Furthermore ,i am convinced that sponsorship would be more attractive if a well researched 10 year plan was available where TRAINING and DEVELOPMENT was central to everything to raise standars on and off the field. o

nobull456 (Meath) - 11/05/2023 15:20:11

After Andy - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Could be wrong RD but I read this as fear of losing the ball/defensive set up so didn't express themselves more so that actual fear of Andy."
You are correct . I have never been critical of the Andy the person, nor have i ever read anything here where a poster was critical of Andy or his integrity NEVER . I know the moderators would not print if it was personal,and rightly so ! I totally reject any of the alleged personal insults to Andy and his family..Absolutely no place in sport. So RD its clear you are a passionate Meath supporter . I note you seem to let the passion run into the pen at times when you say this forum could be linked in any way to the personal insults on Andy if read your comment correctly However maybe taking a count ,or resting on the ropes for a while might be an idea . Its only sport after all !!

nobull456 (Meath) - 09/06/2022 16:04:47

After Andy - 20 Like(s)

Replying To seadog54:  "I have little doubt that majority, if not all players will commit for another season, if we get the right coaching group in. Some posters might lmply they have inside track on what goes on inside the camp yet cannot tell us results of challange games or other mundane news."
I can understand the high levels of frustration and disappointment amongst players.. I would ignore the rumours and speculation about futures of individuals. .The real focus from here has to be on getting the right "type" of person as Manager. The availability factor is just one thing. I go for Colm O Rourke to begin with. its rumoured he may not be available ,But he turns 65 retirement age this year. Will he then have more time ? Ask him? He may not be too easy to handle as a manager no more than he was as a player. Assertiveness and challenging may not be welcome now ,but very necessary. I would have him involved even as an advisor/assistant if not available for Manager I would think who the new manager is will have a big influence on what players may stay. They would want to believe things will improve. May not be wise to rush the appointment anyway .I think all the stakeholders need to agree on the "type" of person needed ,and then find the person to fill the need.

nobull456 (Meath) - 19/05/2022 17:18:33

Meath Vs Kildare - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can I ask you. Has Colm said he is doing a review? Why should anyone believe he is doing a review? What will it consist of ? By his lmfm interview there was zero indication that is what he will do. He was more interested in trying to tell everyone that what Cora Staunton said wasn't accurate even though there is no evidence to the contrary. He then rather childishly went on about his previous achievements at college and club level while conveniently leaving out his only county job with u21s. I was talking to a ex pupil of his only this morning and he said what a few people on here have already said, that he believes he is always right and if people pulls him up on it he either responds with condescending remarks or goes full on teacher mode and do as I say or else. I have no reason to disbelieve this man as his farther was also a teacher along with Colm."
So your contribution is unbiased, supportive, constructive, not sowing the seed to divide,and timely ???? NO Further comment !!!!

nobull456 (Meath) - 30/03/2023 10:22:02

New Meath Manager - 20 Like(s)
It can be amusing how a poster was a definite anti Colm O Rourke and said so here . Then when he is appointed on merit the same poster can put unrealistic targets for Colm . The same poster ran out of excuses in other situations .The same poster seems confused ,and can forget that this is all about the future of Meath football. It amazes me how the WHO bit is so crucial for some, and misses the point completely. The future of Meath football was put at the top of the agenda that matters. Maybe time to bin any other agenda.

nobull456 (Meath) - 29/07/2022 15:09:23

Problems And Solutions - 20 Like(s)

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I get it seadog , I mean we could constantly give different view points all day every day and I respect that and I always take on board what everyone's view point is . But for me the current management team have shown nothing that I can say given more time we will see improvements and that is unfortunate because I want everyone to do well , I have no agenda , no north or south Meath divide , I just want the county team to be the best they can be ."
Yes we all hoped for better in some of the basic stuff at this early stage even. However ,realistically It is a learning curve for management and the backroom team. I think we will see some changes and challenges on the road ahead. I think Colm should continue for at least the 2 years. I do believe he would not be happy so far ,but i also believe he will do what it takes to rescue the situation. He is still the man best equipped to learn from mistakes and move on. We must remember he is really at early stages and let him at it. The amusing thing at this stage to me is that the most travelled meath supporter seems to get great milage out of his agenda that nearly looks like hoping for failure because of WHO is at the wheel .I hope he can cope when we turn the corner shortly!

nobull456 (Meath) - 29/04/2023 09:33:39

Meath Vs Wicklow - 19 Like(s)

Replying To Young_gael:  "Youre right when you say the top table must take charge and take responsibility for the recovery of Meath football. Thats where your post tails off into spin though, with respect. A lot of high-fallutin talk but thats all it is. This thing of 3 years is a pipe dream, that argument ran out of rope in the 2010s. It'll take about 15/20 years to build an elite county setup if they start yesterday with schools and clubs and if they get their act together and sort out our county stadium concurrently to source interest in the youth and following of the county. There is a lot of thankless work to be done and a lot of short term suffering and slow progress at all levels to be acheived to build a consistently elite side but what irks me above all else is that in the consciousness of the Meath majority we are still codding ourselves with being "just 2/3/4 years off" being the county of the 80s and 90s, which is pure delusion now. Its a fanciful thought and Im partial to it myself from time to time but when everything is weighed off we are a long, long way behind, and we will remain where we are at the moment or slightly better or slightly worse interminably if nothing changes in the running of the county and in the vision of the path forward. The pure size of the population and the mix of urban/rural which is very good in Meath will ensure a standard of above mediocrity essentially forever and unless things change as you rightfully did point out, thats where we will be. Honestly, It seems to me that there is a substantial element who want to hold onto the pipe dream and actually enjoy the notion that soon Meath will magically re-emerge and take their rightful place on the throne of the other 31 counties. They would prefer the delusion to suffer the reality."
Nice use of generalities there... or spin ! I agree we are in a mess now. However , i note your are short on specific troubled areas that can be improved such as 1. management deficiencies, 2.CB unable or unwilling to complete a proper review in a timely manner. 3. evaluation of training sessions seems non existent. Why have the same faults in the team for 2 years not been ironed out in training sessions?? Is that not the purpose of training sessions? I note you generalise and are short on specifics .Maybe i need to go back to see if your earlier posts are more constructive by using specific areas you suggest need attention. I condense my post by pointing to poor leadership at CB level by accomodating poor management for the last 3 years. From your post i am not sure where you stand on current management for example. I even still stick to my "pipe dream" of being in the top 6 in 3 years BUT if the specific needs to improve standards in leadership as i outlined are not met,then all bets are off !

nobull456 (Meath) - 08/05/2022 17:07:41

Meath Vs Kildare Promotion Playoff - 19 Like(s)

Replying To mickcunningham:  "royal dunne i do not know you personally only that you live in westmeath . i was shocked and saddened to read your post regarding your son . all i can wish you and your family is the very best of luck . a person should never be subject to abuse of any kind . best wishes"
Well said....here here !!

nobull456 (Meath) - 14/06/2021 16:51:07