Senior Championship

Congratulations Dunshauglin.
Tones threw it away.
I thought Dunshaughlin were very average again today and were very lucky to win it.
Ive seen them play twice this year and they were very poor against Dunboyne also.
They won't care much as they are champions but I think it's the weakest winner in a long time and shows the state of Meath football.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 20/10/2024 18:40:35    2576019

A good game of football given the conditions it had to be played in.

Dunshaughlin looked very average for most of the match and bar 5 minutes at the end of the first half and 10 minutes in the middle of the second half they were poor. However they won't care, they are the champions. Kinsella was again by fat their best player and deserves a shot at 11 during the league.

Tones played the way everyone knew they would. Shane Glynn was outstanding, Luke Mitchell was pulled off at half time was a huge surprise but looking back it was a change that they needed to make.

Goals win games and when the chances came for Dunshaughlin they took them.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 396 - 20/10/2024 19:27:18    2576035

Great year for South meath. Dunshaughlin, Dunsany and Ratoath in the minor ( and hurling). And let's call a spade a spade, football wise it's better for the Meath that South meath clubs are dominating.......thats the future.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 20/10/2024 19:35:17    2576036

Congrats dunshaughlin on winning what was considering the weather a entertaining game, hard to believe it was 22 years since there last triumph and leinster champions that year too, enjoy the celebrations.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 679 - 20/10/2024 19:36:49    2576037

No by any means claiming Meath Senior clubs are suddenly strong at present, but with Dublin, Kildare and Laois champs on other side of the draw this year surely there's a chance at a Leinster final for Dunshaughlin

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 20/10/2024 21:12:21    2576046

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "No by any means claiming Meath Senior clubs are suddenly strong at present, but with Dublin, Kildare and Laois champs on other side of the draw this year surely there's a chance at a Leinster final for Dunshaughlin"
From what I have seen in the last 2 games from them, I can't see them beating St Lomans.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 20/10/2024 22:20:19    2576057

What a transformation in two years. Last two games were not classic displays, granted, but we beat all the favs on the way to this success, so I think we deserve to be given credit for being the best team this year. And with our age profile, who knows what's ahead. Leinster can come and go this year as far as I'm concerned. After 22 years and a short spell in Intermediate, the lad deserve to enjoy it. If we manage to hold on next year, then I think we'll be under more pressure to navigate Leinster.

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 150 - 21/10/2024 10:18:48    2576100

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "No by any means claiming Meath Senior clubs are suddenly strong at present, but with Dublin, Kildare and Laois champs on other side of the draw this year surely there's a chance at a Leinster final for Dunshaughlin"
It's always far more difficult for a team after winning their first championship as a team. Lomans have far more Leinster experience, but if they could get passed them it definitely opens up

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1515 - 21/10/2024 10:38:56    2576104

Replying To aghref:  "What a transformation in two years. Last two games were not classic displays, granted, but we beat all the favs on the way to this success, so I think we deserve to be given credit for being the best team this year. And with our age profile, who knows what's ahead. Leinster can come and go this year as far as I'm concerned. After 22 years and a short spell in Intermediate, the lad deserve to enjoy it. If we manage to hold on next year, then I think we'll be under more pressure to navigate Leinster."
I think Paul Curran coaching the team has definitely lifted them to a new level.

Young team and they will improve & win more Meath SFC's

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3956 - 21/10/2024 11:27:14    2576123

Replying To aghref:  "What a transformation in two years. Last two games were not classic displays, granted, but we beat all the favs on the way to this success, so I think we deserve to be given credit for being the best team this year. And with our age profile, who knows what's ahead. Leinster can come and go this year as far as I'm concerned. After 22 years and a short spell in Intermediate, the lad deserve to enjoy it. If we manage to hold on next year, then I think we'll be under more pressure to navigate Leinster."
100% yous beat Ratoath Ashbourne Summerhill and Dunboyne you nobody can argue that yous didn't deserve it. Congratulations

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 983 - 21/10/2024 11:41:42    2576128

Congratulations to you guys! You have played lovely football over the last two years and obviously learned from the tough loss last year! I know the last two games against Dunboyne in the semi and Wolfe Tones yesterday were not classics but getting across the line is an art form in itself!

I'm sure you will enjoy the celebrations but you can't take it for granted that you will have a craic at Leinster next year! I'm sure you know that!

I'd expect next year to see serious challenges from Dunboyne, Don/Ash, Skyrne and Ratoath - It will be interesting too to see what happens with Wolfe Tones - they have some great players and some servants who are coming into the later stages of their careers! I was told yesterday that Cian Ward scored a goal in the 2006 final! 18 years later and another goal - and it looked at the time it could have been the decisive moment - what an amazing contribution he has made to Tones and Meath football!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 510 - 21/10/2024 13:32:11    2576158

Congratulations Dunshaughlin, overall the best performing team in the SFC this year and while neither yesterday or the semi final were perfect they found a way to win both and I dare say will benefit greatly from this years experiences, I hope they give Leinster a good rattle now and I fancy they could do just that.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3740 - 21/10/2024 15:47:25    2576197

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Great year for South meath. Dunshaughlin, Dunsany and Ratoath in the minor ( and hurling). And let's call a spade a spade, football wise it's better for the Meath that South meath clubs are dominating.......thats the future."
Meath Hill would say otherwise. Very level playing field in the final nutting between the teams. I think a North V South game split by the Boyne (mahonys play with the south & simonstown with the north) with the best 30 players in the county would be some spectacle altogether and great for Robbie to see what hes got to work with

MartryMorrisey (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 21/10/2024 15:58:24    2576202

Congratulations to club chairman Frank Gallogly and to Dunshaughlin yesterday on finally ending the famine and becoming Meath SFC champions for the 4th time. It just goes to show that if a club is run properly than anything is possible with Dunshauglin becoming the first club since Senchalstown in 2009 to be crowned both ladies and mens champions of Meath. Frank was instrumental in getting the club house finally built after it stalling for years and it was his vision to have the facility as a centre of excellence and yesterday his determination , foresight and hard work all came to the fore . Frank would have personally coached all the players (apart from the keeper) at underage level and under Franks steady hand and mentoring it would have where they would have first tasted success .The Gallogly never say die spirit and attitude was evident yesterday when the chips were down and Dunshaughlin had to dig deep to muster up a historic victory. Its remarkable really and one has to sit down and think what Frank has achieved, not so long ago the club were in a dark place having been the worst team in the county and been relegated to Intermediate. Frank capitalised on this and had the vision to bring in Richie Kealy and Paul Curran to get Dunshaughlin back to where they belong so it just goes to show that with proper coaching, a game plan and the right man in charge anything is possible , the Dunshaughlin team from 3 years ago compared to yesterday were like day and night so well done Frank on your shred appointment on getting Richie on board. Im sure there are many clubs in meath today in awe of what Frank has done and will be using his planning, vision, imagination , determination as a blue print for next year . Well done Dunshaughlin and Frank, enjoy the celebrations and good luck in Leinster.

CasinoRoyale (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 21/10/2024 16:02:45    2576204

Replying To CasinoRoyale:  "Congratulations to club chairman Frank Gallogly and to Dunshaughlin yesterday on finally ending the famine and becoming Meath SFC champions for the 4th time. It just goes to show that if a club is run properly than anything is possible with Dunshauglin becoming the first club since Senchalstown in 2009 to be crowned both ladies and mens champions of Meath. Frank was instrumental in getting the club house finally built after it stalling for years and it was his vision to have the facility as a centre of excellence and yesterday his determination , foresight and hard work all came to the fore . Frank would have personally coached all the players (apart from the keeper) at underage level and under Franks steady hand and mentoring it would have where they would have first tasted success .The Gallogly never say die spirit and attitude was evident yesterday when the chips were down and Dunshaughlin had to dig deep to muster up a historic victory. Its remarkable really and one has to sit down and think what Frank has achieved, not so long ago the club were in a dark place having been the worst team in the county and been relegated to Intermediate. Frank capitalised on this and had the vision to bring in Richie Kealy and Paul Curran to get Dunshaughlin back to where they belong so it just goes to show that with proper coaching, a game plan and the right man in charge anything is possible , the Dunshaughlin team from 3 years ago compared to yesterday were like day and night so well done Frank on your shred appointment on getting Richie on board. Im sure there are many clubs in meath today in awe of what Frank has done and will be using his planning, vision, imagination , determination as a blue print for next year . Well done Dunshaughlin and Frank, enjoy the celebrations and good luck in Leinster."
Fair play to Dunshaughlin on their fine win yesterday , The Facilities in Dunshaughlin are some of the finest in country and a tribute to Frank that had the vision to pull it off

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 228 - 21/10/2024 16:15:42    2576208

Replying To Richieq:  "Congratulations Dunshaughlin, overall the best performing team in the SFC this year and while neither yesterday or the semi final were perfect they found a way to win both and I dare say will benefit greatly from this years experiences, I hope they give Leinster a good rattle now and I fancy they could do just that."
Yes huge congratulations to Dunshaughlin, Richie & Paul are two very good football men and a great support team there aswell in the background I'm sure. Hard luck to Tones who again brought so much to the championship. What an honest bunch of lads. Hope Dunshaughlin give Leinster a good rattle. No kilmacud really opens it up.

Northroyal55 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 21/10/2024 17:00:07    2576221

Replying To MartryMorrisey:  "Meath Hill would say otherwise. Very level playing field in the final nutting between the teams. I think a North V South game split by the Boyne (mahonys play with the south & simonstown with the north) with the best 30 players in the county would be some spectacle altogether and great for Robbie to see what hes got to work with"
I wouldn't consider Ratoath and probably even Dunshaughlin to be South Meath….more East Meath to be honest. South Meath I would consider to be based from the surrounds of Trim to the Kildare border. Mid Meath based in the surrounds of Navan and North Meath based around Kells, Ballinlough and over to Syddan plus all north of those. Slight adjustments could be made to even up the divisions.
Those I feel should be divisions that could compete in the Senior Championship, minus the Senior clubs in the respective divisions. If one of the Divisional teams won the SFC it would be split in two for the following two Championships unless one of its clubs won the Intermediate Championship.
Format of the championship could be devised in several ways, where there's a will there's a way. Or perhaps a pipe dream.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 21/10/2024 22:57:40    2576273