Meath Vs Down

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway on to the game. Down will play a defensive structure. So we need to be patient and try to take a few shots from distance, get a couple of them over and we will rattle them."
Love the way when people put questions to you that you don't want to/cant answer, you just go into denial mode and ignore it. Then you wait a few comments and start out with the same rhetoric again about COR not being fit for it.
Brians post above hits the nail on the head.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 30/05/2023 11:58:49    2482836

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway on to the game. Down will play a defensive structure. So we need to be patient and try to take a few shots from distance, get a couple of them over and we will rattle them."
Down won't be rattled by us not a chance.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 30/05/2023 13:09:40    2482868

I didn't see post. But gladly will respond to it now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 14:13:47    2482898

Replying To brian:  "More bull**** from you but then when does that record ever stop…

You're deluding yourself thinking anyone wants the Meath job, never mind a top class manager, it's clear as day last year no one did… they ruled themselves out one by one…. it was a straight shoot out between O'Rourke or Flynn (who you yourself didn't want), that's it…. You scoffed at me for suggesting the likes of Paul Curran, Paul Clarke, Mick Deegan, Declan D'Arcy, Jayo Sherlock or Davey Byrne… we don't need Dubs you said… davey burke was an option but no one considered him good enough… robbie Brennan was screwed because he was tied to Flynn…. McDermott wasn't considered good enough internally…. You're now screaming for O'Bric… he's no Paul Kenny with a serial success rate at underage….. you're dreaming of Fitzmaurice but it ain't going to happen… a young man with a family… commuting almost 2k a week (3 sessions minimum )… never in your wildest dreams

Who are these high class managers begging for the Meath job…. They're about as common as you having a good point

Sligo got to a Connaught final and all Ireland series beating London and New York… think most teams could get there doing that…. Kildare couldn't beat them… Roscommon and Dublin will top that group at a canter. BTW, both those teams are in year two under Ryan and McEntee… so they're used to a system and style… neither were stand outs last year..

You're saying we're underdogs v Down….. Sure haven't you been telling us they're better than us… but also telling us they were useless last year. Again here's the context, their manager is in his first year and has brought back the Kilcoo team members who won an all Ireland club last year… down were a shambles in 2022 and couldn't win a game…. But against your beloved Andy McEntee and his Meath team they got a result…. Without the Kilcoo contingent..

You told us ad nauseum last year the players loved McEntee and would go through walls for him… that training was great and efforts on the pitch didn't reflect the efforts going in…..and this with a management team in its sixth year…

Well guess what, the same is pretty true of what we're hearing this year… with a first year management team… and with a panel which has had 9 or 10 championship debutants… all in their first year on the panel (Brennan, O'Neill, O'Higgins, Flood, O'Regan, Coffey, Gray, Frayne, Lynch and Wyer, Caulfield & O'Halloran also in the mix)

You're also claiming there's people from clubs voicing concerns to you… from Ratoath, Colmcilles, Summerhill … funny thing is I spoke to some members from those clubs too plus multiple clubs in north Meath and whilst they're unhappy at results they're honest enough to say time is needed..

You're telling everyone here how wrong they are, yet it's you who's the sole voice slandering management... People are frustrated but they're trying to be constructive in what they say. People mightn't like O'Rourke but they're willing to give him time. Only one person in here hammers him no matter what he does…

Anyone saying a team should ignore what management are saying to them (which you said) has no respect for the team or the management. I don't think one person left the panel after the Offaly defeat, so I think they're well invested in what Colm is selling.

You're talking about irreparable damage, what's removing Colm after a year going to do only add more damage and add to a national laughing stock Meath football has become. What happens when you don't get your top class manager… when O'Bric or McCarthy gets appointed and they fail… are you going to want them moved on during the season…."
First off great to see you posting under Brian instead of one of ur many other usernames. (Still though the logging in and out to like it must take its toll)
A top class manager would be in my opinion obric been there sone that. Definitely needs it. You were the one calling for mcentee to be removed midseaoson last year and previous year. I never called for Colm to be removed until after this disaster of a year is over. He has brought us back unbelievably. Even you should be able to admit that. And I think under normal circumstances you would. Just that it's me saying it is the problem. I've told you before and I'll tell you again meet me for a drink before any game and you will see I have only the best intentions for Meath football. I'll even pay. Parnell club house (if No christening this time ) on Sunday we can have a frank discussion. I hold no grudges. The sun is out and we have a match on Sunday. What could be better ? I am really looking forward to Meath under obric next year and turning our fortunes around.
Hon th royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 14:22:37    2482902

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Love the way when people put questions to you that you don't want to/cant answer, you just go into denial mode and ignore it. Then you wait a few comments and start out with the same rhetoric again about COR not being fit for it.
Brians post above hits the nail on the head."
Whe I wrote the previous post. Brian's was not up. That is got to do with admin not myself. I answer everyone. Always. So you just spouting nonsense and bs. Am I to be blamed for hs order of putting up posts too. ? As for cor. We only improve when he is no longer there

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 14:24:49    2482906

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Down won't be rattled by us not a chance."
I'd hope we can get them rattled early on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 14:28:40    2482913

Replying To royaldunne:  "Whe I wrote the previous post. Brian's was not up. That is got to do with admin not myself. I answer everyone. Always. So you just spouting nonsense and bs. Am I to be blamed for hs order of putting up posts too. ? As for cor. We only improve when he is no longer there"
RD, as an outsider looking in, I think you are being extremely hard on COR.

Getting rid of him when Meath's season is over later this year, is Not the answer.....

Meath wont attract the caliber of manager that you would wish to be in charge.

You need stability and not chopping and changing.

Some very talented lads in this year's crop of u20's and next years are quite good also.

For me, it should be seen as a 3 year process - bringing new players in and building up the S&C to the required level.

If at the end of next season, for example, you get relegated, then ok, but Meath wont go down to Div 3.

Stick with the process, get the new blood in, this year and next year, and then make a better decision on COR.
Improvements will happen next year for sure.

Dont think you will win the TC but these games alone, will bring on the new players and should set you up well to hit the ground running next year.

But that is just my opinion...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 30/05/2023 15:04:56    2482935

Replying To royaldunne:  "First off great to see you posting under Brian instead of one of ur many other usernames. (Still though the logging in and out to like it must take its toll)
A top class manager would be in my opinion obric been there sone that. Definitely needs it. You were the one calling for mcentee to be removed midseaoson last year and previous year. I never called for Colm to be removed until after this disaster of a year is over. He has brought us back unbelievably. Even you should be able to admit that. And I think under normal circumstances you would. Just that it's me saying it is the problem. I've told you before and I'll tell you again meet me for a drink before any game and you will see I have only the best intentions for Meath football. I'll even pay. Parnell club house (if No christening this time ) on Sunday we can have a frank discussion. I hold no grudges. The sun is out and we have a match on Sunday. What could be better ? I am really looking forward to Meath under obric next year and turning our fortunes around.
Hon th royal."
Agh the usual tripe

Multiple accounts..I've only one. I've said many's a time who am, my age profile, where I'm from and what club I was involved with

O'Bric a top class manager.. oh good heavens… and what makes him such… a minor all Ireland … not multiple hogan cups,multiple senior county titles or multiple compromise rules series victories. The same O'Bric who plays a more turgid style of football than the worst defensive teams in Ulster… I know which CV stands up best of the two and most would agree

You'll shout me a drink on Sunday… even though the game is on Saturday….

Give it up RD… you're only showing yourself up now..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/05/2023 16:07:32    2482959

Replying To Fionn:  "RD, as an outsider looking in, I think you are being extremely hard on COR.

Getting rid of him when Meath's season is over later this year, is Not the answer.....

Some very talented lads in this year's crop of u20's and next years are quite good also.

For me, it should be seen as a 3 year process - bringing new players in and building up the S&C to the required level.

If at the end of next season, for example, you get relegated, then ok, but Meath wont go down to Div 3.

Stick with the process, get the new blood in, this year and next year, and then make a better decision on COR.

Dont think you will win the TC but these games alone, will bring on the new players and should set you up well to hit the ground running next year.

But that is just my opinion..."
Well summed up, and thats more or less the plan COR and CB have agreed on. A rebuild over the next two or three years. In reality we have little choice if we have any ambitions of sustained improvement. Some think a change in management will see us back on track, often picking names out of the clouds, Eamonn Murry one day C O Bric the next without having a clue about either, O Bric is already involved with development squad and in time may be a potential successor. The main aim for Meath in TC is unearthing talent for the future and introducing them to intercounty football and all that comes with that. If we do well then thats a bonus. I have no doubt COR is fully committed to process and great to see total buy in from panel.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 30/05/2023 16:40:21    2482971

Replying To brian:  "Agh the usual tripe

Multiple accounts..I've only one. I've said many's a time who am, my age profile, where I'm from and what club I was involved with

O'Bric a top class manager.. oh good heavens… and what makes him such… a minor all Ireland … not multiple hogan cups,multiple senior county titles or multiple compromise rules series victories. The same O'Bric who plays a more turgid style of football than the worst defensive teams in Ulster… I know which CV stands up best of the two and most would agree

Give it up RD… you're only showing yourself up now.."
Enjoy the drink on Sunday, lives in different times than the rest of us

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 30/05/2023 18:01:30    2482998

Replying To brian:  "Agh the usual tripe

Give it up RD… you're only showing yourself up now.."
Meant Saturday. The heat is getting to me. I will shout you a drink. No problem. Be in club house at 12 bells. As for obric. Yep national titles count more than any of them you mentioned. The compromise rules ? Haha now that gave me a laugh. I'd be of same opinion on that as Mickey harte.
Winning with a county set up says more about a man than anything but how very nice of you to denigrate the only man from Meath to WIN an all ire since boylan. Btw you did leave out Colm's other managerial adventure which is odd as it was the only other time he managed a county team. The u21s. Now how did that end up ?????

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 18:26:09    2483005

Replying To Fionn:  "RD, as an outsider looking in, I think you are being extremely hard on COR.

But that is just my opinion..."
I can see us been relegated if he remains tbh. . It's not the players, I have been to every match this year our defense is shocking. We can't kick a point from beyond 20 yards. No plan A never mind a plan B the fall off in fitness this year compared to last is extremely worrying. Lads just going through the motions. We looked ragged and tbh the worst Meath team in my lifetime. Look maybe things will turn around and I hope and pray that they will. But thanks to ur own county doing us a huge favour in beating clare by some miracle we stayed up. We won't be as lucky next year unless there is 100% improvement. I don't think Colm has the ability or the know how to do that. That is nothing personal against the man, he will always be one of the greatest players of all time. But as the day great players don't make great managers. And we have to stop the rot before it gets beyond the pale.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2023 18:33:45    2483009

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Beat Clare pulling up? Were you at the game? I would hazard a guess at you weren't if you think we beat them pulling up"
Ye was at it, we went 9 or 10 points up and eased off a lot and let them back into it. Game was never in doubt and we eased to a 4 point win while pulling up.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 30/05/2023 19:57:06    2483023

Replying To royaldunne:  "I did say IN CHAMPIONSHIP, but you must have missed that part. And Yes I also pointed out we beat them with flakey goals. It was lucky we did get them and huge thanks to the dubs for snatching a late victory v them or we would be in division 3 with the mighty Down"
Ye I did notice you said Championship alright, funny that....

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 30/05/2023 19:58:17    2483024

Am I right in saying if we win we will be in the 1/4 final with home advantage and if we lose we will be at home to one of the third placed teams in the the next round but away to a group winner in the 1/4 final proper?If we can win at the weekend I think we have a very good chance to make a semi final as home advantage would be helpful.Hopefully a few of our injuries have clear up.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 30/05/2023 20:03:03    2483027

While everyone seems to be taking a pop at Royaldunne, he does have some valid points.Sligo drew with Kildare are we not as good as Sligo?Westmeath should've beaten Armagh are we not as good as Westmeath?Before anyone says it yes I know they are in the all Ireland and we are in the Tailteann cup so technicality yes they are better but both are division 3 so if we ain't better we should be at least level with them.Why should we accept that we are weaker than teams below us in the league.For the record I dont think there is much between division 2 and top half of division 3 and would argue any team on its day could beat one another.It comes down to confidence and you only get confidence by winning and unfortunately we haven't done alot of that this year.It will be interesting to see how the forwards do v Down,while i know Tipperary/Waterford arent in a good place at the minute (no disrespect to both of them)we did kick some nice scores and eventually 2 decent scorelines so that has to help the forwards going on.Ive said it before the defence worries me and in fairness Royaldunne and many others on here have said the same.Im hoping we can tighten up at the back (alot really) and Cor has used the couple of weeks wisely.While I've agreed with a couple of Royaldunnes points I dont agree with him going after COR and think he needs time but we also should see some improvements.Its good he is giving a few young lads experience and they should be better again next year for it.Royaldunne you say you want o bric as manager and yes he has won a minor all ireland which was great but there is a massive jump up from minor as I'm sure you know.If he comes in for next year and say we lose a few games do we then get rid of him?Is that a gamble we can afford?Most teams that are successful in sport for a long enough period of time takes exactly that time.Not many go in and reap rewards in the first year.We do have to build foundations and then the house around it as the old saying goes.Is he the right man? that word again only time will tell.You may well be right maybe he isn't the man but I think he deserves his 2nd year and if we regress or standstill I'm sure he will walk himself. There will be more bumps in the road ahead but hopefully we can hit a smoother part soon.I agree with you we have to see improvement between now and this time next year, a system to suit players and we should be aiming higher and believe we are as good as the teams around us at least.As I've said before it's a mentality issue with us, we have accepted losing to an extent everyone from players,managers and us supporters and that has to change but it wont be easy or fixed overnight.We have some great young players coming through and hopefully they will start to show their potential soon and we will be competitive at least in the near future.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 30/05/2023 21:23:32    2483038

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Am I right in saying if we win we will be in the 1/4 final with home advantage and if we lose we will be at home to one of the third placed teams in the the next round but away to a group winner in the 1/4 final proper?If we can win at the weekend I think we have a very good chance to make a semi final as home advantage would be helpful.Hopefully a few of our injuries have clear up."
I believe you are right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2023 09:51:45    2483072

The talk of getting rid of COR is not worth having mid season. Let's see how the Tailteann cup goes and then have it after the season. Based on our performance level the last few months I don't see us beating Down. I hope I am wrong but without Scully and Walsh and with how open we've been defensively I wouldn't be too confident and the bookies agree. I just hope we can put in a consistent performance and see some progress defensively

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 31/05/2023 10:26:20    2483086

Have my tickets for the game and looking forward to watching a game in this weather.

It is an interesting match up. I am fascinated to see how both teams will approach it. It is, in some ways, a dead rubber as both teams are already through from the group - however the winner is in a better position to tackle the knockout stages and will have a better run-in as a direct quarter finalist. It seems to me that across the board, there are too many games in this cup. I just think that playing altogether dozens of matches just to eliminate 4 teams out of the competition is a bit much. You could concievably see Tipp or Waterford get out of our group, get a winnable draw in the prelim and reach the quarters on a 50% win rate, and another three teams the same. Seems like a slow death for the counties involved over time if you find yourself in this competition for a few years. But anyway, thats another days discussion and there are many perspectives.

This will be a substantial step up. Im just looking forward to seeing how the Meath team reacts to the step up. Not even thinking about the result atm. I just want to see confidence more than anything else. A win would be a landmark for a lot of these lads.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 31/05/2023 12:43:56    2483147

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "The talk of getting rid of COR is not worth having mid season. Let's see how the Tailteann cup goes and then have it after the season. Based on our performance level the last few months I don't see us beating Down. I hope I am wrong but without Scully and Walsh and with how open we've been defensively I wouldn't be too confident and the bookies agree. I just hope we can put in a consistent performance and see some progress defensively"
Apparently o Reilly and flood out too. I'm hopeful that things will turn around starting on Saturday

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2023 14:16:02    2483169