National League

Replying To Roger:  "First time seeing Brennan's Meath today and a huge step up from last year. No slight meant on the previous management just saying what I saw.
Really well organised, had a plan and implemented it. Much more attack oriented and willing to take their men on and take a shot. The new rules obviously play their part and it is worthwhile shooting from distance but it overall very happy.
Will temper it by saying Cavan were poor but we played plenty of poor teams recently and looked no better than them.
It's a very open division and we will need to be pick some points up on the road."
Pretty much my thoughts as well. While there was some back and forth in attach, to me it didn't look aimless like it did so often last season. It more seemed like we were probing and waiting for a opening. Overall, a thoroughly entertaining game on a beautiful day for football that we deservedly won. Need to keep that momentum for Down. Only two teams on full points, Monaghan and Roscommon, and they play each other next. A win in Newry sets us up beautifully for the next home game.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1375 - 02/02/2025 20:36:00    2589030

I was not expecting much until the new manager gets to sort out his panel. He was late getting going due to the delay shifting the previous man out of respect for him.He seems to be still using cors pick but should improve it towards end of the league. He also needs to view clubs. Clearly the better players have still to be brought in.
In the circumstances it was good to get a win even though cavan are also far from their best. A bad team scoring 20 points against you is os concern.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 557 - 03/02/2025 00:32:37    2589111

Replying To Ashrules:  "I was not expecting much until the new manager gets to sort out his panel. He was late getting going due to the delay shifting the previous man out of respect for him.He seems to be still using cors pick but should improve it towards end of the league. He also needs to view clubs. Clearly the better players have still to be brought in.
In the circumstances it was good to get a win even though cavan are also far from their best. A bad team scoring 20 points against you is os concern."
Here we go again... what better players have still to be brought in ???

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1039 - 03/02/2025 08:36:59    2589134

Replying To Ashrules:  "I was not expecting much until the new manager gets to sort out his panel. He was late getting going due to the delay shifting the previous man out of respect for him.He seems to be still using cors pick but should improve it towards end of the league. He also needs to view clubs. Clearly the better players have still to be brought in.
In the circumstances it was good to get a win even though cavan are also far from their best. A bad team scoring 20 points against you is os concern."
In what way has he to sort out his panel? Who do you expect to come in and who to drop out? Panel already much stronger than last year.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 601 - 03/02/2025 09:07:24    2589141

Congrats to Robbie his management team and captain Eoghan Frayne on their first league win. Shame to hear that matt costello is out for the rest of the league. Terrible dropping Eoin Harkin off the panel in 2023, harkin has been excellent in both games, its great to have him back. Its also so good to have mento back, it's a credit to himself that he's showing no signs of rust after not playing for meath since 2022.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 201 - 03/02/2025 10:31:54    2589156

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Here we go again... what better players have still to be brought in ???"
Diarmuid Moriarty surely, the greatest mystery in meath football.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 201 - 03/02/2025 10:35:57    2589158

Cavan's decision to swap out their goalie in the 2nd half really backfired on them, he was terrible for the 2 goals and kick-outs were very poor too, I'd assumed he was going to be an attacking threat but didn't do anything there either. They didn't have anyone that could field a ball but they swarmed Menton & Flynn on the kick-outs and won a lot of the breaks, that's something we'll need to work on against better opposition.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 03/02/2025 10:59:32    2589161

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Diarmuid Moriarty surely, the greatest mystery in meath football."
He certainly could be useful given his ability to kick well from distance but why hasn't he got a look in so far? Panel will be important with 5 subs coming in every game. Kinsella made a big impression yesterday as another player able to kick scores from distance. I think we might for the first time in 15 years have a Leinster championship back with Kildare, Offaly and Louth along with Meath taking advantage of these new rules. At the moment looks like goalkeeper role crucial. Hogan did quite well yesterday.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 601 - 03/02/2025 12:21:52    2589181

2 games in and there's been a consisent much higher level of performance than we have seen in previous years. The new rules obviously make the game quiet different but there's way more purpose in attack and teammates seem in tune with eachother and have better interplay. This is while a lot of lads have been involved in Sigerson and probably not training together much. Hopefully as Sigerson has finished or is finishing guys like Moriarty, Gray and O'Halloran will be seeing a bit more game time. Overall very positive with the caveat that the injury to Matt Costello is a big blow

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1538 - 03/02/2025 13:36:19    2589201

Very impressed with the attacking side of our game so far. We've racked up big scores and made the most of the new rules. Midfield has been solid as well, building a nice partnership.

There are issues in defence. Lavin brings a lot to the full back line as a man marker but need to settle on a full back. Adam O Neill was probably the best defender under COR so it will be interesting to see how he plays under Brennan.

Billy Hogan is the #1. Its now a case of making sure he has an all round game and that there's a decent back up to him.

Down will be no push over but the big games are can we beat a Roscommon or Monaghan. I can't remember the last time we beat a top 8-10 side.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 413 - 03/02/2025 14:41:53    2589216

Replying To winatallcost:  "He certainly could be useful given his ability to kick well from distance but why hasn't he got a look in so far? Panel will be important with 5 subs coming in every game. Kinsella made a big impression yesterday as another player able to kick scores from distance. I think we might for the first time in 15 years have a Leinster championship back with Kildare, Offaly and Louth along with Meath taking advantage of these new rules. At the moment looks like goalkeeper role crucial. Hogan did quite well yesterday."
The reason he's not getting a look must be something to do with load management caused by sigerson, Brian O'Halloran isn't getting a look in either. That's all I can think, the regional games probably aren't the best judge but he was by far the best player in that competition, averaging about 1-8. I went to that charity game meath vs meath regional select in Ashbourne. He kicked 1-10 on the Wolfe tones full back. Puzzling that he's behind some of the lads who came on yesterday. Agree Kinsella was excellent and Billy Hogan has made the goalkeeper position his own.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 201 - 03/02/2025 14:43:16    2589217

Attack was brilliant can't wait to see what the FF will e when costello is back , I also think the defence was decent yesterday, not a lot seem to agree but we have quick defenders that tackle very well. great result yesterday seeing as drew with them last year Massive improvement since COR is gone

Points76 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 03/02/2025 15:53:30    2589248

Looking at Eoin Harkins performance yesterday and against Cork it is just incredible how he was dropped off the panel, never mind the team, two years ago.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1003 - 03/02/2025 16:42:33    2589257

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Looking at Eoin Harkins performance yesterday and against Cork it is just incredible how he was dropped off the panel, never mind the team, two years ago."
It does seem strange alright and he was also a good age after a few years experience under his belt. Good all round football player. Squad looks much better this year and maybe some u20s or Sigurson players to join. Is Harnan training with panel?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 601 - 03/02/2025 17:01:14    2589260

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Looking at Eoin Harkins performance yesterday and against Cork it is just incredible how he was dropped off the panel, never mind the team, two years ago."
The previous manager had made up his mind that the squad needed some hardy north meath h**rs instead of the likes of Eoin Harkin as the manager was so quick to mention in pretty much every single interview of his first 6 months. That worked out well for him.......

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1039 - 03/02/2025 18:02:18    2589273

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Diarmuid Moriarty surely, the greatest mystery in meath football."
Well as far as I know he is involved.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1039 - 03/02/2025 18:22:12    2589278

My own thoughts on yesterday:

Massive to get the win yesterday and have 2 points on the board. Cavan aren't up to much at all and must be expected to drop. Hopefully they can do us a favour and take a win.

I think we did fairly well yesterday. Led from the front and played our own game. Definitely could see a plan in attack, midfield and defence - something that's been lost on us the last few seasons. Also played as a unit.

I think we absolutely dominated Cavan in the middle and they had no answer to us. Unfortunately a lot of the primary ball we won, was mopped up by Cavan. This is something that needs to be worked on. We have the players to bully midfield but that's not much when the break is going away from us.

We had a few super turnovers in defence. Seemed to be controlled enough. However Cavans inside players never really got service. Too many frees conceded which was also the case against Cork. We cannot keep teams in the game by coughing up so many kickable scores.

We worked our scores very well and forwards along with keeper made the space to get the kickers in. 3 or 4 bad bad wides which you wouldn't want to miss in a tighter game. As a whole, you wouldn't mind a lad taking a cut from distance with the new rules given the risk/reward factor.

I would say our 3 goals were of the soft variety. Fair play to the Jones on his 2 and a huge mistake by the Cavan keeper for the 3rd. Unlikely to get goals as easy as that in other games.

I consider we were blessed to have a cushion for the game. In a tighter game I have no doubt panic would have crept in.

Overall, I think the ref was consistent. As stated, some of the Cavan frees were extremely soft but we made it easy for him to give them. Open/general play he was very fair to both sides and quite vocal to the teams.

Like a mentioned last week, 20-22 scores a game seems to be a going average. There will be tougher tests in this division and other teams are going to catch each other out. Need to keep the momentum going and get a win up in Newry.

Disappointing news regarding Costello. Hopefully it gives an opportunity for a forward to step up on scoring responsibilities. But it also allows us to have Jones-Menton-Flynn play together.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 03/02/2025 20:33:49    2589294

Replying To Blackspot09:  "The previous manager had made up his mind that the squad needed some hardy north meath h**rs instead of the likes of Eoin Harkin as the manager was so quick to mention in pretty much every single interview of his first 6 months. That worked out well for him......."
Sure they went up to Derry and the game plan was Lob it high into the Square. Harkin and McGill dropped from the panel, Flynn walked off it and Menton wouldn't even join it. Hopefully now this is the start of a new dawn, good positive football and hopefully some decent results to get the support and optimism back around the team and county again

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 584 - 04/02/2025 08:55:42    2589341

Replying To Royalio11:  "My own thoughts on yesterday:

Massive to get the win yesterday and have 2 points on the board. Cavan aren't up to much at all and must be expected to drop. Hopefully they can do us a favour and take a win.

I think we did fairly well yesterday. Led from the front and played our own game. Definitely could see a plan in attack, midfield and defence - something that's been lost on us the last few seasons. Also played as a unit.

I think we absolutely dominated Cavan in the middle and they had no answer to us. Unfortunately a lot of the primary ball we won, was mopped up by Cavan. This is something that needs to be worked on. We have the players to bully midfield but that's not much when the break is going away from us.

We had a few super turnovers in defence. Seemed to be controlled enough. However Cavans inside players never really got service. Too many frees conceded which was also the case against Cork. We cannot keep teams in the game by coughing up so many kickable scores.

We worked our scores very well and forwards along with keeper made the space to get the kickers in. 3 or 4 bad bad wides which you wouldn't want to miss in a tighter game. As a whole, you wouldn't mind a lad taking a cut from distance with the new rules given the risk/reward factor.

I would say our 3 goals were of the soft variety. Fair play to the Jones on his 2 and a huge mistake by the Cavan keeper for the 3rd. Unlikely to get goals as easy as that in other games.

I consider we were blessed to have a cushion for the game. In a tighter game I have no doubt panic would have crept in.

Overall, I think the ref was consistent. As stated, some of the Cavan frees were extremely soft but we made it easy for him to give them. Open/general play he was very fair to both sides and quite vocal to the teams.

Like a mentioned last week, 20-22 scores a game seems to be a going average. There will be tougher tests in this division and other teams are going to catch each other out. Need to keep the momentum going and get a win up in Newry.

Disappointing news regarding Costello. Hopefully it gives an opportunity for a forward to step up on scoring responsibilities. But it also allows us to have Jones-Menton-Flynn play together."
What is the word on Costello?

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 04/02/2025 09:10:09    2589344

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "What is the word on Costello?"
Chat in Dunshaughlin yesterday was 6-7 weeks. Its probably the first time he had a decent break off over the Winter with Dunshaughlin out of Leinster early and no Sigerson or O'Byrne cup for him. Hammy's might have been tight!

Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 04/02/2025 13:11:09    2589426