Sam Maguire Cup

Replying To TrimRoad:  "I wonder are the geniuses behind the county board coup two years ago pleased with progress since then?
Clearing house of the majority of experienced players hasn't seemed to be the answer either. Going backwards fast."
100%. Prior to that coup we had lost a promotion playoff and lost to Dublin by 6 points. It has had a massively destabilising affect and has set our progression back years, was crazy at the time and looks even crazier in hindsight

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1505 - 26/05/2024 17:53:21    2547300

24 hours later and it's still hard to get over the manner of the defeat. I have always wished Colm (and every other Meath manager) well, it's a thankless job at the moment, unfortunately yesterday feels a bit like a turn in the road.

Cillian O'Sullivan starting was a strange decision having not played all year. I fully expected him to be off the team in a late switch. He was way off the pace, on a few occasions in the first half he was punished for not tracking back quick enough. And his attempt at a tackle in the play leading up to the third goal backfired spectacularly.

We struggled massively through the spine of the team. Not enough protection at 6 for the first two goals and more general throughout the first half. Midfield were cleaned out. Jones is no longer an automatic starter. Hopefully Gray is over his injury troubles. McBride has potential but a lot of learning to do.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2002 - 26/05/2024 18:27:42    2547325

Replying To Proudroyal:  "With all due respect young Gael I've read your comment on the Louth forum and sorry but cant get my head round you saying you're absolutely delighted for Louth to get the Meath monkey off their back.How can you be delighted for another team to beat yours by 10 points.It doesn't make sense to me.By all means say well done on the victory (which I have done to Louth folk since)but delighted they beat us seems very odd to me.Again not having a pop at you as I like alot of your comments but find that very strange."
What's strange about it, he says as a Meath man he's disappointed about the result but he's happy for the Louth gaels he knows that they finally after 49 years of near misses got a result over Meath, I'm from South Meath not far from the kildare border and I still remember the 1998 leinster final which kildare won, it was there first leinster title I think in about 50 years or so, I was gutted as a Meath man to see my team bet but I was happy for the kildare fans I knew just across the border, nothing strange about that.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 678 - 26/05/2024 19:13:14    2547349

Replying To nobull456:  "I agree facts are facts i agree with your comments The proof was provided yesterday. HOWEVER the clock is still ticking on Colms time frame. He knows 2 wins in next 2 games is still "possible" and then tractors and trailers will be delivering humble pie . Where there is life there is hope! Then there is that REVIEW."
I assume you are being sarcastic when you say 2 wins from the next 2 games is still possible??

There is zero chance we win next weekend. Less than a zero chance if that possible.

Kerry will decide how much we lose by next weekend. Be it 5 points 10 points or 20 points. It's up to them and what they want to get out of the game.

They have gone 3 championship games without scoring a goal which they know won't be sufficient at the business end of championship where scoring 23 points in games v the big boys won't be possible so I suspect they will target goals next weekend v Meath particularly when seeing how many goal chances we coughed up against a middle of the road Louth team.

Beating Monaghan is a possibility I agree although unlikely based on yesterday's shambles.

As for O'Rourkes time frame. The main question there would be what is the succession plan ? I assume O'Bric is being lined up but do the CB see that being next year or have they plans to leave him with the 20s for 2025 and if that is the plan where that leave the senior team ??

Do we continue under the current management for one more year and thread water until 2026 when O'Bric comes in ?? I would say yes we would because no manager of any calibre is going to accept the job for 1 year and then step aside for someone else .

We may well beat Monaghan and get out of the group in 3rd place and I'm sure some on here will try and spin that as some type of progress but for me the damage has been done and yesterdays result and performance made my mind up that a change in management is needed for 2025.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 26/05/2024 19:25:46    2547356

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "What's strange about it, he says as a Meath man he's disappointed about the result but he's happy for the Louth gaels he knows that they finally after 49 years of near misses got a result over Meath, I'm from South Meath not far from the kildare border and I still remember the 1998 leinster final which kildare won, it was there first leinster title I think in about 50 years or so, I was gutted as a Meath man to see my team bet but I was happy for the kildare fans I knew just across the border, nothing strange about that."
How can you be happy for your county to lose to an opponent?put it another way your club is playing your local rival and youre absolutely delighted that they finally beat you in a match?By all means say well done and fair play but to be absolutely delighted they've won doesn't make sense.Each to their own I suppose but I know any final or match I've attended over all the years following Meath I was never happy for the other team to beat us.Thats what i find strange?And before any one labels me a sore loser I've already said well done to many Louth folk I know but I'm not delighted for them to beat us Why should I?I'm a Meathman and supporter end of and this mentality of its alright to lose has us where we are in my opinion.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 26/05/2024 20:09:00    2547384

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I assume you are being sarcastic when you say 2 wins from the next 2 games is still possible??

There is zero chance we win next weekend. Less than a zero chance if that possible.

Kerry will decide how much we lose by next weekend. Be it 5 points 10 points or 20 points. It's up to them and what they want to get out of the game.

They have gone 3 championship games without scoring a goal which they know won't be sufficient at the business end of championship where scoring 23 points in games v the big boys won't be possible so I suspect they will target goals next weekend v Meath particularly when seeing how many goal chances we coughed up against a middle of the road Louth team.

Beating Monaghan is a possibility I agree although unlikely based on yesterday's shambles.

As for O'Rourkes time frame. The main question there would be what is the succession plan ? I assume O'Bric is being lined up but do the CB see that being next year or have they plans to leave him with the 20s for 2025 and if that is the plan where that leave the senior team ??

Do we continue under the current management for one more year and thread water until 2026 when O'Bric comes in ?? I would say yes we would because no manager of any calibre is going to accept the job for 1 year and then step aside for someone else .

We may well beat Monaghan and get out of the group in 3rd place and I'm sure some on here will try and spin that as some type of progress but for me the damage has been done and yesterdays result and performance made my mind up that a change in management is needed for 2025."
Ah yeh but i will not be betting on Meath beating Kerry . I am just sticking to the timeframe and hoping for a miracle ,and ignoring logic . On the slim possibility that the CB will equip itself with the requirements to conduct a real REVIEW of how Meath football can be recovered from 15 or 20 years of sleep and stagnation, We must remember COR did not start the rot ,and eventhough i supported him up to now i fully expect he will give up himself .He gave it his best shot which is not good enough like the others before him. It will be left to the CB to follow the lead shown by Dublin in the early part of this century when they were in the doldrums. VISION by the Chairman to begin with to bring in business expertise to make sponsorship attractive etc.Got all the ducks in a row down to Jim Gavins military precision and discipline .Their success was made happen with vision business heads and discipline all supported by individual development required to best meet the resposibilities of the particular roles . i applaud Dublin for showing what is possible because their success was due to hard ,smart, business like work done off the field of play to begin with. What we see onfield for years now would never have happened otherwise. When i wrote "slim possibility"that the CB will equip etc, That is because i cannot see a culture in Meath where continuous improvement through learning and renewal is evident now. In Dublin it is the gospel.. Until that culture is adapted we can just expect more of the same .Our players deserve better No doubt there will be plenty of Meath people will call this thinking gobbledegook. Therein lies a big problem. i will call it business like approach . Whatever you want to call it ,works very well for Dublin ,The Meathman "ah shur look at the money dublin have" etc. By displaying vision and good business planning they made themselves an attractive investment for potential sponsors, They earned their sponsorship and good luck to them P.S. most info through chats and informal research. other counties i dont know !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1265 - 26/05/2024 21:07:46    2547415

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "What's strange about it, he says as a Meath man he's disappointed about the result but he's happy for the Louth gaels he knows that they finally after 49 years of near misses got a result over Meath, I'm from South Meath not far from the kildare border and I still remember the 1998 leinster final which kildare won, it was there first leinster title I think in about 50 years or so, I was gutted as a Meath man to see my team bet but I was happy for the kildare fans I knew just across the border, nothing strange about that."
I remember it well. Gutted that day to lose, but it was special to see Kildare lift the cup singing the Curragh of Kildare. I felt the same in 1997 when Offaly bet us on the final

atta (Meath) - Posts: 703 - 27/05/2024 08:25:57    2547437

The writing was on the wall from even before the OB cup! I got laughed at back then for calling it out but it was very obvious.
But what surprised me the most was the fact that a team has over a month to get things right but actually got progressively worse! That is just unheard of!
The 3 goals were honestly like looking at a junior C football team in action. What capped it off for me was the one that hit the post and one Meath player just about within 10 yards of the half back and the rest not within 20 yards Id say! Shocking to say the least!
And now people are already suggesting that another Meath man with no Senior Intercounty management experience be the replacement!
Let me explain 3 MYTHS that people keep harping on about on these forums
1. Keep the managers job internal to the county: how many more years of this baloney do we want to face before realizing that what we need is a top class experienced Management team (more so coaching team) to bring us in the right direction. When was the last time a Meath man successfully managed a senior county team to any sort of success?
2. Needs to be a major "blueprint" / "development restructure change " / "clean out of County board": They are just buzz words that people like to use when things go bad but actually dont really know whats needed!! Donegal didnt have any major re-structure in the space of a year when they went from being abysmal to winning an Ulster title! They brought in an EXPERIENCED TOP CLASS MANAGER! end of!!
3. Bringing up every Under 20 player that shows a bit of promise for the U20s!! If i hear that one more time!! The gap between both codes is massive and how many U20s do you see playing for the Dublins, Kerrys, Donegals, etc..... Bringing U20s into a senior setup with poor coaching just turns them into Meath players that get use to losing games like the rest of them.

The reason Louth hammered us last Saturday was because they decided to break the bank a few years ago and bring in MH! And even when he left they bring in GB who in turn knew he needed some experienced heads with him and turns to the likes of Niall Moyna who has been involved in the Dublin setup for years.

So its simple!! These 5 year plans dont really exist! Get a top management team and start winning matches!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 27/05/2024 10:38:53    2547505

Replying To Proudroyal:  "With all due respect young Gael I've read your comment on the Louth forum and sorry but cant get my head round you saying you're absolutely delighted for Louth to get the Meath monkey off their back.How can you be delighted for another team to beat yours by 10 points.It doesn't make sense to me.By all means say well done on the victory (which I have done to Louth folk since)but delighted they beat us seems very odd to me.Again not having a pop at you as I like alot of your comments but find that very strange."
Agree, ridiculous post by young gael. Louth were the better team, but let's not celebrate it

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 931 - 27/05/2024 11:44:11    2547545

Replying To atta:  "I remember it well. Gutted that day to lose, but it was special to see Kildare lift the cup singing the Curragh of Kildare. I felt the same in 1997 when Offaly bet us on the final"
Then you are soft, ya can't possibly be happy to see another team win, is this a wind up ?

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 931 - 27/05/2024 11:50:45    2547553

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Then you are soft, ya can't possibly be happy to see another team win, is this a wind up ?"
Not soft, he's just capable of experiencing two conflicting emotions at once. I felt the same in 98. You should try it, complex thoughts are fun.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 27/05/2024 12:34:40    2547588

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "Not soft, he's just capable of experiencing two conflicting emotions at once. I felt the same in 98. You should try it, complex thoughts are fun."
Bull

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 931 - 27/05/2024 12:55:49    2547601

These lads are to be commended for their efforts, and I'm sure they are proud Meath men, and they give their all, but they were very poor Saturday and because of that let the county down . Unfortunately that's just a fact. If they can't accept that and resat accordingly well then we are staring down the barrel of a Canon on Sunday

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 931 - 27/05/2024 12:59:18    2547605

I must tip my hat off to young Matthew Costello for playing in such difficult circumstances. May his dad rest in peace

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 856 - 27/05/2024 13:23:52    2547625

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Then you are soft, ya can't possibly be happy to see another team win, is this a wind up ?"
Gaelic football is dieing on its feet because of one counties dominance, that's why it's good that other teams win.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 703 - 27/05/2024 13:51:56    2547641

Replying To Shearer:  "I must tip my hat off to young Matthew Costello for playing in such difficult circumstances. May his dad rest in peace"
Classy post,fair play.Enjoy your win over us.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 27/05/2024 14:05:12    2547651

Replying To atta:  "Gaelic football is dieing on its feet because of one counties dominance, that's why it's good that other teams win."
True , but there is a lot more reasons why Gaelic football is dieing on its feet.

Dublin was the cash cow of gaa , last Saturday there was 12000 supporters at headquarters , even there supporting numbers have fallen , like during Dublin bad times they would always come out in numbers to support the team , Dublin fans are bored because there in no competition until they get to the All Ireland semifinals , fans need competition…if you are winning all the time it gets boring . I said it 10 years ago on here what is going to happen fans will lose interest , it takes a generation of 20 years until it's completely dead and we are half ways there now ! Because young people are the next generation of fans and they are just not interested, this is why there is this constant push by Gaa to get young people interested , it's nothing to do with getting them to play the game it's all about creating the next generation of fans and putting bums on seats , in other words money .

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 924 - 27/05/2024 14:40:27    2547670

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "True , but there is a lot more reasons why Gaelic football is dieing on its feet.

Dublin was the cash cow of gaa , last Saturday there was 12000 supporters at headquarters , even there supporting numbers have fallen , like during Dublin bad times they would always come out in numbers to support the team , Dublin fans are bored because there in no competition until they get to the All Ireland semifinals , fans need competition…if you are winning all the time it gets boring . I said it 10 years ago on here what is going to happen fans will lose interest , it takes a generation of 20 years until it's completely dead and we are half ways there now ! Because young people are the next generation of fans and they are just not interested, this is why there is this constant push by Gaa to get young people interested , it's nothing to do with getting them to play the game it's all about creating the next generation of fans and putting bums on seats , in other words money ."
Croke Park seems to have been very forthcoming lately in opening their arms to all codes again. Rugby, talks of more irish soccer games in croker and obviously the concerts!!
Sounds like they need to start making money in other ways now that all the actions they have made in the past have destroyed Gaelic Games and they can no longer keep feeding into Dublins coffers with GAA alone! :)
This is all the GAA's own doing!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 27/05/2024 16:07:06    2547704

Meath football is going no where really until we find the right manager that can put a correct team together.

Points76 (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 27/05/2024 17:34:12    2547736

Is there time to squeeze in another week in portugal ?
Money well spent

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 421 - 27/05/2024 18:33:51    2547759