Sam Maguire Cup

Replying To HARRYM:  "Colm has now left it in the hands of players and management. In his eyes he has made improvements based on what he is working with and is now only half way through the plan of getting them to a top 8 county. Have we seen a well coached team re kickouts and set ups in the last 2 years? The old coach in 2023 wanted a defensive set up on the pitch with quick transitions which was not what management wanted. Fast forward a year and here we are trying to play a game like that but doing it badly. Players starting games in early rounds of championship and then getting limited game time in rest of games. A lot of reactive stuff going on in Meath...Get a coaching team in , listen to them and you will see improvements..mIght not even take 5 years....."
Correct on everything above. I don't like the way O'Rourke has now gone public immediately after the game before even talking to the County Board or the players saying that he wants to stay in charge and that if he isn't there next year it is down to the players and county board. Has he or his management team taken any responsibility at all for the teams performances and for players leaving the panel mid season? I don't trust the county board to actually go through with it and change manager. I can see them trying to paper over the cracks by getting another coach on board and giving O'Rourke another year at least. They don't want to have to go find another manager. To inconvenient for them. Also, this is the same group by and large who tried and failed to oust the last manager and they appointed this one.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 985 - 18/06/2024 12:53:23    2552697

Colm should only get 1 more year on the condition that they achieve promotion to Div 1 and reach the preliminary quarter finals in 2025. Then another 2 years can be considered. Though I'd prefer we went elsewhere for next season.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 463 - 21/06/2024 16:12:07    2553460

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Colm should only get 1 more year on the condition that they achieve promotion to Div 1 and reach the preliminary quarter finals in 2025. Then another 2 years can be considered. Though I'd prefer we went elsewhere for next season."
He said if there was no improvement in 2 years he would walk away.

There has been zero improvement. He should keep his word.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 21/06/2024 20:54:41    2553510

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Colm should only get 1 more year on the condition that they achieve promotion to Div 1 and reach the preliminary quarter finals in 2025. Then another 2 years can be considered. Though I'd prefer we went elsewhere for next season."
Another year?what am i reading, we have never in my life been so bad,clueless in attack and defence,its embarrassing how bad we are,why waste another year, time for an outside manager, enough is enough

Utdroyal (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 21/06/2024 21:15:57    2553514

Replying To Utdroyal:  "Another year?what am i reading, we have never in my life been so bad,clueless in attack and defence,its embarrassing how bad we are,why waste another year, time for an outside manager, enough is enough"
What I meant was if he was to stay on, it would be to those conditions. Like you, I'd prefer an outside manager with a strong coaching staff.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 463 - 22/06/2024 13:17:55    2553593

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "What I meant was if he was to stay on, it would be to those conditions. Like you, I'd prefer an outside manager with a strong coaching staff."
It makes no sense though. You are saying the CB should say we'll only give is you another year if you guarantee us we'll be promoted to Division 1 and reach the preliminary 1/4 ??? Sure how could he possibly give that type of guarantee based on the last 2 years.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 22/06/2024 13:49:56    2553597

Replying To Blackspot09:  "It makes no sense though. You are saying the CB should say we'll only give is you another year if you guarantee us we'll be promoted to Division 1 and reach the preliminary 1/4 ??? Sure how could he possibly give that type of guarantee based on the last 2 years."
He said it himself that next year we'll be vying for promotion and the year after competing with the best so if he wants his 5 years then he has to back it up with some tangible progress. Would you rather give him his 3 years with no expectations??

However if I didn't make myself clear enough the first time my preference is someone new from outside the county.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 463 - 22/06/2024 16:46:01    2553633

Current management can only stay on if appropriate coaches are procured and unveiled with a plan to play.

Ripping it up and starting again is a huge risk but no different to current set up continuing as is which I feel would push us into complete obscurity.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 763 - 22/06/2024 21:11:10    2553765

A brilliant display by Roscommon yesterday to win in Tyrone. Lar Wall was brought in as a senior coach by Davy Burke and seems to be his right hand at games. Did a fantastic job as Gaeil Colmcille manager before taking The Downs to a Leinster final and is very highly thought of. Would have been the perfect addition to our set up you would have thought as an experienced coach who has a CV of improving teams and getting the most out of them. But hey ho.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 478 - 23/06/2024 09:09:36    2553914

Replying To Royalio11:  "Current management can only stay on if appropriate coaches are procured and unveiled with a plan to play.

Ripping it up and starting again is a huge risk but no different to current set up continuing as is which I feel would push us into complete obscurity."
No point in getting coaches in if you're not going to listen to them.We had 2 very good coaches in last year but they walked away wonder why?

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 23/06/2024 11:41:36    2553972

Fair play to Louth lads, what a great run they're on and you have to give credit to them where it's due. First ever All Ireland quarter final for them and they avoid Kerry and Dublin so there's a chance (a small one) but still I've no doubt Ger Brennan will have them ready and up for the quarter final. Just goes to show what proper coaching and trusting a process/system can do. We beat louth that day in navan during the league and look what they progressed since that. We are going backwards lads and Louth are going forward. We are fourth best team in Leinster if you go on Dublin, louth and Westmeaths form and group stage campaign.

SillySimonsOpinion (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 23/06/2024 17:55:53    2554072

Replying To SillySimonsOpinion:  "Fair play to Louth lads, what a great run they're on and you have to give credit to them where it's due. First ever All Ireland quarter final for them and they avoid Kerry and Dublin so there's a chance (a small one) but still I've no doubt Ger Brennan will have them ready and up for the quarter final. Just goes to show what proper coaching and trusting a process/system can do. We beat louth that day in navan during the league and look what they progressed since that. We are going backwards lads and Louth are going forward. We are fourth best team in Leinster if you go on Dublin, louth and Westmeaths form and group stage campaign."
It must be noted also that James McCartan of Down, a highly experienced coach and manager in his own right is part of Ger Brennan's setup with Louth.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 563 - 23/06/2024 20:37:14    2554148

Replying To SillySimonsOpinion:  "Fair play to Louth lads, what a great run they're on and you have to give credit to them where it's due. First ever All Ireland quarter final for them and they avoid Kerry and Dublin so there's a chance (a small one) but still I've no doubt Ger Brennan will have them ready and up for the quarter final. Just goes to show what proper coaching and trusting a process/system can do. We beat louth that day in navan during the league and look what they progressed since that. We are going backwards lads and Louth are going forward. We are fourth best team in Leinster if you go on Dublin, louth and Westmeaths form and group stage campaign."
That league win vs Louth was the high point of our year. Even at that we only played well in the second half. Sad to see such a decline in only a few short months.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2002 - 23/06/2024 22:32:13    2554187

Any idea who Meath are looking at for manager next year.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 540 - 24/06/2024 13:01:19    2554389

Replying To Ashrules:  "Any idea who Meath are looking at for manager next year."
At a guess i would say Cathal O'Bric, Bernard Flynn, Robbie Brennan and Conor Gillespie would be the front runners inside the county.
All redundant as it unlikely the county board will get rid of Colm.

mlc800 (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 24/06/2024 13:34:36    2554400

Replying To mlc800:  "At a guess i would say Cathal O'Bric, Bernard Flynn, Robbie Brennan and Conor Gillespie would be the front runners inside the county.
All redundant as it unlikely the county board will get rid of Colm."
No use in naming anyone. Colm wants the job for an extended term. The county board need to ask him how he proposes to improve from their current standing with the lack of evidence of progress particularly since TC win. If that means additions or replacements in coaching setup, that needs to start ASAP. It is clear what has been done up to now is not and won't be good enough going forward. Colm wants the job, so needs to make recommendations and act on them to show improvement.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 563 - 24/06/2024 15:11:47    2554444

Replying To mlc800:  "At a guess i would say Cathal O'Bric, Bernard Flynn, Robbie Brennan and Conor Gillespie would be the front runners inside the county.
All redundant as it unlikely the county board will have the stomach to get rid of Colm."
3 of the 4 above would be an improvement. but only 2 would possibly be up to the job.

Why not bring in Cathal to work alongside Colm for next year.?

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 24/06/2024 15:12:16    2554445

Replying To Fionn:  "3 of the 4 above would be an improvement. but only 2 would possibly be up to the job.

Why not bring in Cathal to work alongside Colm for next year.?"
Work alongside for what reason?

if they want him to do the job them give him the job and let him do it. What is he going to learn working under COR for a year ?? COB knows meath football inside out so certainly wouldn't need time to get to know the players and not as if COR has years of inter County management experience over him because he doesn't.

This would be a total cop out. If you are putting COB or anyone else for that matter in next year put him in properly as the mian man amd make the change.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 24/06/2024 17:19:55    2554499

On the season as a whole it has been near enough a disaster.

League was as expected. We stayed up but drawing against Fermanagh and Cavan cost us a chance of being in the mix for promotion.

Leinster was a disaster, conceded heavily against Longford and then the Dubs dismantled us.

AI series was shambolic, beat at half time against Louth, couldn't shoot vs Kerry who never got out of 2nd gear and then fought hard for the last 10 minutes against Monaghan.

COR has shown no progress in a lot of areas. Keeper situation has been unsteady, very little improvement from the backs although Adam O Neill and Caufield are good additions. No defensive structure. Midfield is a mess, no set partnership after 2 years. Still an issue up front, none of the forwards can deliver consistently, Frayne and Costello have the ability but never back up there performances.
S&C is also a huge problem, I never expected it to be fixed over night but after 2 years some lads still have no size to them, can't break a tackle and are bullied off the pitch.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 383 - 24/06/2024 19:33:53    2554534

Replying To Fionn:  "3 of the 4 above would be an improvement. but only 2 would possibly be up to the job.

Why not bring in Cathal to work alongside Colm for next year.?"
Why are we still saying the same thing, Flynn, come on he walked away a few years ago after throwing the toys out of the pram, Brennan no interested, why would he leave Crokes and do you honestly think COR would work with someone stronger in O'Bric.

Nothingbutthetruth (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 25/06/2024 13:30:30    2554744