Sam Maguire Cup

Replying To BigJoe14:  "It is more than likely just a team put in for the programme. I would be shocked (but then again) if that was the team they are going with. I would expect three if not four changes to it. I have a feeling it doesn't really matter as Meath are a dead team walking who have checked out by the looks of things."
Of course it's a bogus team. It's the one named before Louth match. Just ignore it. Not worth a thought at all!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 563 - 14/06/2024 12:50:17    2551410

If we are to progress goin forward can we take anything into game Sunday that would lead us believe we can win.any positives accepted.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 493 - 14/06/2024 13:03:43    2551413

Replying To Borderroyal:  "If we are to progress goin forward can we take anything into game Sunday that would lead us believe we can win.any positives accepted."
positives are ....no matter what the result...COR will find a way to exit at the end of this season. Whether Our season ends on Sunday or the next day, COR is smart enough and savvy enough to know that his Goose is cooked , not with the CB, but with the Football & Meath Public. He just needs to find the right time & opportunity to allow him present his time as progress and a partial success....i can hear his sweet words now..."sure ..all i wanted to do was give my little bit to improving our Lot" as Homer would say.....and not the Homer of Marge & Co

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 14/06/2024 14:13:02    2551433

Replying To Borderroyal:  "If we are to progress goin forward can we take anything into game Sunday that would lead us believe we can win.any positives accepted."
I dont think we can question the players heart and determination! they survived Div2 because of it. So couple that with a beatable Monaghan and you'd never know!! Im actually quietly confident they can do it (Im not allowed be negative anymore :) ). I at least think it will be competitive!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 14/06/2024 14:31:04    2551440

One positive is in the first half of the Kerry game we defended pretty well and got plenty of scoring chances but couldn't execute, if you take even half of those missed chances then could have gone in near level with Kerry at half time.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 14/06/2024 15:15:20    2551449

Replying To winatallcost:  "Of course it's a bogus team. It's the one named before Louth match. Just ignore it. Not worth a thought at all!"
We've still pretty much been starting 8 defenders for championship games swapping like for likes at best, this is a knockout game and we have to try get the scoreboard moving straight from the off, to me Morris, Costello, Frayne, JOC & McGowan are our best attacking options available and they need to start but I haven't seen anything from the championship line-ups so far that'll make me think they all will.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 14/06/2024 15:31:10    2551452

If, massive if, we did win tomorrow the reward is a away match against Tyrone, Mayo or Galway/Armagh.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 15/06/2024 21:03:17    2551711

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "If, massive if, we did win tomorrow the reward is a away match against Tyrone, Mayo or Galway/Armagh."
Delaying the inevitable is all we'd be doing.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 15/06/2024 21:44:48    2551722

Replying To LowerHogan:  "We've still pretty much been starting 8 defenders for championship games swapping like for likes at best, this is a knockout game and we have to try get the scoreboard moving straight from the off, to me Morris, Costello, Frayne, JOC & McGowan are our best attacking options available and they need to start but I haven't seen anything from the championship line-ups so far that'll make me think they all will."
100% agree and without disrespect to Monaghan we shouldn't feel the need to 'park the bus'! This game is winnable with the right approach - let's go for it!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 501 - 16/06/2024 09:38:31    2551781

Well that's it for another year , 3 wins from 12 games this year is not a great return let's be honest.

From what I have seen I don't see any improvement next year if the current management team stays on ,

Colm O'Rourke from his recent interview today talks about needing another 3 years .

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 924 - 16/06/2024 18:27:19    2551973

The final play of the game sums it up, we'd got it back to 2 points with 90 seconds left. Any well drilled team would go man on man for that Monaghan kickout, not give the opposition an easy possession and chance to run the clock down. If COR was coming out talking about a system they're trying to put in place it'd be one thing, but he only talks about gaining experience. Those lads won't magically get better without being prepared like a modern team. Monaghan were there for the taking today and we weren't close. It's incredibly frustrating. You don't need a team of David Cliffords to execute a coherent kickout strategy.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 16/06/2024 19:16:14    2551989

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Well that's it for another year , 3 wins from 12 games this year is not a great return let's be honest.

From what I have seen I don't see any improvement next year if the current management team stays on ,

Colm O'Rourke from his recent interview today talks about needing another 3 years ."
I think he said 5 years not 3, not sure if he was joking or not.

His contract was always 2 years with a 3rd year pending a review. If a good honest review is done now surely he won't manage next year.

2024 was one of the worst years following meath I can remember.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 176 - 16/06/2024 19:32:56    2551995

Tactically weak again today. Accept poor coaching, expect poor results.

Set up defensive yet again and the Monaghan wing backs cut us apart from around the D. Monaghan management must have looked at the Kerry game in Navan and it was easy from there.

This was a must win and we set up defensive and were thumped by the third quarter.

We had the beatings of them all over the park man for man but ran into contact and took the wrong option 80% of the time.

Sat back when we needed to push up. Had no support when we broke. Weren't cute enough. That Monaghan team did not win a game since January and will not win next week whoever they play.

A very disappointing year. Nothing changed from the outset of the season even during the O Bryne Cup.

It's obvious this team lacks any semblance of modern coaching or tactics.

I accept this is a new, young, inexperienced team. But the set up is so wrong it's inexcusable.

There's a huge risk on current form that we will fall into Div. 3 next year and loiter in Tailteann Cup for what will be at least 2 seasons.

Whether Colm O Rourke stays or goes is irrelevant. Get a coaching ticket in. Foundation's of a team and the players are there it just needs cutthroat coaching.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 763 - 16/06/2024 19:39:52    2551999

Replying To Royalio11:  "Tactically weak again today. Accept poor coaching, expect poor results.

Set up defensive yet again and the Monaghan wing backs cut us apart from around the D. Monaghan management must have looked at the Kerry game in Navan and it was easy from there.

This was a must win and we set up defensive and were thumped by the third quarter.

We had the beatings of them all over the park man for man but ran into contact and took the wrong option 80% of the time.

Sat back when we needed to push up. Had no support when we broke. Weren't cute enough. That Monaghan team did not win a game since January and will not win next week whoever they play.

A very disappointing year. Nothing changed from the outset of the season even during the O Bryne Cup.

It's obvious this team lacks any semblance of modern coaching or tactics.

I accept this is a new, young, inexperienced team. But the set up is so wrong it's inexcusable.

There's a huge risk on current form that we will fall into Div. 3 next year and loiter in Tailteann Cup for what will be at least 2 seasons.

Whether Colm O Rourke stays or goes is irrelevant. Get a coaching ticket in. Foundation's of a team and the players are there it just needs cutthroat coaching."
I would have agreed with you at the start of the year but I just cant fully agree now. you are right in saying it doesnt necessarily matter who the manager is as long as he surrounds himself with a very good coaching team. Look at Kevin McStay for example.
But COR really has shown that he is struggling tooversee a senior intercounty team.
It is very hard to criticise lads who have given so much to Meath as players and everything else they have done over the years but they are out of their depth and really needed to be paired up with 2 great coaches to help them learn along the way but that never happened and we are where we are now! Worse than we ever were.
Even Michael Murphy was saying that it is not always about whether you have the players or not...you set up a system to counteract that! He was amazed that in this modern day to see a team with absolutely no clue of a system! And was right in saying that you dont start changing the plan in the middle of June but start working on it in January!!
I would be astonished if COR is allowed stay.

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 16/06/2024 20:45:42    2552021

Why did Ronan Jones not start lads? He nearly turned the result for Meath. James Conlon too. Monaghan supporters feeling we got out of jail today, that team are as mentally brittle as can be at the minute, and Meath stood off them until it was too late.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 16/06/2024 21:25:02    2552043

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "I think he said 5 years not 3, not sure if he was joking or not.

His contract was always 2 years with a 3rd year pending a review. If a good honest review is done now surely he won't manage next year.

2024 was one of the worst years following meath I can remember."
Fair play to you for watching them. I watched 2 matches all year, was more than enough. Kerry was worst performance I ever saw from a Meath team.

O'Rourke seems to be very relaxed about it all.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1341 - 16/06/2024 22:22:42    2552069

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Why did Ronan Jones not start lads? He nearly turned the result for Meath. James Conlon too. Monaghan supporters feeling we got out of jail today, that team are as mentally brittle as can be at the minute, and Meath stood off them until it was too late."
But not near as mentally brittle as Meath. We took Jack McCarron off who had been dictating play for us around the middle and ran down the bench. Let Meath back into it. Meath were never gonna win that game ! A win & a draw and unlucky not to get 2nd place. We are a team in transformation with younger guys coming in & we knew that at start of the season. Meath have good enough players but no football strategy.
Certainly no kickout strategy !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 359 - 16/06/2024 22:26:03    2552071

Lot of planning to do. Firstly CB need to find the best manager available for next year. Present man if none better available. But should be someone interested.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 540 - 16/06/2024 23:17:26    2552088

Replying To JonnieG:  "I would have agreed with you at the start of the year but I just cant fully agree now. you are right in saying it doesnt necessarily matter who the manager is as long as he surrounds himself with a very good coaching team. Look at Kevin McStay for example.
But COR really has shown that he is struggling tooversee a senior intercounty team.
It is very hard to criticise lads who have given so much to Meath as players and everything else they have done over the years but they are out of their depth and really needed to be paired up with 2 great coaches to help them learn along the way but that never happened and we are where we are now! Worse than we ever were.
Even Michael Murphy was saying that it is not always about whether you have the players or not...you set up a system to counteract that! He was amazed that in this modern day to see a team with absolutely no clue of a system! And was right in saying that you dont start changing the plan in the middle of June but start working on it in January!!
I would be astonished if COR is allowed stay."
I wouldn't be astonished one bit if he remains in charge. You have to remember who you are dealing with here. Meath have a very weak county board and it is full of the same people who tried to vote out the last manager, and who appointed this one. They will buy what Colm O'Rourke is selling them about more time and young players etc etc and people will have to put up with it and watch the team get relegated to Division 3 next year and more players leave the panel. They also won't want the hassle of finding a new manager. They will be happy to just keep tipping along.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 985 - 16/06/2024 23:44:37    2552101

Team selection let Meath down today in combination with the snowball effect of a number of lacklustre performances. A good team would have kicked on in the third quarter after getting on top, but Monaghan couldn't do that because they are not a good team in the grand scheme of things. O'Sullivan and Morris don't deserve to be starters at this point in time. If Jones is in any way fit he should start and then be taken off rather than vice versa. I have been really disappointed to see O'Rourke not seem to care in post match interviews about the outcome of the game, as if it was inevitable. At least today be showed a bit of fight to want to keep the job, I honestly hope he doesn't though! For all the negatives, it was great to see Meath rattle off those 7 points. Also Adam O'Neill is a top player. Didn't know much about him before this year but he will grow into a leader for that team for years to come if he sticks at it!

meathfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 231 - 17/06/2024 00:25:16    2552111