Meath 2023

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I think it's a good time to bring this thread back up now that the season has finished. The season was really split into two. The very negative league and Leinster and the very positive Tailteann cup. Winning the Tailteann cup probably leaves us somewhere between 14th-17th in Ireland which is probably lower than we were 2019-2021 but it's much improved from where we were 3 months ago.

In terms of building a team going forward there's been some big positives.

Sean Brennan came in and done very well in goals.
Adam O'Neill is definitely a county player and with a bit more S&C work very possibly the McGill replacement (unless he comes back which I hope he does) at 3.
Coffey done excellently in the Tailteann cup.
Conor Gray and Jack Flynn the midfield of the future (liked having both of them and Jones in the same team for physicality), both mobile, skilful and units of men. Gray the better fielder, Flynn the better of the two on the ball so a good balance.
Costello had a good year as an inside forward and took over free responsibilities from his side very well. I expect him to continue to get better.
And despite our poor league we stayed up so get a good test next year and know we have all Ireland football secured.
We won a proper trophy which we haven't done since 2010 (Joe Sheridan curse broken).

There's also been a few negatives,
Like I said we are further off the top teams than we were 2/3 years ago.
We lost key experienced players like McGill and Menton, and a very promising defender in Harkin.
We did have a terrible league with some really bad performances against teams above the Tailteann Cup standard.
Campion and Walsh picked up bad long term injuries and lost out on the feel good factor and the exposure of the Tailteann cup.
Some of the young players did not look up to the level but that is to be expected.

Overall you can't really grade this year until you see next year. If we up our levels in the league and compete really well in the all Ireland series then the TC win will be seen as the launchpad. If we stutter it will be seen as a false dawn and us getting overexcited. There is a core of players 25 or younger on the panel that have the makings of a really good team. Hopefully this success gives them all the motivation they need to have a good off/pre season and push on in terms of S&C and skill development. We have 1 last 8 appearance since 2010 so that has to the be the goal, Cork got there this year and Kildare were very close and we are not far off those teams."
Great piece as always Leitrim, you've never been too high or low on things. Pity to see all the naysayers coming out after Saturday. Same posters would've hammered O'Rourke if they'd lost that game. Just can't win in some peoples eyes.

That we won a trophy giving championship debuts to 13 players, whilst missing Shane Walsh, Shane McEntee, Tomas O'Reilly, John O'Regan, Daragh Campion, Jason Scully to various injuries, Brian menton to retirement and Conor McGill and Seamus Lavin not being around either

They've found a whole bunch of new players and not all of them will last the rebuild but positive steps are being taken. The talk Garrigan and Eivers aren't up to mens football now looks laughable. Meath bullied Down at times and looked tactically superior.

I'm not saying everything is rosey, further improvements will be needed next year and beyond to get us back where we want to be. And ultimately this might be the zenith for Colm, but enjoy it for what it is. A group of Meath men, playing for the jersey, management and supporters. A bit of pride and feel good has been restored and we need to keep improving.

This extra 6 or so weeks of extra training, bonding and building will be immeasurably in future years. Winning six games in a row can't be undervalued either. Yes it's division 3&4 Opponents but as Andy McEntee himself says many a time winning and losing become habits. Derry built up their style out of public glare in division 4 then 3 and look at them now. Winning became a habit to them.

The holiday these lads get for winning the Tailteann Cup should only help them further along.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/07/2023 12:31:57    2495381

Replying To Meathjourno:  "Great summary. Haven't been this excited about Meath prospects in a long time (hence my first post in donkeys).

I keep seeing stuff about how young the team is but haven't seen much on specific ages. Who's got another 10+ years ahead of them, who is new to first XV but a relatively late starters? Also, will Shane Walsh be back next year?"
From the 26 of the final only Keoghan and Lenihan are over 30. Just going off the age groups they played with at Meath underage Harnan and Cillian O'Sullivan are 28/29. James McEntee 27/28. Ronan Ryan and Ronan Jones 25/26. Scully and Campion would be 24/25. Curtis and Ben Wyer 23/34. Morris, Walsh, Harry Hogan, Lynch, McGowan, O'Connor are 22/23. Costello, Coffey, Brennan, O'Higgins, Hickey and I think Adam O'Neill are 21/22. Moriarty 20/21. Frayne, Gray and Caulfield are 19/20. In relation to Walsh I heard he is out of club this year. Not sure about next year but it's a bad injury so even if he is back it might take him a while to get back up to speed.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 18/07/2023 12:34:12    2495382

Have been many up's and down's over season, great start agaist Cork, however rest of league was dissapointing, defence all over the place, while forwards too often took wrong options. Whatevey was going on in training was not evident in matches. Defeat to Offaly came as no great surprise and winning TC looked beyond us. But introduction of new blood seemed to give a bit of life to panel, together with a defensive system that evolved as TC went on. Issues that plagued us for years have improved and with that confidence grew. We are more physical and fitness looks good. We have a very decent panel and return of Walsh, O Reilly, Scully and Campion should add to it. Hopefully more of the under 20s come through and minor lads of 2021 in next few years. Yes, we have been playing Div 3/4 teams and it is a big step up to Div 2, but a top 4/5 finish is well withhin us.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 18/07/2023 14:02:02    2495410

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "From the 26 of the final only Keoghan and Lenihan are over 30. Just going off the age groups they played with at Meath underage Harnan and Cillian O'Sullivan are 28/29. James McEntee 27/28. Ronan Ryan and Ronan Jones 25/26. Scully and Campion would be 24/25. Curtis and Ben Wyer 23/34. Morris, Walsh, Harry Hogan, Lynch, McGowan, O'Connor are 22/23. Costello, Coffey, Brennan, O'Higgins, Hickey and I think Adam O'Neill are 21/22. Moriarty 20/21. Frayne, Gray and Caulfield are 19/20. In relation to Walsh I heard he is out of club this year. Not sure about next year but it's a bad injury so even if he is back it might take him a while to get back up to speed."
Only thing I'd add is tailteann cup isint a major trophy. Louth were in a competition above it

rubia (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 18/07/2023 14:09:33    2495412

Replying To rubia:  "Only thing I'd add is tailteann cup isint a major trophy. Louth were in a competition above it"
And how did Louth get on in that competition . A hammering in the Leinster final.

Three losses in the group stages including a hammering from Kerry.

The real test of where Louth are at will be next season and of Harte and Devlin can keep them at the same level.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/07/2023 16:44:32    2495467

Replying To brian:  "And how did Louth get on in that competition . A hammering in the Leinster final.

Three losses in the group stages including a hammering from Kerry.

The real test of where Louth are at will be next season and of Harte and Devlin can keep them at the same level."
In reality Andy mcentee had meath competing at a higher level but nobody wol admit that. The celebrations for this competition is embarrassing.

rubia (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 18/07/2023 17:57:31    2495486

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I think it's a good time to bring this thread back up now that the season has finished. The season was really split into two. The very negative league and Leinster and the very positive Tailteann cup. Winning the Tailteann cup probably leaves us somewhere between 14th-17th in Ireland which is probably lower than we were 2019-2021 but it's much improved from where we were 3 months ago.

In terms of building a team going forward there's been some big positives.

Sean Brennan came in and done very well in goals.
Adam O'Neill is definitely a county player and with a bit more S&C work very possibly the McGill replacement (unless he comes back which I hope he does) at 3.
Coffey done excellently in the Tailteann cup.
Conor Gray and Jack Flynn the midfield of the future (liked having both of them and Jones in the same team for physicality), both mobile, skilful and units of men. Gray the better fielder, Flynn the better of the two on the ball so a good balance.
Costello had a good year as an inside forward and took over free responsibilities from his side very well. I expect him to continue to get better.
And despite our poor league we stayed up so get a good test next year and know we have all Ireland football secured.
We won a proper trophy which we haven't done since 2010 (Joe Sheridan curse broken).

There's also been a few negatives,
Like I said we are further off the top teams than we were 2/3 years ago.
We lost key experienced players like McGill and Menton, and a very promising defender in Harkin.
We did have a terrible league with some really bad performances against teams above the Tailteann Cup standard.
Campion and Walsh picked up bad long term injuries and lost out on the feel good factor and the exposure of the Tailteann cup.
Some of the young players did not look up to the level but that is to be expected.

Overall you can't really grade this year until you see next year. If we up our levels in the league and compete really well in the all Ireland series then the TC win will be seen as the launchpad. If we stutter it will be seen as a false dawn and us getting overexcited. There is a core of players 25 or younger on the panel that have the makings of a really good team. Hopefully this success gives them all the motivation they need to have a good off/pre season and push on in terms of S&C and skill development. We have 1 last 8 appearance since 2010 so that has to the be the goal, Cork got there this year and Kildare were very close and we are not far off those teams."
Nice to see a bit of balanced sense being spoken instead f just out and out 'Anti Colm/Royal Dunne' or the continued Anti McEntee.

Overall we are a bit behind last year, but the benefits of actually winning something can be seen by everyone and hopefully used as a platform to build on for next year, where the target has to be a top 3 finish in the league and a meaningful run in Leinster. While it was brilliant to see us finally lift a trophy in HQ and the jo on the lads faces, we have to remember that we beat Div4 and Div 3 teams which we would expect to be doing.

O Rourke still has a lot to prove next year, he swallowed his pride t be fair and asked James McEntee and McGill back after realizing he had acted to hasty in dropping them. McGill had opted to go travelling for a small bit which is fair enough but McEntee cam in, stayed injury free and had a positive impact. He also showed a changed in tactics to a degree as well after the league and focused a bit more on defensive play which only really shone in the final but it shows progression.

Overall I can't really get behind saying it was a great year for Meath football but it definitely has the potential to be a catalyst for moving forward.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 19/07/2023 11:14:55    2495578

Looking forward to next year, how we perform in Leinster next year now seems irrelevant. What would be the best approach. Take it easy and if we bow out early it makes no difference.

Having said that we don't yet know what shape the Dubs will be in after winning or losing the AI final and possible retirements. They might be vulnerable. Getting a crack at Kildare/Louth/ Westmeath in championship is also a good test for the newer lads.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 19/07/2023 11:44:44    2495594

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Looking forward to next year, how we perform in Leinster next year now seems irrelevant. What would be the best approach. Take it easy and if we bow out early it makes no difference.

Having said that we don't yet know what shape the Dubs will be in after winning or losing the AI final and possible retirements. They might be vulnerable. Getting a crack at Kildare/Louth/ Westmeath in championship is also a good test for the newer lads."
Go at it hammer and tongs. We are not at a level where we can afford to pass up any competition at all. Go out and try to win every game, treat them all like a final. We have more chance t win a Leinster than an All Ireland and should treat it as such. As has been mentioned before, winning becomes a habit and Trophies generate excitement and drive so we should take nothing easy at all in my opinion

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 19/07/2023 12:00:29    2495599

Replying To ratlag:  "Nice to see a bit of balanced sense being spoken instead f just out and out 'Anti Colm/Royal Dunne' or the continued Anti McEntee.

Overall we are a bit behind last year, but the benefits of actually winning something can be seen by everyone and hopefully used as a platform to build on for next year, where the target has to be a top 3 finish in the league and a meaningful run in Leinster. While it was brilliant to see us finally lift a trophy in HQ and the jo on the lads faces, we have to remember that we beat Div4 and Div 3 teams which we would expect to be doing.

O Rourke still has a lot to prove next year, he swallowed his pride t be fair and asked James McEntee and McGill back after realizing he had acted to hasty in dropping them. McGill had opted to go travelling for a small bit which is fair enough but McEntee cam in, stayed injury free and had a positive impact. He also showed a changed in tactics to a degree as well after the league and focused a bit more on defensive play which only really shone in the final but it shows progression.

Overall I can't really get behind saying it was a great year for Meath football but it definitely has the potential to be a catalyst for moving forward."
Good balanced post ratlag.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 19/07/2023 12:58:51    2495613

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Looking forward to next year, how we perform in Leinster next year now seems irrelevant. What would be the best approach. Take it easy and if we bow out early it makes no difference.

Having said that we don't yet know what shape the Dubs will be in after winning or losing the AI final and possible retirements. They might be vulnerable. Getting a crack at Kildare/Louth/ Westmeath in championship is also a good test for the newer lads."
Don't think its possible to switch on/off, winning becomes a habit, maybe Dublin and Kerry can tailor their runs, for us its giving our all in each game, building confidence and seeing where it takes us.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 19/07/2023 13:09:20    2495618

Have to go hard at the league and leinster championship given the short season. Squad is not mature enough to be deciding when they can turn it on or off and winning is a habit. Enough players brought in now that 2024 shouldn't require a lot of experimenting and unlikely that any player from the 20s not already in is going to be up to standard in 6 months.
I do think there is a lack of players from Ratoath involved so hopefully a few more are made available. Dominating the club scene and only 1 starter does not reflect well on club championship.

off_the_wall (Roscommon) - Posts: 63 - 19/07/2023 13:11:45    2495620

Replying To ratlag:  "Nice to see a bit of balanced sense being spoken instead f just out and out 'Anti Colm/Royal Dunne' or the continued Anti McEntee.

Overall I can't really get behind saying it was a great year for Meath football but it definitely has the potential to be a catalyst for moving forward."
It was a master stroke by Colm dropping the players who were not physically fit enough to wear a Meath jersey.
Fair play to James McEntee going off and getting fit. It the fittest I have seen him in years and all credit to Colm for achieving this. He certainly didn't act hastily or swallowed any pride and player will know next year not to show completely out of shape.
McGill did not get himself fit and back into the team and we have probably seen the last of him in a Meath jersey.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 19/07/2023 16:10:09    2495675

Replying To Maestro:  "It was a master stroke by Colm dropping the players who were not physically fit enough to wear a Meath jersey.
Fair play to James McEntee going off and getting fit. It the fittest I have seen him in years and all credit to Colm for achieving this. He certainly didn't act hastily or swallowed any pride and player will know next year not to show completely out of shape.
McGill did not get himself fit and back into the team and we have probably seen the last of him in a Meath jersey."
Position management took has proved a success and has been endorsed by both Sean Coffey and James Mac, two of the lads who fell short on what was expected, knew door was open, worked hard and got just reward. The system is working as proven by the commitment and loyality shown by entire panel.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 19/07/2023 16:58:46    2495691

Replying To Maestro:  "It was a master stroke by Colm dropping the players who were not physically fit enough to wear a Meath jersey.
McGill did not get himself fit and back into the team and we have probably seen the last of him in a Meath jersey."
Agreed .........Any manager has to hold the line on these areas . I think his message is simple...Meet the standard and let us know when you have ,and we will take it from there. A follow up "hows it going "?would of course be routine maybe. Colms policy of the player must take responsibility fits here. Any other spin is not believable in my view. The Manager has to manage which does not include lacing the players boots !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 19/07/2023 19:06:00    2495720

Replying To off_the_wall:  "Have to go hard at the league and leinster championship given the short season. Squad is not mature enough to be deciding when they can turn it on or off and winning is a habit. Enough players brought in now that 2024 shouldn't require a lot of experimenting and unlikely that any player from the 20s not already in is going to be up to standard in 6 months.
I do think there is a lack of players from Ratoath involved so hopefully a few more are made available. Dominating the club scene and only 1 starter does not reflect well on club championship."
A good club team in a county doesn't make/form a good county team. The standard between club and county is massive

redracoon (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 19/07/2023 23:41:34    2495739

Replying To off_the_wall:  "Have to go hard at the league and leinster championship given the short season. Squad is not mature enough to be deciding when they can turn it on or off and winning is a habit. Enough players brought in now that 2024 shouldn't require a lot of experimenting and unlikely that any player from the 20s not already in is going to be up to standard in 6 months.
I do think there is a lack of players from Ratoath involved so hopefully a few more are made available. Dominating the club scene and only 1 starter does not reflect well on club championship."
Again someone with a general comment about lack of players from a club/area of the county. Let put names behind it. Who are the players from Ratoath who should be starting/brought in?

for me Ratoath are just a solid, very few top class player but an entire team of good committed players. And I dont want to sound disrespectful to them. But, and i hate to use a dublin comparison, but when st vincents where the top team in dublin, they only had 2/3 players on the dublin panel.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 20/07/2023 09:59:55    2495748

What absolute rubbish, its laughable really. I can guarantee you have absolutely no idea what shape any player showed up in when they returned. James McEntee came back and got a worse score on the same fitness test that O Rourke decided he wasn't fit enough from in the first place. This isn't made up, or third hand information, this is absolute fact whether the like of yourself want to hear it or not. McGill showed from his club form that he was far from unfit as well. Both players were asked back in towards the end of the league as Colm realized things were not going to plan at which point James came back but McGill had decided to do some travelling. Again, these are all facts and not opinions like your post. As I said, it is a good sign from O Rourke that he realized he acted hastily and asked the lads back in as McEntee made a big difference when he came back.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 20/07/2023 10:08:31    2495751

Replying To ratlag:  "What absolute rubbish, its laughable really. I can guarantee you have absolutely no idea what shape any player showed up in when they returned. James McEntee came back and got a worse score on the same fitness test that O Rourke decided he wasn't fit enough from in the first place. This isn't made up, or third hand information, this is absolute fact whether the like of yourself want to hear it or not. McGill showed from his club form that he was far from unfit as well. Both players were asked back in towards the end of the league as Colm realized things were not going to plan at which point James came back but McGill had decided to do some travelling. Again, these are all facts and not opinions like your post. As I said, it is a good sign from O Rourke that he realized he acted hastily and asked the lads back in as McEntee made a big difference when he came back."
Tells someone they've no idea, when you've no idea yourself. Unless you're a member of the panel (which I doubt) or the back room team (which I doubt) then you've no more idea than the poster you're bad mouthing. You're replying on second and third hand information yourself to represent as facts. Don't be that guy, there's one of them already we don't need more.

Definition of a fact - a thing that's known or proven to be true.

No one outside of the Meath panel knows for a "fact" what the truth is.

Honestly some people just can't be happy or accepting of anything positive. A manager makes mistakes, takes steps to correct them and he's still getting a going over. As michael Caine said some people just want to see the world burn

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/07/2023 11:28:46    2495774

Replying To juicy:  "Again someone with a general comment about lack of players from a club/area of the county. Let put names behind it. Who are the players from Ratoath who should be starting/brought in?

for me Ratoath are just a solid, very few top class player but an entire team of good committed players. And I dont want to sound disrespectful to them. But, and i hate to use a dublin comparison, but when st vincents where the top team in dublin, they only had 2/3 players on the dublin panel."
Your right juicy
Ratoath are a bang average team full of dubs
Too many on Panal at the moment
Don't need them

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 20/07/2023 11:52:42    2495779