2021 Minor Footballers

It's significant win for leinster football. This Meath team are only third leinster team to win a minor All Ireland since 2000. In the last 21 years only 3 leinster teams have won minor All-Irelands. Tbey are laois in 2003 and Dublin in 2012 and now Meath in 2021. This is an excellent underage team. This team and many of the players have won 2 leinster minor titles in a row and 1 All Ireland minor title and they have beaten Dublin by 11 pts in this championship and beaten Dublin by 11 pts in last years championship. And have beaten an excellent Tyrone team who were hammering every other team in thevchampionship this year. Many were saying this was best Tyrone minor team to come out of Tyrone since 98 01 minor Tyrone All Ireland winning teams.
This is brillant underage team. Many of them look like they have really potential. Allot of really good quality footballers. I thought Meath had better footballers today. Kelly is a future Meath full back. And Corbett a future centre back. Ennis is an outstanding defender. Kinlough, an excellent prospect at midfield. And Emmanuel is a very exciting talent. While Finley O Murchu Corcocan are good natural inside forwards with good futures. O Bric the manager has done real good job, managing this team since U15. He has been involved managing underage team in Meath in Navan O Mahonys and Wolfe Tones for 20 years. He was manager of outstanding Navan O Mahoneys minor team in 00s which won County titles. He's knows underage Meath football very well. Really impressed with him and he will take these lads over at U20. Which has to be Meaths next aim.

A massive massive win for Meath today. A great day for Meath football. The future is green and gold, the future is Meaths.

Kingkeegan (UK) - Posts: 55 - 28/08/2021 18:25:35    2375551

what a day .. some team . up the royals

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 28/08/2021 20:12:36    2375666

What a day, what a match , what a win, what a team. It's one am and I'm only heading to bed. Proud to say I was there to witness that. I said after Dublin game we would win all Ireland and by Jasus we did.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2021 01:00:50    2375843

Replying To Kingkeegan:  "It's significant win for leinster football. This Meath team are only third leinster team to win a minor All Ireland since 2000. In the last 21 years only 3 leinster teams have won minor All-Irelands. Tbey are laois in 2003 and Dublin in 2012 and now Meath in 2021. This is an excellent underage team. This team and many of the players have won 2 leinster minor titles in a row and 1 All Ireland minor title and they have beaten Dublin by 11 pts in this championship and beaten Dublin by 11 pts in last years championship. And have beaten an excellent Tyrone team who were hammering every other team in thevchampionship this year. Many were saying this was best Tyrone minor team to come out of Tyrone since 98 01 minor Tyrone All Ireland winning teams.
This is brillant underage team. Many of them look like they have really potential. Allot of really good quality footballers. I thought Meath had better footballers today. Kelly is a future Meath full back. And Corbett a future centre back. Ennis is an outstanding defender. Kinlough, an excellent prospect at midfield. And Emmanuel is a very exciting talent. While Finley O Murchu Corcocan are good natural inside forwards with good futures. O Bric the manager has done real good job, managing this team since U15. He has been involved managing underage team in Meath in Navan O Mahonys and Wolfe Tones for 20 years. He was manager of outstanding Navan O Mahoneys minor team in 00s which won County titles. He's knows underage Meath football very well. Really impressed with him and he will take these lads over at U20. Which has to be Meaths next aim.

A massive massive win for Meath today. A great day for Meath football. The future is green and gold, the future is Meaths."
Well said keegan great post, just a special group of players these were, I'd even give a mention to John O'Regan too, didn't start against Louth or Dublin but started sligo and Tyrone and proved to be a real warrior in that team, he made a full length diving block that was similar to the great mick lyons lyons block on jimmy Kerrigan in the 1987 all Ireland. Warriors and leaders throughout that team perhaps the seniors could learn a bit watching them.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 29/08/2021 09:58:03    2375868

Congratulations to the team and management yesterday. Good match and good style of football, which is good going into the future. A number of pleasing aspects were the team work of all involved. Management deserve a lot of credit being able to put together a good team made up of players from all over the county.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/08/2021 13:39:38    2376002

Congrats lads ye have some team there
But ye need to mind them and hope they develop
It was great to see the real meath traditions of tough tackling by those boys
Look to be some good leaders on that team too

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 29/08/2021 13:51:18    2376008

I'm only just coming off the high of being in Croker yesterday now. A magnificent win. A team of warriors, phenomenal in the tackle. Play with great courage. The last score says it all. Up 3 at the water break, nerves set in, we sit back a bit and it goes back to level. Heads could have dropped. Conor Ennis, a young man small in stature but with enormous heart. When I think of the attitude I want Meath players to have he ticks every box. He takes responsibility, a brilliant run, calm heads to work it around. And Shaun Leonard with ice in the veins for a brilliant winner. A move started by a Ballinabrackey man and finished by a St Colmcilles man. Two clubs that couldn't be further apart in Meath, but two players that combined superbly all year. We are a great football county when we cut out the messing and all row in one direction. A huge thanks to this team for giving us all both joy and hope for the future

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 29/08/2021 16:40:51    2376066

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I'm only just coming off the high of being in Croker yesterday now. A magnificent win. A team of warriors, phenomenal in the tackle. Play with great courage. The last score says it all. Up 3 at the water break, nerves set in, we sit back a bit and it goes back to level. Heads could have dropped. Conor Ennis, a young man small in stature but with enormous heart. When I think of the attitude I want Meath players to have he ticks every box. He takes responsibility, a brilliant run, calm heads to work it around. And Shaun Leonard with ice in the veins for a brilliant winner. A move started by a Ballinabrackey man and finished by a St Colmcilles man. Two clubs that couldn't be further apart in Meath, but two players that combined superbly all year. We are a great football county when we cut out the messing and all row in one direction. A huge thanks to this team for giving us all both joy and hope for the future"
Two great clubs ballinabrackey and cilles.
But I would say that :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2021 19:58:20    2376137

Too long since we have seen a Meath team play so well over a number of matches, came up against a very highly rated Tyrone but they just played their own game and once again displayed the belief they have in their own ability. High skill level all over the pitch combined with suberb work rate and leaders in every line ensured they got their just rewards. Last ten minutes was hard on the nerves, however this bunch were not going to be denied, they played a lovely brand of football and back-up was always there when needed, typified by Sean Leonard who only seconds earlied had fouled to give Tyrone the equalizer, head down? not a bit of it, back up the field to get on the end of a fantastic run by Ennis ( got lucky with double hop) to score the winner. Great credit to panel and management, this win combined with double Leinster will encourage the young lads coming through. Hopefully its a sign of things to come.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 29/08/2021 20:37:30    2376148

to weigh in on the analysis lads, Im a very proud fan today. This is an enormous year for Meath GAA and for Leinster as a whole with Meath winning the All-Ire minor championship and Offaly winning the U20 championship. Perhaps times are changing!

Remember, for traditions sake, that Meath only won three minor all-Irelands before 2021, that was 1990 and 1992, and, amazingly, 1957. So the win this year is historic in any metric. A fabulous day, and a victory over a seriously good Tyrone outfit, many of who will go on to be household names for the red hands in the years to come, and thats a fact. The challenge for us to ensure our guys do the same, and Im starting to find my mojo again lads, Im seeing it around the county again... things are happening. Over the last 5 years we have produced some top quality minors who are dominating this province. Their time is coming very soon as seniors too. Oh what Id give to see Furlong back here with a post describing the feeling better than I ever could.

Look at the determination and soul of the Meath ladies to come back from the afterlife, 7 points down against a buzzer with 4/5 minutes to go. And they score 2-01 against a Cork team who was odds on to win the game, go into extra time and win it in the style they did. A different team and a different occasion of course but its the pride, its the principle... and that day it was back. The old values of never giving in and always working until the fat lady sings. Its a culture we need to see all over the county teams, and this year our seniors had it in spades when they played the Dubs in the Leinster semi too. Our minors beat the Dubs by 10/12? points in their Leinster final, and out ladies now meet the Dubs in the senior final this coming week. All of the plotlines are coming together this year in ways not seen in a fifth of a century. We are back.

When I say we are back, I dont mean all of a sudden we're world beaters, because we still have lots of work to do, but in the sense of passion, determination, and bloody mindedness, we are back.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 30/08/2021 08:17:06    2376252

Replying To royaldunne:  "Two great clubs ballinabrackey and cilles.
But I would say that :)."
You're not wrong RD. Just a word for the Bracks they've been huge contributors to our minor teams the last 5 years. Sean Bannon on the 17's in 2017, Sean Coffey in 18, Dean Pluck and Barry Thompson in 19, Mark Coffey in 2020, Conor Ennis and Andrew Moore in 2021. A massive contribution from a small enough area. No wonder they got their intermediate championship last year. As for the Cilles they should really kick on now. Their minor club results have been great. And now they have David Bell who was a 2 year Meath minor starter in 18,19. Sean O'Donoghoe in 19 and 20. Liam Stafford in 20. And now 3 excellent starters on this years team. They aught to push on in senior soon

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 30/08/2021 10:48:43    2376304

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "You're not wrong RD. Just a word for the Bracks they've been huge contributors to our minor teams the last 5 years. Sean Bannon on the 17's in 2017, Sean Coffey in 18, Dean Pluck and Barry Thompson in 19, Mark Coffey in 2020, Conor Ennis and Andrew Moore in 2021. A massive contribution from a small enough area. No wonder they got their intermediate championship last year. As for the Cilles they should really kick on now. Their minor club results have been great. And now they have David Bell who was a 2 year Meath minor starter in 18,19. Sean O'Donoghoe in 19 and 20. Liam Stafford in 20. And now 3 excellent starters on this years team. They aught to push on in senior soon"
Yeah definitely two clubs one of them very small having such a representation on county teams is immense. Hopefully both can stay in senior this year (a tough task) but if they do I think with what's coming through they both will push on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2021 15:06:15    2376444

Agh lads, that was a game which would do your heart no good but so much fight and spirit within that bunch of lads. You'd have to say some great displays, Kelly and Leonard rightly taking a lot of the plaudits but O'Regan at CHB was immense for me. Himself and Kelly allowed nothing down the middle after the goal. Pushed Tyrone wide and along with the other defenders put them under huge pressure. There's at least half a dozen of those lads worthy of senior teams in future years (Kelly,Leonard, Emmanuel, Corbett, O'Regan, O'Mhurchu) and adding in some of the lads from the 2020 team (Gray, Caulfield, Frayne and Stafford) there's a huge influx of players from 2024/25.

However all of those lads have to be managed right, brought along gradually into club senior and then U20 levels, given the strength and conditioning and continued skills work they'll need. We've the bedrock of a great team but they have to be invested in and not have us sit back on our laurels, there's great people putting in huge work at underage level. We've won 3 of the last four Leinster minor titles, we need to bridge the gap and win a Leinster at U20 level which was last done in 2001 (my own age group). Keep the guys like John McCarthy and Cathal O'Bric involved with their respective teams from 2020 and 2021 and develop them and add to their ranks if possible.

Well done to everyone who had hand or part in Saturday from families, management, coaches at club level, teachers who helped those lads at a young age. Everyone deserves a huge congratulations.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/08/2021 16:03:02    2376476

Replying To brian:  "Agh lads, that was a game which would do your heart no good but so much fight and spirit within that bunch of lads. You'd have to say some great displays, Kelly and Leonard rightly taking a lot of the plaudits but O'Regan at CHB was immense for me. Himself and Kelly allowed nothing down the middle after the goal. Pushed Tyrone wide and along with the other defenders put them under huge pressure. There's at least half a dozen of those lads worthy of senior teams in future years (Kelly,Leonard, Emmanuel, Corbett, O'Regan, O'Mhurchu) and adding in some of the lads from the 2020 team (Gray, Caulfield, Frayne and Stafford) there's a huge influx of players from 2024/25.

However all of those lads have to be managed right, brought along gradually into club senior and then U20 levels, given the strength and conditioning and continued skills work they'll need. We've the bedrock of a great team but they have to be invested in and not have us sit back on our laurels, there's great people putting in huge work at underage level. We've won 3 of the last four Leinster minor titles, we need to bridge the gap and win a Leinster at U20 level which was last done in 2001 (my own age group). Keep the guys like John McCarthy and Cathal O'Bric involved with their respective teams from 2020 and 2021 and develop them and add to their ranks if possible.

Well done to everyone who had hand or part in Saturday from families, management, coaches at club level, teachers who helped those lads at a young age. Everyone deserves a huge congratulations."
Yes indeed full credit to all concerned. As someone who has been critical of the senior team and their approach over the last few years. This was a breath of fresh air. This was the Meath team back in business Belief, free from fear, tackling, Fielding.,and generally well prepared .Can we bottle that approach and pass it around. ? These players and management deserve our full support. They should not be allowed be contaminated by being forced to play any other way that inhibits use of natural flair and their" MEATHNESS" Whatever they are doing in training sessions is working.I wonder can we bottle that also?. The minors and their management showed what CAN be done. Seeing is believing ! Thanks again lads!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 30/08/2021 17:02:11    2376492

Super performances right through the championship and all games presenting different challanges that they adapted to. Rode their luck a bit in the final at the end but both teams were gassing by then. Very enjoyable game to watch right through. Struck me how well coached the Meath team were (remembering that a lot of this would have been done during lockdown) as everyone knew their role. Brave, both physically and in their decision making, exemplified in Conor Ennis and Shaun Leonard's roles in the final score. Having had good minor teams putting such quality players into the adult club ranks can only bode well for the county club scene and raise standards further preparing lads better for County Senior. All in all hugely positive. How is next years group shaping up I wonder?

Amarach (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 30/08/2021 17:24:11    2376502

Replying To Young_gael:  "to weigh in on the analysis lads, Im a very proud fan today. This is an enormous year for Meath GAA and for Leinster as a whole with Meath winning the All-Ire minor championship and Offaly winning the U20 championship. Perhaps times are changing!

Remember, for traditions sake, that Meath only won three minor all-Irelands before 2021, that was 1990 and 1992, and, amazingly, 1957. So the win this year is historic in any metric. A fabulous day, and a victory over a seriously good Tyrone outfit, many of who will go on to be household names for the red hands in the years to come, and thats a fact. The challenge for us to ensure our guys do the same, and Im starting to find my mojo again lads, Im seeing it around the county again... things are happening. Over the last 5 years we have produced some top quality minors who are dominating this province. Their time is coming very soon as seniors too. Oh what Id give to see Furlong back here with a post describing the feeling better than I ever could.

Look at the determination and soul of the Meath ladies to come back from the afterlife, 7 points down against a buzzer with 4/5 minutes to go. And they score 2-01 against a Cork team who was odds on to win the game, go into extra time and win it in the style they did. A different team and a different occasion of course but its the pride, its the principle... and that day it was back. The old values of never giving in and always working until the fat lady sings. Its a culture we need to see all over the county teams, and this year our seniors had it in spades when they played the Dubs in the Leinster semi too. Our minors beat the Dubs by 10/12? points in their Leinster final, and out ladies now meet the Dubs in the senior final this coming week. All of the plotlines are coming together this year in ways not seen in a fifth of a century. We are back.

When I say we are back, I dont mean all of a sudden we're world beaters, because we still have lots of work to do, but in the sense of passion, determination, and bloody mindedness, we are back."
Yes well said........ your last sentence says it all ! Thats a nice beginning, and hopefully the start of a new chaper in "MEATHNESS" being reborn !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 30/08/2021 17:37:29    2376507

Replying To brian:  "Agh lads, that was a game which would do your heart no good but so much fight and spirit within that bunch of lads. You'd have to say some great displays, Kelly and Leonard rightly taking a lot of the plaudits but O'Regan at CHB was immense for me. Himself and Kelly allowed nothing down the middle after the goal. Pushed Tyrone wide and along with the other defenders put them under huge pressure. There's at least half a dozen of those lads worthy of senior teams in future years (Kelly,Leonard, Emmanuel, Corbett, O'Regan, O'Mhurchu) and adding in some of the lads from the 2020 team (Gray, Caulfield, Frayne and Stafford) there's a huge influx of players from 2024/25.

Well done to everyone who had hand or part in Saturday from families, management, coaches at club level, teachers who helped those lads at a young age. Everyone deserves a huge congratulations."
You can't leave out Connor Ennis. Perhaps best player on the day and also immense against Sligo

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2021 20:51:29    2376578

Replying To royaldunne:  "You can't leave out Connor Ennis. Perhaps best player on the day and also immense against Sligo"
Ah there's the Ballinabracky coming out in ye
Good job he mentioned the cilles lads

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 30/08/2021 20:59:48    2376582

Anybody know what players on that panel are still minor next year? I know Conor Mcweeney is only 15 what a talent he is. Just wondering would about any of the others?

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 31/08/2021 00:22:34    2376636

Replying To royaldunne:  "You can't leave out Connor Ennis. Perhaps best player on the day and also immense against Sligo"
Nothing against the lad at all RD but Trying to look at these lads through the prism of size, potential and chance to improve I'm not sure Ennis would fit that but who am I to judge it. I think it's rare you get a huge haul from one minor team but from 2018 onwards we've lads already with the senior set up in Costello, Hickey, Walsh etc so who knows. And I'd be averse to throw out the old and bring in the new. You still need a core of experience around these minors to bring them through.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 31/08/2021 14:23:10    2376775