Kerry V Meath

I had some craic last night. Felt like the good ol' days of Meath Football. Killarney was rocking. Hopefully we can get a performance today. Come on Meath

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 23/02/2020 12:13:41    2269243

Replying To LoyalRoyal66:  "I had some craic last night. Felt like the good ol' days of Meath Football. Killarney was rocking. Hopefully we can get a performance today. Come on Meath"
We did get a performance and it was quite encouraging. Kerry had a few uncharacteristic misses. Still Keoghan, James McEntee, Menton, Cillian were quite good and when they play well the team plays well. If we can keep the current team injury free (tough task). Then bring Seamus Lavin (not too far away), Harnan (back training), Jones (back in March), Walsh and Newman (not sure when they're back). Then we have a good enough team. I still think we could be a super 8 team that can win a game in them. We are just very under strength now with all the injuries. I counted 11 lads missing today. Colgan, Shane Gal, Lavin, Harnan, Shane Mc, Jones, Campion, Newman, Shane Walsh, Ben Brennan, Joey Wallace. I think Brennan, Gallagher and Campion will miss the championship. But with the other 8 the team should be considerably better

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 23/02/2020 16:37:07    2269316

These good performances and moral victories are starting to get frustrating. Great to see the fight and more of an attacking threat today, 2-13 is a good return. It's encouraging to be able to compete without such a large part of our squad (plus the black cards).

You'd have to imagine that

Lavin
Harnan
Jones
Newman
Walsh
Lenihan (fully fit)
Campion

Will all come into the side and make a big difference. We are getting there and you can see the growth. It's frustrating we can't win one of these close games because it is clear that confidence and belief looks like it lacks, there is still a ways to go in terms of game management, we should have slowed down and taken our time during the black cards.

Plenty of positives, real leadership and real quality at time

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 23/02/2020 17:32:23    2269348

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "These good performances and moral victories are starting to get frustrating. Great to see the fight and more of an attacking threat today, 2-13 is a good return. It's encouraging to be able to compete without such a large part of our squad (plus the black cards).

You'd have to imagine that

Lavin
Harnan
Jones
Newman
Walsh
Lenihan (fully fit)
Campion

Will all come into the side and make a big difference. We are getting there and you can see the growth. It's frustrating we can't win one of these close games because it is clear that confidence and belief looks like it lacks, there is still a ways to go in terms of game management, we should have slowed down and taken our time during the black cards.

Plenty of positives, real leadership and real quality at time"
Agree with you sentiment. Just to say I think Campion, Shane Gallagher and Ben Brennan will miss parts of the summer. Not entirely sure and open to correction but think Campions injury is a nasty one. Just a side note, Marcus Brennan has been solid in goals and has settled it from the Yorke Dardis week 1 debacle. Couldn't be surprised to see him play instead Colgan in summer

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 23/02/2020 18:07:43    2269356

All concerned should hold their heads up high tonight, we gave on of the top two teams in the country there fill of it in their own bank yard and showed a lot of the qualities we expect to see and that we enjoy seeing, the team I think is starting to find its feet in the division, yes it may well be too late and the inevitable may happen but what we want to see in the next three games is more of today's type of performance and improve on it, let's carry this into the Galway game and get a result and then look forward to stretching the legs in Croker, the most important thing is that we learn from Division 1 and be a better team for it, today makes you believe they are learning and the results will eventually come

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/02/2020 18:09:48    2269358

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Agree with you sentiment. Just to say I think Campion, Shane Gallagher and Ben Brennan will miss parts of the summer. Not entirely sure and open to correction but think Campions injury is a nasty one. Just a side note, Marcus Brennan has been solid in goals and has settled it from the Yorke Dardis week 1 debacle. Couldn't be surprised to see him play instead Colgan in summer"
I think campion May be back but brennan will be gone and not sure about gallagher

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 23/02/2020 18:16:13    2269364

Damn sh@t and blast. However well done to all who put in a fantastic performance. On a side note if I ever hear of a Kerry man giving out about gaugh again!!! How bloody native was the ref.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2020 19:55:40    2269419

Replying To royaldunne:  "Damn sh@t and blast. However well done to all who put in a fantastic performance. On a side note if I ever hear of a Kerry man giving out about gaugh again!!! How bloody native was the ref."
Yep agree, 2 black cards looked dodgy , a free was given in the second half for kerry which i still cant understand , cant remember who got the ball in the forwards with 2 kerry lads on him and he blew for free out. Tommy walsh wrestling one of our players and he was given a free too. It was the best we have played so far in the league though and a good test for all involved

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 23/02/2020 20:42:28    2269448

As frustrating as it is, it can only be a positive that given the players due back, by time championship comes we should have some real options off the bench compared to last year as players have gotten game time. Probably at least 5 of the team that started today will be on the bench when all is fit and bar one, who I will not name, looked out of place today

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 23/02/2020 21:21:40    2269477

Disappointing to lose again, both this game and the Mayo game were lost in the first half where we let both teams build up sizeable leads over us before waking up.

This has been a tough camapign for us but look it's all experience and hopefully we can turn another corner once the championship rolls around.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/02/2020 07:19:34    2269561

Replying To Htaem:  "Disappointing to lose again, both this game and the Mayo game were lost in the first half where we let both teams build up sizeable leads over us before waking up.

This has been a tough camapign for us but look it's all experience and hopefully we can turn another corner once the championship rolls around."
In fairness in the mayo game we played against a gale force wind in first half and did well to limit them to 7. Against Kerry we never started at all

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 24/02/2020 09:20:18    2269580

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "In fairness in the mayo game we played against a gale force wind in first half and did well to limit them to 7. Against Kerry we never started at all"
We were a little bit unlucky to lose against Mayo and Kerry in fairness, our failure to convert chances has really hurt us.

We're sitting on 0 points when we could easily have 3 or 4 if we had took our chances and not let teams get out of the trap early on us.

But I don't like being too critical of the team, we've been ravaged by injuries heading into this campaign and we needed to have most of our key players available to give it a real go.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/02/2020 11:12:45    2269637

Replying To Htaem:  "We were a little bit unlucky to lose against Mayo and Kerry in fairness, our failure to convert chances has really hurt us.

We're sitting on 0 points when we could easily have 3 or 4 if we had took our chances and not let teams get out of the trap early on us.

But I don't like being too critical of the team, we've been ravaged by injuries heading into this campaign and we needed to have most of our key players available to give it a real go."
Absolutely I think what is encouraging is that without our key men and as you rightly say ravaged by injuries, we are giving it a real go, with all of our injuries to run Mayo and Kerry close and be competitive is a step forward for me.

Hard to be critical of yesterday, a slow start can happen but from then on a lot of positives. Thomas O reilly, as I have said on here many times has a lot of potential and he looked like he was more in control yesterday. James Conlan gave us something different inside. Brennan is doing just fine in goals and not costing us (bar when we were a man down and the press came on). Our bench will be much stronger this year than last year.

I think Lavin and Harnan are huge losses and both should be back soon.

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 24/02/2020 12:01:15    2269663

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Absolutely I think what is encouraging is that without our key men and as you rightly say ravaged by injuries, we are giving it a real go, with all of our injuries to run Mayo and Kerry close and be competitive is a step forward for me.

Hard to be critical of yesterday, a slow start can happen but from then on a lot of positives. Thomas O reilly, as I have said on here many times has a lot of potential and he looked like he was more in control yesterday. James Conlan gave us something different inside. Brennan is doing just fine in goals and not costing us (bar when we were a man down and the press came on). Our bench will be much stronger this year than last year.

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman
"
Looks like a super team , only change would be Brin Conlon or Harnan in for Newman as bring out as a 3rd midfielder with Walsh & Lenihan inside ,

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 24/02/2020 12:44:35    2269690

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Absolutely I think what is encouraging is that without our key men and as you rightly say ravaged by injuries, we are giving it a real go, with all of our injuries to run Mayo and Kerry close and be competitive is a step forward for me.

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman
"
Will Newman be back for the Championship?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 24/02/2020 12:47:14    2269692

A possible match day 26 and starting 15 when/if everyone is fully fit. We were missing EIGHT of the starting 15 below yesterday and ran the second best team in the country to three points away from home and from the 16th minute on outscored them 2-13 to 0-14.
1. Andy Colgan (1)
2. Seamus Lavin (2)
3. Conor McGill
4. Shane Gallagher (3)
5. David Toner
6. Padraig Harnan (4)
7. Donal Keogan
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones (5)
10. James McEntee
11. Bryan McMahon
12. Cillian O'Sullivan
13. Donal Lenihan (6)
14. Michael Newman (7)
15. Shane Walsh (8)
16. Marcus Brennan
17. Ronan Ryan
18. Thomas O'Reilly
19. Shane McEntee (9)
20. Daragh Campion (10)
21. Brian Conlon
22. James Conlon
23. Ethan Devine
24. Robin Clarke
25. Eamon Wallace
26. Joey Wallace

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 24/02/2020 12:58:58    2269698

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman
"
Will Newman be back for the Championship?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 24/02/2020 13:02:41    2269700

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman
"
Will Newman be back for the Championship?"
Micky will be back for the summer alright, barring any further set backs of course

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 24/02/2020 13:37:13    2269717

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman
"
I would have Cillian O Sullivan in for Devine possibly, Cillian definitely in the team, completely forgot.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 24/02/2020 13:44:54    2269721

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "

Brennan

Lavin
McGill
Toner

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan

Menton
Jones

McEntee
McMahon
Devine

Lenihan
Walsh
Newman
"
I would have Cillian O Sullivan in for Devine possibly, Cillian definitely in the team, completely forgot."
Wouldn't rule out james Conlon either. Thought when we went to the running game he did very well yesterday, could be ideal to play off the likes of walsh and Newman.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2020 16:07:46    2269791