Meath Div 1 2020

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Fairplay royaldunne just ignore, at least we have the football just around the corner to look forward to now."
Can't bloody wait.
The fixtures are out and I've already pencilled in my away days lol. No Saturday night games which will make it easier although I do enjoy them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/11/2019 08:16:21    2251723

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep. I Just ignore, no time for saddos like that."
Sad isn't the word, on a GAA forum, acting (poorly) the hardman. Isnt there paint drying somewhere to keep him amused

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 27/11/2019 09:13:33    2251730

v Tyrone, Omagh, Sun 26 Jan 2pm
Tough to win any sort of game up the North for us, we might come out the wrong side this one.

v Donegal, Navan, Sun 2 Feb 2.30pm
We have been close enough recently so we need to and should win this one at home.

V Mayo, Navan, Sun 9 Feb 2pm
I same above can win this at home

v Kerry, Killarney, Sun 23 Feb 1pm
Tough to go to Killarney and win so I think its going to tough to get anything from this one.

v Galway, Navan, Sun 1 Mar 2.30pm
Must win game we need to win and should too.

v Dublin, Croke Park Sun 15 Mar 2pm
Going to write off at this stage.

v Monaghan, Clones on Sun 22 Mar 2pm
This is going to be another must win but we are going to have be at our fighting best to get anything out of this one.
But possible.

Win our 3 homes games, and if we sneak a draw some where I would more that happy with that.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/11/2019 13:52:03    2251795

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "v Tyrone, Omagh, Sun 26 Jan 2pm
Tough to win any sort of game up the North for us, we might come out the wrong side this one.

We have been close enough recently so we need to and should win this one at home.

Tough to go to Killarney and win so I think its going to tough to get anything from this one.

This is going to be another must win but we are going to have be at our fighting best to get anything out of this one.
But possible.

Win our 3 homes games, and if we sneak a draw some where I would more that happy with that."
I think if I was going to write off two games (of course I'll travel to both expecting to win) but I'd say the two unlikely ones are Kerry and dubs, don't think Tyrone will be expecting the intensity we will bring. And I think Monaghan could be down by time we play them. Or probably a must win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/11/2019 23:08:20    2251881

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think if I was going to write off two games (of course I'll travel to both expecting to win) but I'd say the two unlikely ones are Kerry and dubs, don't think Tyrone will be expecting the intensity we will bring. And I think Monaghan could be down by time we play them. Or probably a must win."
That's the spirt. Let's be happy with mediocrity. Pauirc Joyce says anything but Sam coming to Galway during his tenure is a failure. Should we not have the same attitude. How can you win a Leinster even with this attitude.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 28/11/2019 13:50:52    2251954

Replying To Jackpot:  "That's the spirt. Let's be happy with mediocrity. Pauirc Joyce says anything but Sam coming to Galway during his tenure is a failure. Should we not have the same attitude. How can you win a Leinster even with this attitude."
I don't think anyone here is happy with mediocrity but it would make a boring forum if everyone believed that we were going to win every competition that we entered.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 28/11/2019 16:56:25    2251994

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Sweet jesus. I have seen some sad things in my time, but someone creating a few accounts to talk football on the hoganstand and worse, accidentally posting from the wrong account about himself, this might just top the lot. Delete your account(s) and get help"
Here here.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/11/2019 22:48:35    2252039

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "v Tyrone, Omagh, Sun 26 Jan 2pm

But possible.

Win our 3 homes games, and if we sneak a draw some where I would more that happy with that."
My predictions

Tyrone in Omagh - Loss
Donegal in Navan - Draw
Mayo in Navan - Draw
Kerry in Killarney - Loss
Galway in Navan - Win
Dublin in Croke Park - Loss
Monaghan in Clones - relegation play off? Might win it if so but I suspect it will come down to that last game

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 30/11/2019 08:34:43    2252178

Be interesting to see what affect Jim Gavins departure will have on Dublin.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 30/11/2019 13:12:23    2252212

Replying To seadog54:  "Be interesting to see what affect Jim Gavins departure will have on Dublin."
If anything it will refocus them even more. New manager with new players it will be like starting over again. I expect Cluxton to go now as well which is more significant. His understudy is top class but Cluxton is still a huge void to fill. Gives everyone else just a glance at some hope..before it is ruthlessly ended when they dish out a hammering. What Gavin did there in terms of just sheer consistency was frightening and i will be shocked if they continue like that.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 30/11/2019 14:01:29    2252241

I'd be optimistic we can give the Dubs a good rattle this year in Leinster. I expect Clutton to step away aswell. If we throw a big full forward in on the edge of the square and lob high balls in on top of the new keeper, we could cause havoc.

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 30/11/2019 14:58:38    2252260

Replying To LoyalRoyal66:  "I'd be optimistic we can give the Dubs a good rattle this year in Leinster. I expect Clutton to step away aswell. If we throw a big full forward in on the edge of the square and lob high balls in on top of the new keeper, we could cause havoc."
Good thinking, lobbing high balls in should do the trick alright

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 30/11/2019 16:37:31    2252300

No point dwelling on it. The game is going through phases. I believe we have the players at our disposal to return to a more direct ball game. Let the ball do the work. Launch it at every opportunity. Dublin full back line will be at 6's and 7's as they won't have Cluxton or Gavin to work out a strategy to defend against it. Worth a try I reckon.

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 30/11/2019 17:51:01    2252319

Interesting to see John Coughlan depart the Meath setup. One of the conditions of Andy taking the job in first place was having Coughlan onboard

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 30/11/2019 19:05:05    2252343

Replying To LoyalRoyal66:  "I'd be optimistic we can give the Dubs a good rattle this year in Leinster. I expect Clutton to step away aswell. If we throw a big full forward in on the edge of the square and lob high balls in on top of the new keeper, we could cause havoc."
Funnily enough ,we haven't caused havoc in nearly 20 years ! We should have tried this new plan of yours
Years ago !!! God help us !

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 30/11/2019 20:25:25    2252358

Jim Gavin was probably the greatest manager the game has known . As a meath fan ,we have to admit at he was incredible ,but for his humility and the humility he built into his players we should applaud him . Not a hint of arrogance in him or his players even after winning the 5 . Well done Jim ,and perhaps your departure will give us hope out here in the sticks !

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 30/11/2019 20:31:52    2252362

Replying To noluso:  "Jim Gavin was probably the greatest manager the game has known . As a meath fan ,we have to admit at he was incredible ,but for his humility and the humility he built into his players we should applaud him . Not a hint of arrogance in him or his players even after winning the 5 . Well done Jim ,and perhaps your departure will give us hope out here in the sticks !"
Fair play to you - well said.

Jim going will certainly open it up a lot more next year. Once Kerry don't win it out. I will be happy...!

Could be an interesting Leinster Championship...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 30/11/2019 21:56:10    2252388

Replying To Fionn:  "Fair play to you - well said.

Jim going will certainly open it up a lot more next year. Once Kerry don't win it out. I will be happy...!

Could be an interesting Leinster Championship..."
You could put Jim in charge of meath or Kildare and you'd still walk it again in 2nd gear. It won't be competitive again.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/12/2019 03:41:05    2252420

When was the last time we had a big target man in full-forward? I remember it being Joe in 2010. How did we do that year? Leinster champs. Its the one method of football that always makes defences panic. If we lump balls in on top of the Dubs this year I'm telling you we could cause them trouble. Everyman needs to believe they can beat the Dubs. Win your individual battles. Go back to the traditions of meath football. No handpassing. Launch it in, test out that full back line

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 01/12/2019 12:28:36    2252450

Gavin leaving this late in the year seems an unorthodox move to me, but I factor part of his success in the sense that he and his set-up don't follow trends, and its likely not a big deal. Is it a good thing for Meath? Perhaps. Its the end of an era; though not much necessarily may change. I think we all know that on some level. People saying the Leinster championship may be more competitive this upcoming season as a result are getting way ahead of themselves. It remains to be seen if Meath can consolidate their progress, and Kildare could be boom/bust any given year. Even saying that, Dublin have such incredible dominance over the province that its almost an afterthought. I admit that one has to imagine in all-Ireland Semi and All-Ireland final level, Dublin may be a few percentage points more vulnerable as a result of Gavin's departure, i.e: good thing for Kerry. The Meath poster talking about putting big lads on the edge of the square and hoofing in long ball, and the guys on another thread talking about bringing untested 30 year olds into the set-up out of the blue is a factor why Meath were in steep decline for so long. These same types are the loudest on the barstools, and the loudest at the sides of the pitch, and the first to jump down the current Meath team's throats after a bad performance, calling for McEntee's head and proclaiming gleefully their disappointment that Meath doesn't have real men anymore, and how they witnessed such and such a game 30 years ago... we are paralysed as a county by this incredible sense of simplicity and adulation, and that things are, sooner or later, going to revert magically to the Boylan era and it will be all wonderful again. Sadly I feel this is to our detriment. It will have to die out ultimately. I really believe that this psychology coming out of sections of supporters rubs off on players as kids, and has done for years and will continue to do so. Contemporary Meath psychology in the 00s and 10s was a massive weakness, and although McEntee has reversed parts of the rot,I believe Meath at the moment to be only ever one or two bad losses away from square one. In that sense I believe Meath footballers deserve enormous credit for playing for this county and (a lot) of the people in it. The pressure, the failure, the inadequacy, the spoofers... its a lot to take on.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 01/12/2019 12:46:14    2252451