Micky Burke Footballer Of The Year.

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Do ya yea? Your talking horsedung now snowflake. Just cause I think he's a bang average footballer, not footballer of the year material, and it shows how our standards as a county have dropped, I'm disrespectful and showing a lack of decency??? Your like a femenist, you can have an opinion as long as it's the same as mine. Sure there does be lads on here saying an awful lot worse about paddy Orourke and the likes. I don't rate burke, u clearly do. Surely that's the end of it??"
I have to agree to a certain degree with you. I don't rate Burke either, but he is a gentleman, everyone knows that and he has committed himself to alot in regards hurling and football. I agree that our standards have dropped we should have had a young up and coming chap there to get that award instead it was given to Mickey because in fairness who else could we have justified giving it to.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 05/12/2018 16:12:53    2153409

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Do ya yea? Your talking horsedung now snowflake. Just cause I think he's a bang average footballer, not footballer of the year material, and it shows how our standards as a county have dropped, I'm disrespectful and showing a lack of decency??? Your like a femenist, you can have an opinion as long as it's the same as mine. Sure there does be lads on here saying an awful lot worse about paddy Orourke and the likes. I don't rate burke, u clearly do. Surely that's the end of it??"
First off Richie is a very knowledgeable poster. And passionate, he travels a lot of miles to watch the team. And ur comments to l him are bang out of order. You may disagree with micky been named player of the year. But as yet you have not said who should have got it, which is very ambiguous to say the least. So less of the hyperbole and name who should have got it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/12/2018 17:35:08    2153417

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "I have to agree to a certain degree with you. I don't rate Burke either, but he is a gentleman, everyone knows that and he has committed himself to alot in regards hurling and football. I agree that our standards have dropped we should have had a young up and coming chap there to get that award instead it was given to Mickey because in fairness who else could we have justified giving it to."
To be fair to Southmeathgael he never mentioned anything about him not being a gentleman or not being committed . He merely said he doesn't rate him and if he's getting footballer of the year the standards in meath have dropped considerably. I would tend to agree . I seen longwoods 3 knock out games and he was very good but imo in all games there was 1 or 2 of his teammates better than him but as you said he's been a great servant he's a popular guy so it's nice for him to get it even if it is a bit of a token popularist gesture

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 05/12/2018 18:14:35    2153420

Yea I do, let's see a man who has given over a decade of service to the cause is awarded footballer of the year, as I've stated before for showing more good traits in addition to his overall play, and you pounce on that as "a shocking indictment, that's plainly unfair and unnecessary. We are supporters, we have the easy job of standing and watching, cheering or criticising, we aren't out on nights like tonight flogging ourselves to improve the county cause, we aren't going to be watching our intake of food and drink over Christmas to improve the county cause and we don't have to listen to abuse from the sidelines from so called "supporters" who in recent years have nearly caused me to turn around and punch their lights out, trust me southmeathgael I am no snowflake but fu***d if I will hear people demean Mickey Burke winning this award by saying it's a shocking indictment to where Meath football is at, that is not Mickey's problem or fault and as far as I'm concerned he has won it and won it on merit and to attempt to drag it into the mire instead of looking at the mans commitment and sacrifice simply isn't right in my book, there is a thing called respect and anyone who has dedicated himself to the jersey as long as Burke has deserves respect irregardless of what you may think of his footballing ability, he has maintained his position on the county through various managers, have they all been wrong?? A better choice of words when making your point would have been a way of showing respect instead of kicking him with words like "shocking indictment". If you think that's horsedung or that I'm a snowflake well trust me your opinion of me or my words won't keep me awake at night.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 05/12/2018 19:12:57    2153432

Replying To Richieq:  "Yea I do, let's see a man who has given over a decade of service to the cause is awarded footballer of the year, as I've stated before for showing more good traits in addition to his overall play, and you pounce on that as "a shocking indictment, that's plainly unfair and unnecessary. We are supporters, we have the easy job of standing and watching, cheering or criticising, we aren't out on nights like tonight flogging ourselves to improve the county cause, we aren't going to be watching our intake of food and drink over Christmas to improve the county cause and we don't have to listen to abuse from the sidelines from so called "supporters" who in recent years have nearly caused me to turn around and punch their lights out, trust me southmeathgael I am no snowflake but fu***d if I will hear people demean Mickey Burke winning this award by saying it's a shocking indictment to where Meath football is at, that is not Mickey's problem or fault and as far as I'm concerned he has won it and won it on merit and to attempt to drag it into the mire instead of looking at the mans commitment and sacrifice simply isn't right in my book, there is a thing called respect and anyone who has dedicated himself to the jersey as long as Burke has deserves respect irregardless of what you may think of his footballing ability, he has maintained his position on the county through various managers, have they all been wrong?? A better choice of words when making your point would have been a way of showing respect instead of kicking him with words like "shocking indictment". If you think that's horsedung or that I'm a snowflake well trust me your opinion of me or my words won't keep me awake at night."
His opinion of you won't keep you awake at night?? Yeah sounds like ur not bothered alirght..

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 05/12/2018 19:59:55    2153438

Replying To Richieq:  "Yea I do, let's see a man who has given over a decade of service to the cause is awarded footballer of the year, as I've stated before for showing more good traits in addition to his overall play, and you pounce on that as "a shocking indictment, that's plainly unfair and unnecessary. We are supporters, we have the easy job of standing and watching, cheering or criticising, we aren't out on nights like tonight flogging ourselves to improve the county cause, we aren't going to be watching our intake of food and drink over Christmas to improve the county cause and we don't have to listen to abuse from the sidelines from so called "supporters" who in recent years have nearly caused me to turn around and punch their lights out, trust me southmeathgael I am no snowflake but fu***d if I will hear people demean Mickey Burke winning this award by saying it's a shocking indictment to where Meath football is at, that is not Mickey's problem or fault and as far as I'm concerned he has won it and won it on merit and to attempt to drag it into the mire instead of looking at the mans commitment and sacrifice simply isn't right in my book, there is a thing called respect and anyone who has dedicated himself to the jersey as long as Burke has deserves respect irregardless of what you may think of his footballing ability, he has maintained his position on the county through various managers, have they all been wrong?? A better choice of words when making your point would have been a way of showing respect instead of kicking him with words like "shocking indictment". If you think that's horsedung or that I'm a snowflake well trust me your opinion of me or my words won't keep me awake at night."
Ok

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 05/12/2018 20:09:59    2153439

Replying To royaldunne:  "First off Richie is a very knowledgeable poster. And passionate, he travels a lot of miles to watch the team. And ur comments to l him are bang out of order. You may disagree with micky been named player of the year. But as yet you have not said who should have got it, which is very ambiguous to say the least. So less of the hyperbole and name who should have got it."
Off the top of my head .....any dunboyne panelist ....I can think of at least 5 summerhill lads, particularly David Larkin. Actually how has Lavin or Robbie McCarthy not got it.....the more I think of it it's a truly absurd pick by whoever picks it.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 05/12/2018 20:21:42    2153444

Replying To Aloblack:  "To be fair to Southmeathgael he never mentioned anything about him not being a gentleman or not being committed . He merely said he doesn't rate him and if he's getting footballer of the year the standards in meath have dropped considerably. I would tend to agree . I seen longwoods 3 knock out games and he was very good but imo in all games there was 1 or 2 of his teammates better than him but as you said he's been a great servant he's a popular guy so it's nice for him to get it even if it is a bit of a token popularist gesture"
That last post of mine probably came across wrong. I was just saying myself that Mickey is a gentleman. Our standards have obviously dropped and to be fair to Mickey this proves it. No harm to the chap but imo Donal Keogan has contributed alot both club & county last year, as i said its just my opinion. Im happy for Mickey that he got it as its a fantastic achievement for any person to get.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 06/12/2018 09:49:35    2153467

No one is denying that Micky is a gentleman. However, being a gentleman is not criteria for POTY and this award should not be a token gensture. Unfair on the likes of Donal Keogan, Bryan Menton or Donal Lenihan who've had brilliant years for club and county. Even somebody like Seamus Lavin who had a great year for Meath and Dunboyne.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 06/12/2018 10:18:13    2153472

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "No one is denying that Micky is a gentleman. However, being a gentleman is not criteria for POTY and this award should not be a token gensture. Unfair on the likes of Donal Keogan, Bryan Menton or Donal Lenihan who've had brilliant years for club and county. Even somebody like Seamus Lavin who had a great year for Meath and Dunboyne."
The most sense spoken by anyone on this subject so far . Spot on.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 06/12/2018 11:23:57    2153480

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "No one is denying that Micky is a gentleman. However, being a gentleman is not criteria for POTY and this award should not be a token gensture. Unfair on the likes of Donal Keogan, Bryan Menton or Donal Lenihan who've had brilliant years for club and county. Even somebody like Seamus Lavin who had a great year for Meath and Dunboyne."
I wouldn't give it to Donal Lenihan anyway. He was poor enough with Meath all year and then walked out of Dunboyne before they were embarrassed against Kilmacud. Not really player of the year material going on holiday and leaving your team minus their best forward?
I have no issues with Mickey winning it and I don't think there was any stand out performers from the Meath team this year.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 06/12/2018 13:02:25    2153490

Replying To Maestro:  "I wouldn't give it to Donal Lenihan anyway. He was poor enough with Meath all year and then walked out of Dunboyne before they were embarrassed against Kilmacud. Not really player of the year material going on holiday and leaving your team minus their best forward?
I have no issues with Mickey winning it and I don't think there was any stand out performers from the Meath team this year."
Ha. Good effort!! Ul get no nibbles on this one .

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 06/12/2018 13:52:09    2153495

Meath footballer of the year goes to a Meath County player most of the time. Burkie had a good enough year in the Green in what was a disaster of a year for Meath. he was outstanding for the Wood in their championship winning run and was the main reason that Longwood won the Intermediate championship for the first time in 90 years I think. This was the outstanding achievement in the county on the football fields this year. Dunboyne had no real outstanding player, a real good team of very decent footballers. Brian Menton is a good footballer but not the POTY, if he was played in his best position(12) he might have a chance of winning the POTY.
Let Burkie enjoy this great honour and don't begrudge it to him by suggesting others. Burkie is a fantastic servant to meath and his club in both codes.

Enjoy Burkie and F--K THE BEGRUDGERS

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 06/12/2018 16:31:56    2153523

Replying To gardentree:  "Meath footballer of the year goes to a Meath County player most of the time. Burkie had a good enough year in the Green in what was a disaster of a year for Meath. he was outstanding for the Wood in their championship winning run and was the main reason that Longwood won the Intermediate championship for the first time in 90 years I think. This was the outstanding achievement in the county on the football fields this year. Dunboyne had no real outstanding player, a real good team of very decent footballers. Brian Menton is a good footballer but not the POTY, if he was played in his best position(12) he might have a chance of winning the POTY.
Let Burkie enjoy this great honour and don't begrudge it to him by suggesting others. Burkie is a fantastic servant to meath and his club in both codes.

Enjoy Burkie and F--K THE BEGRUDGERS"
My thoughts exactly...

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 06/12/2018 16:52:44    2153527

Replying To Barney123:  "Disgraceful comment."
He is entitled to his opinion just in the same way as you are. He may be a great Meath man and a great Longwood footballer. I too would offer my congratulations to Mickey and have no problem with the choice. I'm not sure who decides or what factors contribute to a decision. Now in football terms there are many better footballers inside the county and posters that make up their own mind about that also.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/12/2018 17:13:57    2153529

Replying To browncows:  "He is entitled to his opinion just in the same way as you are. He may be a great Meath man and a great Longwood footballer. I too would offer my congratulations to Mickey and have no problem with the choice. I'm not sure who decides or what factors contribute to a decision. Now in football terms there are many better footballers inside the county and posters that make up their own mind about that also."
The FOTY award is not confined to the better footballers in the county, sure their are many many more skilful, talented and gifted footballers in Meath than Burkie. The point you are missing BROWNSCOWS is the FOTY is awarded to the player in any given year that has made a huge and biggest contribution to the teams he was involved with be it the county or the club. Burkie made the single biggest contribution to his club team in 2108 and without Burlie the Wood would not have won the intermediate championship and that is a fact. Trim would not have got to the hurling final if Alan Douglas was not playing and that is also a fact. Dunboyne had great team in general but could have won it is they were short a player or two. Douglas and Burkie were the dominating factors on their clubs march to the county finals. Fact !!!!

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 08/12/2018 12:52:35    2153666

Replying To gardentree:  "The FOTY award is not confined to the better footballers in the county, sure their are many many more skilful, talented and gifted footballers in Meath than Burkie. The point you are missing BROWNSCOWS is the FOTY is awarded to the player in any given year that has made a huge and biggest contribution to the teams he was involved with be it the county or the club. Burkie made the single biggest contribution to his club team in 2108 and without Burlie the Wood would not have won the intermediate championship and that is a fact. Trim would not have got to the hurling final if Alan Douglas was not playing and that is also a fact. Dunboyne had great team in general but could have won it is they were short a player or two. Douglas and Burkie were the dominating factors on their clubs march to the county finals. Fact !!!!"
Ok that's the end of that so . You wrote FACT in capitals beside your opinion so that's it...

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 08/12/2018 14:27:06    2153672

All , do you really need to get into a such big discussion . Lets see how far back we can go with naming the Footballer of the year . an then look at the implications of been named FOTY . Its obviously an award that has to be chosen each year no matter what the situation is in Meath Football, Club or County .......so take it as it is meant to be taken , an award for what is considered commitment to the cause , no matter how bad the year went .....
Best of luck to Mickey on his award .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 10/12/2018 13:07:21    2153866

I disagree very much with negative comments, Burke has not ever being a flashy player but for Meath he has always been very effective because of the way the modern game is played. In Gaelic football now a days you need players capable of hard running and Burkie can keep running all day and is always available to give and receive passes. In the championship he was very consistent and did well in all games (very few Meath players can say this season). If you are the most effective player on your team this means you are the best player regardless if you are flashy or not. Well merited award.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 10/12/2018 20:58:56    2153926

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I disagree very much with negative comments, Burke has not ever being a flashy player but for Meath he has always been very effective because of the way the modern game is played. In Gaelic football now a days you need players capable of hard running and Burkie can keep running all day and is always available to give and receive passes. In the championship he was very consistent and did well in all games (very few Meath players can say this season). If you are the most effective player on your team this means you are the best player regardless if you are flashy or not. Well merited award."
So hard running and the ability to give and take a handpass.....that's it? So what your saying is that's his strength and what essentially has got him footballer of the year so???? The more yee lot argue my point the more yee are proving it. Also has he always been effective for meath?? I'm not too sure about that. An inconsistent but honest player would be a summation of his time with meath imo

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 11/12/2018 06:35:05    2153949