Meath V Tyrone

Replying To atta:  "Royal Dunne
How can you be so blind. I believe that Mcentee should see out his tenure but he would need to take a good hard look at himself in light of his carry on towards the Referee on saturday. Passion my backside, Sean Boylan never confronted any official. He is also supposed to be a leader and a disciplinarian. Ignoring the fact that a heap of lads walked away in April after the bulk of the heavy work was done just dosent add up. In his first league campaign we were close to promotion but since then with the exception of Donegal last year and Tyrone this year we were dreadful. Awful to watch. Could have been relegated except for Down and Louth were a complete shambles. We do not have a decent defensive system, Tyrone should have bagged 4 or 5 goals in the first half despite the f act we had 14 men in our own half. Give him his final year, I sincerely hope he can make decent progress next spring and summer. For now the project has not ignited and all his targets set by himself have been missed. Failed to get promoted either season and no where near the super eights."
Agree, look at Derek mc grath after his team were at the wrong end of one of the worst calls in the last 10 years with the ghost goal. After longford match it was the referee that was the problem and now after Tyrone it is the referee. If we did manage to win on Saturday Tyrone would be pointing to the terrible decisions given against them. Ref was very poor but gor both sides. No one has mentioned yet Eamon Wallace's attempt from stand side into town goals which. Barely made the 13 metre line. Bryan menton also had a hail mary attempt, brennan's free which hit post. These are the things we should be looking at and not crying over ref

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 12/06/2018 10:57:35    2110430

Replying To meath1977:  "he had a few words with him what a about it it proves what it means to him could you blame him we all felt like having words with the ref Saturday evening, he missed a foul that would have got us level and had the fitness on them at that stage and a win would have been massive for Meath football. giving a man a hard time for been real"
Well said. I think we can see from a few exactly what mchugh meant about us going soft.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2018 11:30:23    2110459

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said. I think we can see from a few exactly what mchugh meant about us going soft."
I would say Mc Hugh was referring to the likes of O sullivan lying down every time he got any sort of contact. Tyrone were worse in efforts to kill time but some of ours were exaggerated to say the least

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 12/06/2018 12:28:59    2110477

Replying To Analyst:  "I would say Mc Hugh was referring to the likes of O sullivan lying down every time he got any sort of contact. Tyrone were worse in efforts to kill time but some of ours were exaggerated to say the least"
Good lad, praise the ref, the tyrone players and management. but take a cheap shot at a player who was outstanding on Sunday. Classy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2018 13:02:14    2110498

Those Meath lads on Saturday were anything but 'soft'! They died with there boots on and absolutely flung the kitchen sink and more at Tyrone and just fell short. Taking the referees performance out of it we did enough to win the game but some chances were missed by us and some easy scores given away to Tyrone came back to bite us. I have never been more disappointed leaving Navan on Saturday as I thought we had them but coughed up a late equalizer, however I was never prouder leaving Navan before as well after the performance given by each and everyone of the players that started and came on. The hard thing to do now is keep this group together and add more to them as well next season. We have the talent and honesty, now we just need the confidence of winning big games against big teams to go with it!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 12/06/2018 14:34:25    2110542

Replying To Analyst:  "Agree, look at Derek mc grath after his team were at the wrong end of one of the worst calls in the last 10 years with the ghost goal. After longford match it was the referee that was the problem and now after Tyrone it is the referee. If we did manage to win on Saturday Tyrone would be pointing to the terrible decisions given against them. Ref was very poor but gor both sides. No one has mentioned yet Eamon Wallace's attempt from stand side into town goals which. Barely made the 13 metre line. Bryan menton also had a hail mary attempt, brennan's free which hit post. These are the things we should be looking at and not crying over ref"
All of the points you mentioned with regards to the game are valid, but so is criticism of the referee. They're not mutually exclusive.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/06/2018 16:13:42    2110594

Replying To Analyst:  "Agree, look at Derek mc grath after his team were at the wrong end of one of the worst calls in the last 10 years with the ghost goal. After longford match it was the referee that was the problem and now after Tyrone it is the referee. If we did manage to win on Saturday Tyrone would be pointing to the terrible decisions given against them. Ref was very poor but gor both sides. No one has mentioned yet Eamon Wallace's attempt from stand side into town goals which. Barely made the 13 metre line. Bryan menton also had a hail mary attempt, brennan's free which hit post. These are the things we should be looking at and not crying over ref"
Why are posts allowed from someone with such poor knowledge they think people should be concerned because every shot is not a score. The lads you criticise are in fact all high performers. Maybe you have someone not up to their standard you think should be picked.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 12/06/2018 16:38:56    2110606

Replying To Ashrules:  "Why are posts allowed from someone with such poor knowledge they think people should be concerned because every shot is not a score. The lads you criticise are in fact all high performers. Maybe you have someone not up to their standard you think should be picked."
The attitude of some so called Meath supporters is peeing me off tbh. Cheap shots at players in particular, not those who felt it was too hard to commit, but those who put the shoulder to the wheel. And died for the county on Saturday. Hero's them all imo.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2018 17:06:51    2110622

Replying To royaldunne:  "The attitude of some so called Meath supporters is peeing me off tbh. Cheap shots at players in particular, not those who felt it was too hard to commit, but those who put the shoulder to the wheel. And died for the county on Saturday. Hero's them all imo."
Meath put up a brave performance on Saturday but a lack of class and cleverness failed to get us over the line when time was virtually up in normal time. These 'hereos' had a very poor year overall - narrowly avoiding relegation to D3 and losing to a mediocre D3 in the LSFC.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 12/06/2018 17:49:56    2110648

The performance Saturday was better than anyone expected alright, but "heroes" is a bit much.

A poor league and our first 2 game championship since the qualifiers began is a pretty low bar to be calling players heroes.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 12/06/2018 19:03:37    2110684

Jimmy McGuiness wrote in Irish Times he was very impressed with Meath on Saturday. He talked about how Meath cannot keep chopping and changing managers every year. He said they were raw on Sat and that their inexperience let them down. Tyrone r more experienced. McGuiness said Meath r on the right path and with more experience can only get better. I think that is a fair analysis.

What he means is div 1 experience. Meath need promotion to div 1. Again this year people might be surprised to hear we were 1 win away from promotion as if we defeated Cavan we would have been promoted to div 1.

That is the 4th year in 5 seasons we have been 1 win away from promotion to div 1. So we r not faraway. If we could get promotion to div 1 it would be the making of this young team. And if we could stay in div 1 for a few seasons well everyone knows that would bring this team on no end and reaching Super 8 and competiting at that level would then be a genuinely possible.

If we could just get promoted I really do think we will adapt well to div 1.. Why? What happened Saturday. I think teams like Galway and Meath have no inferior complex when it comes to playing the top teams. Meaths form is incredibly inconsistent and incredibly unpredictable but we used to in the past and still today up our game v the top counties.

In the last year we have lost to Cavan kildare Tipp and longford. Cavan and kildare are not top 8 teams. Neitheir are Tipp and longford. We played 4 top 8 teams in the last year. And had our 4 best performances v top 8 teams. Actually outside Roscommon no team in div 2 3 or 4 has had better performances v top 8 teams then Meath in the last year as far as I can see. This is a good sign. I believe if we went up we would adapt to divsion 1 much better then people think. Just look at Saturday. I was not surprised by the performance and because we particularly up over game v Tyrone , I expected us to win. While Navan has always being a tough place to win and still is for opposing teams. Imagine Kerry or Mayo playing Meath in Navan, the atmosphere would be electric.

So in last year Meath performances v top 8 division teams

1 Galway are top 8 team. We defeated them last year and in the last 13 league games only Dublin and Meath have beaten Galway in the league.

2 Tyrone are a top 8 team, would be top 5 team in most rankings. Tyrone are double proviencial titles. Only for a point from Tyrone in the 6th minutes of injury time with the last kick of the game we would have beaten a division 1 team and reigning Ulster champions .

3 Roscommon are a top 8 team and provicial champions. Only for a last second goal from a penalty we would have beaten Roscommon not drew with them in Roscommon

4 Donegal are top 8 team. Donegal will possibly be provicial champions in the coming weeks. Like Tyrone game we went toe to toe with Donegal for 70 mins and Donegal won by point from brilliant point from Paddy McBreaty in injury time.

So yes promotion was not achieved and yes we r out of championship in June. But I never expected us to gain promotion this year or reach Super 8. With such strong performances v top div 1 teams and with the emergence of new players eg Colgan lavin Kennelly Brennan Gallagher Glynn O Neill. And the further development of players like Sullivan McGill J McEntee and Flanagan. And the return of Forde and hopefully more returnees eg Mckeever Rooney and new players eg Rowe under 20 players..And As the average age of the panel reachs 24 25 it means many of our players will soon peak. And as Strenght and conditioning will improve and fitness under McEntee . All these above points indicate there are grounds to be optimistic. Meath arent as bad as many people think. If they were they wouldnt be able to perform so well v the top 8 teams v Tyrone Galway Donegal and Roscommon .

And with the Meath minors and under 17 beating Dublin 4 times in 4 years in a row in leinster championship and under 20 looking as genuine contenders in leinster after beating kildare last week. Things r on the up.

In Summary, we r going in the right direction. Losing to Tyrone was a classic example of an inexperienced raw team been beaten by a more experienced team. Tyrone knew how to find the equaliser, they knew how to win extra time. We didnt know how to close out a game. With more experience over a two three year period over 2019 2020 2021, this side of the game will improve and in two years time we will deal better with a game like this. Its a slow learning curve that nearly all teams have to make to get to where they want to be. Saturday was a beginning , a result would have been massive, but the nature of the performance was stamped with old school Meath DNA, never give an inch, plenty of skill and bravery and a never say die spirit. Its pity that we have to wait another 6 months for more action.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/06/2018 19:32:10    2110695

Replying To royaldunne:  "The attitude of some so called Meath supporters is peeing me off tbh. Cheap shots at players in particular, not those who felt it was too hard to commit, but those who put the shoulder to the wheel. And died for the county on Saturday. Hero's them all imo."
Yeah your getting a little ahead of yourself.. I do admire the lads for all they do for the Meath cause but hero's is a little much ! At the end of the day you predicted promotion as well as predicted wins in every big game that we lost so the year has been well below par..anyways I'm gonna hang my Meath cap up until the cold nights of January !! Can't wait for next year

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/06/2018 19:49:31    2110703

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Jimmy McGuiness wrote in Irish Times he was very impressed with Meath on Saturday. He talked about how Meath cannot keep chopping and changing managers every year. He said they were raw on Sat and that their inexperience let them down. Tyrone r more experienced. McGuiness said Meath r on the right path and with more experience can only get better. I think that is a fair analysis.

What he means is div 1 experience. Meath need promotion to div 1. Again this year people might be surprised to hear we were 1 win away from promotion as if we defeated Cavan we would have been promoted to div 1.

That is the 4th year in 5 seasons we have been 1 win away from promotion to div 1. So we r not faraway. If we could get promotion to div 1 it would be the making of this young team. And if we could stay in div 1 for a few seasons well everyone knows that would bring this team on no end and reaching Super 8 and competiting at that level would then be a genuinely possible.

If we could just get promoted I really do think we will adapt well to div 1.. Why? What happened Saturday. I think teams like Galway and Meath have no inferior complex when it comes to playing the top teams. Meaths form is incredibly inconsistent and incredibly unpredictable but we used to in the past and still today up our game v the top counties.

In the last year we have lost to Cavan kildare Tipp and longford. Cavan and kildare are not top 8 teams. Neitheir are Tipp and longford. We played 4 top 8 teams in the last year. And had our 4 best performances v top 8 teams. Actually outside Roscommon no team in div 2 3 or 4 has had better performances v top 8 teams then Meath in the last year as far as I can see. This is a good sign. I believe if we went up we would adapt to divsion 1 much better then people think. Just look at Saturday. I was not surprised by the performance and because we particularly up over game v Tyrone , I expected us to win. While Navan has always being a tough place to win and still is for opposing teams. Imagine Kerry or Mayo playing Meath in Navan, the atmosphere would be electric.

So in last year Meath performances v top 8 division teams

1 Galway are top 8 team. We defeated them last year and in the last 13 league games only Dublin and Meath have beaten Galway in the league.

2 Tyrone are a top 8 team, would be top 5 team in most rankings. Tyrone are double proviencial titles. Only for a point from Tyrone in the 6th minutes of injury time with the last kick of the game we would have beaten a division 1 team and reigning Ulster champions .

3 Roscommon are a top 8 team and provicial champions. Only for a last second goal from a penalty we would have beaten Roscommon not drew with them in Roscommon

4 Donegal are top 8 team. Donegal will possibly be provicial champions in the coming weeks. Like Tyrone game we went toe to toe with Donegal for 70 mins and Donegal won by point from brilliant point from Paddy McBreaty in injury time.

So yes promotion was not achieved and yes we r out of championship in June. But I never expected us to gain promotion this year or reach Super 8. With such strong performances v top div 1 teams and with the emergence of new players eg Colgan lavin Kennelly Brennan Gallagher Glynn O Neill. And the further development of players like Sullivan McGill J McEntee and Flanagan. And the return of Forde and hopefully more returnees eg Mckeever Rooney and new players eg Rowe under 20 players..And As the average age of the panel reachs 24 25 it means many of our players will soon peak. And as Strenght and conditioning will improve and fitness under McEntee . All these above points indicate there are grounds to be optimistic. Meath arent as bad as many people think. If they were they wouldnt be able to perform so well v the top 8 teams v Tyrone Galway Donegal and Roscommon .

And with the Meath minors and under 17 beating Dublin 4 times in 4 years in a row in leinster championship and under 20 looking as genuine contenders in leinster after beating kildare last week. Things r on the up.

In Summary, we r going in the right direction. Losing to Tyrone was a classic example of an inexperienced raw team been beaten by a more experienced team. Tyrone knew how to find the equaliser, they knew how to win extra time. We didnt know how to close out a game. With more experience over a two three year period over 2019 2020 2021, this side of the game will improve and in two years time we will deal better with a game like this. Its a slow learning curve that nearly all teams have to make to get to where they want to be. Saturday was a beginning , a result would have been massive, but the nature of the performance was stamped with old school Meath DNA, never give an inch, plenty of skill and bravery and a never say die spirit. Its pity that we have to wait another 6 months for more action."
very interesting piece fair play

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/06/2018 19:54:12    2110706

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yeah your getting a little ahead of yourself.. I do admire the lads for all they do for the Meath cause but hero's is a little much ! At the end of the day you predicted promotion as well as predicted wins in every big game that we lost so the year has been well below par..anyways I'm gonna hang my Meath cap up until the cold nights of January !! Can't wait for next year"
Don't forget their still U-17, U-20 and junior teams that need our support

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 12/06/2018 19:54:56    2110708

Replying To pauk123:  "Despite a good performance, in both 2nd halves in particular we, once again are out of the Championship early. It was a great opportunity missed.
I was livid with the ref. after the game, I have since watched the game back and the refs terrible performance was confirmed. He was awful and really shouldn't ref at inter county level again. Having said that his incompetence wasn't only against Meath. If we had of come out on top Tyrone would have been moaning (with equal justification) at a number of decisions that went against them.
At the end of the day it was a disappointing end to a very disappointing year. If we get the best players playing for the county we have a chance. If a change in management must happen to facilitate that so be it. Coming after the worst Championship defeat in decades against Longford I think Andy knew this was last chance saloon time for him and this cause the overly emotional reaction."
As far as I know all there is a referee assessor at every inter county game. I see the ref in question (Paddy Neilan)has been appointed to the next qualifier game. So one must deduce the powers that be have decreed his performance last Saturday was satisfactory. In 2010 Meath v Louth Martin Sludden ( from Tyrone) was the ref.Dont think he reffed inter county again (afaik)

82300 (Louth) - Posts: 31 - 12/06/2018 19:58:33    2110709

yes very true look we were all disappointed with the longford game but we missed three open goals in the first half we should have won that game, but for effort the lads put in last Saturday people needs to be positive because there is a lot to be positive about and we do have a very bright future and give and take the back door and the open draw of it some teams gets the luck of the draw and can get through a few rounds because of that and even if we are gone by the 9th of June we are still in the top 12 teams in Ireland

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/06/2018 20:03:49    2110713

Replying To 82300:  "As far as I know all there is a referee assessor at every inter county game. I see the ref in question (Paddy Neilan)has been appointed to the next qualifier game. So one must deduce the powers that be have decreed his performance last Saturday was satisfactory. In 2010 Meath v Louth Martin Sludden ( from Tyrone) was the ref.Dont think he reffed inter county again (afaik)"
Sludden did 2 championship games in 2011

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 12/06/2018 20:07:45    2110716

Replying To meath1977:  "yes very true look we were all disappointed with the longford game but we missed three open goals in the first half we should have won that game, but for effort the lads put in last Saturday people needs to be positive because there is a lot to be positive about and we do have a very bright future and give and take the back door and the open draw of it some teams gets the luck of the draw and can get through a few rounds because of that and even if we are gone by the 9th of June we are still in the top 12 teams in Ireland"
Absolutely.
And to those questioning heroes remark. On Saturday evening they were heroes to the man. I'm not talking about league or previous game. I am talking about Saturday night. And no one could have asked for more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2018 20:10:42    2110717

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yeah your getting a little ahead of yourself.. I do admire the lads for all they do for the Meath cause but hero's is a little much ! At the end of the day you predicted promotion as well as predicted wins in every big game that we lost so the year has been well below par..anyways I'm gonna hang my Meath cap up until the cold nights of January !! Can't wait for next year"
we have a very good minor team and u 20 teams who have a very good chance of Leinster success and they deserve our support

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/06/2018 20:12:06    2110719

Replying To 82300:  "As far as I know all there is a referee assessor at every inter county game. I see the ref in question (Paddy Neilan)has been appointed to the next qualifier game. So one must deduce the powers that be have decreed his performance last Saturday was satisfactory. In 2010 Meath v Louth Martin Sludden ( from Tyrone) was the ref.Dont think he reffed inter county again (afaik)"
the same ref from last Saturday night made a mess of a back door game 12 months ago I think it was tipp v Armagh

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/06/2018 20:15:44    2110723