Meath V Tyrone

See to be honest, unless its players who have left for work/study or-and I'm guessing here in this instance-Rooney say going back to get his fitness up, I not sure I'd want the players who have dropped off the panel this year to come back. I've far greater respect for those who put their shoulder to the wheel in difficult times than the likes of those who followed POR's mantra and left when the going got tough. On a side note, I hope Alan Forde will make his return at some stage, he was missed.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 10/06/2018 22:27:27    2109623

Replying To royaldunne:  "Barring those who could not commit due to studies or work. I think the rest shouldn't even be looked at next year. Look at the effort those players put in yesterday. I'm sorry this may sound harsh, but I'd be extremely annoyed with Andy if he allowed any bad influence back into panel.
Look to the u20s for possible inclusion. Those who were indifferent to our cause this year, who may now think , actually we might be better than I thought, I'll get myself back in there . No sorry not for me. You made your bed, you can now lay in it"
Who exactly left because of work and studies?

Jones and??

The rest left because of management, we have gone backwards in the last 2 years

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 11/06/2018 02:52:11    2109686

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "See to be honest, unless its players who have left for work/study or-and I'm guessing here in this instance-Rooney say going back to get his fitness up, I not sure I'd want the players who have dropped off the panel this year to come back. I've far greater respect for those who put their shoulder to the wheel in difficult times than the likes of those who followed POR's mantra and left when the going got tough. On a side note, I hope Alan Forde will make his return at some stage, he was missed."
Agreed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 07:55:41    2109697

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "If we played like we did last night all the time we would be planning for life in division 1 next February ...we need to just have that consistent performance all the time.

I would probably be happy enough to give Andy Mcentee another year as manger! Maybe freashing things up a bit in his backroom with new faces a Graham Geraghty or John Mcdermott ...also a new couching staff to take the pressure of Andy and different ideas always helps."
Do you honestly believe that last nights performance against an average Tyrone side (when at full strength) with the players they were missing is div 1 standard. The lads gave everything last night and fair play to them but we are still a long way off anywhere near a div 1 side.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 11/06/2018 07:58:32    2109700

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Will Rooney or Ronan Jones be back next year. Was Rooney dropped or did he leave?"
Jones I think will be back, as hopefully will Alan Forde. Newman if he can get his fitness up. Harnan might also.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 07:58:53    2109701

Replying To royaldunne:  "Takes a bigger man to admit he is wrong. So fair play. Myself and particularly loyaltoyal17 had been saying that Ben is that bit special . Yesterday he showed that. I knew he had it in him. Unfortunately we won't get to see it in county jersey again this year. But this guy could be the next big player we have."
This is true. Brennan is the gem we have been missing and i knew the only way people would get this was on a day like Saturday, hes one fine player and always gives his everything especially when the chips are down. It was unfortunate he got sent off but to be honest i admire the passion and no fear attitude he carries, he just gets stuck in.

If im honest im going to miss the Monday postmortems on this forum, best of luck to all the lads, supporters and clubs. Thanks lads for the entertainment and wind ups, its been a blast!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/06/2018 09:03:28    2109721

Hard to take a defeat like that. it was a good performance a bit like last year vs Donegal but still came up short again. i would have liked to have seen Jones,Harnan,Rooney,Newman,S,Tobin and Conlon on the team or panel at least but the players that were playing did give a 100% so we cant ask for more. The main issue was what happened at Pearse Park and why did we not perform. Out of the championship on the 9th of June is simply not good enough tbh. If Andy stays well it might be the same group of players as this year or maybe a few less.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 11/06/2018 10:07:14    2109760

Replying To SS6:  "Who exactly left because of work and studies?

Jones and??

The rest left because of management, we have gone backwards in the last 2 years"
Well keoghan didn't leave anyway despite what you professed.
Harnan Jones. Forde injury. Newman to get fitness up same for Rooney. As for the others if they left cause of management then that's their problem and there must be no room for them period.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 10:54:40    2109795

Replying To SheridansTry:  "Hard to take a defeat like that. it was a good performance a bit like last year vs Donegal but still came up short again. i would have liked to have seen Jones,Harnan,Rooney,Newman,S,Tobin and Conlon on the team or panel at least but the players that were playing did give a 100% so we cant ask for more. The main issue was what happened at Pearse Park and why did we not perform. Out of the championship on the 9th of June is simply not good enough tbh. If Andy stays well it might be the same group of players as this year or maybe a few less."
So what get rid of a manager that the players would go through a wall for. And start over with a incompetent manager just to please a few lightweight snowflakes? No thanks they can take a run and jump.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 10:58:47    2109800

Replying To royaldunne:  "So what get rid of a manager that the players would go through a wall for. And start over with a incompetent manager just to please a few lightweight snowflakes? No thanks they can take a run and jump."
I am all for keeping a manager as long as possible but have we improved ? we had a bad league campaign Cavan and Tipp beat us well along with Cork. We lost to a division 3 side Longford in Leinster. This is not an improvement at all and to lose all these players is strange too. I understand some players cant commit due to work etc but a huge amount are gone recently.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 11/06/2018 11:21:12    2109832

The players might go 'through a wall' for Andy but results this year have been nothing short of terrible. The majority of league performances were poor and that woeful display in Pearse Park rightly leave a lot of fans questioning the management setup.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 11/06/2018 11:33:41    2109843

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well keoghan didn't leave anyway despite what you professed.
Harnan Jones. Forde injury. Newman to get fitness up same for Rooney. As for the others if they left cause of management then that's their problem and there must be no room for them period."
Both McKeever & Tobin are travelling, in Chicago atm

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/06/2018 11:37:12    2109848

Hard luck on Saturday night lads.
Watched half and listened to the rest on the radio.
Thought ye blew it at the end of normal time with missing the free and then letting 14 men back into it.
Then thought ye were well bet in ET only to come back and ye should have had a free at the end.
Impressed with ye to be honest.
Best a luck in the future.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 11/06/2018 11:47:38    2109857

just as an observer on the meath tyrone game . i have ever or rarely seen such blatant favouritism by a ref
in favour of one team . meath can feel cheated if that is not too harsh a word and i could not blame
andy mcentee for his reaction after the game

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 11/06/2018 11:57:58    2109869

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Both McKeever & Tobin are travelling, in Chicago atm"
Well then no problem with them coming back. But anyone who left cause of management, there can be no return,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 12:04:32    2109877

49 frees awarded during the match, Tyrone were awarded 30 of them, says a lot, Paddy Neilans Championship should be over the same as ours, We need to learn to be a bit more savvy but my god, the Tyrone medical staff would have covered as much ground as some of the players, the play acting and down right cheating and time wasting. so frustrating that the ref seemed to buy it all the time, think that we will have to go the way of soccer, if a player is down for treatment he should be made leave the field for a play, It is an absolute cancer of the game and leaves it impossible for the refs to tell if someone is genuinely injured.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 11/06/2018 12:12:30    2109884

Replying To mickcunningham:  "just as an observer on the meath tyrone game . i have ever or rarely seen such blatant favouritism by a ref
in favour of one team . meath can feel cheated if that is not too harsh a word and i could not blame
andy mcentee for his reaction after the game"
Indeed mick. We normally don't complain about a ref, (maybe cause of whole 10 thing). But the apologetic way some are going on about it is laughable. We were robbed/cheated whatever you want to call it. But it is bloody obvious that he wanted one team to prevail over another. And no we should have won it in normal time (we should have) will cover up that the ref favorable view to Tyrone had a huge influence over the final result. ACTUALLY he decided the winner.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 12:14:11    2109885

Replying To longroadback:  "49 frees awarded during the match, Tyrone were awarded 30 of them, says a lot, Paddy Neilans Championship should be over the same as ours, We need to learn to be a bit more savvy but my god, the Tyrone medical staff would have covered as much ground as some of the players, the play acting and down right cheating and time wasting. so frustrating that the ref seemed to buy it all the time, think that we will have to go the way of soccer, if a player is down for treatment he should be made leave the field for a play, It is an absolute cancer of the game and leaves it impossible for the refs to tell if someone is genuinely injured."
Agreed. But sure the ref was as bad for Tyrone according to some so-called Meath fans. Bull.... !!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 12:15:54    2109889

Replying To longroadback:  "49 frees awarded during the match, Tyrone were awarded 30 of them, says a lot, Paddy Neilans Championship should be over the same as ours, We need to learn to be a bit more savvy but my god, the Tyrone medical staff would have covered as much ground as some of the players, the play acting and down right cheating and time wasting. so frustrating that the ref seemed to buy it all the time, think that we will have to go the way of soccer, if a player is down for treatment he should be made leave the field for a play, It is an absolute cancer of the game and leaves it impossible for the refs to tell if someone is genuinely injured."
Thats what you would expect from that lot. They cheated for a penalty the last time we met and before that one it was the Sean Cavanagh theatrics in Croker. I don't mind losing fairly and normally congratulate a team after we are beaten but no them. They are definitely trained to go down easy .

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 11/06/2018 12:25:02    2109899

Replying To royaldunne:  "Indeed mick. We normally don't complain about a ref, (maybe cause of whole 10 thing). But the apologetic way some are going on about it is laughable. We were robbed/cheated whatever you want to call it. But it is bloody obvious that he wanted one team to prevail over another. And no we should have won it in normal time (we should have) will cover up that the ref favorable view to Tyrone had a huge influence over the final result. ACTUALLY he decided the winner."
What got on my goat was he kept playing after the 5mins injury time, we had it won until he decided to play on for Tyrone to get the equalising score to bring us to extra time. Ref handed this game to Tyrone. We never complain or react to ref's decisions, lets be honest Meath always get the s**t on the stick.
But we will suck it up, get over it, lads will be getting back into the swing of their Clubs. We will be back next year, hopefully still under the watchful eye of Andy McEntee.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/06/2018 12:25:33    2109900