Meath V Tyrone

Is anybody else wondering where shane gallagher has been the last few years? Thought he was terrific yesterday, got a better look when I watched the game again on sky and he was probably our best defender apart from mcentee, he was part of that meath minor team that got to the all ireland final in 2012 and obviously part of the simonstown team to win back to back keegans, Im confused why it took so long for him to break into the team

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 10/06/2018 09:50:35    2109278

Replying To meath67:  "A win would have given some much needed momentum

Free or not at the end?
link"
If it happens half way through the game then would not be surprised if not given. But given the timing when it happened and the circumstances then I would say 99% of referees would give the free.

Most would give the chasing team the chance to equalise as both teams had given their all and neither really deserved to lose and whilst more extra time would have been brutal on all the players I think Meath deserved a shot at it.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 10/06/2018 10:03:54    2109284

I hope mcentee will stay for next year, we really are just getting to where we need to be, and to change now would be a disaster, having to start all over again. I thought he got most calls right last night, and subs at the right time, it's a minor thing but bringing on the sub forwards including reintroduce lenihane in et at expense of backs showed he wanted to win game and not just go toe to toe.
We not as far off as some would think or would wish for us to be. But we need to keep going in the direction we are. Everything should be done to encourage Andy to remain, however Andy himself needs to evolve, during the year he made mistakes, of that there is know doubt, he must learn from those mistakes and bring people in to set up who are more adapt to certain types of modern football

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 10:08:21    2109286

Replying To ClashofTheAsh13:  "Wasn't the narrow loss to Donegal last year supposed to be 'something to build on' .."
That's the problem really in a nutshell.

People will think tonight's performance heralds progress but we have no competitive games now for 8 months so in reality, welcome as the performance was, it remains a one off and we start from scratch again next year.

Tyrone may improve when they get some players back and may get to the super 8's and people will say well we ran them close so we could be there as well. The fact is that Tyrone were particularly vulnerable tonight and if we met them later in the year on all known form we would struggle.

These are the type of games we have to start winning.

This result, far from giving hope for the future, is a devastating set back because the future should have started last night.

The players gave their all but we are not good enough and there is nothing in our league performances this year which suggest otherwise.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 10/06/2018 10:13:46    2109288

Replying To meath67:  "A win would have given some much needed momentum

Free or not at the end?
link"
Free all day. Jesus what was the ref thinking?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 10:15:42    2109290

Replying To ClashofTheAsh13:  "Wasn't the narrow loss to Donegal last year supposed to be 'something to build on' .."
That wasn't as good a performance from last year.
The hurlers were shocking yesterday also. You got to question the wisdom of some of the players who left the football for the hurling. And in general what the hell has happened to this group of hurlers

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 10:18:31    2109292

Cannot believe the ref made a mistake. How could this happen??

sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 10/06/2018 10:47:13    2109308

Replying To sandyBeach:  "Cannot believe the ref made a mistake. How could this happen??"
Yeah well hope it never happens to your team......oh wait.....

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 10/06/2018 10:58:19    2109314

Replying To sandyBeach:  "Cannot believe the ref made a mistake. How could this happen??"
Its like there cursed.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 10/06/2018 10:58:38    2109315

Replying To redser123:  "Is anybody else wondering where shane gallagher has been the last few years? Thought he was terrific yesterday, got a better look when I watched the game again on sky and he was probably our best defender apart from mcentee, he was part of that meath minor team that got to the all ireland final in 2012 and obviously part of the simonstown team to win back to back keegans, Im confused why it took so long for him to break into the team"
There was a few half backs ahead of him in pecking order so it seems. But yes he done well yday fair play ran out steam but looking at bench yday we need more quality there. Otherwise it was an honest display from players I Sullivan is frustrating but with right but of coaching he could come good.joey was taken off rather quickly I thought was he injured.?

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 10/06/2018 11:03:24    2109317

Ha. But the important thing is yous have got over it and moved on.... sadcases

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 10/06/2018 11:18:02    2109325

Replying To royaldunne:  "That wasn't as good a performance from last year.
The hurlers were shocking yesterday also. You got to question the wisdom of some of the players who left the football for the hurling. And in general what the hell has happened to this group of hurlers"
I think toher was always a hurler first footballer second and probably felt it when Meath won Christy Ring. Douglas stuck with the football but was getting very little game time so it wasnt just a case of ditching the football for the hurling. It's irionic that Power Douglas and Conlon both left the panel because of lack of opportunity and then we were struggling looking for cover in that area.

That said McEntee and Gallagher were two of our better players yesterday.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 10/06/2018 11:57:57    2109342

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "That's the problem really in a nutshell.

People will think tonight's performance heralds progress but we have no competitive games now for 8 months so in reality, welcome as the performance was, it remains a one off and we start from scratch again next year.

Tyrone may improve when they get some players back and may get to the super 8's and people will say well we ran them close so we could be there as well. The fact is that Tyrone were particularly vulnerable tonight and if we met them later in the year on all known form we would struggle.

These are the type of games we have to start winning.

This result, far from giving hope for the future, is a devastating set back because the future should have started last night.

The players gave their all but we are not good enough and there is nothing in our league performances this year which suggest otherwise."
I think this post sums up my feelings. I had a bit of a pit in my stomach thinking that we wont have a competitive county game until the O'Byrne Cup next january.

We have made precious little progress this year and the question must be asked if the management team have done a good job and I think that is certainly up in the air. Andy worked with a squad for the winter, O'Byrne Cup and League. This should have been a preparation for the championship but, for whatever reason, he lost a lot of players. This needs to be looked at next season. either do a better job at identifying the panel or do a better job at keeping them on board through the season. Not easy with competing interests and the dominance of the Dubs but it needs to be actively addressed like other aspects of the role.

The organisation of the championship is for another day but I would like to see us move to round robin in Leinster like the hurling. You could say that we should have beaten Longford looking at the improved performace last night and we would have had another outing in the backdoor after losing the semi to the Dubs. But overall I think round robin is the way to go for Leinster football as well as the hurling.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 10/06/2018 12:07:02    2109345

Replying To Aloblack:  "Ha. But the important thing is yous have got over it and moved on.... sadcases"
I don't give many. But you get a thumbs up from me.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 12:12:45    2109346

Replying To royaldunne:  "I hope mcentee will stay for next year, we really are just getting to where we need to be, and to change now would be a disaster, having to start all over again. I thought he got most calls right last night, and subs at the right time, it's a minor thing but bringing on the sub forwards including reintroduce lenihane in et at expense of backs showed he wanted to win game and not just go toe to toe.
We not as far off as some would think or would wish for us to be. But we need to keep going in the direction we are. Everything should be done to encourage Andy to remain, however Andy himself needs to evolve, during the year he made mistakes, of that there is know doubt, he must learn from those mistakes and bring people in to set up who are more adapt to certain types of modern football"
We dominated midfield.

We turned Tyrone over on the majority of their long kickouts - when forced.

However, we have persisted with letting teams take short kickouts thereby inviting the attack.

We invited Tyrone to a short kickout on 75+ mins with a man extra and let them equalise. The game should have been dead and buried.

The kickout strategy has failed all year. If McEntee was to stay on, that needs to change.

With regards to him going or staying I am in two minds. He has been shocking and his 'management' diabolical. However, considering we gave Mick O Dowd 4 years. I think McEntee should see out the final year.

Apologies will have to be made without question, He needs to bring players in rather than drive them away.

His passion for Meath was glowing off him yesterday. Ultimately in E.T we had no one on the bench to go to. I can think of 10 lads who could have been though.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 10/06/2018 12:12:51    2109347

Replying To Royalio11:  "We dominated midfield.

We turned Tyrone over on the majority of their long kickouts - when forced.

However, we have persisted with letting teams take short kickouts thereby inviting the attack.

We invited Tyrone to a short kickout on 75+ mins with a man extra and let them equalise. The game should have been dead and buried.

The kickout strategy has failed all year. If McEntee was to stay on, that needs to change.

With regards to him going or staying I am in two minds. He has been shocking and his 'management' diabolical. However, considering we gave Mick O Dowd 4 years. I think McEntee should see out the final year.

Apologies will have to be made without question, He needs to bring players in rather than drive them away.

His passion for Meath was glowing off him yesterday. Ultimately in E.T we had no one on the bench to go to. I can think of 10 lads who could have been though."
Read Kevin Reilly article. Where he totally took apart those who left. With special mention for por

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 13:01:06    2109360

Replying To royaldunne:  "Read Kevin Reilly article. Where he totally took apart those who left. With special mention for por"
Where can I find this ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1463 - 10/06/2018 14:28:50    2109400

With the benefit of hindsight, it is what it is. The dissapointing aspect of the championship was the loss to Longford. Had Meath have played to 90% of the intensity of what they did vs. Tyrone, they'd have won that match in Pearse Park, and we'd be in for a hiding today vs. Dublin as a result. So we're in a pickle, have been for years, but last night there was a fire and fight about Meath I havent seen in a long time. Their passion was undeniable, and fair play to them and their management, their spirit was admirable. Couple that with the results in U17 and U20 so far this year and there is cause for optimism, the heart of Meath football was alive and well last night.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 10/06/2018 14:38:53    2109407

In the cruel light of day, our 2018 season ended on 9th June.

Louth and Down, the two teams relegated to Division 3 are still in the championship as are Kildare (a team who did not win a competitive game for a full year)

I see a lot of people stating that the players died with their boots on, gave it their all and played with guts and determination.

While I agree wholeheartedly it begs the obvious question - where was that heart and determination in the league? Where was it in Pearse Park?

There is an honest clarity in what has happened. I have no doubt that if we showed the passion we did yesterday we would be a Division 1 team in 2019 and would be looking forward to rating ourselves against the Dublin benchmark in a Leinster semi final today.

But the season has gone exactly how myself and many many others supporting this Meath team expected, albeit 2 weeks earlier.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 10/06/2018 15:20:23    2109423

If we played like we did last night all the time we would be planning for life in division 1 next February ...we need to just have that consistent performance all the time.

I would probably be happy enough to give Andy Mcentee another year as manger! Maybe freashing things up a bit in his backroom with new faces a Graham Geraghty or John Mcdermott ...also a new couching staff to take the pressure of Andy and different ideas always helps.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 10/06/2018 15:20:52    2109424