Meath V Tyrone

Replying To MillerX:  "Agree that everyone must commit, the bench was light this evening. What has RD to say now about Biggie..he let it slip in normal time.

This is no moral victory, even if the ref stank to hell we had them in normal time but once the goal went in in et all over....."
He hadn't a great game, let ball slip out of hands at a vital time. He has been a great servant to Meath Football and he will be a huge loss if that's last we seen of him in Meath shirt

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2018 20:48:44    2109082

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "That's why a win tonight was so vital and why it is so frustrating that we could not win despite Tyrone trying to hand it to us.
Tyrone were vulnerable, but we cannot buy a win of note at the moment.

To be fair when we went 5 points down in extra time we looked dead and buried, but showed great heart to get it back to one. The problem was it should have never gone to extra time to begin with."
The problem is we should not have lost against Longford.

Since the backdoor came in in 2001 we have just been on an endless slide. Either have a proper knock out competition or league but not this quasi-half arsed crap of backdoor and super 8s.

Fair play to the lads today. They gave it everything and again just fall short. Felt some of our tactics were poor...why didn't we push up on Tyrone and force them to go long when we were winning midfield battle?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 09/06/2018 21:03:25    2109096

Really disappointed to lose a game we should have won, we're just not cute enough at the moment but it'll come. Defeats like that sickens the hole outta u but we have to learn from it and move on. Hopefully in our next tight game tonight will stand to us. Lots of hope for next year, we're not as far away from division 1 standard as people might think. Let's all get behind our 17's & 20's & see how far we can go. HON THE ROYAL

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 09/06/2018 21:26:15    2109107

Gutted for everyone involved. Players really gave their all for Meath today. O Sullivan absolute class. Thought everyone played well including all the subs.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 09/06/2018 21:29:31    2109108

Those lads are to be commended. The effort the put in was excellent. Gaelic football is turning into slurry it has to be said. It is not a patch on the game of twenty years ago. Back then teams went out to play, defense was an important consideration but the game was much more beautiful to watch. Im not talking about just lumping the ball in. Im talking about intelligent football with corner forwards making runs into space. Sadly there is no longer any space to run into. It is a muck poor relation of rugby now and that is thanks to Mickey Harte and the like.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 09/06/2018 21:34:23    2109111

No doubt it was a free at the end, but Tyrone should have been well ahead at half time, missed 2/3 great goal chances. O Sullivan and McEntee were excellent brought the game to Tyrone all day. But letting them collect easy possession from kickouts and get to out 40 before pressure came on was madness, we had so many men behind ball but could still not defend. Fair play to all the lads they gave it their best, but it must be mighty demoralising playing that style of football.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 09/06/2018 21:36:28    2109112

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "Very poor officiating, and TBH, slot of decisions did go against meath. He also did not appear to know, how to use the advantage rule. It looked a penalty all day long. There's not alot between any of the teams outside, Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Galway. Pity they didn't close it out, being a leinster team, and the poo, wrote about leinster championship!!"
These lads (from every county) out in a lot of time and effort for a red that doesn't no his arm from his foot to take it away is getting a bloody joke at this stage. Either do something with officials or give the whole thing up. I'm absolutely furious.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2018 21:39:40    2109117

The players worked out of their skins this evening. Tyrone could have scored an extra 2/3 goals and several points and won easier, but Meath kept close for the game it was and down to hard work nearly nicked it at the 70. You get the feeling it just wasnt to be! But I commend their spirit and honesty, it was great to see them fight to the bitter end. The referee cost Meath the game not once, not twice, but three times. He was bad in every sense: slowed down both teams, didnt use the advantage rule properly, called fouls only when it suited him, and had double standards on his calls, didnt make big decisions on a penalty or black cards early in the game. He wasnt good for Tyrone either, just a bad official. Again, fair play to the Meath team, they played with pride and a bit of fire, and its a terrible shame they couldnt pull it off!

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 09/06/2018 21:47:40    2109120

Replying To royaldunne:  "These lads (from every county) out in a lot of time and effort for a red that doesn't no his arm from his foot to take it away is getting a bloody joke at this stage. Either do something with officials or give the whole thing up. I'm absolutely furious."
Not often we agree, but i do here.

Theres too much at stage for lads like paddy neilan to mess it up. Remember armagh tipp last year and the balls up there too.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 09/06/2018 21:51:43    2109124

Well that was a tough old battle and nothing in it in the end. Fair play to the lads out there they really put it up to Tyrone. Went the way I thought it would except I didn't think we'd be so close to winning.

Tyrone looked like they could carve open our backs quite easily so the lads dealt with it as best they could as a team after a poor enough start.

Some will criticise Andy but I think for a limited panel that was as good a performance against one of the top 8 teams.

Once we tightened things up we got ourselves into a winning position which we really should have held onto but it's those kinds of mistakes, sloppy passing, sloppy tackling and running into tackles, when the chips are down and the games in the balance, those mistakes kill us. Hard to fathom why we were so flat at the start of extra time only to come alive once we went 4 down.

Ultimately we are still short of about 6 or 7 starting top quality players to make it back up. On top of that we need a much deeper squad in terms of talent. But Still there's a lot of young lads there.

McGill, Keoghan, James McEntee, Menton and Reilly are lads you can build something on. Joey Wallace, Flanagan, Ben Brennan, O'Sullivan and Lenihan did well but they just need a bit more finesse to their game to be top quality. O'Sullivan loses far too much ball in the tackle but he's a good scorer. I think he looks for frees too often.

The rest of the outfield lads just don't impose anything on the game.

Tough game that might stand to some of the young lads there. Hopefully we can hang onto the experiences lads a bit longer and get some more talent around them.

Hard to know what to make of Tyrone with all the injuries they have. They came through a tough contest but whether they come out stronger or mortally wounded we'll have to wait and see. Well done on the win though. Good to see even a weak Meath team run ye close. Till we meet again.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 09/06/2018 21:53:38    2109126

great effort . worst ref I seen in years thank you to the players that wore the Meath jersey and died with their boots on and choose to stay till the end

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/06/2018 21:57:55    2109131

Replying To royaldunne:  "These lads (from every county) out in a lot of time and effort for a red that doesn't no his arm from his foot to take it away is getting a bloody joke at this stage. Either do something with officials or give the whole thing up. I'm absolutely furious."
I have to say I am devastated and furious yes we should have closed the game out in normal time but we didn't and I really don't like to or don't usually blame referees but my god wat I thought was a clear pen not given would like to see it on tv to see if it was in square from where I was I thought it was but wat really upset me was a clear as day free right at the end of extra time not given this is just not good enough something needs to be done about it you have lads training for months putting their lives on hold to play for their county and all that hard work to be taken way by poor refereeing not good enough I am furious

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 09/06/2018 22:06:04    2109140

dead right to lose like that after the lads give every last drop for the jersey

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/06/2018 22:12:31    2109147

Yep it is frustrating and it follows the fiasco in the hurling last weekend.

Truth is that it will be forgotten about by tomorrow and things will just keep on the same way as before so I am not sure there is any point getting annoyed at it.

I would be more annoyed at the way we set up and played (as distinct from the courage displayed by the players).

I think the players showed great heart and battled to the end but were hamstrung to a certain extent by their managers style of play. A style of play by the way that actually does not play to your man Graham's strengths.

We passed up a great opportunity tonight and deep down it hurts more to know that it was self inflicted.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 09/06/2018 22:29:20    2109159

A great effort and I was a proud Meath man in PT tonight!We are not as far off as you would be led to believe and hopefully we will bring on a few of the young guns next year!Just frustrated that we allowed them the short kick outs ,at least when forced to go long it was 50/50.Also you cannot score when we have everyone on our own half in the hope of turning the ball over but nobody to kick it forward too!Anyway it's easy for us all to comment,players and management have put their necks on the line and went down giving their all!Keep the faith lads,it might happen sooner than you think!!

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 09/06/2018 22:47:39    2109171

Devestated by the end result... really should have finished it out in normal time once we went ahead at the death but, although disappointing, it was by far the best performance I have seen all year from this group. Perhaps something to build on for next year.

Today was lost from our failure to contest tyrone's kick outs. We allowed them the short uncontested nearly every time when we where winning the midfield battle.

Opportunity missed, although not for the want of trying...

Marara (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 09/06/2018 22:54:22    2109178

Wasn't the narrow loss to Donegal last year supposed to be 'something to build on' ..

ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 10/06/2018 00:46:04    2109224

Disappointing ppl having a go at the team saying we should have done this in the game or players are to blame. We played well and were within a whisker or winning - no consolation but we got to keep the faith. Most of us knew we weren't as bad as we looked and were capable of performing. Hopefully we can keep most of that team for next year while adding some of the U20 talent. We now have a good club championship to look forward too where it should help our clubs to have a run of games for a few months.please show the U20 and U17 the same support as we showed today for the seniors.

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 10/06/2018 03:08:38    2109240

A win would have given some much needed momentum

Free or not at the end?

meath67 (Meath) - Posts: 71 - 10/06/2018 09:07:03    2109261

the 18 players that left the panel for what ever reasons from last year and after the league was a major problem for us this year and answers are needed on why they decided not to put in their lot with Meath, but Andy has got the best out of the players that did play and if you take in the fact we lost so many players this year the players that did stay and the team that did play has improved from last year and that's the reason Andy should get his third year.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 10/06/2018 09:16:20    2109264