Meath v Longford

Another Game which is a Positive

Team Maybe ,Not a Reflection of any Performances Just My opinion..Players Need Gametime too

1.Adam McDermott
2.Liam Ferguson
3.Conor McGill
4.Shane Gallagher
5.Seamas Lavin
6.Bryan Conlan
7.Shane McEntee
8.Harry Rooney
9.Bryan Menton
10.James Mcentee
11.Ben Brennan
12.Mark McCabe
13.Cillian OSullivan if fit..If Not Sean Tobin
14.Thomas O"Reilly
15.Padraig McKeever If Fit..if not Brian McMahon

Would Also Like to see the likes of Cian O"Brien,Joey Wallace,Sean Curran,Paddy Kennelly Alan Douglas, Get more Game Time

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 07/01/2018 17:23:12    2067206

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Another Game which is a Positive

Team Maybe ,Not a Reflection of any Performances Just My opinion..Players Need Gametime too

1.Adam McDermott
2.Liam Ferguson
3.Conor McGill
4.Shane Gallagher
5.Seamas Lavin
6.Bryan Conlan
7.Shane McEntee
8.Harry Rooney
9.Bryan Menton
10.James Mcentee
11.Ben Brennan
12.Mark McCabe
14.Thomas O"Reilly

Would Also Like to see the likes of Cian O"Brien,Joey Wallace,Sean Curran,Paddy Kennelly Alan Douglas, Get more Game Time"
Cian O'Brien is recovering from a broken leg, not fully back. Doubt we see much of him

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 07/01/2018 18:11:11    2067215

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Another Game which is a Positive

1.Adam McDermott
2.Liam Ferguson
3.Conor McGill
4.Shane Gallagher
5.Seamas Lavin
6.Bryan Conlan
7.Shane McEntee
8.Harry Rooney
9.Bryan Menton
10.James Mcentee
11.Ben Brennan
12.Mark McCabe
14.Thomas O"Reilly

Would Also Like to see the likes of Cian O"Brien,Joey Wallace,Sean Curran,Paddy Kennelly Alan Douglas, Get more Game Time"
You not think we need Biggy starting? Yeah give lads game time but we need also need him to start.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 07/01/2018 18:34:52    2067219

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "You not think we need Biggy starting? Yeah give lads game time but we need also need him to start."
Ah Jaysus we all know what Biggy can do..Obviously he starts in the League and Championship..Stick Him on the Bench and Bring Him on If Needed..Its The OByrne cup Semi Final not the Leinster Final For Gods Sake,Perfect Chance to Try Things

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 07/01/2018 18:44:15    2067220

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "You not think we need Biggy starting? Yeah give lads game time but we need also need him to start."
I think start him, if game over like today then can easily be subbed.
Yes it's only obyrne, but winning can be a habit, be nice to win it at this stage.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/01/2018 19:21:14    2067227

I beleive Meath need to continue a winning mentality. Yes it's only the O Byrne Cup however, we have a game next weekend with the potential for another. Therefore, match time and as Royaldunne says winning can only be a positive even in January.

The tough trip to Roscommon in a few weeks is of the most importance but going on to win this tournament as a short term goal can be achieved whilst the new squad players gain more experience.

I won't try suggest a team given the unlimited subs rule but looking forward to the game next weekend in Navan.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 07/01/2018 19:56:07    2067232

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think start him, if game over like today then can easily be subbed.
Yes it's only obyrne, but winning can be a habit, be nice to win it at this stage."
Ok if you say so,,I Cant Take another Graham Reilly debate anyway..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 07/01/2018 20:06:58    2067234

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Ok if you say so,,I Cant Take another Graham Reilly debate anyway.."
I disagree but as you said i myself cant do another Graham Reilly debate so think we should park it up.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 07/01/2018 20:54:39    2067242

Replying To Royalio11:  "I beleive Meath need to continue a winning mentality. Yes it's only the O Byrne Cup however, we have a game next weekend with the potential for another. Therefore, match time and as Royaldunne says winning can only be a positive even in January.

The tough trip to Roscommon in a few weeks is of the most importance but going on to win this tournament as a short term goal can be achieved whilst the new squad players gain more experience.

I won't try suggest a team given the unlimited subs rule but looking forward to the game next weekend in Navan."
Yeah look getting players time and running the rule over them is very important, but god damn it a bit of silverware (even this obc one) can't be a bad way to start 2018.
I don't honestly know what Andy will do regards players. But the next time we meet Longford the stakes will be higher , I still have nightmares over a loss to them in early 80s in mullingar in Leinster, I'll never forget jj McCormack was our capt (from walterstown club, but originally a bracks man) and a certain Jodie gunning was the ref. I didn't think that within 5/6 years we would be all ire champion leaving mullingar that day. Ever since then Longford make me feel uneasy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/01/2018 21:05:19    2067243

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah look getting players time and running the rule over them is very important, but god damn it a bit of silverware (even this obc one) can't be a bad way to start 2018.
I don't honestly know what Andy will do regards players. But the next time we meet Longford the stakes will be higher , I still have nightmares over a loss to them in early 80s in mullingar in Leinster, I'll never forget jj McCormack was our capt (from walterstown club, but originally a bracks man) and a certain Jodie gunning was the ref. I didn't think that within 5/6 years we would be all ire champion leaving mullingar that day. Ever since then Longford make me feel uneasy."
As a much younger fan only association I have with Longford is the 2015 minor Leinster semi which was a disaster. We had 4 lads who've played senior (O'Neill, Conlon, Jones, O'Reilly) and Conor Nash who almost certainly would have been a 5th. But we lost to Longford in Pearse Park. I'm sure the 3 boys on the panel now would like a bitta revenge on Longford now

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 07/01/2018 22:05:48    2067251

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "As a much younger fan only association I have with Longford is the 2015 minor Leinster semi which was a disaster. We had 4 lads who've played senior (O'Neill, Conlon, Jones, O'Reilly) and Conor Nash who almost certainly would have been a 5th. But we lost to Longford in Pearse Park. I'm sure the 3 boys on the panel now would like a bitta revenge on Longford now"
That was some minor team looking back as they also had the Ryan twins who were excellent at that grade... Pity they didn't get a good run at Leinster and All-Ireland

ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 07/01/2018 23:53:00    2067263

Alot of people on and off this forum are saying..sure its only the o byrne cup its not that important...but people are missing the whole point here. We need to be starting our strongest and more experienced fellas on Sunday, with no restriction on subs its perfect for giving as many new lads as possible a game, but i think its crazy to start majority of them. With the exception of a couple who have already proved themselves last week. We need wins at this early stage, it is important not only for the mentality & confidence of the lads but for the supporters who cant be a***d to watch them play, like yesterday, turnout was terrible. Maybe im wrong, but just my opinion.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/01/2018 10:20:35    2067289

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Alot of people on and off this forum are saying..sure its only the o byrne cup its not that important...but people are missing the whole point here. We need to be starting our strongest and more experienced fellas on Sunday, with no restriction on subs its perfect for giving as many new lads as possible a game, but i think its crazy to start majority of them. With the exception of a couple who have already proved themselves last week. We need wins at this early stage, it is important not only for the mentality & confidence of the lads but for the supporters who cant be a***d to watch them play, like yesterday, turnout was terrible. Maybe im wrong, but just my opinion."
Don't know the attendance figures for yesterday but I thought it was a bit low for a nice crisp day at home. But maybe after Christmas people just didn't have the funds, also the fact you could see the game on Meath tv may have added to that. I always prefer to see games first hand and I will travel anywhere. However as I said before I'm lucky to be in a position that I can afford to , some people maybe not, and that's understandable.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2018 10:32:31    2067293

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't know the attendance figures for yesterday but I thought it was a bit low for a nice crisp day at home. But maybe after Christmas people just didn't have the funds, also the fact you could see the game on Meath tv may have added to that. I always prefer to see games first hand and I will travel anywhere. However as I said before I'm lucky to be in a position that I can afford to , some people maybe not, and that's understandable."
RD- Will you lend me a few bob!!!! . Winning is a good habit and to win any competition is a good starting point on a forward journey. The best of luck and good health to you in 2018.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/01/2018 11:07:39    2067302

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't know the attendance figures for yesterday but I thought it was a bit low for a nice crisp day at home. But maybe after Christmas people just didn't have the funds, also the fact you could see the game on Meath tv may have added to that. I always prefer to see games first hand and I will travel anywhere. However as I said before I'm lucky to be in a position that I can afford to , some people maybe not, and that's understandable."
True i travel myself hail rain & snow, and like you can see the drop in supporters for whatever reason, away games fair enough but home games...
I do know alot of people who wouldn't go because they are still of the mentality that unfortunately they reckon they wouldn't pay the €10 to watch because we are not good enough and this is the attitude that needs to be changed by supporters and the only way to do this is to win games, to start proving ourselves again, no matter what cup we are playing for.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/01/2018 11:09:57    2067303

Replying To browncows:  "RD- Will you lend me a few bob!!!! . Winning is a good habit and to win any competition is a good starting point on a forward journey. The best of luck and good health to you in 2018."
No problems, although with 6 children they tend to drain me at every chance :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2018 11:12:27    2067304

Surely Joey Wallace deserves to start theses OBC games ? Am I the only only one that taught he was really unlucky not to get more game time last year ? For Joey and others it must be hard to look at the likes of Biggy and Donal Leinhan starting OBC games and not getting starting place ? For me the result it not important at all really, finding new talent and given lads game time is what matters.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/01/2018 11:15:40    2067305

Replying To browncows:  "RD- Will you lend me a few bob!!!! . Winning is a good habit and to win any competition is a good starting point on a forward journey. The best of luck and good health to you in 2018."
On a serious note. Yes winning, no matter what is a good habit, the important thing is to use it going forward with a push for promotion.
Also might not be a bad idea to get as many definite league players to play together even for 35 minutes.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2018 11:17:50    2067306

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Surely Joey Wallace deserves to start theses OBC games ? Am I the only only one that taught he was really unlucky not to get more game time last year ? For Joey and others it must be hard to look at the likes of Biggy and Donal Leinhan starting OBC games and not getting starting place ? For me the result it not important at all really, finding new talent and given lads game time is what matters."
Joey Wallace was injured for much of last year! He only got back for Ratoath for the Q Final against Wolfe Tones and was their best player that night! He has bulked up and I think he could be a big plus for the county this year.

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2018 11:22:14    2067307

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Surely Joey Wallace deserves to start theses OBC games ? Am I the only only one that taught he was really unlucky not to get more game time last year ? For Joey and others it must be hard to look at the likes of Biggy and Donal Leinhan starting OBC games and not getting starting place ? For me the result it not important at all really, finding new talent and given lads game time is what matters."
So are you saying you would be happy if we were going out playing in OBC and losing all the games but once new players get a game sure then its grand nothing else matters?? Yes we do need new talent but you have to be clever about the way you use these new lads.
I do agree 100% about Joey Wallace and Im actually surprised he has made himself available this year because of what little games he did get last year. Played well yesterday and hope to see him starting Sunday.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/01/2018 11:35:40    2067313