Have Meath improved in 2017?

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "First of all i'm not from Meath originally but I have lived here for 12 years, I play my club football in the county, I go to watch a Meath game whenever I can and I like to see them do well just once my own county win's Sam I am quite happy.
It is quite simple we have improved in certain areas. We are much fitter and therefore can see out games better when we have a strong lead. We also are more steel upstairs this year and lads never give up which was seen a few times this year. New players have been discovered, Jones has established himself as a starter while Conlon and O Reilly showed that they have potential to make it.
Over the next 3 years we need to build a team that can follow a game plan which will allow us to compete with the likes Dublin, Kerry and the other top teams.

Part of the reason why Meath can't compete is down to players attitudes, I've watched 9 club championship games over the first two rounds of championship and county players from the likes of Dunboyne, Simonstown, Colmcilles and Moynalvey do not stand out. It appears like they are going through the motions because "sure look we can lose two games and still be in with a chance of winning the thing". These players should be standing out, the likes of Connolly and Kilkenny stand head and shoulders above other club players in Dublin, most of our guys don't. Part of the reason is because you can lose 2/3 games and still make the knockout stage in the Meath championship. In Dublin, Kerry and Mayo this doesn't happen it's basically do or die. We need to make the club championship more competitive so players have to actually burst a gut when they play for their club then they will bring that attitude and mentality into the county set up.
We also need to keep players playing in Meath if possible, now it's understandable if lads want to jet off on a J1, play Aussie Rules or go abroad for a few months to study but it's the lads who go to America and Australia to work that annoys me. I mean we need to get them work, do you think any of the Dublin or Kerry team would be stuck for a bit of work?
There is issues at all levels from players and management, county board to facilities such a PT."
Can't argue with anything you posyted [
The club structure in meath is a joke it is easy to see why the winners doo so badly in leinster.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/08/2017 20:26:15    2028077

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Was it really any good the new championship structure ? was it not just knock out football ...loss one game and you are gone until next year."
no it was a group structure with less teams in them.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/08/2017 20:44:16    2028088

Replying To ziggy32001:  "no it was a group structure with less teams in them."
Completely can't remember what it was...and the junior structure was a under 25s ? Or am I imagining the whole thing :)

Small groups system of 4 teams each would make sense..means you can't really lose a game never mind lossing two games as the system we have in place now!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 02/08/2017 21:24:54    2028109

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Completely can't remember what it was...and the junior structure was a under 25s ? Or am I imagining the whole thing :)

Small groups system of 4 teams each would make sense..means you can't really lose a game never mind lossing two games as the system we have in place now!"
yep all i know is the current system is poor. 18 senior teams right now. drop it to 16,make 4 groups of 4.top 2 go through. any club/county player i have talked to all agree that the current system is poor.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/08/2017 21:55:22    2028130

Bit rich calling the club football structure a joke considering that you see little club football inside the county and no senior club football and then you pretend to be an expert!!. Where do you get the expertise from? Some posters need to get real - a pen pushing exercise in reducing or increasing the number of teams in a grade will not improve the standard of football. The main reason county players do not stand out is because they names being mentioned are no better than the better players in the stronger clubs.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/08/2017 01:12:01    2028215

Replying To browncows:  "Bit rich calling the club football structure a joke considering that you see little club football inside the county and no senior club football and then you pretend to be an expert!!. Where do you get the expertise from? Some posters need to get real - a pen pushing exercise in reducing or increasing the number of teams in a grade will not improve the standard of football. The main reason county players do not stand out is because they names being mentioned are no better than the better players in the stronger clubs."
I think its you that needs to get real!! Ask any player on any senior team in the county and they will tell you it needs to change!! If every game feels like a do or die knock out game then the standard will improve because the effort will have to improve. Lose one game and you MUST win the next 2 to have a chance to progress.....lose a second game and all of a sudden your now fighting to avoid a relegation battle.....lose 3 games and now your in a relegation battle which means its do or die at that stage.

As it stands, you can lose 2 games, win the next 3...or possibly next 2 and a draw and you can still progress, hence games aren't properly competitive until the knockout stages which don't happen until September and it leaves a large number of teams that only had to try and win one game still sitting in the Senior grade.

People wonder why so many of our best players leave this county.......its because we aren't listened to when it comes to trying to improve the football or competitions in it!!

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 03/08/2017 09:51:37    2028271

Replying To ratlag:  "I think its you that needs to get real!! Ask any player on any senior team in the county and they will tell you it needs to change!! If every game feels like a do or die knock out game then the standard will improve because the effort will have to improve. Lose one game and you MUST win the next 2 to have a chance to progress.....lose a second game and all of a sudden your now fighting to avoid a relegation battle.....lose 3 games and now your in a relegation battle which means its do or die at that stage.

As it stands, you can lose 2 games, win the next 3...or possibly next 2 and a draw and you can still progress, hence games aren't properly competitive until the knockout stages which don't happen until September and it leaves a large number of teams that only had to try and win one game still sitting in the Senior grade.

People wonder why so many of our best players leave this county.......its because we aren't listened to when it comes to trying to improve the football or competitions in it!!"
was gonna to say precisely what you said in the first paragraph. hard to understand why this isn't understood by some people. its that attitude that hasn't helped..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/08/2017 11:00:31    2028307

Replying To browncows:  "Bit rich calling the club football structure a joke considering that you see little club football inside the county and no senior club football and then you pretend to be an expert!!. Where do you get the expertise from? Some posters need to get real - a pen pushing exercise in reducing or increasing the number of teams in a grade will not improve the standard of football. The main reason county players do not stand out is because they names being mentioned are no better than the better players in the stronger clubs."
yet would say 75% of the players would disagree with this....

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/08/2017 11:05:13    2028310

Where did I call the club football structure a joke? I actually enjoy the structure of both A&B league as well as the cup games. It's the championship that I have a problem with. It is possible to lose 3 games and still actually make the quarter finals, in no other county that I know of can this happen. I'm no expert on club football in Meath but like I said before I have lived here for 12 years, I play my club football in the Meath, I know a few lads on the Meath panel and I go to watch a Meath games whenever I can.
Some players on the Meath panel would love to see a more competitive championship, they would also like to be allowed play in a couple of more A league games, other players rather it the way it is. Now it just depends who you ask.
There has been a few county players that I have seen who stood out and you can tell they are a class above the rest but there is others who don't and they rarely stand out. The main issue I have here is that attitude and mentality of SOME county players is "sure look we can lose a game or two, I don't have to get out of first gear." Club players are the same, some guys are happy to just say they are playing senior football even though they won't win anything at senior in the next 10 years. County players train at a higher standard, play against the top players regularly and have other luxuries that club players don't have. There is no excuse for them not to stand out. Now everyone can have a bad season with there club or that but 10 or so county players having a bad season with there clubs ring alarm bells in my head.
All I am saying is that improvements can be made a other levels such as a county players attitude to club championship.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 03/08/2017 11:26:39    2028322

Replying To ziggy32001:  "yet would say 75% of the players would disagree with this...."
I'm not sure that you would know whether 75% of players agree with your post or where does your information come from to make that statement!

Usernameinvalid - My post was referring to the poster who makes a habit of criticising the standard / structure of club football inside the county yet, never or seldom attends any matches.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/08/2017 14:22:10    2028432

Replying To browncows:  "I'm not sure that you would know whether 75% of players agree with your post or where does your information come from to make that statement!

Usernameinvalid - My post was referring to the poster who makes a habit of criticising the standard / structure of club football inside the county yet, never or seldom attends any matches."
well any players that i talked to don't like the current champ structure,the rest fine,but not the champ structure.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/08/2017 17:03:32    2028506

Replying To ziggy32001:  "well any players that i talked to don't like the current champ structure,the rest fine,but not the champ structure."
I would like to see every player given the opportunity in playing in senior championship, which would mean combinations of intermediate / junior teams.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/08/2017 18:29:02    2028557

Replying To browncows:  "I would like to see every player given the opportunity in playing in senior championship, which would mean combinations of intermediate / junior teams."
wouldn't be against that myself. but surely you don't like the current structure? the amount of games you see with teams almost going through the motions at the moment is wrong. as many say,you win one game in the group you may stay up. you win 2,lose a few and go through. we need a better intensity as simple as that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/08/2017 18:54:45    2028564

When the new championship format was proposed to the clubs delegates, On that night everyone voted for and were happy with the new championship structure !

But then they went back home to mammy house and the following week later the whole thing went pear shaped !

What irritated the delegates and made them end up with a bee in their bonnet over something that was a great idea a week earlier ?

Am i right about the Junior championship was going to be turned into a under 25s competition ? So technical if you are in you're prime at 26,27,28 years of age playing for ,Carnaross,Clann na nGael and Meath Hill all of a sudden you services are no longer needed at 26 years of age playing for you're parish ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 03/08/2017 19:40:35    2028579

Replying To browncows:  "I'm not sure that you would know whether 75% of players agree with your post or where does your information come from to make that statement!

Usernameinvalid - My post was referring to the poster who makes a habit of criticising the standard / structure of club football inside the county yet, never or seldom attends any matches."
How many points did we beat galway by last year? Or how did we finish in same position in league? Yes the were just two doozies I can recal about how little you know about meath football. I may not get to go to every club game I want to. But I do travel to what is becoming the anual beating of meath senior winners every year. And it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out the structure of the meath senior club championship is a joke. It is letting down the players and the clubs in the way it is set up. Now I wouldn't expect you to agree , but vast majority would

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/08/2017 20:12:44    2028591

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "When the new championship format was proposed to the clubs delegates, On that night everyone voted for and were happy with the new championship structure !

But then they went back home to mammy house and the following week later the whole thing went pear shaped !

What irritated the delegates and made them end up with a bee in their bonnet over something that was a great idea a week earlier ?

Am i right about the Junior championship was going to be turned into a under 25s competition ? So technical if you are in you're prime at 26,27,28 years of age playing for ,Carnaross,Clann na nGael and Meath Hill all of a sudden you services are no longer needed at 26 years of age playing for you're parish ?"
No - you have completely dreamt that one up yourself.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 03/08/2017 20:14:15    2028592

Replying To anfearbeag:  "No - you have completely dreamt that one up yourself."
I was hoping that also..tell were did it all go wrong anfearbeg ?

Don't say at birth .:)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 03/08/2017 20:39:49    2028606

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "When the new championship format was proposed to the clubs delegates, On that night everyone voted for and were happy with the new championship structure !

Am i right about the Junior championship was going to be turned into a under 25s competition ? So technical if you are in you're prime at 26,27,28 years of age playing for ,Carnaross,Clann na nGael and Meath Hill all of a sudden you services are no longer needed at 26 years of age playing for you're parish ?"
I think you are mixing up the Meath Junior Football Championship and the Meath Intercounty Football team where the county itself have decided to field an u-25 team.
To my mind there is NO WAY that a County Board could make their Junior Football Championship an under age event.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 03/08/2017 21:52:18    2028643

Replying To MillerX:  "I think you are mixing up the Meath Junior Football Championship and the Meath Intercounty Football team where the county itself have decided to field an u-25 team.
To my mind there is NO WAY that a County Board could make their Junior Football Championship an under age event."
I think you are right buddy..I knew it was a Junior u25 something !

But it have given me a idea...or maybe one was just testing the waters :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 03/08/2017 22:28:46    2028657

Replying To royaldunne:  "How many points did we beat galway by last year? Or how did we finish in same position in league? Yes the were just two doozies I can recal about how little you know about meath football. I may not get to go to every club game I want to. But I do travel to what is becoming the anual beating of meath senior winners every year. And it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out the structure of the meath senior club championship is a joke. It is letting down the players and the clubs in the way it is set up. Now I wouldn't expect you to agree , but vast majority would"
You post a lot, most of which makes little sense about club or county. Telling everyone about all the county matches you go to does not make you an expert. Reading your posts tells me you know very little about the standard of club football inside the county. How we compete at county level is not a barometer of how we do at club level in Leinster or beyond- just look at the late 80's early 90's. I think you need to put the brain in gear before you post about football!!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/08/2017 00:34:42    2028708