Have Meath improved in 2017?

At senior level we didn't at all. I really don't see much in the "looked fitter" argument, I suppose its people clutching at straws. All the goals set out of the league were missed and the Championship was a disappointment, particularly viewed through the lens of what the teams that beat us went on to do.
The underage and junior success was fantastic to see. The structures that were put in place when MOD became manager are finally bearing fruit. Let's hope the good work can be continued and there is a better caliber of player to pick from in 3 or 4 years whoever is the manager at that point.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 31/07/2017 15:27:27    2026727

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Stand down the entire panel? No wait stop short of that but drop most of them? Thankfully we've a manager who's nowhere near as erratic as that or you'd be starting next year with a panel of 0 as nobody would want to play for them!

Also disappointing that we've apparently been relegated to Division 3 because our wins have been declared null and void by you."
Yes the panel needs a serious shake up. Most should be made prove their entitlement to represent their county. Failure to put" everything in" in championship football cannot be tolerated.
I did not say that we were virtually relegated to Division 3 but what I did say was that if circumstances had been different with other counties we may not have finished as close to the top as we did. To give an indication of this, we could not beat Donegal at home yet a week later Galway took them apart thus indicating that Galway had improved immensely since the League game or we have gone backwards. Also Galway were no match for Kerry yesterday. This proves we are nowhere near the top something that could rarely be said since the thirties unpalatable and all as this appears to you.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 31/07/2017 20:30:26    2026914

Replying To MillerX:  "Yes the panel needs a serious shake up. Most should be made prove their entitlement to represent their county. Failure to put" everything in" in championship football cannot be tolerated.
I did not say that we were virtually relegated to Division 3 but what I did say was that if circumstances had been different with other counties we may not have finished as close to the top as we did. To give an indication of this, we could not beat Donegal at home yet a week later Galway took them apart thus indicating that Galway had improved immensely since the League game or we have gone backwards. Also Galway were no match for Kerry yesterday. This proves we are nowhere near the top something that could rarely be said since the thirties unpalatable and all as this appears to you."
galway are up and down though..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/07/2017 20:50:47    2026932

Replying To MillerX:  "No overall improvement, probably are a good bit fitter, but game plans? Limited or non-existent with a large deficit of quality players. We are in freefall I'm afraid. The beating from Kildare in Tullamore is similar to the collapse against Westmeath and after that I felt that the whole panel should be stood down and we should go back to the drawing board again probably stopping short of standing down the entire panel but a lot need dropping if for nothing else other than giving out a clear message that just turning out is not sufficient. And by the way our League finishing position flattered to deceive. Derry were short their Club Final contingent, Fermanagh were in disarray and Clare were probably out of contention by the final game and Galway did as Galway do, they have a habit of flopping when least expected as Roscommon proved."
Good grief

Putting a hypothetical question mark over one game is fair enough, but you've just dismissed an entire league campaign ffs

The Clarke, Derry and Fermanagh games you've excused on their behalf, off the top of my head we probably one the three by a combined total of about 40 odd points!

Hats off, that is some attempt at sugarcoating a bizarre agenda, let's hope our 30 new players next year fare better haha!

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 31/07/2017 20:57:52    2026936

Can we make Miller the next manager? Sick of seeing the same faces, a new squad every game say. League campaign should see us get through with 150-180 players. Also if the opposition aren't up to it hand the points back, or at the very least offer a replay.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 31/07/2017 21:00:16    2026939

The facts are quite depressing when you look at them,hammered by Kildare twice who then we're dispatched by a Armagh team that will for sure get knocked out easily in the next round , Then scraped by a dreadful Sligo team with a brutal performance to then lose to a Donegal team on its Knees who themselves got brutally dispatched by Galway ! Then Kerry beat them by 8 points without getting out of first gear !! We're completely irrelevant in the championship we will beat the division 3/4 teams most of the time in the championship then get a real rest and will lose !! This Meath team is dreadful the players are committed fair play to them but they just aren't good enough ! Captain and so called main man disappears in the big games ! Poor goalkeeper who makes bigger blunders by the game !! No midfield ..No top class forward close to the top players !! Very little on the bench !! Joe Sheridan as a sub goalie ! Defensive puke football We're bad and very bad at that ! If Mcentee can get something out of these lot he deserves a knighthood !! This is my honest opinion of the year ! It was pretty much a disaster but that's Meath these days !! Very dark days at the minute

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 31/07/2017 23:16:47    2027055

Replying To grahamc9897:  "The facts are quite depressing when you look at them,hammered by Kildare twice who then we're dispatched by a Armagh team that will for sure get knocked out easily in the next round , Then scraped by a dreadful Sligo team with a brutal performance to then lose to a Donegal team on its Knees who themselves got brutally dispatched by Galway ! Then Kerry beat them by 8 points without getting out of first gear !! We're completely irrelevant in the championship we will beat the division 3/4 teams most of the time in the championship then get a real rest and will lose !! This Meath team is dreadful the players are committed fair play to them but they just aren't good enough ! Captain and so called main man disappears in the big games ! Poor goalkeeper who makes bigger blunders by the game !! No midfield ..No top class forward close to the top players !! Very little on the bench !! Joe Sheridan as a sub goalie ! Defensive puke football We're bad and very bad at that ! If Mcentee can get something out of these lot he deserves a knighthood !! This is my honest opinion of the year ! It was pretty much a disaster but that's Meath these days !! Very dark days at the minute"
not easy reading but very true

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 01/08/2017 07:50:15    2027111

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Good grief

Putting a hypothetical question mark over one game is fair enough, but you've just dismissed an entire league campaign ffs

The Clarke, Derry and Fermanagh games you've excused on their behalf, off the top of my head we probably one the three by a combined total of about 40 odd points!

Hats off, that is some attempt at sugarcoating a bizarre agenda, let's hope our 30 new players next year fare better haha!"
Just have a read of grahamc9897 he puts it starker prose than I do but I agree with most of what he says.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 01/08/2017 10:43:57    2027188

The thread is asking have Meath improved this year!! I'm assuming that is against the Meath of 2016 and no other County or Meath team of the past?? If that is the case the the answer is Yes. We have improved on last year, we are slightly fitter, fighting spirit and attitude is there in almost every game except the 2 Kildare showings. Yes there are still a number of weak areas but comparing against Meath of 2016 and only that team then there has been a slight improvement and that has to be seen as a positive??

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 01/08/2017 11:31:12    2027244

Replying To grahamc9897:  "The facts are quite depressing when you look at them,hammered by Kildare twice who then we're dispatched by a Armagh team that will for sure get knocked out easily in the next round , Then scraped by a dreadful Sligo team with a brutal performance to then lose to a Donegal team on its Knees who themselves got brutally dispatched by Galway ! Then Kerry beat them by 8 points without getting out of first gear !! We're completely irrelevant in the championship we will beat the division 3/4 teams most of the time in the championship then get a real rest and will lose !! This Meath team is dreadful the players are committed fair play to them but they just aren't good enough ! Captain and so called main man disappears in the big games ! Poor goalkeeper who makes bigger blunders by the game !! No midfield ..No top class forward close to the top players !! Very little on the bench !! Joe Sheridan as a sub goalie ! Defensive puke football We're bad and very bad at that ! If Mcentee can get something out of these lot he deserves a knighthood !! This is my honest opinion of the year ! It was pretty much a disaster but that's Meath these days !! Very dark days at the minute"
Graham has outlined the reasons why we are nowhere near competing with the big teams. It's hard to argue with facts. We are ranked around 15th out of 33 and traditionally weaker teams such as Clare and Tipperary are now seen as a threat in their province and the qualifiers. We have now taken their place. Have we ever been ranked so low in the pecking order?

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 01/08/2017 13:27:10    2027342

Don't know if they improved or not but I'm more pessimistic about this current Meath team then I was this time last year, it appears we have talent at underage but there's no guarantee they'll come through and be big players for the senior team, and even if they do it's at least 6 or 7 years away, how did we find ourselves in this mess we've never been this far behind Dublin

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 01/08/2017 13:56:19    2027367

Most of the posters on here appear to have come into this year thinking that there was an abundance of talent out there and a new management team was going to change things overnight, These posters seem to have suddenly realised after our championship exploits that we are a long way behind counties that we believed were inferior to us. Where have you all been for the last 15 years ?

Andy McEntee can only work with the players he has and try and get them to play to their maximum potential. Meath have about 8-10 decent players and no exceptional players (except maybe Keoghan as a corner back). Please do not criticise the players or management who are making serious sacrifices and doing their very best in difficult circumstances. If you want to direct any criticism it should be towards the people who have organised structures, competitions, development squads etc in Meath for the past 15 years.

It will take at least 3 years and a lot of hard work for Meath to be fit for Division 1 in the league or a Quarter Final in the Championship.. I hope some of our best players like Keoghan, Menton, Reilly etc are still around when some of the current promising under age talent comes through.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 01/08/2017 15:10:26    2027409

Replying To Jimin10:  "Graham has outlined the reasons why we are nowhere near competing with the big teams. It's hard to argue with facts. We are ranked around 15th out of 33 and traditionally weaker teams such as Clare and Tipperary are now seen as a threat in their province and the qualifiers. We have now taken their place. Have we ever been ranked so low in the pecking order?"
I would say we are a typical mid standard division 2 team, I would rank us at about 12'th or 13'th. If we drawed a division 2 team in championship it could go either way, we would usually beat a division 3 team and would rarely beat a division 1 team and never a top 4 team.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 01/08/2017 16:37:22    2027482

Jesus I'm going to need counselling after reading some of these posts........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/08/2017 17:12:44    2027510

Lads ...I'll tell you what-- the support or lack thereof for our Meath senior team was just awful this year.

Yes, I understand the lads need to give the supporters something to cheer about but during the game against Donegal there was a palpable negativity in the stadium. It felt like our supporters were expecting to lose.

Where has the belief gone?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 01/08/2017 19:57:38    2027586

Replying To bert09:  "Lads ...I'll tell you what-- the support or lack thereof for our Meath senior team was just awful this year.

Yes, I understand the lads need to give the supporters something to cheer about but during the game against Donegal there was a palpable negativity in the stadium. It felt like our supporters were expecting to lose.

Where has the belief gone?"
I'm usually a glass half full man when it comes to the Meath senior team, I've made a fool of myself predicting Meath wins when no one else thinks they have a chance, I've lost money on bets with friends and the bookies over the last four years, after embarrassing defeats to the likes of Poor Armagh, Westmeath, Derry , Donegal teams to a hammering by an average enough Kildare team to a absolute battering from Dublin twice finally the penny has dropped we are rubbish, we have over achieved in the league usually finishing in the top half of div 2 prob because we have been one of the first county teams back training therefore prob one of the fittest in the spring time, then when the summer comes were miles away from even average sides, the only positive I can think of is surely things can't get any worse.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 01/08/2017 21:33:18    2027624

First of all i'm not from Meath originally but I have lived here for 12 years, I play my club football in the county, I go to watch a Meath game whenever I can and I like to see them do well just once my own county win's Sam I am quite happy.
It is quite simple we have improved in certain areas. We are much fitter and therefore can see out games better when we have a strong lead. We also are more steel upstairs this year and lads never give up which was seen a few times this year. New players have been discovered, Jones has established himself as a starter while Conlon and O Reilly showed that they have potential to make it.
Over the next 3 years we need to build a team that can follow a game plan which will allow us to compete with the likes Dublin, Kerry and the other top teams.

Part of the reason why Meath can't compete is down to players attitudes, I've watched 9 club championship games over the first two rounds of championship and county players from the likes of Dunboyne, Simonstown, Colmcilles and Moynalvey do not stand out. It appears like they are going through the motions because "sure look we can lose two games and still be in with a chance of winning the thing". These players should be standing out, the likes of Connolly and Kilkenny stand head and shoulders above other club players in Dublin, most of our guys don't. Part of the reason is because you can lose 2/3 games and still make the knockout stage in the Meath championship. In Dublin, Kerry and Mayo this doesn't happen it's basically do or die. We need to make the club championship more competitive so players have to actually burst a gut when they play for their club then they will bring that attitude and mentality into the county set up.
We also need to keep players playing in Meath if possible, now it's understandable if lads want to jet off on a J1, play Aussie Rules or go abroad for a few months to study but it's the lads who go to America and Australia to work that annoys me. I mean we need to get them work, do you think any of the Dublin or Kerry team would be stuck for a bit of work?
There is issues at all levels from players and management, county board to facilities such a PT.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 02/08/2017 15:24:43    2027948

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "First of all i'm not from Meath originally but I have lived here for 12 years, I play my club football in the county, I go to watch a Meath game whenever I can and I like to see them do well just once my own county win's Sam I am quite happy.
It is quite simple we have improved in certain areas. We are much fitter and therefore can see out games better when we have a strong lead. We also are more steel upstairs this year and lads never give up which was seen a few times this year. New players have been discovered, Jones has established himself as a starter while Conlon and O Reilly showed that they have potential to make it.
Over the next 3 years we need to build a team that can follow a game plan which will allow us to compete with the likes Dublin, Kerry and the other top teams.

Part of the reason why Meath can't compete is down to players attitudes, I've watched 9 club championship games over the first two rounds of championship and county players from the likes of Dunboyne, Simonstown, Colmcilles and Moynalvey do not stand out. It appears like they are going through the motions because "sure look we can lose two games and still be in with a chance of winning the thing". These players should be standing out, the likes of Connolly and Kilkenny stand head and shoulders above other club players in Dublin, most of our guys don't. Part of the reason is because you can lose 2/3 games and still make the knockout stage in the Meath championship. In Dublin, Kerry and Mayo this doesn't happen it's basically do or die. We need to make the club championship more competitive so players have to actually burst a gut when they play for their club then they will bring that attitude and mentality into the county set up.
We also need to keep players playing in Meath if possible, now it's understandable if lads want to jet off on a J1, play Aussie Rules or go abroad for a few months to study but it's the lads who go to America and Australia to work that annoys me. I mean we need to get them work, do you think any of the Dublin or Kerry team would be stuck for a bit of work?
There is issues at all levels from players and management, county board to facilities such a PT."
Excellent post.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 02/08/2017 17:15:21    2028015

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "First of all i'm not from Meath originally but I have lived here for 12 years, I play my club football in the county, I go to watch a Meath game whenever I can and I like to see them do well just once my own county win's Sam I am quite happy.

There is issues at all levels from players and management, county board to facilities such a PT."
all true and good post. the problem is,we tried to change the club scene and we made a serious mess of that. doesn't seem to be any return to the issue either.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/08/2017 18:43:12    2028039

Replying To ziggy32001:  "all true and good post. the problem is,we tried to change the club scene and we made a serious mess of that. doesn't seem to be any return to the issue either."
Was it really any good the new championship structure ? was it not just knock out football ...loss one game and you are gone until next year.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 02/08/2017 20:14:31    2028070