Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from MayoDan

Dubs V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To BilboNaggins:  "Yeah, we need rid of Joyce , an emotional appointment who is very much out of his depth in managing a Senior intercounty football team. I still think with the right management the current Galway panel are still better than the current Mayo panel and should have won the connacht final a few weeks back"
Such a shame Galway kept appointing bad managers for the last 20 years.

MayoDan (National) - 04/08/2021 17:26:05

AFL Combines Now An Annual Thing - 4 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Looking at it in pure numbers is understating the impact at senior level. The Aussies are only interested in the very elite players. I'll put it like this to you. Michael Murphy had opportunities to go play in the AFL but he turned them down. If he had gone do you think Donegal would have won that all Ireland in 2012? I very much doubt it. That's the kind of impact losing these blue chip players can have. Looking at it through the prism of my own team Mark was the best underage midfielder I have ever seen, he was absolutely dominant at every level he played and given how his career is evolving down under I don't think it is a stretch to suggest he'd be a top midfielder had he stayed at home, the kind of player Kerry need to push them over the top. Others counties have lost very promising players as well obviously. I don't for a second blame the lads, they were presented with an excellent opportunity and they took it and good luck to them. But to say it doesn't matter because there are 99 other players to pick from is a bit disingenuous when they just don't have the same level of ability."
That's a fair point. Oisín Mullin was the standout player on our U20 team this year and he's still underage in 2020. If we're going to replace the likes of Boyle and Higgins in the next year or 2 it's guys like Mullin that are needed. It would be a hammer blow if he leaves.

MayoDan (National) - 10/12/2019 19:01:42

Galway V Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To brisbane:  "Its seems Shane Walsh had to take an injection to come out for the 2nd half. A mayo player did a number on him just before half time. Slammed him to the ground off the ball. The fight Mayo started in the tunnel shows they have learned the dark arts very well. Should be fireworks when the meet Dublin."
Walsh tried to grab onto O'Hora to stop him joining the attack. O'Hora simply tried to break free. Pretty obvious heaney was the one who started the tunnel fight.

MayoDan (National) - 25/07/2021 19:46:50

AOS - Potential Bad Injury - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Pericles:  "My unintended repeat was meant to be a response to AfricanGael on McHale Park, but things went awry. I know Jason Doherty got his first cruciate injury there in 2019 and wasn't too long back when he got his second injury on the same pitch last year. That's twice to the same player on the same pitch. I agree, some sort of study needs to be done comparing the levels of similar serious knee injuries at other grounds (the stats are probably there, I'd imagine) and action taken if it's worse at McHale than in general. The Dubs have been playing on the best looked after surface in the country and this could be a factor in their remarkable avoidance of similar levels of long-term injury when compared with most other county panels - virtually every other county seems to have two or three player options removed by serious ligament injuries on an ongoing basis."
A few people are blaming MacHale Park for these knee injuries but I don't buy it. Andy Moran and Jack McCaffrey did their ACL in Croke Park before, Brendan Maher did it in semple stadium and I'm sure there are others I've forgotten. The reality is that Aidan has been pretty much injury free his entire career - most of which was played in MacHale Park between training and games.

MayoDan (National) - 26/04/2021 14:22:27

Sligo GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Yondu:  "About time someone stood up and refused to back down on the daft decision by the Connacht GAA. And to think a few Mayo heads over on the Galway thread was trying to convince me and themselves that the Connacht GAA Centre is a fine venue for these U20 games."
Well done on completely missing the point. I said the COE was fine for the Mayo v Galway game since it was due to be a Mayo venue and MacHale park was unavailable at the time. Unfortunately the weather ruined that particular game. This is different as Sligo are due a home game vs Mayo. Thankfully the correct decision has been reached eventually!

MayoDan (National) - 17/04/2022 10:46:31

AOS - Potential Bad Injury - 3 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Out for three months apparently. Not as bad as first feared."
No ligament damage according to reports. So he should be ready for the start of league.

MayoDan (National) - 26/04/2021 21:11:57

Mayo V Meath - 3 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "I wouldn't be impressed with that second half from Mayo even if the game was over. I'd be worried about our full back line. We are wide open when run at down the middle. Better teams will punish us unless we tighten up. Diarmuid O Connor and Matty Ruane very good. James Carr started slow but then hit 2-1. Hoping he can stay injury free. We have plenty of options up front but just need to tighten up. Thought Rory Byrne should have got a half in goal too. Anyway we play Clare in the semi final now."
I wouldn't blame the full back line, all 3 actually played well IMO. It's just the way Horan sets up the team with everyone pushing forward trying to win turnovers. Great when it works out, but if the opposition beat the press they're straight into the full back line and it's very easy to create overlaps from there.

MayoDan (National) - 30/05/2021 16:02:04

Cillian O'connor POTY - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Imagine this place if he had won!"
We'd probably have Dublin and Galway posters starting up even more threads about him.

MayoDan (National) - 25/02/2021 22:19:56

NFL Division 1 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_Fridge:  "So does Mayo players, Keegan been worst for it. Got Sean C sent off a few years ago. People in glass houses lad."
Did Keegan make Cavanagh tackle Aidan O'Shea around the neck?

MayoDan (National) - 22/02/2020 21:27:09

Mayo V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What age are those lads yew tree?"
Carr and McDonagh are 21. Treacy is 23. Not all our team are pensioners! Matthew Ruane 22 Stephen Coen 23 Diarmuid O'Connor & Paddy Durcan 24 Harrison 26 Cillian & Darren Coen 27

MayoDan (National) - 08/07/2019 21:41:51

Mayo V Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Tom Flynn also dishes out a straight push in the back when he ran on the field but sure people see what they want to see.."
I think a big problem Is that Dermot Earley was commentating on our game the last 2 weeks. He clearly dislikes Mayo, which is perfectly fine unless your job is to give an impartial view of what's happening. The general public pick up on his views and treat them as fact.

MayoDan (National) - 07/07/2019 13:34:36

Mayo Request To Play League Final On Saturday - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PressureKick:  "My god you really are on some ramble. Instead of crying about why 'some' other counties in Ireland perceive you as complainers about incidents, why don't you look internally at your fans as to the reasons that's the case. Pat McEneaney recieving threats in the mail post the 96 all Ireland. A fan running onto the pitch in Limerick in 2014 and needing to be restrained. An orchastrated social media campaign against Diarmiud Connolly. Coining a nickname 'Dublin Joe' about a referee just trying to do his job. Thats just a few examples"
You were asked how Mayo are different, not provide examples of Mayo complaining. Maybe have another go at answering the question? I could run through umpteen examples of other counties complaining about referees, bias etc.

MayoDan (National) - 25/03/2023 19:12:06

Cillian O'connor POTY - 2 Like(s)
A great man to kick 9 points, 4 from play, in an All Ireland final but went missing when needed most apparently. Just about sums up the logic of his critics.

MayoDan (National) - 22/02/2021 14:12:12

2021 Rankings So Far - 2 Like(s)

Replying To McGo72:  "They weren't good enough for D1 yet you struggled against them but still think you are at the same level as Dublin and Kerry..."
Cavan weren't good enough for division 3 last year and Donegal actually lost to them, not just "struggled". I don't think anyone said we're the same level as Dublin... Kerry are number 2 alright but I'd fancy our chances if we got them in croke park. Not having Cillian O'Connor is a big blow for us however.

MayoDan (National) - 28/06/2021 15:30:36

James Horan Is Back - 2 Like(s)
Hopefully this process goes smoothly and he does get the position. I said all along he was by far the best candidate. Mike Solan is too young and inexperienced at this stage. McGuiness or Jack O'Connor would have been a disaster. One living in south Kerry and the other in Scotland! Not to mention they have no knowledge or interest in Mayo football apart from what they've seen on the t.v. Most level headed supporters don't expect James to perform a miracle next year. Find a couple of new players, win a Connacht title and see what happens after that.

MayoDan (National) - 19/09/2018 18:01:18

Mayo GAA Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "Why will Mc Stay put it over the bar himself?"
We put it over the bar more times than Galway back in April.

MayoDan (National) - 23/08/2022 17:13:42

Connacht FBD 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "What is it for? Who is it for?"
It is for playing Gaelic games. It is open to any team and has been used 5 or 6 days a week since Covid restrictions were eased. The COE in Bekan is a brilliant facility that loads of clubs make use of for training especially. Why would something like this be considered a white elephant in the GAA, yet building massive stadiums that only sell out once a year is common place.

MayoDan (National) - 11/12/2021 12:35:35

Best Player From Your County You Ever Seen - 2 Like(s)
Cillian O'Connor. His arrival made us instantly better, more so than any other player.

MayoDan (National) - 25/08/2021 17:22:34

Mayo GAA Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To endgame:  "Yes but most of those you name are Indians. As for McStay, Rochford is a previous Mayo Manager, Buckley is also a big name and McHale the brother in law is always part of McStay's team. It just seems that the balance in McStay's team isn't quite right and that there are too many big hitters on it. As Analyser said here, it didn't work in Roscommon where a joint Management team of Kevin McStay and Fergal O'Donnell broke down after 1 year."
Unlike Roscommon, this is not a joint management team. McStay is the number 1. Rochford did manage Mayo but he spent the last 4 years as a number 2 in Donegal. Buckley has never been a manager, always a coach. Liam McHale has always been a coach with McStay, why would there be an issue this time? Don't know much about Mulligan, but I can't see him being a big disrupting influence. Oisín McConville is a bigger personality than anyone on McStay's team. I could definitely see him walking from a management mid season if things weren't being done his way. Burke was the number 2 under Horan so would want a significant input. Gilvarry managed Mayo to a minor all Ireland and been over Ballina and Ballintubber in recent years. No experience of being a selector. Keith Higgins has no experience whatsoever aside from playing. Just don't see what the big issue is with McStay's backroom team.

MayoDan (National) - 25/09/2022 17:54:21

Rochford To Stay On - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Mayolondon:  "The previous couple of messages there, ye come across as very naïve. To me, there is no evidence of coaching. Every time, Mayo play against a blanket defence, we're clueless. Management have to take a lot of responsibility in this aspect. Coaching begins on the training ground. Rochford is given praise for making individual moves and yes he had the balls to move Aiden o Shea back on Donaghy but in terms of attacking play, he's been very poor on putting his stamp on it.
In terms of improving individual players, can ye see any improvement in any young player from the u21 winning team apart from maybe o Donoghue? Horan made his name on improving the lads he gets. Look a sh*t show, he came into after 2010? Is that not the hall mark of a good manager?
Can anyone really say, Mayo have improved under Rochford's reign? The team needs a new lease of life and players get fed up of any manager if they can't improve their game. The respect dwindles and once that goes, your finished."
Rochford brought Brendan Harrison and Paddy Durcan into the team and got them up to all star level. He also greatly improved Andy Moran as a player. Is it really the manager's fault more of that u21 team haven't come through? Coen, Loftus and Boland have had plenty of opportunities.

MayoDan (Mayo) - 28/07/2018 01:55:00