Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from riverboys

Paraic Duffy to step down as Director-General of the GAA - 5 Like(s)
It's widely known that massive funding into Dublin GAA has created a huge imbalance within Leinster with no sign of stooping it, the entire argument was the GAA needs a strong Dublin team, what good is that unless you have a decent opposition for them to play against. As for Duffy stepping down, after the sky deal, the super 8s and the black card issue, that's 3 strikes, what do I think, no comment

riverboys (National) - 25/01/2018 20:04:26

Galway Vs Dublin League Final - 4 Like(s)
Shocking, absolutely shocking display by the ref, no wonder players and supporters do lose the head with some decisions

riverboys (National) - 01/04/2018 17:39:20

Mayo's double standard's - 4 Like(s)
Ye can thank 2 Mayo men for yer Connacht title because the Roscommon mob couldn't organise a p### up in a brewery, now pull yer heads in, some eejets boo at Connolly, Murphy because they are class players and deserve to win All Ireland's and are hoping to put them off their game but class players don't even hear the jeers, what's yer excuse? Because the club Moran plays for is in the Mayo championship instead of Roscommon, boo hoo, how many rossies supported this team before the won Connacht, there wasn't too many in Salthill, when a county can bring 8000-13000 fans to League or championship matches then they can say something about other county supporters, until that happens the rossies have nothing to preach about

riverboys (National) - 31/07/2017 22:50:20

No Tricolour or National Anthem at GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)
It's our flag, it's our national anthem, we're bloody well keeping them, end of story. There are plenty of airports and boats, if these people don't want our flag or national anthem then leave, bye bye

riverboys (National) - 05/12/2016 21:27:04

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)
Well done to Tipp but it still doesn't feel right, the All Ireland hurling final should be played on the 1st Sunday in September, imagine our greatest sport ended mid August and nothing at county level again til the new year, this idea of freeing up sept for club matches didn't work last year and won't work this year either. Put our finals back into September

riverboys (National) - 26/08/2019 21:59:16

Galway vs Roscommon - 4 Like(s)
Well done to the Rossies, deserved their victory, Galway were woeful, I thought the ref was whistle happy, too easy giving soft frees, on the incident at the end of the match even though he got a black card after a yellow meaning a red I thought Comer should have got a straight red, he threw the 1st punch and according to the rules a punch or attempted punch is a striking offence and is a straight red, ref copped out, after that pathetic performance by Galway they won't beat Donegal in the qualifiers. This victory is a slap in the face to those former Roscommon players who withdrew from this years panel because of McStay and McHale or those ex players and ex managers who said they have no commitment to the Roscommon job because they played for Mayo

riverboys (National) - 09/07/2017 19:32:31

Disingenuous, Disgusting, Odious, Nasty!! - 4 Like(s)
Never heard of Ewan McKenna so that's as far as his legacy goes

riverboys (National) - 22/07/2019 15:40:06

The Sky deal yet again - 4 Like(s)
As with every year we have the same issue of supporters not being able to watch their county team, do the GAA not realise that majority of this country do not have sky or are they too thick to see this, the idea of going to your local pub to watch is laughable, in a country of alcoholics we are asking people to go into rubs instead of getting out of them, also not every pub has sky and in some areas there isn't a pub due to lack of population in recent years. For Gods sake will the GAA have some cop on and give us back our games, subscription TV doesn't work in Ireland, people won't waste hard earned money on rubbish, they barely pay TV licence as it is. I know people who haven't been able to attend any championship games for a number of reasons and have only seen 1 Mayo game on TV that was on RTE, sky have shown 3 games and next sat will be game number 4. It's time the GAA realise that cities and major towns aren't the only people that watch and attend our games, we in rural Ireland have no voice on issues like this, it's plain to see why GAA clubs don't invite the hierarchy from croke park to open GAA grounds anymore, they at the top have lost touch with grassroots

riverboys (National) - 02/08/2016 14:17:24

Season Tickets - 4 Like(s)
If your attendances are over 60% including the All Ireland Final then you are guaranteed a ticket for the All Ireland Final if your team qualifies for it, other than that they are a waste of time. A few facts, when you scan your ticket at venues there is no guarantee that it scanned successfully, you have to keep checking the attendance records, if not recorded then you have to contact the season ticket office and as far as they are concerned their system is correct and you are lying, takes days to finally sort it out if you are lucky, a simple text message or email immediately after scanning from season ticket office would be proof that it scanned correctly before you left the turnstile area. You are guaranteed a seat in the main stand! No you are not when it's full it's full, tough if you miss out With the amount of games in such a short season they want their money a few days after the last match but for the super 8s round 2 in Croke Park they wanted their money the monday after round 1 matches, no chance for people to gather a few quid or even get home after a long journey, if you miss a payment it is classed as an 'opt out' if it happens a 2nd time or your opt out has already been used your season ticket will be cancelled League matches and round 1 of the provincial championship is free, yes that is correct but with 7 league games 15 euro each and 1st provincial championship game would cost around 120-130 euro, that's the price of the season ticket Tickets for round 2 and 3 of super 8s could be bought in shops days before season ticket holders or clubs got the chance to buy If your team has a chance of winning Sam or Liam and you enjoy going to every game then yes season tickets are a great idea but if the team will only get a few rounds in championship then buying off the club or in shops is the best option, plenty of season ticket holders are complaining about them, the office, scanning issues, where seated, the attendance records. If I had the chance again I wouldn't have bought a Croke Park season ticket and instead I would have bought a Cairde Maigh Eo (Mayo Co Board) season ticket, no need for attendance records, once you buy the ticket you are guaranteed a final ticket if Mayo make it there

riverboys (National) - 05/08/2019 19:03:42

Galway Vs Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Dublin's Joe strikes again, year again he allowed Dublin to cynical fouling at the end of the game and no punishment, time for the GAA to deduct points for that nonsense

riverboys (National) - 18/03/2018 16:45:48

Mayo V Galway - 4 Like(s)
Enough is enough Dublin Joe should never be allowed to ref a game again, what a disgraceful performance, a number of black card fouls went unpunished, 2 red cards fouls gave yellows instead, a child wouldn't even have been that poor, get rid of him once and for all

riverboys (National) - 06/07/2019 20:39:21

GAA and ethnic minorities - 4 Like(s)
This debate could turn sour very quickly if people aren't careful what they say, if you are talking about ethnic minorities we already have them playing our games, they are called the real Irish which are mostly living in the west, Connaught, the rest I'm afraid are throw back English, remember the story of the plantations of Ulster, the Norman and Viking invasions of the east, Cromwell to hell or to Connaught, then again the Spanish and Portuguese invaded Munster and Connaught, ok yea come to think of it we have no real Irish, the biggest worry for most GAA supporters is when the eastern Europeans eventually play our games and the job teams will have with a 5 ft 10 Irish lad at full back while a 7 ft Polish origin lad at full forward, the full back hasn't a chance, I wonder if we have a few of those lads in Mayo that might play at midfield, at the end of the day I don't care where players are from as long as they play and enjoy our games, the more the merrier

riverboys (National) - 21/12/2016 18:38:36

Sam Maguire & Liam McCarthy - 3 Like(s)
True and a lot of rebellions in the past against English rule in Ireland were started and pushed on by Protestants so yes they wanted Ireland removed from English control, the argument from the Unionists in the north is ignoring that, they draw down from the fact that they claim Scottish heritage and William of Orange and the battle of the Boyne, yet Scotland and their people always talk of independence. Everybody has a heritage, where they were born, who they are, but this shouldn't affect what you would like to do, who you work and socialize with, imagine if we in Ireland refused to play soccer or rugby because they are not Irish sports, how small would we be. I remember hearing a story back in 2004 when Mayo played Fermanagh in All Ireland semi final where Fermanagh people came out in their thousands to support their county and a lot of those supporters were from the Protestant faith, it was unusual to hear that but fair play to those people, your faith shouldn't deter you to do what you want to do, your faith shouldn't define you, your faith is your own business and has nothing to do with anybody else so why should anybody criticize you. All people whether you have faith or none, whether Catholic, Protestant, Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist or any other way of life you are welcome to play, support and enjoy our games. Welcome to the GAA one and all

riverboys (National) - 02/03/2017 22:37:02

David Gough To Referee The Final - 3 Like(s)
A piece on I think rte radio yesterday said in the past 5 or 6 years Dublin have had all the major calls in finals in their favour, Gough wasn't a ref in any of those finals and yesterday I think majority of people agree that Gough had a good game where major calls went 50/50, got an odd call wrong but far ahead of refs in other finals in the past 10 years, I'm afraid whoever gets the replay we already know the result 5 in a row, Gough is the best referee and other refs will get certain calls wrong and as well documented Dublin will get the major calls in their favour so expect the drive for 5 to succeed

riverboys (National) - 02/09/2019 12:30:48

National League Fixtures Draft 2018 - 3 Like(s)
Fairy-tale? Eh, that's a great way to live your life, with your assessment why not play the club finals on Christmas day? After all ye won't be at Mass or eating Christmas dinner with the family because it's just another say, how sad your life must be, to have no hope or nothing to comfort you in your hour of need or on your last few minutes on this earth, i'll light a candle for you. 1 thing that annoys me is people that don't have faith, don't care what religion but at least have some hope, what do ye tell younger family members when a grandparent dies? Oh they are put in the ground to go rotten and worms eat them, go out there and join the hippies, that's some way to bring up children. A sad way to live your lives, no faith, no hope, nothing but an empty soul, at least I and thousands of others in all religions can believe in something else whether it's better or worse, it's a comfort when things wrong in your life that your belief keeps you stronger. I suppose Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team saying the rosary/prayers before games is a fairy-tale, what about the hundreds of players for both club and county blessing themselves before a game, fairy-tale? I think you spent too much time reading and watching the anti Church media and their lob sided agenda on religions

riverboys (National) - 15/10/2017 21:57:41

AOS Shoots Some Hoops - 3 Like(s)
Quarter finals around August bank holiday 2013 v Donegal was the last decent game he played, the rest were in fits and starts, it isn't a break he needs it's a spell on the subs bench

riverboys (Mayo) - 31/01/2017 12:16:54

GAA Poll - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "Keep both for Finals only in the short term. Long term..Get a decent national anthem in English"
In English? Do you know what country we are from, we didn't go through thousands of years of wars just to use the neighbours language for a song

riverboys (National) - 05/12/2016 21:20:36

Kildare V Mayo - 3 Like(s)
If the stalemate continues and Kildare are thrown out of the championship for not playing in Croke Park then it is up to us the GAA supporters to object to bullyboy decisions by the top brass in the GAA. How can we do this? Thousands of GAA people from all over the country turning up in Newbridge not to watch the game but to show solidarity with Kildare, a protest against the way the GAA are running their affairs, we are constantly complaining about things that are happening in our association now is the time to act, get to Newbridge on Saturday to protest against GAA actions

riverboys (National) - 26/06/2018 14:28:46

Mayo V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Management set this team up to lose, our 6 forwards were 2 players who were back from a long term injury, 1 of them along with 2 others this was their 1st season and the remaining team coc and the shoe man are gone, past their best, too slow, coc knees are gone and can't be repaired, he has 1 pace, that team selection meant Mayo were relying on their defence to score along with a few frees from coc, trying to grind out a result against the dubs is stupid, we hadn't the forwards on the pitch to score and win, and as for the 2-06 without reply early in the 2nd half is a stackable offence, after the first goal and a second or 3rd point things had to change, switch players around, short kick outs, go down injured and kill momentum, bring on a sub etc Horan done nothing just like 2012 v Donegal One question I have to ask what has happened to the 2013 All Ireland winning Mayo minor team, they would be 23 24 now, are they involved with the current senior team, are they abroad or have they walked away from county football and concentrating on club football, nearly 50 clubs in Mayo and we can't find 10 forwards that can score either from long distance 45m and out, you will never win anything without quality forwards

riverboys (Mayo) - 11/08/2019 15:13:03

Big changes Mayo require to bring Sam Home? - 3 Like(s)
Manager has to have the balls to remove players that are causing problems in the camp, when you lose a section of the stands because the supporters know who is taking the mick and shouldn't be on the pitch but the manger doesn't drop him or them then you are going nowhere, as I often said 1 of our best known players hasn't played a decent game since 2013 against Donegal, that's 3 seasons ago and still he's starting every game and playing average to poor

riverboys (Mayo) - 08/01/2017 14:21:05