Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from jonjon

Dubs V Mayo - 17 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Are you actually saying that Small went in to connect with McLoughlin's head? If you are then you clearly have never played the game. It was a shoulder tackle. It's part of the game. Small meant no malice. A ref, linesman and commentators all agreed on that. It comes with the territory."
I literally don't care what his intentions were. The fact of the matter is his shoulder hit Eoin McLoughlins head. That's a red. Simple as. If you're going to be putting in huge shoulders you have a duty of care to the opposition that you won't be giving them brain damage. If you can't be certain you're not going to break someone's jaw in two places then don't put in a huge tackle. A shoulder to the head is a shoulder to the head. In soccer, if you fly in studs up and catch someone's leg it's a red. Regardless if you intended a good tackle. It's in place to protect players by discouraging highly dangerous tackles.

jonjon (National) - 15/08/2021 16:29:33

Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland - 6 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Sick of hearing ..... "next year" THIS was their year. They dumped us out and Kerry werent in the final either. The two teams who were hotly favoured at the start of the year, gone. The 6 in a row champs outplayed and out fought for large periods and a Kerry team who were to take the mantle. Alas they ended up playing a Tyrone team who themselves hadnt played in a final in years. Mayo had far more experience of all Ireland finals in their ranks than Tyrone. Literally everything in their favour And yet still, in typical Mayo fashion, they contrived to lose. I never really want Mayo to win it, but after they beat us I was absolutely comfortable with the fact they will win it, this was their time, even more so when kerry went out. But you know what, I dont feel sorry for Mayo. They are massive architects of their own downfall. I think they enjoy being bridesmaids. They enjoy the romance of being nearly men and the love in that the country have for them as a result. They all enjoy losing. They live of coming back from amazing failure and morale victories. Look at us, were never down for long arent we a great bunch that we always come back and get to the final.... but when it comes to it, they just dont have the cajones to get it over the line and it's time to admit that they never will. Their fans are brilliant, and they along with the players feel like they probably deserve an all Ireland. But they dont. You'll win one when you deserve to win one. Their mentality is weak. On the biggest of days, they fail again and again. They'll always bounce back and when it comes to finals of all irelands, they'll always lose"
Haha what a load of lazy nonsense. They all enjoy losing AI finals. What an utterly ridiculous comment. Captain Aido stands in the middle of the huddle at the second water break; "Alright lads I want to see some loose marking out here now, Loftus, I want to you to balloon a few shots high and wide. Come on now boys, we know how hard we've worked for this all year, we know how much we love losing finals. Let's go out there and make sure they outscore us and outfight us in the final quarter. LETS GO!" Alright grand thanks now we've gotten to the bottom of it. What a waste of time of a post.

jonjon (National) - 12/09/2021 21:52:55

Dubs V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "I don't think your comment will go down well here but you're correct. There were plenty of sinners on both teams yesterday. I've no idea why Basquel saw the line. I still think Small's shoulder was square on. McStay saw it several times and thought likewise. The Mayo player was unlucky. I'm not sure why a sub, AOS, was on the pitch starting fights. Imagine Connolly doing that in his day, 3 month ban. There were a couple of high tackles from both teams, including Diarmuid O'Connor's clothes line but you'd expect this in the heat of championship. It was hard to see the McCarthy incident on camera. Looked as though Mayo players was pulling his jersey and McCarty swung an arm back to release. I've no problem with any player doing that on any team. It's instinctive. When all is said and done, it was a great and well deserved Mayo win. Let's hope that wasn't their AI final. With all of our financial doping that is bearing so much fruit at minor and U20 level??, the Dubs should be back in 12 months God willing."
Are you actually serious? Smalls shoulder was square on? Eoin McLaughlin has a broken jaw in two places and seemed to be knocked out cold. Jesus f****** Christ. Are you literally not able to see what everyone else can see?

jonjon (National) - 15/08/2021 12:56:19

MONEY - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "There will be costs involved for sure, but figures of 1.1 million on transport and food need to be looked at, they are Mayo and not Roscommon figures to be sure. Its not sustainable and forgetting about Dublin, counties need to look at exactly what they are doing and is there a better way of doing it. Dublin rent there training pitches as well. I think its an assumption, that all Dublin county members work in Dublin, i can think of three in the starting 15 the last day who have worked outside of Dublin at points. Would you be on board with Dublin getting an extra allowance to transport those players. We want for nothing certainly, but we have good corporate governance and transparency in our financial affairs whatever you think of how we make that money. Though there are aspects id be critical of with DCB on, we can always improve. That is my point really, their is no questioning, reflection or analysis being made of the Roscommon and Mayo conuty boards and is there a better holistic way of doing things, they make the same dogmatic choices, year after year then bemoan the consequences of those decisions and say its not fair, there has to be personal culpability to decision making before anything else, the spends are ridiculous whatever context and should be audited as to the valuse vs grassroots development and other needs etc. 1.1 mill on food and transport - im sorry, a fool and their money. One of the areas i would be critical on is our stadium spend, so you are right to criticize, we pay for the upkeep of Parnell and playing in Croke Park, so that a double load, particularly as it suits the GAA for Dublin to be Corke Park i think we have leverage for a better deal there, so i like you woul d be critical of that arrangement."
The year Mayo spent 1.1M the minors got to the Q-final, the juniors the All Ireland final, the seniors played until October due to the All Ireland final replay, and the u21s won the All Ireland. Then you have to include the other underage football teams and the underage hurlers and the senior team. Caterers had to be paid for every single session those teams trained. You're literally paying for catering almost, if not every day of the week, for the majority of the year. You also have to pay mileage for all the teams for the year. Even players who live in Mayo might have a 100 mile round trip to training. Hotel costs and food in hotels for all the teams. Match day buses for all teams. Mileage for doctors, physios etc. I brought up the point that Dublin don't have to pay most of these costs. Which is a completely fair and factual point. All you've done in your replies is try and make as many accusatory statements about other counties boards and their management of money as you can. What's more is you're making these accusations without having a clue yourself about the breakdown of the costs. You've also tried to make the point that I shouldn't be allowed to point out that Dublin are advantaged in this area until I take personal responsibility (lol) for Mayo's management of money. On top of it all you tried to make out that it's other county boards fault they have to pay these costs, implying they should not select players who live in other counties in order to cut costs. You also called the economic necessity of moving away for employment 'a lifestyle choice', which is completely ignorant. All of this arguing is just a deflection from the original point. Dublin don't face these difficulties and the costs associated with them. It's as simple as that. You've literally tried everything but just saying; 'fair enough point. Dublin actually don't face those difficulties.'

jonjon (National) - 01/10/2019 15:23:12

Cillian O'connor POTY - 5 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "With certain players, forwards especially when putting inferior opposition to the sword they shine. But when you have to dig deep and use everything to overcome impossible odds and you do it consistently thats the difference. He is stylish, elegant, lovely to watch, but not a team player. For POTY you got to have pretty much everything, and yeah being a POTY on Dublin some might say is easier, but some might say its the reason they are so good. But probably splitting hairs between players to be fair. POTY and All-stars are a joke anyway."
Not sure which players you are talking about putting inferior opposition to the sword but I know you can't be talking about Cillian O'Connor anyway! His average score from play is actually higher in AI quarters onwards than it is in provincial championship. He has 1.91 average from play in Connacht vs 2.65 average from play in quarters, semis and AI finals. His average championship score vs Dublin is indeed higher than his average score against all other teams. Scored four from play in the most recent final, three in the final before, and two in the final before that. As for digging deep, he scored two in last 10 minutes of the 2017 final and kicked the last second equalizer in the 2016 final, both games kicking a huge one from around the 45. Also was Mayo's top man at turning over the opposition in 2020 and regularly tracks back, so very much a team player, which is something people in Mayo have recognized since he's come on to the team.

jonjon (National) - 25/02/2021 11:51:29

VAR In GAA - 5 Like(s)
It is an absolute no brainer imo. If the linesman can miss a clear shoulder to the head that happened right in front of him then there's obviously a big case for it. Nothing anyone can say changes that for me. Any of us could have decided it was a red and free out to Mayo yesterday within 20 seconds by just a quick look at a short replay.

jonjon (National) - 15/08/2021 14:54:23

Lee Keegan Appreciation - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Rolo99:  "Says a lot about mayo when there's more comments on here about a player on a team that has made a career out of losing finals, if I was a Mayo man I'd be embarassed by it. is he retiring or what? Not much word about Tyrone being All ireland Champions is there? no sure it's all about Mayo losing again, saddos."
Get out to the pub and enjoy your win and stop whinging

jonjon (National) - 17/09/2021 12:56:06

MONEY - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think its the height of stupidity counties spending half a million on Taxi's to and from Dublin to Mayo and half a million on Catering. I know some of the Dublin lads dont work in Dublin and if i thought the DCB were paying 1 mill on food and transport i would call them idiots. I have very little sympathy a fool and his money. All that article says is they provide advise on nutrition plans to the county team not that they pay for their food. i ask because i happened to be eating in the same place as the Dublin team after a league game in Roscommon recently and the county delegate was paying for it from DCb funds, saw it myself."
Do you think they're paying for taxis? They're paying for players to travel to training. You're showing disrespect and a dismissive attitude by calling feeding players and paying mileage 'the height of stupidity'. How on earth do you think counties from the west of Ireland could maintain a competitive team without paying mileage? Did you know that counties actually have to pay mileage at the standard GAA expense rate of 50c per mile? If only all counties were priviledged enough to get free food and have a 20min drive to training. Just because you saw Dublin senior players being fed ONCE after a match doesn't mean you know how they are provided with food every single training session throughout the year at all codes. Honestly do not know why you brought that up, it means absolutely nothing. The fact is that Gourmet Food Parlour DO provide Dublin GAA with food, as detailed here: https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/all-ireland-dublin-mayo-2017-13613863 Why don't you actually look it up yourself and accept the facts, instead of coming back to me with insulting comments about people from other counties being fools and idiots. Actually seriously disrespectful comments

jonjon (National) - 30/09/2019 13:58:04

Dubs V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Cillian O'Connor isn't in the same class as McCaffrey or Mannion, he's a tap over merchant, Mayo are better off without him same as big Aidan O'Shea, them young boys Mayo have are far better players."
Absolute nonsense and sad that people still believe this nonsense. I don't know what the man has to do to prove his worth. Big games over the last 10 years: Scoreless: Donegal 2012 Dublin 2013 Dublin 2015 drawn game Dublin 2016 replay Kerry 2017 replay 1 from play 2011 Cork 3 (1 goal) from play 2011 Kerry 1 from play 2012 Dublin 10 (3-1) from play 2013 Donegal 3 from play Kerry 2014 5 (1-2) from play Kerry 2014 replay 4 (1-1) from play Dublin 2015 replay 3 from play Tyrone 2016 2 from play Dublin 2016 3 from play Kerry 2017 3 from play Dublin 2017 2 from play Kerry 2019 3 (1 goal) from play Donegal 2019 1 from play Dublin 2019 4 from play Dublin 2020 There's an honest summary of his scoring in big games. Now add in the fact that he's one of the best free kick takers and you've got an excellent player who clearly performs in big games, including closing moments of finals. He has a higher average quarter finals onwards than he does in the Connacht championship. He scores more on average vs the Dubs than any other team.

jonjon (National) - 14/08/2021 23:15:30

BANNING SHOULDER TACKLES? - 3 Like(s)
To be honest they don't bring much to the game as far as I'm concerned. The only shoulder I'd allow is when both players are running in same dirrction challenging for the ball. Extremely rare turnovers happen because of shoulders. In fact shoulders themselves are pretty rare. I can't remember the last time I took a shoulder playing football. I don't think most would be missed. The only effective ones are when you catch a player just receiving the ball on the blindside. And that's pretty dangerous. I think they're mostly a thing of the past. You look at games from the 70s and 80s and defenders and attackers loved giving each other a shoulder instead of the far more effective option of defender stopping up the man and trying to punch ball/force an over carry.

jonjon (National) - 18/08/2021 18:28:18

The Dublin Trinity - 2 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "The person who started this thread stated in original post if anyone thinks this is a crackpot solution to respectfully move along. But what if it is just that a crackpot solution? How will you all advocating it know? Talk about a debate!! You really think someone in the GAA is actually even looking at this crackpot solution? I can tell most of them in HQ over morning coffee have a good laugh. As for funding, this annual nonsense swings between funding, population etc. It only applies to Gaelic football because those advocating this rubbish only see football. They don't see the GAA because their miserable counties are part time members of the GAA, they have tokenism towards hurling, towards the ladies GAA sports. They present themselves as trail blazing revolutionaries and they just come across as backward begrugders hurling cow dung from the ditch. Ye haven't a clue"
This thread was set up about splitting Dublin. You replied saying that taking funding from Dublin is a bad idea. I replied to you pointing out that your reply is pointless because this thread is not about taking funding from Dublin. You replied now with some waffle. What's going through your head when you're writing posts? You can't seem to stay on topic at all.

jonjon (National) - 19/09/2019 10:36:28

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Really? Evidence? Some Kerry guy spitting on a Dublin fan and getting a smack for it is your evidence? I've seen worse in Castlebar between Mayo fans and certainly worse between Mayo and Kerry."
Ironic that you ask for evidence in your post and then write a bare faced lie about Mayo and Kerry fans. Why would you think I have evidence? Do you think I go into the hill when Dublin play and take footage of certain fans behaviour? The reality is no where in any other ground in the country are fans separated, and in no other ground would you be fearful of your personal safety and have to avoid certain areas of the ground. Why do you think they started separating fans when Dublin play? We've all heard the stories of opposition fans getting in early and standing behind the goal, only for a certain type of Dubs fan to arrive shortly before throw in and become aggressive telling them that their standing in their spot. I was on the Hill for the 13 final, up on the top corner of it near the cusack stand, and we were discussing the break down of Mayo to Dublin fans in the hill with a Dublin family beside us. Even they said that Mayo fans wouldn't want to be standing behind the goal before throw in because of certain Dubs fans who will be arriving. That is a Hill-16 only thing when Dublin play.

jonjon (National) - 17/09/2019 10:44:52

Dublin 10 In A Row Odds! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To hopballref:  "All it takes it to bring in one or two top-class players each season which is what they have been doing. Don't necessarily need good minor and U-20 teams. Out of the minor teams that Kerry have produced recently - how many would make Dublin team? Clifford. Possibly Sean o ' Shea."
Oh is that all it takes? Just one or two possible all star winners each year? Here I'll get on to Horan now and tell him, the gap will be closed in no time.

jonjon (National) - 13/08/2019 09:52:17

Big Flaw In Hawkeye System - 2 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Missing the point if Hawkeye is deployed game has to stop no other sport allows game to continue for 32 secs while a decision is being consider. I am right and you are incorrect. You simply cannot allow game to continue ref indicated he couldn't hear because of noise. This is why GAAis amateur sport."
As somebody has already pointed out this is exactly what happens with VAR in soccer. "I am right and you are incorrect" Lol

jonjon (National) - 29/07/2019 18:48:20

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 2 Like(s)
Have to say that if we are to lose to anyone I'm happy it's Tyrone. Hope you all enjoy it. Great story for Brian Dooher to come back and win one as a manager. Next one I suppose.

jonjon (National) - 11/09/2021 18:52:18

MONEY - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "What is also strange is taking the figure of 1.1 mill, give a match day panel of 60k in salary for a year, prob an average wage in another job and let them be professional for the year and live in Mayo. Its all getting a bit mad that the cost of being amatuer is getting more or certainly getting closer to being more expensive then being professional."
Except 1.1 million divided by a match day panel of 26 is actually 42k. Also 500k of that is catering. So 600k on travel divided by 26 match day panel members is 23k. Except the 600k actually covered at least 5 teams worth so that's 4.6k per match day panel member. Except you also have to pay mileage for players who don't make the match day panel, which was ridiculous to use in the first place. It also covered team buses, hotels, hotel meals, other members of staff mileage etc etc. Nice try there with the quick maths. Just accept Dublin are advantaged in this area and move on.

jonjon (National) - 02/10/2019 16:17:46

Dubs V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "What are people on about with the John Small tackle? If a man on your team hit a lad as clean as that you'd be delighted. I've watched it 20 times and see it equally as good as the Paudie maher tackle on John canning a few years ago. If it was any other player or county apart from Small there'd be nothing about it"
Are you actually serious? His shoulder connected with his face and he requires surgery to fix a jaw broken in two places. How on earth is that a clean hit? If a lad on my team that did that I would be disgusted. Why would you put someone's health at risk so unnecessarily. I've had 4 concussions and they're no joke. A hit to the head can be very serious. I can't believe people on here think that shoulders to the head are fair game. Seriously bad attitude. Sickens me to think I would be coming up against opponents who think like that.

jonjon (National) - 16/08/2021 01:47:02

MONEY - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Ludovic_Giuly:  "You would have to laugh at the Rossies and the likes complaining about Dublins money and population. When they are trouncing Leitrim in the Connacht Championship they have a right good laugh in Roscommon and theres no mention then... that they have double the population we have or more money as well. Oh Leitrim are crap and the worst thing is we learned nothing about how good or bad we are from that game. Oh well lets move on to the next game. Then when they get the same tanking in the Supers 8's it not fair... My heart bleeds."
That's not really a fair point. There will always be unfairness in sport, unless we split Ireland into perfectly equal parts and give each team the same amount of money and ensure all receive identical coaching. I think a tier 2 championship is an excellent idea, provided that all counties start out by competing for Sam Maguire, and only get sorted into tier 2 when they are eliminated from the tier 1 championship. The comparison between Roscommon and Leitrim, and then Roscommon and Dublin doesn't really make sense. Mayo, Kerry, Donegal, Roscommon etc have counties they can compete with that are their own size (I am aware that Roscommon is significantly smaller than those counties I'm grouping them with). Dublin however are a behemoth. They have a population of 1.4m and counting. There isn't another group of counties of comparable size in Ireland. There is no other tier that you can put Dublin in. So you end up (at the moment) with a championship that's being won by the same team 80% of the time, which is not good for the game. It will be interesting to see what percentage of All-Irelands Dublin will win over the next 10-20 years. At that stage we will know whether a decision has to be taken or not on splitting Dublin or merging other counties. I personally would prefer splitting Dublin of course, and I'm sure the majority of other counties would prefer that option as well. However it's too early to think about that at the moment. You need a larger sample size before you can infer enough about Dublins dominance to start splitting or merging anyone. Time will tell.

jonjon (National) - 05/10/2019 18:03:28

MONEY - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dubs have always enjoyed that advantage Didn't do much good until the right players came along It's nothing new but only became a problem for some when Dublin started to win Before that it was used as a stick to beat them with"
Dubs haven't always enjoyed that advantage to the same extent. The shift of young people from the west to Dublin at the level it's at now is a relatively recent phenomenon. Dublin have always enjoyed somewhat of an advantage. But of course it didn't do them any good at all. It's not like they'd won 20 something odd All-Irelands or anything.

jonjon (National) - 05/10/2019 18:12:56

MONEY - 1 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Do you have a source for that? Id be quite worried if County teams were eating half a million in food every year. Who sponsors Dublin's catering?"
Apologies, they spent 1.6m in total. 'In 2016, when Mayo ran up a huge bill of €1.6m, what's overlooked was that €600,000 of that was GPA mileage and travel which Dublin don't have, and half-a million-was catering where Dublin have a partner for this' - https://punditarena.com/gaa/emackenna/mackenna-dublin-success/ That's for all the Mayo teams. As for Dublin's catering sponsorship: "The nutritional support that Gourmet Food Parlour Catering provides to Dublin GAA and the senior football team is an essential element that has contributing to the success of the team in recent years. Lorraine and her outstanding team, work in partnership with the Dublin football management team to design a nutritional performance strategy for the team that caters for each player's individual dietary needs and enables them to perform at their optimum level throughout the season." - Jim Gavin, Dublin GAA Manager All a quick google away

jonjon (National) - 30/09/2019 12:20:34