Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from club51

Ulster Keeping Gaelic Football Alive - 3 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  ""You made a comment that it is farcical that Mayo got to an a provincial final beating only Sligo and Leitrim. I think that is a bit rich considering Donegal only had to beat yourselves to get to a semi. I am not slamming you, as I think all teams deserve respect and I think Cavan were fantastic last year. However you are division 4 just like Leitrim and Sligo, so should not be putting them down." just have a look at what you wrote and weep. there is so much wrong with it, I don't know where to start. Firstly you are comparing getting to a provincial final with getting to a provincial semi-final . secondly , Donegal didn't play Cavan this year. To get to the semi they played Down and Derry. Tyrone Played Cavan in the Qtr final and played Donegal in the seni ( so both vastly different than playing Sligo and Leitrim)."
how many of the Ulster treams would beat Dublin, Mayo, Kerry. or Galway.........none

club51 (National) - 20/07/2021 14:01:21

Complacency against Tipp - 3 Like(s)
Seeing some daft stuff people predicting scores. Tipp are a serious outfit with nothing to loose, if they made the final for them it would be a good as winning it. The pressure is on Mayo here, we have everything to loose, we just need to concentrate on getting ourselves in a winning position and securing it, get on the bus and go home. They outplayed Galway in every corner of the pitch. If we dont take this seriously we could be left with egg on our face. One or two points will do me.

club51 (Mayo) - 17/08/2016 15:21:56

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2020 - 3 Like(s)
well done limerick.........awesome performance..will make for a good christmas im sure

club51 (Limerick) - 14/12/2020 11:30:03

Inter County Championship 2020 - 2 Like(s)
folks everyone got this one wrong , but no more so than Cunningham. But that being said every now and again your team just has an off day they are human, dont be too hard on them. Last year we felt this pain in Castlebar. To be fair this bunch of players has been dominant in Connaught the last number of years and they had an off day and will fight again next year

club51 (Roscommon) - 09/11/2020 08:52:11

Galway V Mayo - The Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cavan.galway:  "Baffled at some of the refs decisions. K Higgins sat on a Galway player and managed to get a free, also Coen took Shane out of it on the wing , nothing, not even a yellow. The rugby tackle at the end. Kelly and Conroy very good , Shane got some nice scores but he is quite frustrating losing ball and really not sure what he was at with frees and sideline at the end. Rte gave comer the big build up but didn't work out. I thought Daly was poor again, another game without a score!? Kicked a wide in 2nd half. Bradshaw and Molloy both played well when introduced . Burke has not played well all year , McDaid & Silke giving ball away. I thought D'Arcy was taking off very early , thought he was ok, Steede didn't too anything when he came on. Fair play to Power."
Id agree the decision with Higgins looked like it should have gone the other way, but I think he gave bad decisions for both teams to be fair, Full Armagh style Conroy Knee into A O shea's head , went without even a tick and 5 mins later he did the same to Coen.... nothing not even a tick, we need to try and be impartial The tackle at the end got a black (and deservedly so) cost him man of the match id say , professional foul but nothing dangerous or malicious Re Bradshaw and Molloy both should have started, Molloy dosent seem to get a fair treatment with Galway.

club51 (Galway) - 15/11/2020 16:56:40

Galway V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Come back on here when ye bridge the gap from 1951 BTW Kerry were champs on Saturday, Galway were not playing for a title Sunday"
They werent playing for a title because Mayo bate them

club51 (Galway) - 28/10/2020 08:10:40

And There We Have It Lads.... It Is Over. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Gutted but very grateful to these heroes- Will we Dubs ever see. their likes again?? They gave me some of the best experiences of my life. Wonderful days. Very sad to see it all end. It's time to rebuild now. I hope Mayo go on and win it now."
Thank you. Honestly I think its only a hiccup for Dublin and the loss may take off a lot of pressure and reinvigorate more hunger . Honestly that was some run, but for the game as a whole its beneficial that its not the one team in complete dominance . Ye will be back strong as ever next year with a point to prove. I just hope we win one in the interim.

club51 (Dublin) - 17/08/2021 13:10:34

Galway V Mayo Connacht Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep I agree - that loss and coming in under-cooked definitely swings it in favour of the Mayo men imo. Hope it is a cracker though."
How are they under cooked ? Jesus they played Dublin in Galway two weeks ago. Such nonsense

club51 (National) - 10/11/2020 19:43:45

The Fairness Of Playing Laois V Dublin In Croke Park - 2 Like(s)

Replying To carlowman:  "What's wrong with playing Dublin in Croke Park... at any time ? As I see it, perhaps people have... nothing else to give out about ? Dublin are the best team in Leinster and continue to improve and it is up to other counties to match them. Looking for or questioning where a game is played when in a pandemic or otherwise is missing the point. All teams including Laois want to beat the Dubs and the venue is irrelevant . Dublin are willing and have said so for years to travel and play in any venue and their fans love to travel to provincial venues. Surely as a player you want to play in the best and surely Croke Park is the best.... so why not play there as often as you can !"
Point is giving up the home advantage unnecessarily when its not down to spectators. Look at Kildare V Mayo in the qualifiers Newbridge or nowhere and it worked a treat for them. But Dublin...ah sher it cant be the same for Dublin ,,,there Dublin like

club51 (National) - 16/11/2020 14:25:58

Aido O Shea - 2 Like(s)
Prepping for an all Ireland final rather than frolicking around in the sea and making promotional videos would be more in his line. James Carr although missed two also when he came on was excellent and showed for the ball. Aido has had very good games against his cousins from Kerry but hed want to concentrate on the task on hand and not walking into the sea with his phone in his pocket.

club51 (Mayo) - 20/08/2021 08:14:41

Roscommon VS Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To john1971:  "@ the_ wall... Nothing to do with ros folks attitude. Ye lot make it easy very easy. Andy Moran jumped in to the air and kissed his crest after scoring 2 goals in injury time in the fbd league some months back to taunt the ros supporters in attendance. Up to that point we were winning by 5 points with a very lazy ros team. I know if ye loose Sunday he will blame the system 4 matches in 5 weeks etc but if ye win then ye will shout the back door was ideal preparation for the young lads coming through. Full of bull."
and if ye loose who will ye blame, maybe go the Gay Sheeran route and blame having mayo men running the show?

club51 (Roscommon) - 26/07/2017 10:37:46

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BeJasus:  "You'll see all the Meath fans praying Dublin hammer Mayo so they can continue kidding themselves promoting themselves a Top 8 team. Kerry will want a Dublin win, as it also offers a comforting blanket of not having let an easy All Ireland Pass them by... which is unheard of down there. Galway fans wouldn't want a Mayo victory as it will develop them further ,and Galway obviously won't want that as we are local rivals and bitterness has set in especially since Horan changed things in 2010. Rossies want to be Mayo, enough said. They hate us. Guys from the North will definitely want to see Mayo give it a go.. There's a clear agenda towards Dublin atm with various countries blaming everybody and everybody but themselves.. Dublin winning by a grand margin allows other countries continue using Dublin's success to mask their own problems but most people on here can see right through ye.... so here's to another final from two teams who look after themselves..... and should serve up another modern day physical and tactical battle."
Absolutely nailed it in one!

club51 (National) - 09/12/2020 08:55:40

Mayo 2021 - 2 Like(s)
Mullins marking is abysmal . 1-4 from his man by half time, in junior B you'd have the curly finger at 1/2 time. Wait until Shane Walsh gets a hold of him

club51 (Mayo) - 27/05/2021 12:37:26

The Fairness Of Playing Laois V Dublin In Croke Park - 2 Like(s)
why would Laois just give that up...,,,joke Dublin being afforded every possible opportunity even against Laois. Leinster is some joke anyway, outside of Dublin Ross Munnelly is the only player in Leinster with a leinster medal. Laois maybe Brennan was correct about the county board

club51 (National) - 15/11/2020 18:18:48

Empty Hill today - 2 Like(s)
I hope Kerry are reading this thread, the Dubs looking for hill tickets for the final tis gas. No divine right to hill 16, Mayo showed Dublin that in 2006 :) As a Mayo man I was in the hill early in 2013 that day to see our minors win and what came afterwards was disgraceful. Dubs arrived in late and jostled and pushed, threw bottles of urine at supporters etc. I was there previously for finals against Kerry and Donegal came out the wrong side but never felt intimidated by the supporters. If I got free tickets to the hill and we were playing the Dubs Id tear them up. Admin more than likely wont post this, but if I wrote what actually happened there would be no chance of it going up. The Dublin team are a serious outfit and have two or maybe three in a row in their sights, if people wish to sit/stand anywhere in Croke park and pay their hard earned money they should be able to regardless of where they are from

club51 (National) - 22/08/2016 10:30:59

Galway v Tipp hurling - 2 Like(s)
Hard luck to Galway, really felt for D Burke when he was presented the MOTM. he was gutted. Its tough on the supporters but a killer on the lads playing when they loose we should remember that. As a Mayo man I can feel your pain. RESPECT your day will come.

club51 (Galway) - 15/08/2016 01:10:23

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 1 Like(s)
to put it into context Swords alone has a population greater than 100,000. It would be naive of anyone to think Avonmore in Kilkenny or Kerry group in Kerry werent giving those great teams the resources they needed to succeed. as highlighted on the Sunday Gave per registered player Dublin is getting 4 to 6 times more funding that other counties. Pat Gilroy's argument was it needed more funding between the canals to develop the game, and many hundreds of thousands in dublin weren't playing the game, this may be the case but many of the same people hes talking about unfortunately need human basic needs first sport second, he knows this too. If the GAA were to take that approach based on population we should be channeling millions into London and New York as millions of people there arent playing the game either, and both teams doing poorly. Look if youd like to reply please keep it to the topic, please dont make it personal, turf muncher nonsense etc. And before I get nailed no offence intended to the disadvantaged areas of Dublin needing basic needs first, sadly this is a fact in our society today, not just Dublin but countrywide.

club51 (National) - 08/12/2020 10:55:01

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 1 Like(s)

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Why on earth is the final on a Saturday night? It should be on Sunday afternoon. The GAA mention tradition a lot but when it comes to facilitating tv stations it seems tradition is blown out the window."
another advantage for the dubs, who have played several games under lights there already this year.

club51 (National) - 17/12/2020 16:33:43

Predictions For Tyrone Game - 1 Like(s)
What are peoples thoughts how will we fair against Mickey Heats men.

club51 (Mayo) - 22/10/2020 11:06:27

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I certainly don't know of anyone who has memorabilia related to 6 in a row under the tree. We're certainly not taking Mayo for granted. If Mayo do win it'll be because they earn it. We have a new manager, some new additions to the panel and some of the best players to play the game have retired so it's not a foregone conclusion by any means. If we win , I'll be delighted but winning last year was special, this would be icing on the Christmas cake."
Here you go, they are flying out the door for him he tells me! https://patrickdonald.com/129-dublin-football Its hard to see any other result other than a Dublin win (x8 points)

club51 (National) - 17/12/2020 16:38:48