Louth Forum

Popular Posts from Greengrass

Tradition - 11 Like(s)

Replying To skillet:  "Think the shackles of the Catholic Church have been well left behind... Now we've got the Woke, perpetually offended and outraged by everything Shackles to deal with."
Boy have you got that one right skillet. One highly intolerant orthodoxy has been replaced by another even more intolerant orthodoxy. I'm not for one second defending what it did but at least the Catholic Church never pretended to be tolerant and inclusive. This so called liberal, inclusive and tolerant crowd we have to listen to now are only liberal, tolerant and inclusive if you agree with what they say. If you're not they'll "cancel" you which is the new term for obliterate you. No throwing the ball in for those boys.

Greengrass (National) - 13/01/2021 22:48:33

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 9 Like(s)

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "I couldnt give a toss who wins this all ireland (or any garlic football game for that matter) but my major concern is what ever happens will set a precedent that may be used in hurling in the future re the 16th man. Therefore I think it has to be replayed."
Another clown who thinks hurling is the only game on earth. Stick to your hurling so. I think we are blessed to have two great games that are of great sporting and social value to this country and to Irish people living abroad. Keep your antipathy to Gaelic football to yourself.

Greengrass (National) - 24/01/2023 16:13:03

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 9 Like(s)

Replying To Young_gael:  "Again to reiterate, I hate talking about politics on forums, Im here purely to talk GAA, namely football, and namely all things Meath. But in the spirit of the post where I am addressed twice, I have to respond. I agree with you on education, by the way. It is thought from an Irish nationalist point of view, presented as an 800 year constant struggle of oppression and toil, and indulging the period from 1798 until 1922 as the tipping point in our history from which we prevailed into a free state and beyond. No mention of Tom Crean, nor Arthur Wellesley, and not a whole pile on Daniel O'Connell (which the main streets in 2/3 of our cities is named from, or my favourite Irish person of all time, CS Parnell. And the reason there isnt much on them and many others? They worked within the British system. Simple. It doesent suit a basic Irish history system to indulge the extremely complex nature of our history. I dont have an attitude of superiority as you said of me... Im an Irish nationalist and id never call myself a Republican, again note the complexity of language in Irish society. I believe that truly deep down a lot of people, particularly when they study Ireland since partition, often wonder within themselves if freedom was even worth it, when you consider just how poor our leaders were almost non-stop for decades. When you consider the all-emcompassing rule of the catholic church. Absolutely. Ive often had this thought myself. I think that you, bloodyban, are probably a unionist yourself deep down. To further address your saying I have a patronising tone, I dont intend to. My way of writing has frequently been seen as patronsing on these forums, but its just the way I write. Ireland must be unique among the nations on Earth in that aspousing nationalist views, and the nationalist ideal can be met with hostility. Again, I agree with a lot of what you said, just not the argumentative points. Im not here for arguments. Ive studied Irish history through every prism I can and I have enormous respect for figures far beyond the realms of what we teach our leaving certs. There were some great Irish people who worked within the empire, including 3 British prime ministers, one of which lived scarcely 10-12 miles from where I am writing. If Irish history teaches me one thing it is that conciliation is the most important thing, and accepting complexity and finding a common ground is the most important thing, but from my own learning I still conclude that we are better off by ourselves, ruling ourselves, and for that resason I am a 32 county nationalist and I think I always will be. Its not about starry eyed idealism for me, or slogans or chants, but I honestly believe the people of this country are better off free of Britain, while still accepting and coming to terms with our history. Theres only so much I can get across in a message on the forums but I hope your view point of me has changed, even slightly, and Im sure face to face we could discuss these things for hours."
Firstly young_gael I can't agree with your summation of what is taught of Irish history in our schools. I can't agree with you in relation to what I was taught or what my children in both the Leaving Cert and Junior Cert cycles are currently being. I would refer you to Ireland Since the Famine by F.S.L. Lyons. That was my text book for Leaving Cert Irish history. It was first issued in 1963. It treats comprehensively of all Irish Parliamentary politicians from the time of Daniel O Connell and Repeal up to John Redmond and Home Rule. It is entirely impartial and is still to this day an excellent book. I was most certainly taught very well about our Parliamentary politicians. That was back in the early eighties. I would refute your generalisations about the teaching of Irish history in my time. My children are also studying Irish history in secondary school. Their texts also consider Irish Parliamentary politicians such as Daniel O Connell, Isaac Butt, Charles Stewart Parnell, Edward Carson, James Craig and John Redmond. The subject is taught differently to when I was in school but the material studied is broad and comprehensive. You speak of three Irish born Prime Ministers. I can only find evidence of two, William Petty and Arthur Wellesley Duke of Wellington. You express the opinion that many Irish people wonder whether the struggle for freedom was worth it. I don't believe you are correct in that assertion however I can't provide you with anything other than anecdotal evidence. I would not classify myself as an extremist but I would view the empires of the European powers as obscenities. I wouldn't distinguish between the British, French, German or Turkish empires. Huge swathes of territories and entire populations were forcefully subjugated and systematically ruthlessly and viciously exploited. The British Empire was foremost amongst them. The Irish Famine, famines in India, concentration camps during the Boer War, the massacre in Amritsar and the slaughter in Kenya in the 1950s bear testimony to this. The British Gulag by Caroline Elkins is worth reading. It is not being melodramatic or incorrect to say that this country and it's people suffered at the hands of the British Empire. This suffering did stretch back centuries. Between Cromwell gracing these shores and dispensing his own particular brand of religious inspired justice in 1649 and further conflict up to 1658 it's estimated that at least half a million Irish people either lost their lives or were transported as slaves to the West Indies. The fight for freedom was worth it. Nationalism and Republicanism can and should coexist. I don't subscribe to the portrayal of Northern nationalists on this thread. I have many friends who are Northern nationalists and Republicans. They are the same as you and I. I could write a lot more but I have spent enough time on the phone. I had planned to answer Bon and Bloodyban ( again !!!) but enough is enough for one night.

Greengrass (National) - 27/05/2021 21:59:24

Tradition - 9 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Who are they? What influence do "they" have that is comparible to the influence the Catholic Church had in Ireland? Would you ever give over."
"They" for a start are the chattering class commentariat who populate our media. Don't kid yourself MesAmis. They wield very significant power in this country. They are every bit as intolerant as the Church was. There is no doubt that this country is infinitely more socially inclusive than it used to be but then that can also be said of other societies in Europe including our neighbours across the water. However, as has already been pointed out to you if someone voices an opinion contrary to the consensus in this country they can now find themselves the subject of a vicious backlash from the so called liberal consensus. People of faith and their faith itself are now very regularly sneered at. How often have you seen the terms like "the fairy in the sky" used to describe faith. In relation to abuse the vast bulk of abuse was and continues to be perpetrated by lay people. What was done by the clergy was beyond description in terms of horrific cruelty but it was only the tip of the iceberg.

Greengrass (National) - 14/01/2021 18:26:14

Rose Tinted Glasses. - 9 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "All these counties giving out about Dublin's boring style of play and crying about lack of funding haven't cottoned on that all you need to do today is get together the best group of athlete's in your county (Gaelic footballers preferred but not essential), a couple of big brutal enforcers for centerfield, teach them first how to catch a tennis ball, when they're used of that a big white ball will be child's play, employ a strength and conditioning coach, a part time dietitian and last but not least, the main man, the basketball coach. Hone the dying art of palming your goals and fisting your points in from two yards, a good hoofer to knock over your frees and before long you'll be deemed the best team ever to play the game. And sure look if the lads haven't the ability or the confidence to take a 99% shot on don't worry about it, let them retreat back to there own half, throw the ball around like shelf stackers throw loaves of bread to each other and start again. If you come under pressure of a mass press just hoof the ball over the top of them and give your team a 50/50. The whole world will come to a standstill on All-Ireland final day to marvel at these unbelievably skillful Irish men, from Brazil to Germany, Italy and Spain, we'll be the envy of the world. It will be the number one game on the planet in no time. Ye have it all wrong lads, just copy the best team ever. :-)."
Spoofer.

Greengrass (National) - 24/06/2021 13:38:25

Loughnane tears into Galway - 7 Like(s)
His piece is way over the top . The match yesterday was very competitive and hard fought for 60 minutes. The better team with the greater resources pulled away in the end . Tactically in the second half Brian Cody's positional changes made a big difference . The article in relation both to the Galway players and Michael Donoghue is overly personal and very bitter . Ger's standards of journalism are poor even by the standards of tabloid journalism.

Greengrass (National) - 04/07/2016 17:00:26

You Couldn't Pay Me To Go And Watch A Game Of Football - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Convert1:  "Neil Moyna's of DCU comment on current senior and intercounty football not to mention 3rd level inter college being a turn off. What do folks think. For me I have to agree with him that defensive systems and 14/15 men behind the ball in your own half is a turn off. Hurling or rugby now have far more appeal. No enjoyment to watch and I can imagine no enjoyment to play as well. Maybe the 5 new rules being tested might breath some life into the game. For a game I enjoyed to play, coach and watch now becoming something i do not feel worth watching anymore."
Niall Moyna said, "you couldn't pay me to go and watch a game of football". His own county, Monaghan had a great season . They won 5 games in Division One and beat Dublin in Croke Park. They then got to an All Ireland semi final . They played 9 championship matches winning 6 of them drawing with Kerry in a cracking game and losing 2 matches. Moyna went to none of those games. However he told us that he did attend one inter county this year. What game was that ? You got it .... the All Ireland Final. According to himself he can't stand football yet he takes up a seat that many football fans would have loved to be in.

Greengrass (National) - 30/12/2018 17:39:51

Kerry have it easy. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Lads ye are trying to defend the indefensible ye have a huge advantage based on geography. Before the qualifiers ye could play 3 games to get to an all ireland final. That amount of games would only play a leinster final that's another advantage. Win 2 games in a hurling province and ye were in a semi final. Your great team of the 70's had to beat Tipperary, Cork, Sligo to get to an ALL-IRELAND final one year!!!!. As I mentioned your conversion rate from munster to all ireland's is poor due to the annual cake walk against hurling counties."
Rubbish. There is no such thing as an easy All Ireland. To win the All Ireland you will eventually have to beat the best teams in the land. Ultimately despite the fact that they come out of a "hurling" province each year to win an All Ireland that is what Kerry have had to do.The one constant in Gaelic football is Kerry. They consistently throughout the history of Gaelic football have produced great teams. Other counties have produced a great team and then disappeared. The badge of authenticity for each of these counties greatest teams is that they have beaten Kerry. Look at Wexford between 1913-18 . Look at Kildare in the twenties, Roscommon and Cavan in the forties, Galway and Down in the sixties, Dublin in the seventies, Cork in the eighties, Armagh and Tyrone in the noughties and now this great Dublin team. Every one of them beat Kerry. The greatest team of them all was the Kerry team of the seventies. As I said there is no such thing as an easy All Ireland. Kerry have won 37 of them. The reason for that is because they consistently produce outstanding teams whilst other counties come and go. As for this guff about Kerry in to Leinster or Ulster don't make me laugh !!! If Kerry werte in Leinster there would be a lot less Leinster titles to go around for Leinster counties including Dublin. The same would hold true of Ulster and Ulster counties. The reason that Kerry have more All Irelands than any other county is because they are the best football county.

Greengrass (National) - 02/08/2017 13:12:27

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 7 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Are Dublin not box office? The capital would surely naturally have big viewing figures by size of population?"
The only provincial football game bar the finals being shown by RTE is Tyrone v Donegal . RTE should hang their heads in shame .

Greengrass (National) - 04/06/2019 11:21:43

Can We Bring Back The Red Thumbs To The Forum. - 7 Like(s)
Bring it back. PC nonsense gone mad. Anybody who would take offence deserves all the red thumbs they get.

Greengrass (National) - 10/04/2021 01:06:22

Rose Tinted Glasses. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I'd say ye are savage craic altogether in the sanctuary county. :-)"
Off you trot back to the rugby. More your level.

Greengrass (National) - 24/06/2021 17:49:00

Crazy Decision Regarding Under 20 Football Final - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "The only rugby matches that are allowed now are professional games where all players are tested on very regular basis. Players dont work other jobs. Not the same as the GAA."
That's not true. The women's rugby team is not professional. They are amateur. They work outside rugby to earn a living. They are going to Paris of all places next week to play France in The Six Nations. Paris is in lockdown and there is a night time curfew. France has declared a state of emergency due to the fact that there are approximately 30,000 new cases of Covid every day. There are over 100 Covid deaths every day in France at the moment. The logistics of going to France involve travelling from Dublin, travelling to your accommodation, travelling to and from your team training base, travelling to and from the stadium, living In the team hotel and travelling back to Dublin. Yet The IRFU thinks it's acceptable to send an amateur panel, management team, back room team and officials to France !!! Sending any team to France including the men's team at the moment is highly questionable. Testing only tells you whether or not you have Covid. It doesn't prevent you from getting it.

Greengrass (National) - 22/10/2020 10:06:38

Connelly/Holmes - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Mayonman:  "very self serving article. to have a go at AOS, whatever you think about him, for trying to get a bit of career for himself says so much about their mgt style. memo to holmes/coneelly ..........it is an amateur sport and u are not entitled to interfere with a players career. not a very holistic approach to management. hanging a player out to dry over expressing a preference for a keeper. not great lads. maybe players should have no opinions?? players kept their reasons private and so should the x mgmt. they have now started to make it personal. reflects badly on them. going on about humiliation......................grow up. u were dropped as managers. players get dropped every week and have to roll with it. I think their is a cult of manager out there who will drown in their own self importance! PS don't be misled by my name..........................I'm a Galway man to the core and actually enjoying this a bit:-)"
Wrong. The players didn't keep their reasons private as you say. The players didn't have the courage or the decency to give Holmes and Connelly the reasons for their discontent. That meant that the management team was not able to defend itself . There was nothing private about this . Holmes and Connelly were very publicly humiliated . This was entirely orchestrated . Subsequently the players presented the county board with a list of demands with a deadline of four days from the date of receipt of the list given for accedence to the demands . This was accompanied by a threat of strike if the demands weren't acceded to . The reason the players wanted all this done behind closed doors is because they knew well what the public reaction would be . There was nothing honourable in how they went about their business .

Greengrass (National) - 19/12/2016 17:22:15

Joe Canning - not fit to lace Shefflin's boots - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Pinkie:  "There is absolutely no doubting the supreme talent of Joe Canning, and he is often compared to Henry Shefflin in terms of ability and skill. For me, that is where the similarities start and finish. There is 1 huge difference, when Kilkenny needed Shefflin most, Shefflin delivered. I'm thinking of the drawn final a few years ago, when Kilkenny were all at sea, Shefflin took the game by the scruff of the neck and single handedly dragged Kilkenny back into the game and got them over the line and a replay. When Shefflin was missing, in finals v Tipp and v Cork when he was sent off, Kilkenny struggled. When Galway need Canning most, Canning is missing and nowhere to be seen. Yesterday typified this. And this has been the story of Joe. He has the ability to score a wonderful goal, but for me he is not fit to lace Shefflin's boots. Am I being too hard on him? Is it because he is marshalled so well and people think stop Joe stop Galway? I personally would never want to be relying on Joe to win a match for me, Shefflin I would bet my life on winning a match for me."
Yes you are being too harsh on him . Henry Shefflin is the best forward I have ever seen . The comparison you make is unfair for one simple reason . Henry Shefflin never had to play against these great Kilkenny teams .

Greengrass (National) - 04/07/2016 16:50:46

Football Max Passes Limit - 6 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "It would pay these fellas to watch a few All-Irelands even from the 90's, they can talk all they like about "winning is all that matters", they must think no team at all won in the past :-). Trying to be talking all posh and sophisticated, making a simple game complicated. They forget the bigger picture of course, that most neutrals wont watch the sort of tripe many of them are playing, pansying around trying to feel like they are Barcelona for 70 minutes, afraid or unable to back themselves. I'll tell you this, if they came up against a few of the greats of the past, they wouldn't get too much time for pansying around."
I've been at every All Ireland Senior football final since 1972 apart from last year's. The best of the modern day footballers would hold their own against the great footballers of the past.

Greengrass (National) - 26/05/2021 22:22:01

Hoganstand National Forum Only Model. - 6 Like(s)
In truth the forum is now a very pale shadow of what it used to be.

Greengrass (National) - 10/09/2022 17:14:26

Tradition - 6 Like(s)

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "The thing about Catholicism in practice is that its totally lacking in humanity,some of us copped it at an early age but more and more have copped it throughout my lifetime thankfully.There will always be a cohort that can't drag themselves away from it."
I can't accept that in practice Catholicism is lacking in humanity. I see people who are practising Catholics showing humanity every day. Kindness and compassion for your fellow human beings was at the core of Jesus message. Like most philosophies men twisted and corrupted the philosophy in order to develop and maintain power. The desire to gain and maintain power is a characteristic innate in humanity . It is not confined to the church. Look at the desire to conquer, subjugate and exploit fellow human beings. That has manifested itself since the dawn of recorded time. Another characteristic of mankind that has manifested itself even in the face of the most vile, appalling crimes is the instinct to protect the institution. That was particularly apparent in the Churches especially the Catholic Church. It is also apparent in government institutions worldwide. It can also be seen in financial institutions especially banks. A common denominator in a lot of this is that the ordinary individual in these institutions does not partake in this vile corruption. It is those in positions of power who do so. The Catholic hierarchy chose to practise, condone and conceal this vile abuse. Corruption, sadly, is part of the human condition. That is why I can't accept that there is no humanity in Catholicism. You'll see humanity and compassion demonstrated by ordinary Catholics as they live their daily lives.

Greengrass (National) - 14/01/2021 10:40:45

Ireland's Rugby World Cup Warm-Up Games Against Italy, England And Samoa Will Be Shown Live On RTÉ. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Against soccer? I don't like soccer and from what I've seen of it, women's soccer is even worse. nothing to do with it being played by women. Women's gaelic football is great game and I've been at a fair few games over the years and it's often better TV than the senior men's for entertainment."
You spoke specifically about women's soccer. Just because you don't like soccer doesn't mean it's "an inferior product." Billions of people play, watch and support soccer. I love Gaelic games as played by men and women. I also thoroughly enjoy soccer. RTÉ are dead right to broadcast the women's soccer matches. It's great for young girls to see the national team getting the exposure they and their exploits deserve.

Greengrass (National) - 07/07/2023 19:22:19

Shane Ross Comments On Facilities - 6 Like(s)

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "You are kind of proving my point in saying "Think over 2018/2019 so far there has been at least 4 new rugby clubs set up". Rugby is on the crest of a wave at the moment. Imagine how many rugby clubs would be set up if they were granted access to the GAA pitch on every town and village in the country? A lot more. Why would the GAA facilitate a rival sport to spring up in village where they are already tight on numbers? tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 19 - 2/1/19 3:29:48 PMNobody has said sports clubs(why are you only saying rugby???) should be given access to any/every GAA pitch??"
The point you are missing is that your suggestion is one way street . There are no rugby or soccer stadia in this country which are capable of hosting Gaelic Games . The pitches are too small . The only organisation which has the stadia to ground share with other sports is The GAA. The argument that any organisation that is in receipt of taxpayers money/government grants when developing new playing facilities should be compelled to facilitate other sports is a nonsense . If that point of view becomes policy then it must be applied to all field sporting organisations not just The GAA. If Leinster Rugby were to develop their own stadium and were in receipt of government grants they would have to lay a pitch that was big enough to accommodate Gaelic Games with all the extra costs that would entail as a result of the increase in the size of the stadium . If Dundalk FC were to develop a new stadium they too were they in receipt of government grants would have to lay down a pitch that was big enough to accommodate Gaelic Games with all the extra costs that would entail . It's another example of Shane Ross who is the archetypal political chancer jumping on the bandwagon of a popular issue without engaging his brain . What he knows about sport could be written on the back of a stamp .

Greengrass (National) - 01/02/2019 17:20:03

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To endgame:  "I'm not having a pop at Wexford but they're poor at the moment. So are Offaly and Galway are mediocre. That's led to an ordinary Kilkenny team reaching the last two All Ireland finals and getting hammered by 9 points yesterday. The provincial championship is distorting the All Ireland series. Cork nearly knocked Limerick out yet Cork themselves were out and gone home. I don't know what Cork would have thought yesterday watching that final. Perhaps the answer is to have the provincial championships separate from the All Ireland championship. Nobody wants to see the end of the Munster championship but having Leinster on a par with Munster at the moment for qualification for the All Ireland series is nonsense and nobody, yellow belly or whatever will convince me otherwise."
The Limerick team that played in the All Ireland semi final and final was a completely different proposition to the team that played in the Munster championship. Don't forget that Kilkenny took Clare out in the semi final. Limerick are on a different level to everyone else. There is very little between the chasing counties. You mentioned Cork. They were Limerick's opposition in the All Ireland final of 2021. How did that one go?

Greengrass (National) - 24/07/2023 17:32:54