Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from cityman73

Mayo Ladies Walk Out - 12 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Well done to these Mayo girls about time too. Way way to many poor quality coaches in the women's game, time for the ladies to step themselves and drive these chancer's and spoofer's out of their game. Ladies have to put themselves, they are the players they are all that matters. If some loud mouth can't accept the criticism he dishes out then he loses the dressing room and THAT is his fault no one else. He should go gracefully instead of bad mouthing girls they can't all be wrong. The Mayo County board LOST its case when it illegally sanctioned the girls club, they too have to accept there part in this. What modern coach/manager has an attitude of "it;s my way or the highway"? utterly pathetic these are women not school kids. Everyone knows these girls abilities can the same be said for the management? As for the apologists, they are everywhere, players come first and that has to be the case. On a day when the GPA say's Inter-county players can devote up to 30 hours to compete at this level to then NOT to even be listened too? Listen on your bike mate. These ladies I applaud, it is great to see women becoming more assertive and more demanding the time and effort they are putting in they do at least deserve to be listened to and not stonewalled, and what a kick in backside for Mayo County board they went way beyond their remit in suspending a club, a shameful episode."
Your post would make sense,if the whole team walked but it was really a group of players from one club,the majority of players were happy with the management team.

cityman73 (National) - 18/09/2018 12:50:34

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Why are the GAA seemingly unable to issue a statement that includes the words "Northern Ireland" and thereby reflecting the democratic view of people across the entire island to recognise the existence of the state of Northern Ireland? It was democratically recognised when the Treaty was democratically approved in 1921 and again when the Good Friday Agreement was voted on in 1998. Still the GAA, like the IRA, continue to act as if they refuse to recognise the state of Northern Ireland. They're happy enough to recognise the state when it comes accepting government grants. Their linguistic gymnastics designed to avoid saying Northern Ireland are tiresome and irritating at this stage. Enough of "the North"."
Bring back the red thumbs just for this comment,

cityman73 (National) - 18/04/2021 08:07:59

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ewan McKenna I am sure most of you have seen/heard this lads "opinions" by now i am not getting into it here, we all know what he says and the counter arguments etc What I would like to know is, especially from the non Dubs on here, where do ye stand on this? Most people not involved in GAA seem to think McKenna is right, its a fix, Dubs are false champions etc etc Would be interested in what ye think lads. I think most people on here would be involved in one way or another in GAA so your opinon's would carry more weight than the summer crew if you get me. Do many of you think he is right, do many of you see Dublin's success as false, tarnished and bought? Sound. LW"
No, Dublin are brilliant champions and deserve there success,with the hard work they have done,just up to other counties to catch up.

cityman73 (National) - 05/09/2018 11:16:10

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "How many of that 7000 were elderly people you would have died in that time frame anyway and how many died diagnosed with covid but not because of covid? I know of one case for definite that was put down as a covid death bit it wasn't what caused the death. I'm no conspiracy theorist and I'm no medic, I followed the rules as best I could and got my jabs etc. but why was the covid death numbers exaggerated like this? something like 75% of everyone over 16 is now fully vaccinated but still the daily drone goes on of case numbers, is the curve flattened yet I wonder?"
So the elderly don't count,a person might of lost two months of their life cause of covid,we are nearly 18 months in and some people don't understand,it amazes me,some people might have a week,month,3 months,a year left but covid killed them off,if we didn't lockdown we would have alot more deaths,covid or long covid is affecting our youth,I'm not saying hid away,cause I'm not but please educate yourself first.

cityman73 (National) - 10/08/2021 22:17:14

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Any club I'm speaking to are totally against the current set up. The players are heading off from June July. So they don't have them. One said at least before split season lads would be available for club once championship over for the county as they wouldn't have made plans to go abroad"
I'm hearing the opposite with nearly every club player I know in favour, maybe a little tweaking but at least you know when you're playing now.

cityman73 (National) - 17/04/2023 11:48:58

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
Well done Dublin, best football team in the history of the football championship, just shows the gap isn't too far.

cityman73 (National) - 19/12/2020 19:43:19

71 Million Croke Park Development - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Well when you can produce evidence of the DCB dictating to the Leinster Council and the other Leinster counties where Dublin play their fixtures then please ask the admins to make your post a sticky. I suppose Leinster counties asking for fixture venues to be reversed to Croke Park was the poor aul Dubs fault as well. Always the villains."
People will always be jealous of success, we won our second all-Ireland in 45 years and knifes were out straight away, ye have the best football team in the history of the gaa, this was done by the hard work of Dublin gaa, hopefully ye can improve your hurling as well, Croke Park is a money maker outside of matches, well done to the gaa, looking at the bigger picture.

cityman73 (National) - 21/01/2021 19:04:16

Lets Play Aussie Rules - 4 Like(s)
We have a beautiful game,if it's played the right way, Dublin are 4 in row champions cause they can play football, rules don't need to be changed, mindset has to be

cityman73 (National) - 05/03/2019 17:42:26

All Ireland Championship Draw 2019 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jesus lads, can ye not google things no? It's not a coincidence - the Munster Championship is structured so that the teams that make the final get a bye the following year. For a few years it went back to an open draw however, Limerick, Clare, Tipp and Waterford pressed for the older format (teams making the previous years final getting a bye) to be reinstated. So if ye have any beef take it up with those counties..."
You might want to google it yourself,not all counties agreed with it and some panels of players weren't happy with it.there was a majority agreement,that's the only thing you have right.

cityman73 (National) - 13/10/2018 23:02:50

Provincial Titles Are No Longer Relevant - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ColinWex:  "At least for football the provincial championship have become very irrelevant and boring. Leinster is basically Dublin. Munster Kerry, then you've Galway and Mayo, ulster is half decent. It's no-longer a viable product. People want to see the best teams play each other in the summer and there are lots of uncompetitive games in the early stages before the real stuff kicks off. I feel they should just collapse the Championship and league into one and make that the proper comp. Maybe then they can have an FA cup type knock out comp in there somewhere."
I'm looking forward to going supporting Limerick against Clare in the Munster football semi final,did you not see what it meant to Clare footballers after beating cork,same Roscommon beating mayo,new York beating Leitrim,I still hope to see Limerick to become Munster football champions,I would hate to see the provincial championship fall away.

cityman73 (National) - 13/04/2023 11:55:18

Have We All Gone Mad? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "And you're spot on Viking66. When you ask these fellas who are banding misleading figures around to prove what they are saying is correct, they are unable to do it, all they can do is quote a misleading headline from a newspaper. Go into a courtroom with such "evidence" and you would be destroyed in seconds."
He was responding to me and I apologize,i should of said 40% of the eligible population,I'm always happy to admit when I'm wrong.

cityman73 (National) - 02/07/2021 12:40:42

An Elite Club System Is The Future - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "I don't think it'd hurt the game at grassroots. It doesn't in soccer or rugby. Players move on and upward no big deal, it happens in all sports why is it frowned upon in GAA. Clubs would lose players from bigger clubs but they'd also gain players from big clubs who aren't going to make their first team. Right now players do transfer from their home club and the world continues on. I'd just think it'd be good if it were more the norm."
Under your rules the smaller club will never be allowed grow,no matter how much that club works on their underage,all the best players will leave for the super club,I really can't understand where your coming from,it would destroy the gaa,as bad as things are now,we might as well give up under your suggestions.

cityman73 (National) - 26/04/2018 18:08:50

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "If you view the 6 counties as a different country that's your prerogative. Nobody in Donegal would ever look on our neighbours in Derry or Tyrone as anything but Irish. Indeed they put many of us to shame on the language and music (if not Gaelic football ; ). Most Irish people north or south simply see the 6 counties as an occupied area, set up to facilitate an apartheid-style situation where nationalists had to keep the head down and stay in poverty, economically and politically. Those days are gone forever, reunification is inevitable. The analogy I use with the north is simple, if a thief steals something from you, who does that thing belong to? The rightful owner or the thief? Technically the thief owns it, but everyone knows who really owns it.. that's how the 6 counties is, plain and simple. Good luck trying to call my cousins in west Tyrone 'British.' Come back to me abs tell me how that goes.."
Fully agree with you.

cityman73 (National) - 25/05/2021 21:46:38

Limerick Hurling thread 2024 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cityman73:  "You have to be joking."
Cause you are a genuine poster,watch the game again and watch the Limerick player holding his head,rolling around and grand after,he got hit in the chest,held his head to get the Galway lad sent off.

cityman73 (National) - 26/03/2024 16:31:25

The Musings Of Tom Smith - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here from County Cavan Listening to Ireland call on Saturday evening and looking at the 100 % Irish participation in every word of it I wonder if iot was played before Gaa games instead of the National Anthem would it appeal to more people to participate from the wider community. The Gaa is somewhat lost to a large group of people in for instance Nothern IIreland . It would be worth considering if we were / want to atrack people who have an allegiance to an non EEC Country"
Please stop.

cityman73 (National) - 01/11/2023 15:09:13

Meath V Clare - 3 Like(s)

Replying To superdub:  "Tight game but poor quality all round the pitch"
I Rather enjoyed that game, better than most football games this year.

cityman73 (National) - 07/07/2019 15:42:28

Junior Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)
Fair play to mungret, great win tonight,if claughaun win against na piarsaigh on Sunday, four teams on 8 points,all one game to play, four teams going for three places.

cityman73 (Limerick) - 07/08/2019 21:10:32

Future Of Leinster Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Daith:  "An absolute shambles again tonight, as it has been for years now. The game is dead in 11 counties in Leinster. At what stage do the GAA address this? At what stage do the most deluded fans who claim they are GAA people recognise their 10 in a row Leinsters and 6 in a row all irelands mean very little. Population, x 16 funding, x 20 times the sponsorship, centres of excellence and stadium provided free of charge , but Dubs will still tell the rest of us we have to get our act together. I honestly can't see why any county honours any fixture against Dublin. What was the point in Meath turning up tonight for example?"
Why haven't the Dublin hurlers won the all-Ireland so if all you say is true, Dublin footballers are just the best team in the history of the gaa.

cityman73 (National) - 22/11/2020 12:01:50

Monaghan V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "How was that not a red for Donaghy. How can the commentators not see it on replay and see that he swung his elbow back at his opponent. It's striking regardless of it he's in possession or not. Bad from the ref, terrible from the commentators."
Ah come on, it shouldn't of been a yellow card,watch the reply.

cityman73 (National) - 22/07/2018 17:17:54

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Marse:  "Was it balanced? Was that the only incident of its type in the game? Yet it was the only one highlighted."
A player verbally attacks and pushes a official, ye have no leg to stand on, grow up,grow a pair and move on

cityman73 (National) - 26/06/2017 14:08:29