Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from woops

That Kerry Blow - 5 Like(s)
The whole melee and the pitiful ban to Dingle mentor who hit Moynihan has left a very sour taste in Kerry and I say most of ireland. Its stuff like this which undermines all the good work Gaelic games does in life.

woops (National) - 24/10/2018 18:20:42

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 5 Like(s)
I was on holidays last few weeks so just want to congratulate the Dubs on achieving the historic 5 in a row. In the 5 finals they were beatable in 4 of them apart from last year and they always found a way to overcome the opposition. The Dubs got the break with the goal with all those steps taken but to be honest I didnt even notice that until after the game so not going to blame the ref on that .We got some handyish frees to keep us in the game in the first half too. The Dubs were much the better team in the replay and I think the Kerry management blew it big time on the sideline with the tactics and timing of subs etc. Anyway fair play to the Dubs and congrats to the main Dubs posters on here such as Liam etc

woops (National) - 27/09/2019 13:09:25

Rory Beggan - 5 Like(s)
All Stars should go to players who holds up in the big games under the biggest pressure. Beggan was unreal in some games especially during the first half against Kerry, he wasnt as influential in the second half when under more pressure from both kick outs and free kicks. But the moment that stands out is the silly moment against Tyrone when he prob got carried away with himself and his abilities and went for that hail mary which was at a pivotal moment. An All Star wins you big games...not loses them. Cluxton for me wins the keeper award.

woops (National) - 05/09/2018 11:34:34

Ballyragget - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "There were strippers involved and that it fine. But in one of the leaked pictures there is definitive proof of a sex act being carried out in public and being recorded. I'm far from a prude but even I think that's gone a bit far. The other stuff was harmless enough though."
Strippers my ass they were full on "women of the night" I agree with Ritchie on this and I am no prude! If they were going to book these girls off escort ireland the person who booked them should get a red card as surely there were better quality to be had!

woops (National) - 26/10/2017 13:55:40

Fair Play Tomás O'Sé - 3 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "With you 100% Hermit. I feel a lot of posts are just masking Kerry begrudgery. All sweeping statements about the opportunities presented for the chaps etc. But no county is being targeted the way Kerry is presently. The posts and posters actually remind me of the people who constantly bemoan the state of Kilkenny football. The veneer is very thin. Laois76 (Laois) - Posts:319 - 25/05/2017 12:49:13 So how many Kerry players have gone over to Oz in comparison to other counties? How many multiples of the nearest county must it now be up to?!"
I agree with you mesamis most of this is baloney. I agree Mark O Connor was prob the standout player of those first 2 minor teams and Clifford is the star of the next 2 minor minors and big losses to the future of Kerry football. But it is only rumour at the moment about Clifford , no real facts that he will go. But overall Kerry has not been massively affected by Aussie player recruitment. The way I look at it we look to be crying over Mark O Connor. Remember Tyrone were the same when Kyle Coney went, he returned due to home sickness. But who in Tyrone gives a damn about him now the fact he is not playing with the seniors. I bet he would love to have another crack at Aussie Rules if he had the chance.

woops (National) - 25/05/2017 13:51:37

2019 Division 1 League Final. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "One thing with O Shea that clearly stood out Sunday is he lacks pace, CP is not that place to be if you lack a yard."
O Shea does lack pace. Lovely footballer with the ball in the hand but I do agree his pace could be his undoing when the sod dries up. I think it was more the national media that was blowing him up during the league but he did kick some outrageous score which were enjoyable to watch. But it all counts for nothing when summers comes around, pitches are good and hard and fitness levels are at their peak let's see what O Shea is made of then. A note on the match...it was awful to watch by both teams, I am a general critic of Galway's tactics but Mayo and Kerry produced some awful crap. Kerry learnt nothing from the league defeat and again got physically blown away. Glad it happened now as eyes should be wide open that major improvements are needed and a handful of lands that played in the league final are just not up to it at this level.

woops (National) - 05/04/2019 12:35:10

Philly McMahon's half time talk. - 3 Like(s)
Phily Mcmahon....I hate him!! I hate him in the same way I used to hate Ryan Mcmenamin! He prob breaks the rules, but he is a teak tough in your face corner back with attacking prowess and can run all day. By god I would love him to be playing for Kerry!

woops (National) - 30/05/2016 21:58:13

A Tier 2 Championship For Football - Let's Give It A Go - 3 Like(s)
For a Tier2 championship to work you need the teams separated at the start of the season. lets take Carlow footballers for example. You cant have them at the start of the year aiming to make a Leinster semi or final and then demote them to a Tier2 championship if they lost the 1st round of the Leinster. the players would have no interest in a B Championship after putting all their efforts into the A Championship initially. This would lead to players dropping off the panel , going to America etc Teams need to be in their respective tier at the start of the year and know if they win it out then they will get promoted just like we see with club championships. So come January when players are bursting their gut they know they are training to win the Tier2 championship and they wont lose players to America or just drop off the panel midway through the season. This would lead to provincial championships getting scrapped at Senior intercounty level but are they really worthwhile anymore

woops (National) - 25/04/2019 10:35:03

Paul Flynn Retires! - 3 Like(s)
Top 3 wing forwards since the noughties for me have been Dooher, Galvin and Flynn. Paul Flynn hadnt the longetivity as the other 3 at the top of their game but he was the best of the 3 in his prime until the end of 2014. What a brilliant wing forward and is what any aspiring wing forward should aspire to. He had an enormous work rate and was a lethal forward to add to that.He didnt get the same plaudits as Connolly but Flynn was just an important as him for the Dubs. Hope he enjoys his retirement

woops (National) - 01/05/2019 10:52:24

What Are The Things You Miss Most In The GAA? - 3 Like(s)
Man v Man Gaelic Football. I loved the personal battle of a back v a forward and midfielders going against each other. No hiding behind systems or mass defenses.

woops (National) - 11/04/2018 16:39:54

B Flynn's comments on A O'Shea - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ziggy32001:  "in fairness to flynn,he was on new york recently fund raising for meath,so no denying were his loyalties are. his comments? probably just so people can get talking about him a bit instead of brolly taking all the limelight!"
Give Flynn his due I think he said what he said honestly, I don't think there is any attention seeking comments like other pundits. I like Flynn but his comments were a bit OTT. Aidan O Shea is being plagued since his involvement in kicking out the 2 lads. Some deserved criticism though if he tries to influence picking the team. No doubt about it he prob has a very strong influence in the Mayo camp and is not reaching his level of performance that Mayo need from him so when he does fall short of his capaplities he gets a lot of stick and some OTT. But he does work tremendously hard in most games, it's just some of his decision making can be heart breaking. Also he needs to cement 1 spot and be left there, the time for him to be put all over the field is gone. He is either a midfielder/centre forward or a full forward. Play him in one and if he isn't good enough drop him rather than throw him all over the field.

woops (National) - 19/05/2017 09:44:55

Bernard Brogan Serious Injury - 3 Like(s)
This is probably the last we will see of B Brogan in a Dublin jersey. A sad way to end his career, he may come back next year but it prob would be the season after he would be back to himself and at 35 that is likely too late. I have to say as a Kerry supporter, he was the deadliest inside forward in the last decade. a pure poacher. I used to sh*t my jocks if he got the ball around the 13 yard line when playing against Kerry. I wish Bernard all the best in his recovery.

woops (National) - 12/02/2018 17:06:12

Irish Recruits Should Learn The Anthem. - 2 Like(s)
The Irish Anthem in a full Croke Park...now that is when the hair stands up o nthe back of the neck As for Robbie Keane , I loved him. I had friends who despiesed him for some reason or another. Always the same thing he can only score against the minnows...That was untrue but also we dont have anyone anymore who can score against the minnows!

woops (ElevenASide) - 28/06/2019 15:20:34

Patrick McBrearty - 2 Like(s)
great performance by Mcbreaty.. up there with Bernard brogan as the best corner forward in the country at the moment

woops (National) - 30/07/2016 17:57:41

Monaghan V Kerry - 2 Like(s)
Well done to Monaghan. You played us off the park on Sunday apart from injury time. The goal start made it very tough for us to get a handle on the game just like Donegal 1/4 final in 2012. There some elation with the last minute goal by Clifford. But over the last few days for me that elation has more or less subdued...I can't see Monaghan going to Galway and losing. Be it be a a win for Mon or a draw I think Kerry are gone. I will leave my ranting against Fitzmaurice for another day.

woops (National) - 25/07/2018 14:29:25

David Clifford to surpass the Gooch? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's the rest of the country that's hyping up Clifford, if you look back through all the Clifford threads you'll see that. We know more than most that great minors don't always make it to senior level as we saw with jack ferriter Barry John Walsh and paddy curran and maybe even killian Spillane. No Down here we're just glad David has decided not to go to oz and that he'll stay here and try and make us a better team if he can."
F**k me Vishred...if any county has learnt about hype vs reality it is Mayo!

woops (National) - 13/10/2017 08:28:13

Corofin V Dr Crokes - 2 Like(s)
Good to see Buckley cleared. It was a pathetic decision to see him red carded in the first place. Not as bad but nearly as bad as to the Corofin full forward who got sent off in last years semi against the Kildare crowd. As for Gooch playing....I think his days are coming to an end and likely may not see him until the last ten mins.

woops (National) - 01/03/2019 13:37:10

Mc Stay Resigns! - 2 Like(s)
For his own sanity it is prob the best. he did a great job with Roscommon but took an awful lot of flak from inside of Roscommon from the likes of Gay Sheerin etc. Roscommon are one of those teams who are very attractive to watch o ntheir day with some lovely forwards but overall the team is lacking depth and are prob stuck between a rock and a hard place..too good for Div 2 but not good enough for Div 1 and the bigger teams in the championship.

woops (National) - 06/09/2018 08:47:37

Mayo V Galway - 2 Like(s)
Potentially match of the year so far. Hopefully both teams will go hammer and tongs at it. For Kerry, I think Galway would be easier than Mayo , but if Galway still stick with their negative stuff I hope mayo beat them out the gate. Expect a close encounter but possibly Mayo to get over the line.

woops (National) - 06/07/2019 15:54:38

Bernard Flynn v James Horan - 2 Like(s)
Flynn knows how to go about to win an All Ireland. Unfortunately Horan and O Shea do not. Nice to see some good aul fashioned sledging between analysts, even though the sledging is as bad as some on this forum!!

woops (National) - 24/05/2017 13:14:04