Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from TheHermit

No More Cheap Shots from Dublin And Kerry - 12 Like(s)
Yes that would be good, for example I can't see how bringing up Dublin's massive financial advantages or home games etc etc in a discussion on the GAA and where it is going is "insulting" to anyone - it's a fact. Bias as I am, but for me the Dublin posters are the worst offenders in all this, constantly goading Kerry, insulting the county's past AI's as well as their players and of course posters. For example lately there is all this stuff being posted about Donaghy somehow being a professional during his playing days? I'd like to add that a very vocal Dublin poster has been on here before laughing at injuries his team inflicted on a young opponent, surely that is red card territory? As regards the above, I'd also have my suspicion that some Dublin posters are also working as moderates on here judging by what some of them are allowed post so again this needs to be called out if it is the case.

TheHermit (National) - 06/01/2020 11:44:28

GOAT - 11 Like(s)
Must be great WiFi on the Hill :D Equalling a record doesn't make you better esp when another county has done it twice.

TheHermit (National) - 02/09/2018 17:23:56

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 11 Like(s)

Replying To superbluedub:  "Another nonsense post kid , undefeated in Kerry since 1995 !! . yea beat hurling Counties and a Tyrone team in 2012 well past there best , when did you beat Mayo Sligo and Longford at home in the championship ? as for beating Dublin in a neutral ground , whats wrong with you kid , we are discussing Kerry being undefeated in Kerry since 1995 -:)"
Yes sure Cork have won nothing in football and were never a top team :) The more posters like yourself and your buddy Joker (a perfect Nom de plume there) attempt to talk about anything GAA related outside the capital or pre 2011 for that matter, the more your ignorance shines through. Give us a few more red thumbs there lads, there's about 5 or 6 of ye who would dispute someone typing Dublin is the largest urban centre in Ireland these times, ha ha.

TheHermit (National) - 02/07/2019 22:56:16

Kildare Maintain Underage Superiority In Leinster - 10 Like(s)
So it's not enough to post this in every second thread already going, you post up a new thread specially too? And they wonder why this forum is going to pot and is little more than the Dublin only club at this stage...

TheHermit (National) - 06/07/2019 22:52:13

Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals - 10 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Wow Sean didn't hold back; Thoughts posters?"
I can't think of any player who has tried so hard and so fast to completely wipe the memory of what a great footballer he was with the petty and frankly foolish punditry he has indulged in both on RTE and for whatever red top gives him a set of crayons. To call it 'patronizing' that Kerry fans after a game wanted to show Mickey Harte some solidarity and support after a horrific time in his private life is a truly disgraceful comment. What should we have done Sean, hiss and boo at you all after the match? I'm sure you'd never have written an article then! I hope our young team can serve up a big dollop of humble pie this weekend for his next appearance on the Sunday Game...

TheHermit (National) - 11/07/2019 13:02:33

Who Can Challenge Dublin In 2019 - 10 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Ah come on lad, throw us an auld congrats there will ya, and maybe the hermit will follow suit :D"
Congrats to Dublin and joining an elite bunch of counties in achieving 4 in a row. It shows that this team have a remarkable hunger undiminished by so much success - really speaks to an amazing culture being cultivated in that dressing room. But let's be honest, the reason the rest of the GAA world is so pessimistic and depressed is because Dublin represent something Gaelic Games have never seen before. Comparisons with previous Kerry teams of the Kilkenny hurlers are wide of the mark. It's not a case that this is just a remarkable bunch of 10 of 15 players who, once they retire, will see Dublin slip back into the chasing back as happened with other successful teams before. Dublin are now a semi-professional outfit operating at another level to every other county, even the likes of Kerry, Cork, Tyrone etc. They have a massive support structure in terms of facilities, financial backing, backroom expertise that no other county can match, short of bankrupting themselves. Look at what Mayo have been spending on their senior team trying to keep up. Highlighting this is not bregudgery or spreading falsehoods - it is simply telling the truth. If it was Kerry benefiting like this, Dublin fans would be up in arms along with the rest of the country and rightly so. If the powers that be inside Croke Park maintain one team up on a pedestal like this how does that reflect one the overall ethos of the GAA today. I know people are sick and tired of hearing all this but it is a huge issue, perhaps the most critical issue, facing the GAA and it is not going away. As someone above said it really is time the other County Boards presented a united front to Croke Park and forced them to end the treatment of Dublin GAA before we are here in 10 years time watching a Dublin team win it's 12th All-Ireland in 15 years.

TheHermit (National) - 04/09/2018 11:22:31

All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For? - 9 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "IT is indeed. I think there are a couple of factors at play. 1. Most neutrals would love to see a a radical shift in the status quo. If Kerry think that the rest of the country are craving a Kerry win on the basis that change is good they are mistaken. Kerry have won 37 times and another Kerry win would just be like a routine changing of the guard. It would be like swapping seats on the Titanic. If Dublin were playing Mayo, Cork, Galway or say Down, then I think most posters would support them rather than the Dubs. 2. I really believe there was a time when Kerry were the aristocrats of football in the sense that could win matches based on skill and athleticism alone. They were tough but not 'dirty'. I think there is a perception that those in influence in Kerry football believed that in order to match the toughness of Tyrone or Donegal that they had to change this perception of themselves as a clean team. Hence the frequency with which recent Kerry teams have got themselves embroiled in brawls and the 'dark arts' in an effort to 'put it up' to other teams. I think it's unthinkable that in the 80s or 90s a Kerry player would fishhook an opponent. This may have altered our perception of them to the point where the tag 'aristocrat' no longer seems appropriate. I mean no offence when I write that it's just that is how I see the evolution of Kerry teams over the the past decade. 3. I don't think HS is representative of the feelings of the country at large. This is a place where debate can get lively and people get defensive of their own counties. Unfortunately some of us go overboard and some of the posts by Kerry posters in particular seemed quite bitter and their claims unjustifiable. As far as I know Cluxton, Jack Mcaffrey, Brian Fenton et al. went to their jobs this morning. They are not professional footballers. Fact. I think it's regrettable also that some Kerry posters believe that a Dublin win spells the end of GAA football. Would they have been saying that in 1982 had the won the five in a row. They went on to win the next three All-Irelands from 83 on. That would have been 9 in a row. Would that have been good for football? The notion that the GAA wants Dublin to keep winning for financial reasons is utter nonsense. Continued Dublin success will affect the gate receipts. If money was the bottom line surely they'd go all out to stop the Dubs 4. The Kerry attempt to raise concerns over the appointment of David Gough left a bad taste in a lot of peoples' mouths. Kerry fans may feel they have a case but to other fans it seemed like a cynical ploy to influence Gough in advance of the final. Sin a bhfuil.."
Good God but that is some piece of writing!!!!! To think a supporter of a team that choke-holds players, and systematically drags down all their opponents on kick-outs is preaching against the dark arts of Kerry. A fishhook from 10 years ago and not a word of Philly or Johnny Cooper :D Anyway, look this place is La La land. Never in all my years going to GAA games have I meet any hatred of Kerry except from the odd Mayo fan. But this forum seems to be overrun with Kerry bashers and its due to a number of factors IMO: Probably more Dubs on here than any other county and they hate being reminded by us of the unfair ways so much of their success has been achieved by. Someone called it 'bitter tripe', my friend all we are doing is telling you the truth that is out there in black and white if you choose to open your eyes to it. Money plus Home advantages = greater chance of winning, its not rocket science!! You've got Dub posters masquerading as being from other counties for whatever joy or entertainment that gives them. You've got your typical a$re kissers and people who just like to attract themselves to success who'll laud whoever is winning and at the minute its Dublin. You've got the substantial we hate Kerry brigade on here embittered by years of defeat at the hands of Kerry teams. Finally you've got the whole Stockholm syndrome - it's very easy for many people, particularly those in the rest of Leinster, to convince themselves Dublin are the greatest sports team of all time to cover up their own counties failures. It's a comforting thought to go 'sure look even if we were doing everything we could, this side is so brilliant it wouldn't make any difference' etc etc. So threads like this come as no surprise. For the good of the GAA and everything it was meant to stand for, Kerry need to win on Sunday. But my fear is, even if we do, the GAA will simply point to the result, say they'res no problem here and continue to pile money and advantages at Dublin's door.

TheHermit (National) - 29/08/2019 10:46:38

Clifford's Red Card - 9 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Aithníonn ciaróg, ciaróg eile. 'Dublin controlled WUM fest' - get over yourself. You brought your Dub/Kerry p*** antics into this thread. No one else. There have been plenty of threads on here for you to have your little rants with the other WUMs. Some Kerry posters can engage with topics without boring everyone else with your idiotic and pathetic crying."
Was the opening post not a Dub talking about David Clifford having a temperament issue as if one red card in a club match is proof of this. What's wrong with me pointing out a recent game where his jersey was literally torn off his back to illustrate what he puts up with? But because the culprits were the Dubs, a fella like you piles in the minute a Kerry poster says anything. Ye lads shout down and insult anyone and seeing as some of the admins masquerade as Dub posters ye can do it yer heart's content. This is just another thread trying to get a rise out of people. Pee antics indeed, and you lads are welcome to them.

TheHermit (National) - 04/09/2020 12:34:34

Interesting picture from Sunday's game - 8 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "http://www.sportsfile.com/id/1208243/

Kerry and the dark arts. Who'd have thought it.

What do ya think of that then ?"
You know there's a way you conduct yourself in victory as well as defeat that tells a lot.

For example setting up this topic and as justification posting up a photo of Walsh with his mouth open to Cluxton.

I suppose from your vantage point you missed the dirty stroke Small pulled as he was being substituted at the same time as Donaghy was coming off? Classy stuff, I was three rows behind the Dublin subs and everyone around us saw it as clear as day.

But I suppose you don't want to talk about that sort of thing do you? It wouldn't sit well with the whole heroic Dublin and evil Kerry theme you want to indulge today.

You won the game, we lost. We accept our defeat and we go home and lick our wounds for the winter ahead.

When we win we don't spend a week on here posting up gloating threads and when we lose we don't come on here b*tching to all and sundry.

In the aftermath of Sunday's game we could be on here starting topics about referee selections, decisions, Dublin's 'Dark Arts' etc etc but we don't.

We don't because we are Kerry people and we know that in the grand scheme of things you win some and you lose some but there's always another game, another championship, another All-Ireland down the road.

So Waynol why don't you grow up, be grateful you have a great team to support at the moment and be a bit gracious in victory.

TheHermit (National) - 01/09/2016 10:52:34

David Gough To Referee The Final - 8 Like(s)
I'm just going to say the below one last time and then leave it there because there's no point talking anymore now that the decision has been made. Kerry will just have to grin and bare it and move one. However as a general principle: How would Dublin react if the man in the middle was some fella from Cork or Limerick who lived in Tralee, was essentially a member of Strand Road having thought in the school connected and right next to that GAA club, had been previously photographed after an All-Ireland win with players of the team and the Cup and finally had been allegedly invited into Kerry training sessions that very summer to take charge of practice matches. I mean if people can't see a conflict of interest there (unintentional as it might be on the part of the official) than you'd have to wonder! How can someone so heavily involved at club level in a competing county and working and living there be expected to be seen as impartial. For the next 3 weeks he will be in Dublin during the buildup and will face the consequences of his actions every day for months after in the capital. And you are telling me that, even at a subconscious level, that can't and won't have an impact? In the run in to the 2015/16 Premiership title race a ref appointed to one of Leicester's games was stood down because he had, in a private capacity, attended one of their games as a spectator earlier on that season. That was the only link he had with the club and yet the Premier League felt the need to stand him down, he had absolutely no issues with it and neither had Leicester or any of the media. And yet in the GAA we have the above. How far we have regressed in 90 years. In the early 1930s Cavan objected to playing Kerry because a Munster ref was appointed and the official was duly changed. That was a common enough back then and it was understood that ref's often needed to be changed depending on teams drawn to ensure impartiality. Like I said, I'll say no more now on it as there's no point. It's just another pothole placed in front of Kerry on the road to trying to stop an inevitable 5 in a Row.

TheHermit (National) - 14/08/2019 12:54:23

Sean Boylan Vs Jim Gavin - Who Is The Greatest? - 8 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Very well written articulate post. I don't agree with it much however. There is a difference in having a defensive system and playing a blanket defence. 15 men behind the ball for the majority of the game is different to having corner forwards covering. Dublin have hybrid players, players who can play across the lines, both offensively and decisively. We have very offensive defenders, McCaffery, Murch, McCarthy, Cooper, Philly. It underlines my point in regard to the collective unit, creating space and movement teams can't cope with. Look at last years finals, the Dublin half back line tore Kerry to shreds, covered by the half forwards and enabled by the gaps created by Jack Barry marking Fenton and Fenton moving him out of the central channel. Tactically Kerry were beaten by Fenton and the space he created for the half back line, I always smile when I hear how well Barry does in Fenton. Is there a more attacking back line then Dublin's, I think not or contributed so much in offensive play in big games. I would also disagree on Dublin being boring, I've said this before but much of the Championship in a labor love, it's not a competition it's a turkey shoot, it's pointless and past it's sell by date, the players look bored, play in third gear and fans are waiting for the real stuff to start and hope for a competition sometime in August. We are the biggest game for everyone, everyone isn't the biggest game for us. I'd agree with you to an extent, Dublin were risk adverse increasingly so in Gavin's last two years, but I do think I that was the product of the blanket, as every team started to spoil, holding the ball, working high percentage shots and guarding against the counter, became the only way to beat the blanket. I go back though to making a game being a 50/50 proposition - teams never opened up and went for Dublin. You mention the Leinster final last year, Meath didn't score until the end of the first half because all their men where in their own half. The semi Vs Tyrone 17, when they didn't know what to do when a Dublin wouldn't gift them pocession was an embarrassment. Kerrys blanket hanging on for dear life against 14 raging Dublin players in the first game they couldn't contain, Dublin 6 points ahead confidently knocking ball in front of the Kerry blanket with ten mins to go, at least come out and try and play and not allow a five in a row - no. I suppose in many ways it's great compliment, there hasn't been another team, that other teams have feared and tried every game just to spoil. Mayo to be fair to them went down fighting. Since then the opposition need to ask themselves deep questions. It was a tad bit more expansive and opposition teams were that bit more open up to maybe 16 it changed after that I think, Dublin were breathtaking offensively before I think games involving Dublin became about the blanket dynamic after the 16 final. Why was this the case, because teams knew going head to head they would be pummelled. As for Mavericks, jeepers that's mad, Dermo, Jack, Alan, Cluxton, Macker, Crazy Horse, Murch the little scamp, they all have their own cults up here. But I can understand people from other counties, we're outstandingly successful, we're still here and have dominated for so long, I can understand most of the country having Dublin fatiuqe and wanting to fire shots, or balm their insecurities. It's natural and understandable."
Whatever about Dublin fatigue, your good self reached saturation point years ago. Still your mind numbing essays returning on here and least signals we must be winning the old war on Covid, eh doc?? As a wider point it's good to see that after the hype of the 5 in a row has settled down, Dublin's success is now being seen for what it is by the wider GAA world. This, * my Dublin friends is an asterisk. You'll spend the rest of your lives getting acquainted with it :D

TheHermit (National) - 23/05/2020 12:11:48

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 8 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jimbo has been beating off imaginary Kerryman since 2008."
I'd say Jimbo's biggest enemy is within, scrolling through his posts ;D These Dublin lads are getting their jocks in a twist no end about a bit of praise for a 20 year old from Kerry, why oh why could that be? On another note, how do the two usual Dubs who I presume (perhaps naively) are grown men have so much time that they can spend their whole week on here writing essays for posts and filling threads with endless replies??

TheHermit (National) - 08/11/2019 19:28:58

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Kingdomson:  "All the Dublin games will be shown live and the only Kerry game scheduled to be shown live is their game against Dublin. Not sure for Tyrone. We're all equal officially of course but some are more equal than others. Money talks."
Yerra surely lads the penny (pardon the pun) has dropped for all of us at this stage. It's not the GAA anymore its D-GAA :D

TheHermit (National) - 23/01/2019 13:50:53

Kerry V Dublin - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ah , sure you'll probably get subsidized for that misfortune. Poor farmers can claim for pretty much anything now. The Dubs will fork out for ye again. Great little gravy train."
Sure isn't half of Dublin sitting at home on Government subsidies that are paying for their sky sports packages :D

TheHermit (National) - 07/02/2019 13:25:19

AOS - A passenger who cost Mayo All Irelands - Brolly - 7 Like(s)

Replying To why:  "So players ability is based on if they would make the Dublin team or not? How long did you play inter-county football for? Seeing as you're such a great judge"
Ah now, don't be expecting too much from poor old Liam. I mean this is the same fella that has given us such classic topics on here as the ongoing disgrace that Cluxton wasn't footballer of the year every year since 2011 or the disgrace that Dublin don't have 15 All Stars every year Sure even Gooch or Maurice Fitz in their prime wouldn't get on this Dubs team don't you know. Eoghan O'Gara, mind, is one of the most outstanding talents of his generation ...

TheHermit (National) - 27/01/2018 13:48:44

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I love the general sweeping statements. "All involved need to stop embarrassing themselves in denying the link between money and success." Sure anyone can say things like that or: "All attempting to link money and success are bitter, jealous and trying to protect themselves from a harsh reality that their county is poor at football and need to stop embarrassing themselves." I immediately switch to low brow click bait journalism when I read statement in articles like that. GAA journalism is going through its worst ever period in my opinion, in general not just commenting on Dublin. I miss Eugene McGee in particular on a Mon. Dublin are box office though, so comes with the territory. You can only grin."
Jesus Wept if this lad is anyway representative of the modern Dublin fan the GAA as we know it is truly fecked. At least his posts are getting shorter :D

TheHermit (National) - 29/06/2019 23:20:54

Things That Seemed Ridiculous At Start Of Decade That Actually Happened - 7 Like(s)

Replying To lilylanger:  "It really does seem to kill you Kerry lads that you don't saunter to an all Ireland final every year by playing 3 or 4 matches. Bitterness indeed. This is spot on! It's why I have no time for the Kerry supporters i know and the majority of the online boys."
Whatever ya Dub ya, happy new year ;)

TheHermit (National) - 31/12/2019 21:02:53

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 7 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah man whatever you say lol You've been proven to be talking out two sides of your mouth thanks to simply posting your own words in comparison. I see you just couldn't resist further tin foil hat wearing nonsense Id honestly say it's more to accomodate broadcating timings but hey ho.. you keep going with your conspiracy theories Again man, save your psychology for dummies psycho babble.. some night call that "projecting" But please take a little care belittling mental health in such a manner. Thankfully I don't suffer from such a disease but theres plenty of here that might so slag me off all you want but go easy going down that road. No need for it."
Ha ha, good look finding that high horse your trying to climb up on ;D

TheHermit (National) - 09/11/2019 16:50:20

Clifford's Red Card - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Class post and no messing or yerra yerra......although be careful or you'll be accused on actually being from Dublin who claims to be from the country."
That Mes fella was talking about all things pathetic on here last week, but is there anything more pathetic than a fella masquerading as someone from another county and getting his other profiles or his cronies to complement him and have conversations with him!!! Surely to God ye have some work to do during the day? Then again some of ye are the moderators too - God help us!

TheHermit (National) - 09/09/2020 13:41:33

2019 Division 1 League Final. - 7 Like(s)
This really is a hard game to call especially as Mayo handed Kerry their only defeat in the League. A more battle hardened and physical Mayo were able to impose themselves on a younger Kerry team that night and yet the weather was so appalling that the match became a lottery and in the end, for all their dominance, Mayo only won by a late goal. Will a dry day and the expanses of Croke Park further underline Mayo physical advantages or conversely will it work to the advantage of a pacier Kerry side? It's set-up to be a great game. I also think a lot of Kerry supporters will travel to it so we should have a decent crowd, esp with the hurling beforehand. From a Kerry point of view I'm delighted to see our young lads getting to play a serious rival, in front of a big crowd with silverware on the line. This really should have a championship intensity to it and could be Kerry's last serious examination before the Super 8's if Cork and Tipp's trajectories keep on their downward spiral though Clare might offer more a challenge. Given that this rematch with Mayo comes so soon after our last clash its going to be fascinating to see how much Peter Keane and the players have learnt from the reversal in Tralee. The one lesson I hope they have learned is the need to stand up to the physical challenge Mayo represent. AOS bossed our lads around in Tralee and can't be allowed impose himself like that again. It's up to the likes of Jack Barry to take the game to him. Midfield remains an array of concern for Kerry and we lack cover here. Tralee proved Mayo have the advantage in the middle and we need to negate that. But we have forwards that should cause any defence nightmares and if they click, as they did at times in Roscommon, we should have a great chance. Overall, I think this game could tell us a lot of how close or far away we are from being serious contenders this summer. I also expect Keane to stick with the players that have got us this far so while Clifford and possibly JOD could start, the rest of the team will be similar to what we have seen all League. For Mayo, its excellent work to make a final after rotating so much of their team over the seven games and given that dip against Dublin and Galway. While I know the League is a secondary concern for them and us, I would echo other posters and wonder why Mayo would not be going all out now to win this game. The psychological impact of claiming national silverware in Croke Park for a side that have lost so many finals here cannot be underestimated IMO. For me its too close to call, but I expect this Kerry team to turn up and perform, unlike the last time we crossed paths with Mayo in Croker! I also expect them to fight to the end, as Keane has certainly instilled this admirable trait. Really looking forward to it now.

TheHermit (National) - 26/03/2019 16:08:31