Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from as_ky

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 15 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Would ya look at the ladies gossiping :) The Connolly incident was turned into a complete circus and the incident was greatly over blown on purpose. Because of the player in question. Spillane went hell for leather to hang Connolly. Brolly was smart enough to expose his self serving agenda. A nothing incident was turned into a circus and tbh.. Lads talking about sponsors won't be happy? Dublin just gave a master class to what would have been the largest TV share on Irish TV over the weekend. I reckon they'll be happy enough At the end of the day, they are perfectly entitled to not speak to the media. Now I know Dublin looked good today and I'm sure some Kerry folk won't have enjoyed that but please... at least try to hide your displeasure Sure Dublin are a team in transition now while missing a large amount of top class lads through injury Don't be getting your knickers in a twist"
Sure you should show solidarity with your manager and take a vow of silence yourself.

as_ky (National) - 25/06/2017 20:15:44

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 12 Like(s)
Dublin refusing to do interviews with rte after the connolly ban. Absolutely petulant

as_ky (National) - 25/06/2017 18:42:59

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Marse:  "He did accept the ban."
He appealed the ban

as_ky (National) - 25/06/2017 22:27:20

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Marse:  "It's because Spillane went after Connolly in a predetermined manner, reading what seemed like a statement, Spillane's intent was malicious and self serving. Sky mentioned it after the game too, but they were not nearly as pointed as Spillane."
I imagine all analysts if they are to be any bit professional will have notes taken before the show. I would rather they have done there homework than to just go ad lib on the show. I honestly don't get what dublin fans wanted. The incident was all over social media. Were the Sunday game just meant to ignore the attention it was getting. Pat Spillane and colm of Rourkes job was to analyze the game and that's what they did.

as_ky (National) - 25/06/2017 22:31:18

Brolly on Gooch - 4 Like(s)
Up there with Dunphy's anti ronaldo campaign when he played with United. Brolly like Dunphy is a lazy journalist, just throws out attention grabbing headlines with little to no research done. Gooch was Kerry's most pivotal player last decade. He spearheaded a team who made 6 all irelands in a row, a feat we are unlikely to see again in our life time. Without him kerry wouldn't have had the same success. While kerry were at the peak of their powers brolly said kerry don't win games when teams put it up to them, this in mind being a team who haven't lost a championship game in kerry since 1995, cork always put it up to us, a team that has a 100% record in the qualifiers and a team that made 6 finals in a row. Brolly is a bad analyst, adds little to debate about the actual games and just sidetrack onto some controversial subject that will give him the attention he craves

as_ky (National) - 10/04/2017 12:31:32

Kieran Donaghy is Immune to refereees - 3 Like(s)
Seemed to be a bit of handbags, if I remember correctly connolly got a ban overturned for pushing a players face as opposed to punching. Wasn't much more than a yellow card offence. If it's deemed as a red the winners of the Tyrone Armagh game will struggle to field a team in the semi. On another note, the Witch hunting that is going on this year is a bit shameful. Not something that is welcome in the game

as_ky (National) - 31/07/2017 12:56:03

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Very solid if sometimes nervous performance today. That experience will be massive for our young lads and I think with less nerves the next day they will be more clinical. In saying that, a lot of our sides were from difficult positions, both today and in the Tyrone game we struggled to get into scoring positions until Tommy came on. I think he needs to start the next day and I think you will get a better return from Clifford if he is playing off Tommy as opposed to being the target man himself. The high press cost us the goal, something that can be worked on and rectified. Besides that we did well to nulify the goal threat from Dublin. Our backs showed what fantastic footballers they are as they were comfortably able to play the ball out through the Dublin press. We need a good bit of work on the kick outs though as we made life a bit tough for ourselves at times. I wouldn't say it was Kerry that missed an opportunity today against Dublin due to them being down to 14 because Dublin will never face a Kerry team to miss so many goal chances. I would be confident we can return to Croker in 2 weeks with that extra little bit if experience and finish the job

as_ky (Kerry) - 01/09/2019 19:52:01

Failed drug test - 3 Like(s)
A non story. Ban has been served, accepted it was unintentional.

as_ky (National) - 28/05/2017 11:44:49

New Manageral Options - 2 Like(s)
I think it would be best we go for someone who has management experience at senior inter county football. So you have four names on that basis, Jack, pat O'Shea, Liam Kearns and John Evans. With regards Jack he obviously has the prior experience of managing Kerry but already has had 2 bites of the cherry and if stories are to be believed he is on his way to kildare anyway. Not sure exactly what happened with Pat O'Shea while he was in charge but seemed far from rosey while he was there, no point speculating but would be surprised if he was given the nod. In saying that always felt like he got a bit of a raw deal. Liam Kearns had a fantastic season with Tipp last year and had them playing some great football with limited resources in what is very much a hurling county. Also he did well bringing through the young lads into that took team so for me he ticks all the boxes so would be happy to see him get it. John Evans has done well with bringing through young lads in roscommon and tipp, believe he was heavily involved with their underage set ups as well when he was there and did very well in the league with both teams. Unlucky not to have won a connaught championship against what was a very good mayo side. He is a kerryman through and through as well and would be happy if he got the nod. On a side not, if it is a case that cian O'Neill becomes available I would like to see him along with doney Buckley be brought into the backroom team

as_ky (Kerry) - 05/08/2018 21:36:03

The Kerry Fiasco - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Donegal were cack that day and didn't deserve it any more than Kerry. I can't believe people are still bitter about that 2014 win. Show me a team in history that didn't have a bit of luck along the way to an All Ireland. Back to Fitzmaurice. Some of the comments on the Kerry forum are OTT but this thread takes the biscuit. It's February, we have lots of injuries and lads unavailable and we have lost two close games against good teams. It's not the end of the world, and we often start the league poorly. If we crash out of the championship in the summer playing like we did yesterday then fair enough, it's time for a change. For now let's get behind our team and get off the managers back."
Whatever about the result and the missing players, tactics is something the manager can do something about! How can u defend him picking a half forward line that's more of a half back line? It's been negative from fitz ever since we lost to Dublin in 2013! As soon as kerry let expectations drop that's when we are in real trouble! Don't think the players we are missing are going to add much anyway, how many of them are under 30? If we went and had a go and lost I would get over it, but it's the putrid style of football he has adopted that is unforgivable! There is no way we are beating dublin under fitz, bringing Marc on last year as a 7th back when the game was level was the end of any faith I had in him!

as_ky (National) - 27/02/2017 19:04:38

League 2017 - 2 Like(s)
This 3 lines of defence has been in place since we lost to Dublin in 2013! Remember how woeful were in the first semi against mayo in 2014 against 14 men, we were out only for the miracle of miracles Donaghy returned to form at the perfect time! Donegal then surprising the dubs paved the way to an all ireland! In 2015 we were massively defensive against tyrone in the semis, could of very well lost against what wasn't a great tyrone, if we went at them we could of hammered them! Offered absolutely nothing then against the dubs in the final, kept trying the long ball to Donaghy and when that didn't work we kept trying the ball into Donaghy! Last year then we granted a gift of 2 goals but we're outplayed for 60 minutes! That much just seemed like kerry were trying to lose by as little as possible as opposed to trying to win, bringing Marc o se on for a corner forward towards the end went against everything kerry football stands for! We know what this summer has in store, long balls into Donaghy, we will get through munster because it is muck at the moment but after that we are there for the taking!

as_ky (Kerry) - 27/02/2017 12:19:47

Ulster teams a joy to watch. - 2 Like(s)
Well at least ulster teams have a bit of cop on. Kildare are naive, praised when the should of been criticised for taking on Dublin in a shoot out. Serious lack of tactics again yesterday, walked into Armagh hands

as_ky (National) - 30/07/2017 11:59:45

League 2017 - 2 Like(s)
What a depressing line up for tomorrow's game! Murphy back in the forwards, going to be the same defensive rubbish again

as_ky (Kerry) - 17/03/2017 20:37:44

Where to next? - 2 Like(s)
Will be interesting to see how we line up against Donegal, think there are a lot of positions up for grabs. Couple more options in goals, hope the decision is made early though and whoever is selected is given time to settle in. Defence, two certs I would have are Murphy and Morley. The other 4 spots are all up for grabs. Would hope to see Foley given the nod at full back as Griffin has never looked assured. Enright and Crowley have been a bit hot and cold, Enright had a nightmare against Mayo, lacking the yard or 2 in pace. Plenty of young fellas like o beaglach and Gavin white coming through, time they stepped up to the plate. Midfield is a funny one, I like Jack Barry so would have him as a starter. Moran has faded too often by the time we reach the end of August. Need another option, B.O'Sullivan could be an option there but that remains to be seen. If fitz was to throw a curve ball it would be to put griffin there, not a full back but has the attributes of the modern day midfielder, good strength, can offer cover to the defence and well able to carry the ball. With the forwards to make life easy I'm going to start with the full forward line. Geaney is the first man on the list, Clifford then, hoping of course he settles in during the league and at present JOD, another lad who has struggled with form the last few years though so will have to watch how he gets on. The half forward line then is the most important for me. Does Fitz go with more attacking options or does he go for lads who are better able to offer cover. Donncadh is the obvious first name but depends how he wintered, would nearly expect for him to be given an extended break. Sean O'Shea should be ready for a break out year so expect to see him feature a good bit. Not much to be gained from looking at Buckley, Darran, Lynn or BJK as we know what they can do so hopefully give some young fellas the chance. Mike Geaney gave a great display in the league final so depends where he is at. Then you have the two Spillane's who will be knocking on the door. Savage and McCarthy also showed well in the league last year. If we are going to be serious challengers this year though a couple of them will really need to have stepped it up a gear or two because on paper it's our weakest area. Wouldn't be surprises if there were a couple of other lads given a chance who I haven't mentioned. Most important is we blood the young players and put down the foundations for a team to carry us the next 10 years.

as_ky (Kerry) - 09/01/2018 23:25:13

Failed drug test - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Ignore Breffni lads he is obsessed with Kerry to an insane degree"
Sure sign things are going well in the kingdom when the begrudgers are out in force.

as_ky (National) - 30/05/2017 20:25:35

Championship 2018 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "We lads watched the Dublin game and they won at 75% throttle I am not great judge of football but are this Dublin team as good as our last 4 in a row team"
They look like a serious animal at the moment, hard to see Monaghan or Donegal stop them. Not going to make the Kerry job any easier who ever gets it if there first call of duty is to stop the Dubs doing 5 in a row. We will come again though, going for our 29th minor championship game win in a row today

as_ky (Kerry) - 12/08/2018 12:42:22

New Manageral Options - 2 Like(s)
Wouldn't be a major fan of appointing Peter Keane, the minor game is a lot different to the senior game. The minor game reflects more how the game used to be played but it's seriously tactical these days at senior level. I really think we need to appoint someone with senior inter county experience. If Peter Keane got a manager job elsewhere and did well then he definitely would be one for the future.

as_ky (Kerry) - 07/08/2018 12:30:01

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 2 Like(s)

Replying To kavvie:  "an armagh lad grabbed a down player by the throat nearly choking him late on in the armagh down game9clean game generally) and there wasnt a word out of them about it.which was the more serious incident? connolly is no angel but hes picked on..as was paul galvin and noel o leary in the past"
When Galvin got the ban for the finger in the mouth incident one of the cork lifted Gooch off his feet by the throat in the same game. End of the day, as with Galvin, if you are a high profile player with a reputation everything you will do will be under the spotlight. Like with Galvin, while they often got singled out they can only blame themselves for having no temperament. Connolly broke the rules, should of just accepted the ban and it all to end there and then

as_ky (National) - 25/06/2017 19:29:20

Championship 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Lads it was an absolute disgrace on Saturday when there were so many so called fans pouring out of Fitzgeralds stadium with 15 minutes to go. Despite the fact we were on the way out the least people could do was show a bit of support to the lads and what must have been the last appearance for some of our best serveants. With regards fitz, I actually think he played the best brand of football in 2013, think from then on he lost his way a bit, even in 2014 we looked short on identity and ended up resorting to depending on donaghy which worked out for us. With regards fitz, while a lot of fingers will be pointed at the Galway game this year I think where he really lost the support of the Kerry people was in clones. We needed to go up and win and the first thing any manager needs to do against monaghan is have a plan in place for McManus, from early on it was apparent we had none. That was unforgivable, hard to believe how he could have been so naive.

as_ky (Kerry) - 07/08/2018 12:42:19

All Ireland Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Sure Brolly wrote an article in February 2014 about how the Kerry production line was finished....haven't lost a minor game since. Donegal will be a proper test of our back line, able to break quickly with hard runs down the centre. We cope well with that and we are in a good place. Would think we have enough skill set in the forward line to deal with the blanket defence. Would like to see us continue to press the kick outs again. With one eye on Dublin, when Cluxtons kick out is pressed he always folds.

as_ky (Kerry) - 16/07/2019 12:17:56