Galway Forum

Popular Posts from galway19

Galway Football thread - 9 Like(s)
You can't beat the character of Sean and Paul Kelly having their grandmother pass away last night and then to pull on the maroon jersey today. Two savage lads.

galway19 (National) - 24/04/2022 20:39:12

Senior Club Hurling Championship 2019 - 4 Like(s)
Would have been much better to have the final in Athenry with a great atmosphere. It is not the same occasion in Pearse Stadium.

galway19 (Galway) - 29/10/2019 09:46:35

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sorry, why do we need to find room for Sweeney? He kicked the ball away to Mayo in the NFL at Castlebar in which they managed to get the score to draw the game and havent seen a whole of more of him since to justify this statement"
I take it you didn't see the Tyrone game?

galway19 (National) - 09/06/2023 14:50:28

Kerry National League 2020 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "I missed the game a couple of years ago in Tralee and in truth, under Walsh, Galway were putrid. How anyone with the talent he had at his disposal, could make them play such wretched defensive "football" is beyond me. Looking forward to seeing what a Galway team given more license to play their natural game will be like first hand. Along with ourselves, I don't think there is any other county that has traditionally played the game to such a high sill level as the Galway teams of old."
We are playing a lovely brand of football but our defence still wont hold up against any above average attack so I'd expect a fairly high scoring game with ye winning by a few points. Our main hope is that Shane Walsh has never been playing better than he is now.

galway19 (Kerry) - 30/01/2020 12:22:25

Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ahsure.:  "With young lads it's hard to get away from the hype, but Clare were fantastic. Then again it doesn't help when one of your selectors goes to the national papers the week of an All Ireland saying he will be "disappointed" if 7 or 8 of them don't have long term senior careers with Galway….."
We all know what that lad is like… headless stuff.

galway19 (National) - 04/06/2023 14:26:02

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "The suggestion being that the game in Wexford was fixed in 2019. If we were good enough that day in Parnell park it would not have mattered."
That's not the suggestion. There is no way Leinster GAA want one of their own teams eliminated before the last round of games which is why they hold that Kilkenny Wexford game until the end.

galway19 (National) - 03/11/2023 11:57:20

Linnane is some man for work rate. He easily won the battle with Noel McGrath. Great sign when McGrath got hooked. Fahy brilliant with dirty ball wins.

galway19 (National) - 24/06/2023 20:15:45

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Four points up in injury time, zero pressure on him, nice chip flick aside it was hardly Matt Connor in his prime"
You might have missed the eight points before the goal

galway19 (National) - 02/12/2023 20:19:32

Replying To puckemhard:  "It was great to see Eamonn O shea involved with the Junior hurling team in the Connacht League, was very impressed with a couple of players ,and one has to be commend the hurling board , a great idea and gives lads from the smaller clubs a chance to wear maroon. It shows the standard of club hurler in the county that they won it handy enough at the end. Saturday will be another chance for lads to show something in Parnell Park, no harm getting a win up there as we dont have the greatest record. Id imagine we will see 5/6 changes , and great that we have David Burke for this season again"
Whatever team does line out would want to be more tuned in than when we played them in this competition last year. Took a bad beating that day and we never seem to hurl well in Parnell Park. Would like to see Ian McGlynn and Alex Connaire involved if they are available and keep giving Donal O'Shea and John Cooney some experience.

galway19 (National) - 11/01/2023 15:06:17

Good news on Comer at least. No surgery required.

galway19 (National) - 08/02/2023 11:25:10

Very good win. Power, Sean Kelly and Sean Fitz all excellent. One of Cooke's more influential games and Finnerty looked sharp when he came in. Roll on Mayo. How in the name of god did the referee not give Sean O Shea a black card for taking Cooke out clean through on goal when he was the last defender?

galway19 (National) - 26/03/2023 15:39:10

Replying To Dunmore10:  "John daly is too slow kickin the ball, was blocked twice last weekend, he is nt good enough at centre back, maybe wing back but certainly not centre back"
I've heard it all now. Two below par games now mean John Daly can't play 6. He has been the best centre back in the country the last three seasons.

galway19 (National) - 21/02/2024 14:49:11

I think the Thomas' loss puts to bed any comparisons with the Portumna and Athenry teams. Those teams hadn't half as many poor displays outside of Galway as St Thomas' have now. Its a pity because they have dominated Galway but dont play anywhere close to decent in the all-ireland series.

galway19 (National) - 21/12/2022 12:27:19

Replying To 98galway:  "Galway championship team 2024: 1. Flaherty 2. McGrath 3. Kelly 4. Silke 5. Mchugh 6. Daly 7. Sweeney 8. Maher 9. McDaid 10. Tierney 11. Walsh 12. Cooke if available (Heaney if not) 13. Finnerty 14. Comer 15. Cunningham/Canney Thoughts on this team?"
That 15 spot is going to be an issue again this year. There is no good corner forward option to go with Finnerty and Comer unless you just put Sweeney there and he plays as an extra defender.

galway19 (National) - 31/12/2023 16:33:38

I know he has won every medal possible with Corofin but it would be mighty to see Daithi get his senior hurling medal on Sunday. He has been some leader for Turlough. Deserves a win in a final

galway19 (National) - 26/10/2023 21:09:32

Solid win but Dublin played no better than an average club team. Tiernan Killeen excellent, classy hurler. Donal O'Shea another good game with his scoring but also definitely won at least four turnovers by hooking Dublin players. Fahy made an unreal save in the first half.

galway19 (National) - 14/01/2023 18:41:25

I'd encourage anyone who hasn't seen this minor hurling team in the flesh to see them in the semi final on Monday in Tullamore against Dublin. They are a joy to watch. A lot of senior prospects on show, obviously Aaron Niland being the main attraction.

galway19 (National) - 27/04/2023 11:51:33

Henry surely learned a lesson today that we all knew already. Evan takes the frees and starts no matter what form he is in or where he is playing. He makes Conor Cooney look like a junior b free taker. Savage striking today. The only conversation that needs to be had about taking him off the frees is when the brother comes along to senior intercounty!

galway19 (National) - 28/04/2024 20:26:34

Jaysus lads I don't know what they are breeding in Mayo but it's good to know they are still as delusional as ever. Just heard the Ah Ref podcast with the Mayo lads who said they would be confident of beating Galway by six to ten points if we meet in the all Ireland quarter final.

galway19 (National) - 26/04/2022 11:55:12

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)
We need somebody in Turloughmore to find 14 more Daithi Burke clones. Some second half from him

galway19 (National) - 28/05/2023 15:41:59