Galway Forum

Popular Posts from Barnowl94

Kildare Vs Galway - 7 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Comer took about 11 steps ffs. clear as day why it was disallowed.. as for making it even for the red card, it was a red card... no complaints. both decisions spot on. Hurson having a brilliant game"
Comer was clearly fouled after he won the ball, free in all day long. Ref gave nothing to Galway after the red card in time honoured GAA fashion.

Barnowl94 (National) - 22/07/2018 16:22:26

Disgraceful Waterford - 7 Like(s)
The glorious Munster Hurling Championship indeed.Just the 20 points in it at the finish with not a dirty belt struck apart from the ones ignored . Wonder what Eamonn Sweeney made of it?

Barnowl94 (National) - 02/06/2019 15:54:39

Starting 15 For Championship (Hurling) - 5 Like(s)

Replying To festinog:  "It's an interesting point, considering there are teams in the much vaunted Munster championship who have been beaten more than once and are still in it. That said, we just weren't at the races this year and perhaps this kick up the arse was needed. Totally as an aside, a good mate bumped into several of the hurlers out for a few scoops last Monday night and he said you couldn't have met a more subdued, and clearly disappointed bunch."
They are a fine bunch of young men and we are lucky to have them. In the main they are still a young team, there is no reason that they can't come back and win again next year. Keep the faith lads.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - 24/06/2019 22:53:13

Connacht Championship 2019 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Galway are an extremely poor team and will not develop any further if they keep Kevin Walsh at the helm. They struggled to beat London and got a cuople of flukey goals to get past Sligo who have been abysmal for the last number of years. They have some good individual players like Shane Walsh and Ian Burke but the collective is underwhelming to say the least. Walsh has set them up based on their strengths but they play the worst type of football and will be no threat to any team in August. Full on blanket defences and lateral handpassing may be enough in Connacht but it wont win any All Ireland for Galway. Have been impressed by Mayo so far this year and hope they win Connacht for football's sake."
Sure you are a gas man fair play to you! Anyone who's team just got thumped in a National Final by legendary chokers Mayo has no business calling other teams "very poor". I have an oul watering can out in the garden with fewer holes in it than that Kerry backline. If Galway are a very poor team then there are an awful lot of poor teams around.

Barnowl94 (National) - 21/05/2019 13:00:41

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 5 Like(s)
Pretty sad alright.

Barnowl94 (National) - 25/06/2017 18:58:52

Kildare Vs Galway - 4 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Newsflash...you need to win the All Ireland to get respect. We in Mayo only know too well...I remember walking out of Pearce stadium after we hammerd ye in 2013...few Galway fans shouting "ye will ever win sam" laughing out loud...best thing is to ignore it and support your team."
Why I wonder were Galway people shouting that at ye? Was it anything to do with your own obnoxious behaviour on the day? They were right by the way, ye haven't won Sam! PS; Its Pearse Stadium.

Barnowl94 (National) - 20/07/2018 14:48:35

Referee confirmed for replay - 4 Like(s)
Bad choice. A ref from Munster or Ulster should have got the job.

Barnowl94 (National) - 20/09/2016 14:40:37

Confederate Flag - 4 Like(s)
A flag that is a symbol of racism, white supremacy, oppression and neo nazism has no place in any GAA grounds. Cork fans should stop using it. Now.

Barnowl94 (National) - 15/08/2017 23:08:14

Disgraceful Waterford - 4 Like(s)
Clare V Tipp in Ennis Ladies and gents. I rest my case.

Barnowl94 (National) - 02/06/2019 17:38:18

Mayo 2012-2017. 3Rd Best Team Of All Time? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "1. Kerry/Dublin 2. Kerry/Dublin 3. Mayo No all Irelands but does not tell the whole story. Had Kerry not been around 1980-84 Offaly would have won 3 Sams. Had Dubs not been around Mayo would have at least 2. I feckn love this Mayo team. Any other era they have 2/3 Sams."
How noble of you to admire a team that not once or twice but three times contrived to find a way to lose games to Dublin that they should have won. Spare me the BS and spare Mayo the empty patronising comment.

Barnowl94 (National) - 03/09/2018 10:20:11

Rory Beggan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To shaggylegend:  "There seems to be an agenda to make sure Rory Beggan is robbed of his all star this year. Rory has been simply magnificent all year for Monaghan, we wouldn't have made the semi final without him. He long range point scoring was simply out of this world. He kickouts were magnifant and gave Monaghan a massive platform which was the one of the key element of our season. Stephen Cluxton will go down as the best goalkeeper of all time, he had a brilliant year but Rory was on a level above Stephen this year. Don't rob the lad of his deserved award."
If he was so great why didn't he save Clifford's shot in Clones? Or Sludden's shot in the semi? Keeper's main job is to prevent goals after all.

Barnowl94 (National) - 03/09/2018 10:22:17

The McCann Ban - 4 Like(s)

Replying To kevin03:  "[quote=THE_SNAPPER:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0627/885998-burns-banned-for-12-weeks-for-kicking-ball-at-umpire/ The following was tTaken from the above 2017 article; "Louth's Ryan Burns has become the latest inter-county Gaelic footballer to receive a 12-week ban for 'minor physical interference with an official' after kicking a ball at an umpire in the Wee County's qualifier defeat to Longford." McCann must have friends in high places ?"
Why? The rules are clear on interfering with officials. 12 week ban. Previous eye gouge incidents have only got a 1 game ban so looks like McCann was hard done by."]Hard done by? You are a funny funny guy. Lifetime ban was deserved for what he did.

Barnowl94 (National) - 14/06/2019 19:19:18

Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "what has sportsmanship got to do with trying to win the most important match off the year for your team and your county? Quit whinging over nothing. If anything..doing something like that shows incredible sportsmanship, putting everything on the line to try and achieve for your county. If joe canning did it, there wouldn't be half the moaning out off you."
What a daft comment. What keegan did was totally unsporting.It is a sport we are talking about here not a war.

Barnowl94 (National) - 18/09/2017 10:28:47

Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "It's a total stitch up. Thurles is being given way more games than it ought to. It's had all the Munster championship games this year. It's being pushed as some 'mythical' shrine to hurling. The pitch is good...facilities are poor and the town is ...well...a small Midlands town. There's stadiums up and down the country crying out for a share of games."
Nail on the head. Big opportunity has been missed here. Tipp v Dublin should have been in Tullamore or Portlaoise. KK V Waterford in Wexford. The GAA arrogantly assume everyone loves Thurles. We don't ! The fact that the Dubs play mostly in Croker when it comes to football is (a) not their fault and (b) irrelevant.

Barnowl94 (National) - 04/07/2017 11:38:17

Dublin v Laois - 4 Like(s)
I would love it if Laois won, just love it!

Barnowl94 (National) - 30/05/2016 15:52:49

Should James Owens be sanctioned? - 3 Like(s)
Can't believe this situation. Gleeson should have been sent off, there is no doubting that. How would the game have gone if the ref did his job properly? I think it's reasonable to say it may well have been Cork who were celebrating last Sunday and not Waterford.

Barnowl94 (National) - 15/08/2017 23:04:04

Galway Vs Wexford - 3 Like(s)

Replying To patrick healy:  "It's lovely to get praise from a Wexfordian who must be saddened with his team. There is far too much bitterness and slagging of opposition teams especially on social media. We should never be too smug. I am 76 yo. and have experienced too many heart scaldings over my lifetime to be bitter. Let us celebrate the fact that Galway scored 5 goals at the weekend. Even the hurlers scored one! What are the odds on "Galway for the double" We should hang our heads in shame as a nation and a county, as I see a site in Galway has been earmarked as Ireland's first Abortatiourium."
This is a sports forum, leave it at that.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - 04/06/2018 21:32:05

Mayo V Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh now. Two very good teams??? That's stretching it a bit. One without a shed load of players through injuries and the other that won't leave their own half. For me it's mayo despite the amount of injuries, until Galway actually come up and go man to man , which is a pity as I have a soft spot for Galway (always have had) but their current way of playing is doing them no favors at all . Hopefully they will be allowed to take the shackles off and go for it. If they do they win. But I don't think management will allow that. Pity. But here's hoping"
God I would love it if the Clare lads put some manners on ye!

Barnowl94 (National) - 01/07/2019 21:26:37

Connacht Championship 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "13 point win for Galway but fair to say it was never a 13 point game. Galway only led by 2 points at half time then got two goals in a minute midway into the 2nd half and put gloss on the victory with 1-2 late on. Galway have home advantage for the final but I'll be surprised if they retain the Connacht title."
No surprise coming from you. We're you in Sligo today? Result never in doubt.Sligo played with 13 men behind the ball even when they had a strong breeze behind them which resulted in a poor spectacle. Connacht final will be a whole new ball game.

Barnowl94 (National) - 19/05/2019 18:36:01

Development of Tuam Stadium - 3 Like(s)

Replying To crafty:  "In all fairness Clifden, Renvyle and Leitir Mor havent contributed a lot to Galway football and the number of supporters travelling from these places wouldnt fill a bus. Tuam is the home of Galway football and always will be. On the day of the Connacht final once you left the Salthill area you wouldnt even know there was a game on. There is practically no support for football in Galway town."
Absolute hogwash.My first Connacht final was Galway hammering the Rossies in 71. There was bull talked about Tuam then same as now, mainly by people from Tuam or close to it. I've seen us play in Tuam in many occasions and seen us lose there on many occasions! I've seen our supporters outnumbered there too.Last January in the FBD game 90% of the crowd in Tuam were Mayo supporters. Furthermore some of the most loyal Galway supporters come from the outposts in Connemara.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - 22/06/2019 19:06:35