McConville on Dempsey's Mayo ticket

August 17, 2022

Oisin McConville. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Ray Dempsey’s hopes of becoming the next Mayo senior football manager have been boosted by the inclusion of Oisin McConville on his all-star ticket.

The Armagh great has been named along with former Mayo defender and dual star Keith Higgins, ex-Kerry goalkeeper Declan O’Keeffe and former All-Ireland winning Mayo minor manager Enda Gilvarry’s in the Knockmore man’s proposed backroom team.

Kevin McStay, Declan Shaw and Mike Solan are the other candidates in the race to succeed James Horan. RTÉ pundit McStay’s stellar backroom team features former Mayo manager Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Liam McHale and ex-Belmullet boss Damien Mulligan.

Ex-Dublin full back Paddy Christie, former wing back Richie Feeney, Sligo U20 boss Dessie Sloyan and another retired Sligo player, Cormac Rowland, are on the Shaw ticket, while Solan’s proposed backroom team comprises former Armagh All-Ireland winner Aidan O’Rourke, Sligo All-Star Eamonn O’Hara, ex-League of Ireland manager Alan Murphy and former Mayo player Mark Ronaldson.

Interviews for the post are ongoing.

Most Read Stories