Clare Forum

Popular Posts from Whestofthewest

Irish And The AFL - 4 Like(s)
How about everyone is an individual and should be allowed to play whatever sport they see fit when they see fit. Seems the most fair system instead of everyone telling lads were they should and shouldnt play and making them feel guilty for doing so. If I was good enough when younger and told "hey do you want to land down to oz for a few years in the sun, nice apartment, heavy wallet and a great lifestyle" i wouldnt be like others on here. I wouldnt have the willpower to say no to that and wouldnt have the strength to get up on my high horse and stay in Ireland for the chance to tog out in the rain before heading down to the same old local for a few.....but each to their own

Whestofthewest (National) - 18/09/2023 11:50:29

Best Wishes to Feargal Logan - 4 Like(s)
As a very proud Derry man and usual anti Tyrone man may I wish Mr. Logan well we are a small community in terms of the world and have to look after each other. Best of luck Sur!

Whestofthewest (National) - 06/02/2024 20:16:53

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Roscommon will beat the Derry B team on Sunday and will probably survive relegation. Looks ominous for Galway really. Best of luck to ye."
Roscommon wouldn't beat the steelstown team never mind a Derry b team. A county who always think they are 20-30% better than they are and who achieve nothing. As a Derry man living in Galway when I see a fela in a rossie top come into the var I leave. The absolute muck they talk is unbearable. But don't forget they got an all star so basically rhey should have won the all oreland last year. Just read back on this fourm. Post after post of excuse after excuse

Whestofthewest (National) - 24/03/2024 12:33:15

Irish And The AFL - 3 Like(s)
Good bit of nonsense about clubs training and developing players who then leave. What job in the world has staff they have trained who havent moved on for better wages?

Whestofthewest (National) - 23/08/2023 13:16:42

All Stars 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "Unfortunate to miss out would be Ciarán Murtagh."
Roscommon fans think they should have 16 (16, not a typo) every year FFS

Whestofthewest (National) - 29/09/2023 15:31:42

New Derry Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Aw well. Derry were going quite well too. It couldn't last forever I suppose."
Wally by name, Wally by nature

Whestofthewest (National) - 19/09/2023 11:27:57

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "My view on watching that game tonight is McGuinness and his players have put their full focus and effort towards the start of the league."
balls! fair enough we all know from various sources jim has them fit, fitness will win club games but every county team is fit and donegal just dont have the players, couldnt even compete with the glenn lads in derry missing

Whestofthewest (National) - 20/01/2024 21:24:06

Mickey Harte Leaves Louth To Become The New Derry Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "I started following the GAA in '98 and while I'm sure it happened occasionally I never saw anything like the shenanigans that his tyrone team got up to. Notably Phillip Jordans dive in the final against armagh that quite possibly won you your maiden all Ireland. Honourable mention also going to the Gooch being knocked unconscious and eye gouged in the 05 final and Tiernan McCanns antics against Monaghan. A great tactical manager yes, and he presents himself very humbly and he speaks very well,, but he's certainly not a man of integrity."
at least they wernt choking a fella out on the ground during a club hurling match i suppose

Whestofthewest (National) - 22/09/2023 12:15:45

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "He is gifting a much lower percentage of his personal wealth than most of us give to charity in any given year, and we all pay tax on top of that. Where is our write-up? If I didn't pay any taxes I would be donating a much more considerable chunk of my annual earnings to charities, like Donegal Hospice, SVP, Simon Community, and yes, I would spend more money on local GAA fundraisers. Philanthropy is a disease."
i dont give 1% of my wages to charity

Whestofthewest (National) - 14/12/2023 13:39:32

The Musings Of Tom Smith - 2 Like(s)
zero anthems would be better, only other place you see that done is in yank sports. We don't need to hear it at every single game especially played on some tape over some 30 year old PA system

Whestofthewest (National) - 18/10/2023 08:30:30

Mickey Harte Leaves Louth To Become The New Derry Manager - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Six figures?? Have the Saudis taken over Derry too?"
that fella wally is a wally, wouldnt listen to a word. seems the type who is 'well connected' but knows nothing

Whestofthewest (National) - 20/09/2023 10:11:22

Replying To Wally:  "And how exactly do you know that? I am from Tyrone, and live on the Derry/Tyrone border. Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media. Like it or not but external managers at club and county level are extremely well paid. The dog in the street knows this. If you think someone with the profile of Mickey Harte is going to manage one of this native counties most bitter rivals just out of the goodness of his heart then you are deluded. This is a retirement fund, no more, no less."
Im a steelstown man, grew up on the culmore road, lived there for 36 years and decided to move down here, family is all from plumbridge, my grandparents were ther original owners of the melon country inn outside omagh. I still have a few connections up in derry and tyrone and no one with any actual knowledge of the county has mentioned an figures except a few keyboard warriors, not yourself obviously, you clearly saw the contract and have enlightened us all

Whestofthewest (National) - 20/09/2023 14:17:46

"Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media." i believe i am the only person on this entire website who called this appointment last week......must have been all that facebook scrolling I do eh?

Whestofthewest (National) - 20/09/2023 14:24:03

Connacht More Biased Than Leinster - 1 Like(s)
Jaysis wept. The draw in the west is a joke, another final for Galway, Id love to beat london and sligo at a chance of silverware or wicklow or louth. Thank christ for ulster (usually) but Armagh were given another final next year ffs. Even the rugger lads admitted to a draw mishap this year, teams need to be seeded properly

Whestofthewest (National) - 27/10/2023 12:38:32

Was Joey Barton Correct When He Said Woman Should Not Discuss Mens Sport - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here from Cavan I have read that Joey Barton said and I quote . Controversial ex-footballer Joey Barton kicked off a fresh row yesterday when he suggested women commentators should not talk 'with any kind of authority' about men's football.He further added that Woman speaking about men in sport was akin to men discussing woman knitting Its a strong statement but no one better than Mr Barton to raise an issue that should possibly remain silent. It is noted that a lot the Oral news outlets use Ladies on the broadcast panel , I suppose its to extend the hand of friendship. Then again a lot of the Lady presenters are quite knowledgeable in relation to some sports"
and tom appears from his mother basement once again! Why bring up barton when on multiple past posts you complain about lads following and watching English sports? I really home you had a bad motorbike accident as a kid or something otherwise your dribble is just plain inexcusable tripe

Whestofthewest (National) - 08/12/2023 13:22:47

RTE Football Team/Player Of The Year - 1 Like(s)

Replying To hyperache:  "On exactly what basis should James McCarthy win POTY over David Clifford? There's a lot of talk about Clifford's performance in the final not been good enough, but McCarthy had a stinker in the final. Arguably could have been sent off too. People have just bought into the whole McCarthy winning his 9th All Ireland narrative and it has somehow catapulted him to the top of the pile. Nonsense. Fenton or even Cluxton were Dublin's best players this year. But how important is the final? I would say it's definitely a factor but certainly not the defining factor. The award has generally gone to a player from the winners, but not always. In 2010, despite not winning Leinster, and not even getting to the All Ireland Final - Bernard Brogan won player of the year for a couple of really good performances. He kicked 1-6 or so in the semis. Andy Moran and Lee Keegan won it in 2016 and 2017 despite not winning the All Ireland too - again for some brilliant performances throughout. Clifford's 2023 was similar to 2022 in terms of scoring, Kicked 0-5 against Tyrone, 0-9 in the semi-final, 0-3 in the final and directly assisted another 1-3 or so. Granted, he didn't meet his own high standards, but some of those wides he hit he rarely misses, another day he'd have hit 1-8 if he converted his chances. Elsewhere int he championship - In the group stage, 2-4 against Louth, 1-5 against Cork and 0-8 against Mayo. Those are massive scores to be putting up. I can't think of a game this year where I watched Dublin and thought McCarthy was the defining factor. Don't get me wrong, he had a very solid year. You could say that about Clifford though, he was outstanding in the semis, absolutely roasted one of the best defenders in the country. For me, 1: Clifford, 2: Fenton, 3: Cluxton."
"For me, 1: Clifford, 2: Fenton, 3: Cluxton" Think the Clifford hype is a bit OTT Dont think his point per game is even in the top 3

Whestofthewest (National) - 17/08/2023 10:38:34

New Derry Manager - 1 Like(s)
Brolly on X "this is the worst thing to happen to Derry since the plantation" funny out

Whestofthewest (National) - 19/09/2023 11:31:23

Mickey Harte Leaves Louth To Become The New Derry Manager - 1 Like(s)

Replying To PattyONeill:  "This news overshadowed the 30th anniversary of the 1993 final today. I am not too bothered who is manager as they will be in the latter stages next year regardless. When Gallagher left McGuigan said they they were a group that can manage themselves."
yeah that is called press script. He didnt actually believe that, it is something a player says in a transition period ffs. every team from under 12 to senior NEEDS a manager

Whestofthewest (National) - 19/09/2023 13:21:10

Irish And The AFL - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "You can't stop a professional organisation offering someone a job."
dont normally agree with dubs but you are 100%. the lads complaining about the AFL are lads that have never left their town nevermind their country and just have that strange irish thing of hating anyone doing well

Whestofthewest (National) - 30/09/2023 10:18:38

Championship 2024 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I think they should have lots of groups and do the alphabetically and have two teams qualify from each group to qualify for the real championship. Group A will only have Armagh so they automatically qualify as do Galway in group G. Kerry will be in group K with Kildare and Kilkenny so I fancy ourselves and Kildare there. Group C will have Cork Clare and Cavan and group T will have Tyrone and Tipp going through. Group D will have Dubs Down Derry Donegal lol and group M will have Mayo Monaghan Meath and so on. Now "Onahant what do you think of that""
I think Antrim might have a thing or two to say about that

Whestofthewest (National) - 16/08/2023 10:37:35