Clare Forum

Popular Posts from clooney

Louth V Meath Leinster Final - 7 Like(s)
Watched the Sunday game last night and they revisited that 2010 LFF that infamous goal by Sheridan that he handled into net he admitted last night that it should not have stood he diden't say that at the time. He was in square and handled ball in. Louth a tiny County waiting 50 years to be robbed like that a referee that woulden't even ask the umpire if you did that to Tyrone in their pomp your would not be safe. Meath were so unsporting them a huge County claimed that there would have to be changes to by laws ect dident the GAA order a replay after Coooney's mistake in 1998 and wee had to put up with it. Louth manager still hurting i wasent too impressed with Sheridan's smirking and postering on that day either.

clooney (National) - 15/06/2020 11:49:45

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "If the subject matter is too tiresome for you,ignore it or sleep it off,your analogies are not relative and not supportive of an alternate view and have already been dealt with here.You have come late to the party and I doubt if you read the whole thread,I know you are tired but that's no excuse for not being informed on the thread...lol!"
Who the hell do you think you are to tell what i am to think or say I am perfectly entitled to my opinion same as anyone else "on the ditch" that's you definately arrogant bore never did nothing in GAA or anything. Who the hell made up an expert ??????

clooney (National) - 08/02/2021 15:18:53

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Pity your derogatory pretext indicating your lack of interest in the subject and yet you posted on it without having read the thread,you just dived in and blurted out not knowing that what you wrote has already been dealt with!"
Arrogant A******

clooney (National) - 08/02/2021 15:55:07

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 4 Like(s)

Replying To browncows:  "Croke Park is in the city and has been there for over 110 years- Are there many residents there that long?. It is good to make use of the facility and its not like this activity was going on 365 days a year. Should we stop the traffic and the local trains! I would like to live beside CP and would be happy with 10 or 20 concerts a year. You are only a taxpayer when you are employed. You need a business to give employment with the result that you become a taxpayer. The GAA and indeed other sports support health and especially mental health and I would suggest that the benefits far out weight the small amount paid to these sports when compared with the billions going into our health service with multi layers of management. The GAA support small communities right across our country and Dublin GAA. As I have said before the majority of folk living locally have no problem, however if a guy goes around looking for signatures he /she will always get number up, as we as a nation are quite good at complaining and making claims- are we not close to world leaders."
What a sensible post this is when Croak Park opened up for Soccer & Rugby to accommodate the development of the Aviva a number of people i know were going on about Mick Hogan and Bloody Sunday ect but i know that if GAA haden't allowed this these very same people would accuse GAA of being Bigots. You cannot please all but the positives will far outweigh the negatives IMO

clooney (National) - 21/12/2021 10:03:03

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 4 Like(s)
Congratulations on a superb performance on Final Day. Really sorry to hear about Peter C massive loss to NAP & Limerick hope he makes full recovery

clooney (Limerick) - 30/08/2021 17:00:42

Louth V Meath Leinster Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Must be mixing me up. Seldom if ever comment on hurling. I don't like the game. I find it mind numbing and boring. (I know I'm in a minority) it's just not my thing, if it's urs fair play. One of my closest friends loves cricket, I don't like it. Each to their own is what I say. But I'd definitely seldom comment on hurling, as to be honest I wouldn't know enough about it to comment, if pushed I could probably name at most 3 hurlers in whole country and two of them would be from Meath. I know who Brian Cody is, and Davy Fitzgerald. I couldn't name any other managers."
Of course you are entitled to your opinion but as far as I am concerned if you think Hurling boring & mind numbing I feel sorry for you. I have read and listened to endless comments on Hurling including other Countries and never have I heard this comment perhaps you could not master the caman and could only kick the Big Ball

clooney (National) - 17/06/2020 10:41:30

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No I never heard. So we've only 31 counties now in the Island of Ireland."
To me the idea of Splitting Dublin inti 2 or 4 it getting tiresome Kerry won 78,79,80,81 and I know Offaly wont agree but Kerry should have done the 5 in row and if they had done so who is to say that they woulden't have gone on to win 8 because after that four in a row they won three in a row 84,85,86 if they had got the 5 well they might also have won in 82&83. Would we have suggested splitting Kerry then ? or Kilkenny who won so much in the noughties. I think that Dublin would agree that they had some very close shaves against Kerry & Mayo on their way to the 6 in a row so things could have been very different. Kildare & especially Meath have large populations access to Wealth Training ect need to put own House in order you can only play 15 have a panel of 30. Personally as a GAA Person prefer to see money going into coaching in Dublin if you don't the Rugby & Soccer will

clooney (National) - 08/02/2021 12:47:11

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Fishermantom:  "Loans red helmet or LRH. In fairness iv been a reader of these for along time and iv stopped posting now since I emigrated. But for a clare man I must say fair play to you. I remember you on this years ago when limerick were terrible and you were saying limerick had good young players coming through and to keep the head up. We bate clare today handy but it's rarely like that. As neighbours I'd rather ouselves and clare winning than Cork or tipp as the two of us are really the poor relations in munster. I just thought today ye caught this limerick team on a mission. They don't want to be one hit wonders. There a great team and hopefully when this limerick team are finished they will have a full trophy cabinet but I firmly believe clare team will be back next year. Ye have too many class acts not to be."
Fair play we had no answers to ye yesterday it will be a massive game V Tipperary best display i have ever seen from a Limerick team. Hope ye go on to win all ireland now

clooney (Limerick) - 10/06/2019 10:36:52

Healy-Rae Asleep At An All-Ireland And Ross Having A Cut - 3 Like(s)
Say what you like about the Healy Rays but they know how to look after their own kind in South Kerry He had a hectic schedule dosen't drink so was down to fatigue he is a hurling man as well as football so think it was a cheap shot to snap him at a weak moment in time.

clooney (National) - 21/08/2018 17:27:40

Slán Jim Gavin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gavin made the team think for themselves What happens on the pitch is player led too and as fans we're fortunate to have the style of player that can think on their feet and manage a game. In some ways I think this could be Gavin's last master stroke. A team that just won 5 may feel well what else is there to achieve? Now under New management you're going to have players hungry to break into the team and seeing an opportunity, pushing that bit harder in training and the established players will find it even more competitive thus carrying it all forward once again. Gavin leaving just lit a fire under the team at a time when it just might be needed. There's no doubt that Gavin's legacy will be clearly seen next year, he created leaders with game intelligence and the players will have a big bearing on making this transition easier for their new manager. The style of play will not change as the tactics work. The players know this, keep to the process and success follows. It's just about finding the right continuity I'm hoping it's a combo of Darcy and Jayo. No men understand the current ethos any better."
He was quiet simply a CLASS ACT on the line on camera hugely educated man never a wrong word no boasting or anything like that superb. Big loss to all GAA people

clooney (Dublin) - 02/12/2019 10:12:28

Do The Rest Of The Country Have A Point ? Where Do You Stand? - 3 Like(s)
Dublin can only field 26 on Match day same as everyone else they have got there House in order same as Kilkenny { Population 100,000} did in Hurling. Of Course Dublin has advantages in terms of Population but it population was the main criteria for success then Dublin Cork & Limerick would win most All Irelands in both codes If the GAA don't put in Coaches the IRFU & FAI will do so. The GAA is in the entertainment business & moving championship matches from Croak Park will deny them millions that is needed for can be used for coaching kids. Dublin happen to have a special team right now but Mayo & Kerry have ran them close sooner or later they will get beaten. IMO the GAA & Dublin are lucky to have this Dublin Team as they are brilliant role models for the youth no bad publicity now.

clooney (Dublin) - 07/12/2020 11:40:12

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "Spot on, Arock. The inconsistency is shocking. Refs chairman Willie Barrett is quoted in today's Independent as follows: "He (Barrett) said that all referees had been told to firmly clamp down on head high challenges. "What we have told our referees is that anything to the head is a red card."" Really? When were refs instructed to do this? Cos that ain't been happening in this championship!"
One think is for certain that there appears to be a lot of jealousy towards the Cats IMO best hurling team and management ever Henry Shefflin best ever hurler TJ not far behind I am sick off this politically correct Ireland we now have anyone that ever played GAA will know that its a physical game Officials/administrators ruining the game with their rules

clooney (National) - 23/08/2019 16:23:46

T J REID - 3 Like(s)
I have always held view that Henry Shefflin was best ever hurler but TJ Reid is well on way to competing for that title He is Robot like from frees straight over black spot each time sideline cuts catching clean ball and making space unselfish Brilliant attitude even though he is targeted gets digs he takes it in his stride. Would anyone agree Class act

clooney (National) - 09/04/2018 15:19:09

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Mayonman:  "I can accept Shefflin going with KK line but what is even more annoying is the other lads that agree it's a red "by the letter of the law". Its a red all day long by the letter, the spirit and every other part of the law! Hogan knew exactly what he was doing. There was nothing "miss timed by a fraction of a second" about the elbow. He nailed it."
Ah come on Hurling is a physical sport Barrett split Hogan earlier and his dander was up it was harmless enough Tipp player made a meal off it no doubt about it do we want to turn hurling into a no contact shootout, same referee send David Reidy of Clare off in Ennis last year in one off the worst decisions I ever saw. The Helmet protects players mostly so if we want to go down this road it would take any cut out off game. Brain Cody said you would want to be absolutely certain it was a red card and Referee clearly wasen't sure it RUINED game €90.00 + €7.00 for programme and then food & fuel massive outlay game was gone 10 minutes after half time. I know you will say not Referees problem but no common sense As Kilkenny play a traditional game they had no plan to work the lines it was route one to Liam Fennelly or TJ

clooney (National) - 19/08/2019 09:38:13

Louth V Meath Leinster Final - 3 Like(s)
You know only too well what message meant

clooney (National) - 15/06/2020 12:40:10

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "See Brooks has took over GAAs traditional September in Croke Park. Are residents going to let it happen?"
There are two sides to the story id imagine many of the Locals want this because it brings lots of money into Dublin & all that area around Croak Park it brings one of the post popular artists in the World to their own doorsteps for 5 nights, of course the converse is also true locked in your home from maybe 5pm -1am am and perhaps a small element of messing. The GAA & Croak Park are in the business of promoting Gaelic Games so money generated allows them to employ Coaches and better facilities to lure young boys & girls away from other Field Sports. The relationship with Croak Park & the Residents is apparently in fine form nowadays the GAA having spend money on Community projects Handball Alley ect. You cant please every one but IMO we will have thousands from Ireland & all over the World in Dublin with a huge amount of badly needed money pumped into Economy I hope the Locals share in this wealth & enjoy a great occasion. Personally i would love to enjoy 5 free Concerts on my doorstep

clooney (National) - 17/12/2021 12:15:21

The Limerick 5 In A Row, Will They Do It? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Well if they both qualify for the league final it should be doubled up with their Munster championship clash. The only reason not to do so is out of respect to the sponsors. It beats me why Alliance have kept up their sponsorship of a competition that in hurling has been massively downgraded in value. What a non-event of a game it will be if both reach the final. Would both teams field their reserve panels or play their regular team under the rules of golf (stand back and observe your opponent from a distance when they are hitting the ball)? Clare and maybe Cork are the only teams I think are capable of stopping Limerick doing 5 in a row. I expect both of those and Limerick to come out of Munster Barring injuries or suspensions I think Limerick will do it and fair play to them if they do."
I definitely think that Clare especially should want to win the League no silverware since 2016 if we were to meet Limerick in League final sure we both know everything about each other what on Earth could we hold up our sleeve. Anyway if you deliberately don't perform in say a League semi or Final no guarantee that you can turn it on for championship.

clooney (National) - 20/03/2024 16:31:56

National Football League 2023 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Can't believe Clare went down but you have to applaud Louth. Clare now in Tailteann unless they reach a Munster final ?"
We had great opportunities to beat both Kildare & Dublin blew both opportunities its fierce competitive in Div 2 We have a very small pool of players Bar Eire Og in Ennis all the footballers come from West and a few from North Clare Nobody from Shannon or St Josephs Doora Barefield so Colm Collins has done a superb job. Having been at a fair few matches and watching Sunday Game this possession game is dementing The top teams are not too bad as they have players of high quality in inside forward lines, the sooner Coaches try to instill in players to have a bit of devil in them and go for the score from 30/40 yards out. You simply cannot turnover a ball now as it might be 10 minutes to get it back again its a fascinating science in some ways but hard to watch. Under age clus games so much more enjoyable

clooney (National) - 20/03/2023 16:48:38

Jimmy Cooney RIP - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Loughnane should never have agreed to a replay, in his comments after the match. The Refs decision is always Final. Anyway RIP to Jimmy and sincere sympathy to all his Family"
Don't believe Ger offered a replay there was a meeting on the Sunday to review this but a very well known Commentator who liked Dog racing was in Waterford on the Saturday night and he was emphatic that there was going to be a replay it was already a done deal Clare the real losers but enough said about it now it was genuine mistake RIP to Jimmy Cooney

clooney (National) - 03/08/2023 13:07:35

The Final - 2 Like(s)
Game was there for Mayo no doubt it wasen't that Dublin played bad Mayo were better for most of game but small margins decided it (1) A few soft dubious frees to Dublin (2) Mayo squandered chances from play (3) Cillian O Connor should have nailed that free all top players do it but where was the corner forward when it came back off the post (4) Mayo management again made wrong calls took off 2 scoring forwards (5) Donal Vaughan actions were indefensible absolutely stupid would have got a scoreable free and a spare man for 30 minutes i would make no case at all for him he cost Mayo that match . Dublin are not the super team that the RTE panelists make them out to be it will haunt Mayo for the Winter

clooney (Mayo) - 18/09/2017 09:55:13