Clare Forum

Popular Posts from LohansRedHelmet

Tiernan Kelly 6 Month Ban- Thoughts - 6 Like(s)
6 months fine if it started in January next year or it should be 1 year from now. Joke he would miss no championship game for Armagh

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 01/07/2022 14:46:23

2021 Hurling Championship - 6 Like(s)

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "And the biggest decision of the game he got wrong."
He missed 2 red card tackles by Limerick players today. That being said Tipp embarrassed themselves in the second half

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 18/07/2021 18:05:00

Limerick Hurling thread 2024 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Your omniscient remarks frequently convey that you are firmly convinced of what just isn't so. Re-watch with an eye to all the coulda , woilda, shoulda been frees ,yellow and red cards. The balance would be heavily in Limerick's favor ( maybe to the tune of 10 points). Will you sit and watch as Hegarty gets slapped several times with hurley when they play the likes of Clare , only to have a free awarded against him. You can sit in your comfy seat and not worry as you won't feel a bit of it. Wake up and smell the coffee or flowers, then engage brain before operating jaws. "Not sayin nuttin, juss makn a comment""
Can you redo that in English please

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 23/03/2024 19:58:41

Tipp Hurling Fans Fighting - 4 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "They are real fans though. They're not the fans we want but they're a part of fandom. Soccer has done this 'they're not real fans' routine for years but it is not true. Any sport that has big cross community support will attract all sorts of people to its games. Living beside Croker means I've seen all sorts, from different counties including my own, down through the years. From fighting to urinating at people's front doors etc. 99% of people are great but the 1% exists and have always been there, despite what some may think."
I disagree. The comment I was making about them not being real fans are that in reality clowns like this couldnt really care less about whats happening on the pitch, they are more interest in the day out and the p*ss up.

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 20/05/2019 11:03:33

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ancientrush:  "As the train is too expensive- probably going to drive, is it easy to get on street parking in Waterford and where would people recommend?"
Mount Sion GAA club which is a 5/10 minute walk to the stadium was an excellent option for the Clare game. Safe secure parking for a 5er, excellently laid out and no major issues when leaving. They also had the bar open and a good tent with burgers etc. Highly recommended

LohansRedHelmet (Limerick) - 29/05/2019 08:10:36

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 4 Like(s)
Congratulations Limerick. Ye are everything I aspire our Clare team to be. Ye bullied us today and we have way too many off form. I expect Cork to beat us well next week and put us out of our misery. This is the end of the line for our management team who despite having a good year last year have shown themselves to be incapable of doing the job. That said, the player depth isn't there in Clare at the moment. Congrats again - ye have a super team.

LohansRedHelmet (Limerick) - 09/06/2019 20:10:42

Galway V Limerick - 4 Like(s)
You need to make sure your own house is neat and tidy before calling out simulation like Kiely did. I didn't see him complain when Diarmuid Byrnes dived to get David Reidy sent off in 2018. https://youtu.be/AdiScaZ3V1M

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 17/05/2021 09:04:41

Tipp Hurling Fans Fighting - 3 Like(s)
Its got nothing to do with the game. A few idiots in the terrace acting the tough men probably drinking all morning before the game. They are not real fans. They need to be identified and named and shamed. That would deter this behavior in future.

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 20/05/2019 09:31:42

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Jedobi:  "Kildare didn't exactly set the world on fire this year."
Jesus what is wrong with some of the Wexford lads here, ye are gone so bitter (Viking certainly not aiming that at you)

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 12/07/2023 15:26:43

9 Dubs forwards, would any not make the Mayo team? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ok, I am sure this topic will annoy a few and so on and so forth.....but so what! What do people think? I am gonna name 9 Dubs forwards. Flynn, Connolly, Kilkenny, Brogan, McManaman, Rock, Andrews, Mannion, O'Gara Now honestly, would any of those lads NOT get in the Mayo starting 15? Some may say that Deano is only there for frees, and Mayo have COC, but going on their respective form this year, that argument doesn't stand up. To be honest, I'd say Cormac Costelloe would most likely start for Mayo too I have to be honest, if Dublin get 45%-55% at Midfield, I cant see a path for Mayo to win ? Am I wrong?"
God almighty I hope Mayo smash ye.

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 08/09/2016 03:25:02

Neutral venue for Dublin and Tipperary - 3 Like(s)

Replying To northerncat:  "So the hurling draw stated that the weekend hurling qualifiers would be neutral venues Dublin did not agree to play in thurles but the gaa said the game is being played there surely this is unfair on dublin thoughts please :"
Maybe Dublin hurlers are being punished for the Dublin footballers nearly always getting home advantage?

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 04/07/2017 09:54:26

Replying To Oldtourman:  "LRH, even Sheehy and other Prominent Tipp Hurling, Nicky English were talking up this Tipp team. Like you, I could not see where all that optimism was coming from. There was an interesting full page Article in yesterdays Irish Examiner. Written by a Tipp man, it posed the question 'Why do everyone Hate Tipp?'. It may be due to the fact that they can gt so cocky, when they have little to be cocky about."
One of the reasons that Tipp struggle for likeability is like Premier28 many are stuck in the past. Tipp have I think 6 AI in 50 years but shape around the place like they have 25. The "Big 3" as it were is a historical term and is redundant. I can't be arsed running the exercise but I would love to see the spread of winners over the last 30 years. Would there be a "big 3" based on this? Hardly. Lads like Premier28 on here giving it large to Limerick lads and ranting about the 50s and 60s (when he / she was probably not even alive") is laughable stuff. I'd much rather have 5 All Irelands in the last 10 years then 6 in the last 50

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 25/06/2023 16:29:34

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 3 Like(s)
Heartfelt congratulations to you all. Its a really special time so enjoy the celebrations. We have begun planning your downfall for next year already. : )

LohansRedHelmet (Limerick) - 20/08/2018 01:43:02

Player Power comes up trumps again - 3 Like(s)
What are the players supposed to do, sit by and see the talent being wasted with stupid tactics? I would have lost respect for them if they didn't move now. If you look at Clare's championship results since 2013 they are brutal. With the talent in our team we deserve a lot more. Davy was also very happy to deflect blame on the players "their hooking and blocking stats are down on 2013" and also on referees. Never once did he accept responsibility for his own decisions, like deploying Kelly in the half back line against Wford in Munster. He was also very happy to tell everyone how he made the call for Tony Kelly to take the free to level scores in the league final replay. That is one of the biggest frustations with Davy is he would never acknowledge an error by himself but was always happy to praise himself. Davy was in a unique position in Clare whereby his father is directly involved in his appointment and the term he would remain in charge. As a result, if Davy wanted it, it was a role for life. The only way a change was going to happen is if Davy decided to go and the only way that Davy would go is if the players voiced their opinion. This needed to happen for the sake of Clare hurling and I for one am very glad the players have spoke out and Davy has respected their wishes. Notwithstanding all this, the man needs to be praised for his contribution for Clare. Directly involved in three All Irelands. 2013 was just majestic. Thank you Davy. You have made the right decision and we are grateful for that and all you have done for Clare hurling.

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 21/09/2016 06:34:01

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "Sure if he goes near a Clare PLayer they fall to the ground as if they were shot ( like Ennis last year ) and a heap of keyboard warriors like yourself stir up attacks on the media & social media against the man and anyone that ever wore a Limerick Jersey . Trash Talking & Feigning Injuries are lowest of the low but thats what Limerick face every day they go out ."
Always the victims sure

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 23/05/2023 15:39:07

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "I've seen a few of Clare's games, they are a good side alright but for them to win, absolutely everything has to go well for them, we have to underperform, and even then I can't see Clare winning. They will need at least 3 goals to do it and I don't see that happening as they will probably play with two up and we will have Campbell free to cover as a result. They had an extra man for all but the first 7 minutes against KK and it took them a long time to shake them off."
This is probably an example of the attitude the crept into the squad and resulted in todays performance by Galway.

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 04/06/2023 21:37:44

2021 Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)
Wow. The game of hurling is ruined if that is a penalty. Tipperary were given some lifeline by the referee today. I felt we were the better team bar that 10 minute period when they ref sin binned McCarthy and gave them a penalty. I think Tipp had a 7 point swing in that time. Then with 5 minutes to go at the other end, Mark Rogers is man handled in the box- no penalty. Disgraceful decisions against clare today.

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 04/07/2021 17:24:31

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "The all Ireland is weird.... I don't think Musnter as a whole had been as weak since the late 00s, I do think Leinster is great either but if I had to rank the teams it's Limerick clear no.1 and then Galway/Kilkenny 2 and 3 and the rest of the teams are God awful, I don't think Galway and Kk are wonderful but still better than the rest of them, I don't think I've seen as weak a group of pretenders ever.....if those munster teams couldn't beat Limerick now, there's no hope for them."
Nice attempt at a wind up. Few of ye from Wexford these days with too much time on your hands

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 25/06/2023 09:58:44

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 3 Like(s)
Well done Limerick and best of luck in the rest of the league. A few points from our perspective. 1. Clare conceding 4 goals - unbelievable return for Limerick and really showed problems in our full back line. That being said, i was surprised because we dont concede many goals with this new management team. Hoping this is a one-off. The league can be funny and teams can be different animals in the championship. 2. Tony Kelly is back on form thankfully. We saw greenshoots over the past few weeks but today showed he is back which is great for us. 3. Conor McGrath remains off form. Thankfully he has time to get back into form because the Conor of this league is not the Conor we know. On form, i believe he is top 3 corner forwards in the Country. 4. John Conlons - decision making is poor. Ive said it for a while now. More often then not conlon takes the wrong option. The shot for goal at the end of the game when a point wins the game was a clear example of this. He can be very selfish on the ball too but is too good a ball winner to drop. Really for Clare the league has put us in a bit of limbo. I was happy with us staying up and couldnt care less about the knockout stages but the reality is our defense is a bit all over the shop at the moment and our fullback line wont cut the mustard for the championship. Although in saying this, it is very very difficult to look into league form as a barometer of how the championship will go. Waterford were relegated but I expect them to go well again this year. Limerick on the otherhand are a team on the up with the NAP lads to come back in also and could do damage this year although it may be a year or two early to talk about All Irelands. Make hay while the sunshines though. Clare have arguably wasted our conveyor belt of talent (If an All ireland and League is considered a waste - maybe not on reflection) but I think we have enough in the tank to trouble teams this year I dont believe it will result in silverware. We would need to improve defensively, including giving away less frees and improve our accuracy. Would love to be proved wrong though. With Limerick now in the ascendancy surely this is one of the most competitive Munster championships ever.

LohansRedHelmet (Limerick) - 20/03/2018 01:19:35

Replay The Munster Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here It must go down as one of the most controverisal endings to a Hurling game in along time . I say to Limerick Gaa be big enough and offer a replay to County Clare . That is what Sport is all about,"
Jesus will you go away

LohansRedHelmet (National) - 12/06/2023 11:08:43