Cavan V Derry

Replying To sendithome:  "Gutted again should have be out of sight end of first half,the send off just killed us as we no longer could push up on the Derry kick out and it let them back in the door which should have been locked at that stage, we don't have the class up front when it matters, a play maker who knows what to do when needed,what was fergal thinking .different if we were losing at the time and it was frustration , he put cavan to the sword there are just as good wing backs in the county who can keep their discipline, , as I don't think he done enough to get a guaranteed starting position ,in fact there are club players who played well in Mckenna cup games and never featured after that, what happened to them,terry hyland seems to have his players and that's final, the players themselves must wonder what's going on, the only player who knows where he is playing is the goal keeper, Faulkner won young player award played well in the league and come champ ship he didn't no if he was in or out ,players should be picked on merit during the club championship and not because they played on the 4 under 21 teams , this is a good young panel with the desire to win and achieve ,and I don't think it's fair to them by not giving them a manager with all Ireland winning mentality to keep them together add to the team and start the league campaign with fresh ideas and a bond between panel and management like what Tyrone and Mickey Harte have, terry should walk ,and do it for the greater good , cavan gaa
Peter McGrath as done a fantastic job with Fermanagh with a limited squad , think he could be an option"
Even the goalkeeper stood static yesterday and never even attempted to save that goal , some very bad communication between him and his backs over last three games . Having said that he has had some great games too

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 17/07/2016 16:21:53    1884737

Did any of you hear Terry s interveiw after match , when asked about managing next year his reply was not talking about that bullshit or something similar

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 17/07/2016 16:27:46    1884742

I don't be on this a lot but have been to nearly every game this year .... Not one for bullshit and I'm going to call a spade a spade... There is a lot of expectation in the county that we should be up there with the best in Ulster and have the right to be in Ulster finals just because we had a bit of success at u21 level ...lets be honest we have a very average squad of players were maybe 1 or 2 at most would get onto any of the top 5 county teams in Ireland. Out of all of the u21 success we don't have 1 consistent out and out scoring forward !!!!! I think we are doing well to be in div 1 will this bring us on could do but not sure...
A lot of talk here of managers coming in but what are they coming into forwards of: Reilly mckiernan mcveety j Brady argue Seanie Keating givney
Let's say up to real county standard you have mckiernan mcveety and givney and Mackey that is all
Management have done well with an average group of players but this is as far as this Cavan team will ever go in my eyes so lads keep talking about whoever you want to get in because nothing will change

jackser (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 17/07/2016 18:43:15    1884867

Replying To seanorinn:  "I am not sure if anyone can bring this team to the next level but on balance I hope a new voice is in situ come the McKenna Cup in January. Thanks for all your hard work Terry you have brought the county along way!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts:384 - 17/07/2016 10:18:25 1884546

Really is now the time to talking about replacing management. I am sure Mr Hyland and his back room staff will know if they can bring Cavan to the next level, is it for us to start a witch hunt or a head hunt less than 24 hours after losing yesterday.
People naming two managers that are all ready in a position is showing nothing but disrespect to their respective counties they manage.

Give the player's a break and everyone else also and maybe after the championship Mr Hyland may have seen some quality or prospective potential for the start of next season."
Sean, i can't see how you can conclude from my comments that there is a "witch hunt" starting against anyone. i hope some new talent is found before January and if Terry is still in place when the McKenna Cup starts I will be supporting him and his backroom team.

I always want Cavan to win and would never want them to lose just to back up an opinion!!!

Well done to Tyrone today, there 6 year famine is over.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 17/07/2016 19:23:23    1884913

Replying To jackser:  "I don't be on this a lot but have been to nearly every game this year .... Not one for bullshit and I'm going to call a spade a spade... There is a lot of expectation in the county that we should be up there with the best in Ulster and have the right to be in Ulster finals just because we had a bit of success at u21 level ...lets be honest we have a very average squad of players were maybe 1 or 2 at most would get onto any of the top 5 county teams in Ireland. Out of all of the u21 success we don't have 1 consistent out and out scoring forward !!!!! I think we are doing well to be in div 1 will this bring us on could do but not sure...
A lot of talk here of managers coming in but what are they coming into forwards of: Reilly mckiernan mcveety j Brady argue Seanie Keating givney
Let's say up to real county standard you have mckiernan mcveety and givney and Mackey that is all
Management have done well with an average group of players but this is as far as this Cavan team will ever go in my eyes so lads keep talking about whoever you want to get in because nothing will change"
Management have done well with an average group of players but this is as far as this Cavan team will ever go in my eyes so lads keep talking about whoever you want to get in because nothing will change

jackser (Meath) - Posts:10 - 17/07/2016 18:43:15 1884867

I have to disagree with you regarding the players in Cavan, there are some cracking individuals in this county it's just a matter of bringing them into the county set up. Sounds easy doesn't it BUT if the quality don' t want to commit what can you do. Do you ask them why they don't want to play it could be something very easy to solve but I feel it's time that the quality committed to the county and that your full panel once you have established what you intend to go on with get game time. Sitting on the bench becomes a habit this mindset needs to be removed and have a panel of 26 or 30 players fighting for their place in the starting 15 week on week. It's the only way forward.
I listen to people saying this fellow and that fellow should be on the panel or watch this fella and so on. The funny thing the majority of those that are saying these things seem to be singing from the same hymn sheet and name the same players but when you challenge them they say he/they stick out well I have watched minors and U21 players playing in amalgamated teams that these know all's are talking about but they never seem to stick out for me those that these know all's are talking about. I am not going to start naming player's but the sooner we start to look beyond the development loop the better and start encouraging player's outside this loop that they are being watched and if they have potential they will get their chance. Encourage them and let's see what will happen going forward.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2016 19:28:39    1884921

IMO
Mc Veety, Reilly. Mc Kiernan argue Givney none of them are natural forwards but TH believes you have to be able to play anywhere please note the level of confusion and unsettled playthis caused in K Clarke for example who was moved out of full back line after a very successful league campaign to make room for someone else.
Any natural forwards we had Dunne",Dillon, Tierney, Hessan Bud all left the panel as TH and Co did not know how to develop and use forwards therefore they left in frustration. Brady didn't get enough game time and was constantly undermined hence his lack of progress. Faulkner like Hayes before him was cast aside after a successful league campaign. Young Buchannon, do management think at all about how they use players?
Harte gave a master class in team management today with no room for promoting favourite players at the expense of the team. He developed a full squad as does his successful counterpart in Dublin , no favouritism there hence a fully developed squad.

Persisting with a favourites first policy in which those favourites are played to the extent that they become exhausted and burnt out does not serve a team well. What we ended up with was s number of exhausted players and a bench of underused under developed talent that just walks away. Progressive? I think not. That is why we lose.
Not make progress. we have got talented committed players but they require leadership., communication and above all they need to all be valued equally.
I heard THs interview and his assertion that they would talk to the players? Who will talk to them. The 4-5 who always get their jersey will of course vote for the return of this management. Bperhaps the CB in its wisdom would interview the remainder of the panel just to be sure they are getting a clear message. I don't believe in player power and as such am surprised to hear TH speak of consultation with players. This is a COunty Board decision, it needs to be made now so that management for next season can have an opportunity to watch players in club championship. It should not be left in the hands of the current management to let the CB know when they feel like it.
I know Cavan can do better.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 17/07/2016 19:45:24    1884937

It's up to the clubs . If the clubs don't return TH well he won't be there. End of

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 17/07/2016 20:41:15    1885005

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "It's up to the clubs . If the clubs don't return TH well he won't be there. End of"
It's up to the clubs . If the clubs don't return TH well he won't be there. End of

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:499 - 17/07/2016 20:41:15 1885005

I don't think the clubs will look for his head I think this will be Mr Hyland's call

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2016 21:54:23    1885062

Replying To seanorinn:  "It's up to the clubs . If the clubs don't return TH well he won't be there. End of

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:499 - 17/07/2016 20:41:15 1885005

I don't think the clubs will look for his head I think this will be Mr Hyland's call"
Well what he couldn't do this past 4 years he's not going to do next year. That's get us to an Ulster final at the very least . He's been involved in some capacity for far too long . He has to go. Thanks and bye bye Terry!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 17/07/2016 23:34:21    1885126

Lads, lets do a benitez, and through out a few facts, Ive been reading all the posts on here, and feel there needs to be a few myths dispelled:

Terry has garnered along with the mushrooming backroom team over the years, a more commit ed bunch of players, who live and train the right way as a result of tasting success at u21.

The 4 U21 success were as a result of taking that particular championship more seriously than any of the other countys. Thay trained seperatly and prepared separately from all the other ulster counts during that successful period, and so were more cohesive and could lock down a system, and some spirit, so fair play terry (Peter Donnelly) and Peter Reilly.

Terry and his back room team have called the panel into train from October each year, and have had more or less the strongest teams on the pitch form the mckenna cup and the league at their pitch, while other counties were trying new things or not fully there in terms of fitness or sharpness. This has allowed them to climb the leagues, so fair play terry on that score.

Now lets look at his championship record forensically:

Championship wins in Terry's tenure:
Armagh (In disarray both times) x 2
Fermanagh x 2
Carlow
London
Derry (Derry fell apart in extra time) x1
Meath (In decline and still are at the time) x 1

Not one real big win was garnered.

Harrowing (drubbings) Championship defeats in Terrys tenure:
Roscommon x 2
Tyrone
Kerry (played the second half like a training session and a few deck chairs, let cavan get a few scores)
Longford (jaysus that was embarrassing)
Kildare (again seriously embarrassing)

So overall what do ya think?, I would say fair play terry, spotted a few things we could exploit, but as they say when foot is pressed to the neck, you have been severely found wanting.

Terry4taoiseach (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 18/07/2016 13:00:11    1885458

Terry and his crew have had ample time but failed. Didn't even make an Ulster Final.
Time to freshen things up now with a new crew.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/07/2016 13:52:26    1885507

"Lads, lets do a benitez, and through out a few facts, Ive been reading all the posts on here, and feel there needs to be a few myths dispelled:"

And everyone laughed at benitez and i still do. The one thing benitez did not have was fact it was pure heresay. By the way I'm not saying Terry should stay or go as due process will happen, but i have to laugh at what people call fact. It hilarious that for every cavan win, the other team lay down and that for every cavan loss it was embarrassing. My point is that people can make cases for everything and anything.

By the tone of your so called facts it sounds like someone else could have done a better job and I'm not so sure considering the resources we have. You see the thing you might want to be careful of is that you get what you wish for. As a consequence it would not be funny if another manager couldn't even reach the same level as Terry and his mushroomed crew (as another poster put it).

As i understand it there are constraints resources in this county (money wise) and the last thing we want is a yellow pack manager. Then again maybe Benitez is available, if Torquay Utd or whoever he is managing are prepared to release him.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 18/07/2016 16:31:53    1885710

Replying To ponger:  ""Lads, lets do a benitez, and through out a few facts, Ive been reading all the posts on here, and feel there needs to be a few myths dispelled:"

And everyone laughed at benitez and i still do. The one thing benitez did not have was fact it was pure heresay. By the way I'm not saying Terry should stay or go as due process will happen, but i have to laugh at what people call fact. It hilarious that for every cavan win, the other team lay down and that for every cavan loss it was embarrassing. My point is that people can make cases for everything and anything.

By the tone of your so called facts it sounds like someone else could have done a better job and I'm not so sure considering the resources we have. You see the thing you might want to be careful of is that you get what you wish for. As a consequence it would not be funny if another manager couldn't even reach the same level as Terry and his mushroomed crew (as another poster put it).

As i understand it there are constraints resources in this county (money wise) and the last thing we want is a yellow pack manager. Then again maybe Benitez is available, if Torquay Utd or whoever he is managing are prepared to release him."
Ponger, I was half way through a reply very similar in nature to yours but I just thought, what's the point?
These "facts" by someone with an anti-Hyland name in his/her username are laughable.
I would also like to point out before that other moron comes on with his "Terry brigade" nonsense that I think it's time for a change of management.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 18/07/2016 16:41:14    1885721

'BACK WHERE WE BELONG' read the front page of the Celt in April
Printed posters declaring our greatness for a mile out the N3 on the weekend of the Div 2 final
'Dare Cavan Dream?' asked the Hoganstand article last week, without a hint of irony
#thefutureisblue, they said. Too right... the worst part is we busted ourselves this year. No lack of effort and still nothing.

The talent is not there lads!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 18/07/2016 18:13:57    1885774

I don't buy the "we are useless and going no where " the same way I didn't buy "the future is blue"
In my view neither are true but both an over reaction
We are prob a div 2 team and can do well in champ with a good/ very good coach
Terry served Cavan well but is now bankrupt ...like a lot of times in life as you climb at some point you hit your celing ( Harte exposed him)

New coach
Stop picking fit, committed but low quality who ultimately get frozen out by quality opposition
Show faith in lads not exposed yet ( but on the scene for a few years)
Stop screwing lads around ...moving positions etc
Look to peak in May /June not Feb
Go with natural footballers ( I don't mean solely lads good on the ball but hold on to it)

I know we are light on scoring ball winners...but so are most counties

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 18/07/2016 20:51:50    1885872

Oh and prob go for Joe K + Oisin mcC
or Pete McG
(Something strong tactically and man mgmt wise)

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 18/07/2016 20:54:43    1885874

The finishing by Danny Cummins on Sunday, left foot and right goals. Don't think many forwards in Cavan could that. Destroyed Cavan u21s in 2011.

A new manager would bring new ideads, he wouldn't have a magic wand to invent new players.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/07/2016 20:55:56    1885876

Fools gold agree but my point is I am not saying turn us into Tyrone type
But turn us into Monaghan type
Well coached and very competent committed etc
So may win an Ulster

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 18/07/2016 21:11:15    1885887

Replying To FoolsGold:  "The finishing by Danny Cummins on Sunday, left foot and right goals. Don't think many forwards in Cavan could that. Destroyed Cavan u21s in 2011.

A new manager would bring new ideads, he wouldn't have a magic wand to invent new players."
Oh and prob go for Joe K + Oisin mcC

(Something strong tactically and man mgmt wise)

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts:20 - 18/07/2016 20:54:43 1885874

You must be joking or trying to wind the Cavan people up what could either of them offer Cavan sweet FA why not bring in another one of this gang who is the manager of Armagh at the moment McGeeney quickest way to break the County Board and go back another 15 years like we did with Carr.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/07/2016 21:31:00    1885900

Replying To Jimjo:  "Fools gold agree but my point is I am not saying turn us into Tyrone type
But turn us into Monaghan type
Well coached and very competent committed etc
So may win an Ulster"
Monaghan have an All Star forward though, McManus was the difference between Cavan and Monaghan in 2013 and 2015.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/07/2016 21:34:02    1885901