Cavan V Tyrone

What a game that's some comeback from cavan

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 21/04/2024 18:22:16    2539569

Well that was heart breaking. But very proud of those lads battling back. Lads could barely walk off the field, left it all out there. It'll take time to process that, and rewatch later. Proud though and just hope we rest up and push on in a month's time

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2418 - 21/04/2024 19:05:36    2539580

A great effort that and could easily have won… As I suspected Canavan would have too much for us but they were easy enough to open up for goals when we went at them… I thought Goldrick gave anything that was going to Tyrone but have the feeling if we had driven forward with the last play he would have given us a free in but got fed up with Cavan playing the ball backwards and just blew up.. Donegal will beat Tyrone going on what Tyrone offered today with a repeat of the league Div 2 final on the cards in the Final… Lads can rest up for a bit and hopefully we get a favourable group draw… Dublin / Clare / Cavan /Meath would be nice

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1973 - 21/04/2024 19:56:58    2539600

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A great effort that and could easily have won… As I suspected Canavan would have too much for us but they were easy enough to open up for goals when we went at them… I thought Goldrick gave anything that was going to Tyrone but have the feeling if we had driven forward with the last play he would have given us a free in but got fed up with Cavan playing the ball backwards and just blew up.. Donegal will beat Tyrone going on what Tyrone offered today with a repeat of the league Div 2 final on the cards in the Final… Lads can rest up for a bit and hopefully we get a favourable group draw… Dublin / Clare / Cavan /Meath would be nice"
Don't think we can play meath. Think they'll be a 4th seed along with ourselves.

But yeah, I'd like to get Dublin. Make it a 3 into 2 shootout between the rest.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5026 - 21/04/2024 20:34:59    2539609

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A great effort that and could easily have won… As I suspected Canavan would have too much for us but they were easy enough to open up for goals when we went at them… I thought Goldrick gave anything that was going to Tyrone but have the feeling if we had driven forward with the last play he would have given us a free in but got fed up with Cavan playing the ball backwards and just blew up.. Donegal will beat Tyrone going on what Tyrone offered today with a repeat of the league Div 2 final on the cards in the Final… Lads can rest up for a bit and hopefully we get a favourable group draw… Dublin / Clare / Cavan /Meath would be nice"
Yeah, we really should've drove at them in that last play.

Them shouting "no foul" while blatantly fouling seemed to fool Coldrick throughout. No clangers, but he definitely favoured them. The square ball his 2 umpires missed when a Tyrone man stopped his own man scoring a goal was criminal tho. They got a point out of that. McShane fouled O'Rourke twice as well and made absolutely no attempt to play the ball, just kept pulling his right arm so he couldn't make the fist pass. These are things an all ireland final referee simply shouldn't be missing.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5026 - 21/04/2024 20:52:22    2539615

Genuine hard luck today. Ye threw the kitchen sink at it and tore Tyrone apart at times. That last play in normal time for equalizer i thought ye were in for a goal to win it but the lad done right thing at time taking point. Id lke to seen Cavan go at tyrone more in first half as think effort getting back into it took it out of ye for extra time.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1805 - 21/04/2024 22:06:49    2539639

Great game great effort by cavan not going for goal at end of normal time was the crucial decision that cost us just like faulkners decision to go for goal won us the game against monaghan. Ref let the tyrone goalie take two minutes over a free in extra time and a minute on every kick out and then blue up the game early no brownie points to be earned from letting cavan get a draw no suprise there. Congratulations to all the warriors involved dont know how ye keep going year after year but unless cavan get their head out of the sand and get back all their brilliant full time coaches to coach development squads cavan are in serious problem going forward

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 21/04/2024 22:56:39    2539655

Great effort in fairness to the lads. This isn't your typical moral victory, there's genuinely reason to be optimistic about this team. I thought the referee was poor, he allowed Tyrone to continuously slow the game down. On 2 occasions Morgan took 2 minutes or so to take a free from the ground, why is this allowed? There should be a set limit on frees and if you go over that throw the ball up.

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 305 - 22/04/2024 01:48:09    2539678

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Great game great effort by cavan not going for goal at end of normal time was the crucial decision that cost us just like faulkners decision to go for goal won us the game against monaghan. Ref let the tyrone goalie take two minutes over a free in extra time and a minute on every kick out and then blue up the game early no brownie points to be earned from letting cavan get a draw no suprise there. Congratulations to all the warriors involved dont know how ye keep going year after year but unless cavan get their head out of the sand and get back all their brilliant full time coaches to coach development squads cavan are in serious problem going forward"
Thought the same when I was at the match but watching it back he was right not to go for goal, he had the option of squaring it to McLoughlin who was free but was in the square so right decision for me.

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 22/04/2024 09:41:14    2539723

what a joy watching this cavan team..im saying this thru gritted teeth but credit where its due...cavan football looks to be in a good place. playing the game well, with passion and common sense

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 186 - 22/04/2024 10:06:52    2539739

Replying To BreffniGael:  "Thought the same when I was at the match but watching it back he was right not to go for goal, he had the option of squaring it to McLoughlin who was free but was in the square so right decision for me."
He was in the square himself so if he passed to McLaughlin the goal would have stood… he had another option running in as well … had he even gone for goal himself the defender was fouling him and it would have been a penalty for sure… Hard to criticise him but these are the chances big teams take when presented with them… Cavan can take loads out of this game going into the group stages… Donegal will beat Tyrone I'd say…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1973 - 22/04/2024 10:17:19    2539746

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "He was in the square himself so if he passed to McLaughlin the goal would have stood… he had another option running in as well … had he even gone for goal himself the defender was fouling him and it would have been a penalty for sure… Hard to criticise him but these are the chances big teams take when presented with them… Cavan can take loads out of this game going into the group stages… Donegal will beat Tyrone I'd say…!"
He was in the square himself so if he passed to McLaughlin the goal would have stood… he had another option running in as well … had he even gone for goal himself the defender was fouling him and it would have been a penalty for sure… Hard to criticise him but these are the chances big teams take when presented with them… Cavan can take loads out of this game going into the group stages… Donegal will beat Tyrone I'd say…!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1916 - 22/04/2024 10:17:19 2

Bit like the goal Monaghan got against Tyrone last year to beat them. O'toole had the chance to pop it over the bar to level the game but went for the Onion bag.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 851 - 22/04/2024 12:16:28    2539820

Great to see a Cavan team tearing into the opposition with passion and go forward football compared to the absolute dross we had to endure for the last few years under MG… Even though we were disappointed to loose yesterday all the fans I talked to enjoyed the game and appreciated the whole hearted effort put in unlike previous defeats down the years when the game was lost long before the end down to silly negative tactics… Roll on the group games now….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1973 - 22/04/2024 17:22:11    2539941

While the defeat in Kingspan Breffini at the death still stings, very proud of the performance and fight Cavan gave. It was such a courageous and passionate effort by the players, and a delight to watch. The cheers, and buzz from the crowd, in the sunshine was immense. The roars and shouts, with the constant scoring was a joy. It was real Championship! Cavan really stuck at it, as Tyrone's Donnelly, and midfielder Kennedy dominated and their score taking was unreal. 2-10 in second half was brilliant. The Ref gave advantage to Tyrone, no big ones but got easier frees. M Kernan black card missed, McShane's grabbing and fouling of Keeper and as for Niall Morgan's delay of all kick outs, and free's, it really was hard to understand. Just great to see Cavan pressure and run at Tyrone. Knocked them back. So very close, players were simply out on their feet at the end. Just gave it their all, and only have to be very happy if hurt with result. An Cabhán abú

Breffini1967 (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 22/04/2024 20:28:19    2539973

The usual moral victory fans were hoping for, to be content until next year?? Instead of questioning tactics, effort and attitude in the 1st half when the game was ultimately lost.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 22/04/2024 22:49:22    2539994

i'm surprised nobody has yet mentioned the point that was'nt !! "scored" by Tyrone in first half anybody sitting on upper stand side had a good view of it, ball veered to right of top post and at least a foot wide , umpire was badly positioned under the post but made the call for a point anyway, Also 2 crucial sideline balls given to Tyrone in each half both of them clearly not out.
It's always the little things ! we just never seem to get the rub of the green.
thought Mr Coldrick gave Tyrone some really soft ones and always in kickable positions and really annoyed by way he allowed so much time wasting by Morgan and how the antics of no 4 McKiernan went unpunished is beyond me,
I hope our players and us supporters can bottle yesterdays display and that we can give the Sam Maguire a good rattle.

fulltimeblues (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 23/04/2024 04:40:10    2540019

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Great to see a Cavan team tearing into the opposition with passion and go forward football compared to the absolute dross we had to endure for the last few years under MG… Even though we were disappointed to loose yesterday all the fans I talked to enjoyed the game and appreciated the whole hearted effort put in unlike previous defeats down the years when the game was lost long before the end down to silly negative tactics… Roll on the group games now…."
Great to see a Cavan team tearing into the opposition with passion and go forward football compared to the absolute dross we had to endure for the last few years under MG… Even though we were disappointed to loose yesterday all the fans I talked to enjoyed the game and appreciated the whole hearted effort put in unlike previous defeats down the years when the game was lost long before the end down to silly negative tactics… Roll on the group games now….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1919 - 22/04/2024 17:22:11

I take it you didn't see the first half and must have only started to watch the game after the Tyrone black card?

It's fair to give praise for the come back and the fight that was shown but i think it is only fair to also point out the first half performance was not good enough and the tactics in that period and at the start of the second half hand us heading towards a bad beating.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 851 - 23/04/2024 08:59:43    2540037

Replying To RHF:  "Great to see a Cavan team tearing into the opposition with passion and go forward football compared to the absolute dross we had to endure for the last few years under MG… Even though we were disappointed to loose yesterday all the fans I talked to enjoyed the game and appreciated the whole hearted effort put in unlike previous defeats down the years when the game was lost long before the end down to silly negative tactics… Roll on the group games now….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1919 - 22/04/2024 17:22:11

I take it you didn't see the first half and must have only started to watch the game after the Tyrone black card?

It's fair to give praise for the come back and the fight that was shown but i think it is only fair to also point out the first half performance was not good enough and the tactics in that period and at the start of the second half hand us heading towards a bad beating."
Admittedly the first half wasn't great but they missed a couple of good chances too that could have left the gap closer at ht…at least they changed and pushed up on the kick outs which would never happen under the previous management regardless of who the opposition was… the black card was very strange and the only decision that really went against Tyrone…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1973 - 23/04/2024 10:12:15    2540055

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "The usual moral victory fans were hoping for, to be content until next year?? Instead of questioning tactics, effort and attitude in the 1st half when the game was ultimately lost."
Well firstly they don't have to wait until next year they have the Sam Maguire and at least three more top level games to play. Cavan have struggled this year to get the balance right and have had poor first halves in almost every game followed by second halves where we really go after teams. You have to strike a better balance between the two and I don't think it's as simple as saying they should play the way they did in the second half all the time as that's not sustainable over 70 plus minutes and it's very high risk. You might question the tactics in the first half but it's unfair to question their effort or attitude. The other thing about Sunday is that they started well with the goal and point Madden got and Holla should have scored another goal too, they were also other point chances resulting in a number of wides and shots dropped short so that approach was working to a point. The other factor for me is not starting with Smith, McLoughlin or Clarke. The first two made a big difference for me in the second half and Clarke only came on with 5 minutes to go. Tactics might have been different if they were all available from the start.

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 23/04/2024 10:57:16    2540072

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Admittedly the first half wasn't great but they missed a couple of good chances too that could have left the gap closer at ht…at least they changed and pushed up on the kick outs which would never happen under the previous management regardless of who the opposition was… the black card was very strange and the only decision that really went against Tyrone…"
The biggest decision of the game and the only thing that saved Cavan from a heavy defeat. Ah well at least you won YOUR All Ireland a couple of weeks previously.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 24/04/2024 00:09:41    2540306