Qualifiers

On another note (well on the topic that the thread was set up for actually), Sweeney kicked 0-13 in a senior club game in Tipp at the weekend.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/07/2017 12:06:25    2010908

I'm probably getting ahead of myself but if Cavan win on Saturday, can they meet Monaghan again in round 3 ..? I seen on some other forum where it compared Roscommon's potential run to a quarter final with Monaghan's potential run and it listed the teams Monaghan could face in round 3 of the qualifiers and Cavan was not on the list ... perhaps they know more than me!! I assumed we could meet again ... Anyway best of luck Cavan on Sunday, it will be tight so hopefully home advantage will swing it. The powers that be decided to have the Tipp Hurlers playing down the country on the same day so we should have 90% of the support ...

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 05/07/2017 12:36:10    2010936

Replying To sidelineview:  "I'm probably getting ahead of myself but if Cavan win on Saturday, can they meet Monaghan again in round 3 ..? I seen on some other forum where it compared Roscommon's potential run to a quarter final with Monaghan's potential run and it listed the teams Monaghan could face in round 3 of the qualifiers and Cavan was not on the list ... perhaps they know more than me!! I assumed we could meet again ... Anyway best of luck Cavan on Sunday, it will be tight so hopefully home advantage will swing it. The powers that be decided to have the Tipp Hurlers playing down the country on the same day so we should have 90% of the support ..."
Roscommon are in Provincial final so I assume if they lost to Galway they could play either of the 1A qualifiers in the last twelve and if they won that game they would play Kerry in the last 8, having already played Galway in the Provincial Final.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 05/07/2017 13:15:08    2010952

As far as I know we can meet Monaghan again. We could've met them in this round if drawn to play so don't see any reason why they'd separate us in the next round.

I think the article you're referring to originated on joe.ie so I'd take it with a pinch of salt. Their sports reporting is appalling!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/07/2017 14:56:51    2011011

Replying To cavanman47:  "As far as I know we can meet Monaghan again. We could've met them in this round if drawn to play so don't see any reason why they'd separate us in the next round.

I think the article you're referring to originated on joe.ie so I'd take it with a pinch of salt. Their sports reporting is appalling!"
For what it's worth lads this comment on potential future fixtures appeared on Monaghan site .................dunno myself !

Monaghan can't play Cavan in Rd 3.. the rules state the previous meetings in the championship have to be avoided. This rule only applies from rd 3 onwards.
if we beat Wexford, we play either winners of Carlow v Leitrim, Armagh v Westmeath or Tipperary if they beat Cavan. We can't play Cavan again.
If we come through then to Rd 4, its likely to be either Down (Hope Down beat Tyrone though!) or Kildare. We can only play Down again if Armagh come through 3B too.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts:43 - 03/07/2017 16:38:21 2009793

There is a possibility that we can play Down again but only if Armagh come through in round 4 too... as both Monaghan and Armagh have played Down already in the championship. If we get through to Round 4, its either Down or most likely Kildare.! I'd fancy Cavan and Monaghan to come through as winners of 3B so likely pairings in round 4 would then be Cavan v Down and Monaghan v Kildare. SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts:43 - 04/07/2017 11:37:06 2010

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 05/07/2017 15:20:44    2011030

Yeah we definitely can't get Monaghan in the next round, IF we manage to get past Tipp.
So the most likely run in for us would be Tipp, then Armagh or Carlow/Leitrim, and then it would be a game against Down to reach to quarter finals, assuming Monaghan also come through with us, and Down lose to Tyrone.
All very winnable games but at the same time nothing easy.
Just need to worry about Tipp for now anyway.

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 06/07/2017 11:18:53    2011418

Replying To SamuraiBlue:  "Yeah we definitely can't get Monaghan in the next round, IF we manage to get past Tipp.
So the most likely run in for us would be Tipp, then Armagh or Carlow/Leitrim, and then it would be a game against Down to reach to quarter finals, assuming Monaghan also come through with us, and Down lose to Tyrone.
All very winnable games but at the same time nothing easy.
Just need to worry about Tipp for now anyway."
Nothing winnable about the Down game IF we got that far.
But we won't beat Tipperary on the form of our last 2 games.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 06/07/2017 11:50:21    2011436

Was the same last season talking sh1t about getting to All Ireland QF, all we had to do was beat Derry at home and Tipp after that. walk in the park

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 06/07/2017 15:11:43    2011544

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Nothing winnable about the Down game IF we got that far.
But we won't beat Tipperary on the form of our last 2 games."
I do hope we win if only to annoy begrudgers like you aww now.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 06/07/2017 16:03:06    2011565

Team is selected ..a few brave if strange decisions ..mc dermott might feel hard done by

Panel in Full:
1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
2. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
3. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
4. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
5. James McEnroe (Ramor United)
6. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
7. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
8. Liam Buchanan (Ballymachugh)
9. Tomas Corr (Denn)
10. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
11. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
12. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
13. Caoimhin O'Reilly (Butlersbridge)
14. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
15. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)

16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Fergal Reilly (Castlerahan)
18. Killian Brady (Mullahoran)
19. Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels)
20. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)
21. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
22. Shane O'Rourke (Laragh United)
23. Joe Dillon (Kingscourt)
24. Niall McKiernan (Lacken)
25. Ryan Connolly (Drumlane)
26. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 06/07/2017 21:32:48    2011701

Team still not settled, I would expect McKiernan to operate around the 40.

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 06/07/2017 21:54:49    2011713

I like the team named ,, Probably a few swaps in posistions on the day,

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 06/07/2017 21:55:50    2011714

I like the team too...a brave selection.. Is it the first time in our history to pick a starting 15 from 15 different clubs I wonder..? Not something you would see too often anywhere ...!! Good luck tomorrow boys...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 07/07/2017 05:58:02    2011760

Replying To Sean.66:  "I like the team too...a brave selection.. Is it the first time in our history to pick a starting 15 from 15 different clubs I wonder..? Not something you would see too often anywhere ...!! Good luck tomorrow boys..."
Interesting point but its probably happened before, lately we have had many clubs with more than 1/2 men on our 15

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 305 - 07/07/2017 08:18:49    2011814

I like the luck of that team too.
Niall McDermott may feel a little aggrieved but I can see why he opted for the inside line as selected. It's most important to have two free takers, one from the right and from the left. I would assume Gearoid will take from the right and Caomhin from the left. It will be interesting to see how Caoimhin gets on. I would say there will be a few positional changes

The best of luck to the lads and here's hoping for a Breifne win. "Come on the Blues".

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 07/07/2017 08:34:14    2011821

I like that team as well, its a bold lineup, you would imagine Ciaran Brady drops back into defence but its quite attacking apart from that.
Lets face it, the full forward line that started previous games werent doing it on the scoreboard so can see why it was dismantled. I think SJ would actually be better coming off the bench with 20 to go to kill the game when it stretches, McDermott might consider himself unlucky but good to have him coming in off the bench.

Caoimhin O'Reilly definitely worth a run, he is the pick of the u21s and has been putting up big scores at club level. Dont want to see Gearoid get dragged all over the place so would like to see him left on the square for at least a half and pump a few balls into him to see if it works, we definitely need to try something with the ff line because we aint going too far until that line starts putting up scores

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 07/07/2017 08:34:59    2011822

Replying To HuddHastings:  "I like that team as well, its a bold lineup, you would imagine Ciaran Brady drops back into defence but its quite attacking apart from that.
Lets face it, the full forward line that started previous games werent doing it on the scoreboard so can see why it was dismantled. I think SJ would actually be better coming off the bench with 20 to go to kill the game when it stretches, McDermott might consider himself unlucky but good to have him coming in off the bench.

Caoimhin O'Reilly definitely worth a run, he is the pick of the u21s and has been putting up big scores at club level. Dont want to see Gearoid get dragged all over the place so would like to see him left on the square for at least a half and pump a few balls into him to see if it works, we definitely need to try something with the ff line because we aint going too far until that line starts putting up scores"
Agree, SJ is an impact sub now. He does not have the engine anymore for the full 70

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 07/07/2017 08:45:01    2011825

Replying To McGiolla:  "Agree, SJ is an impact sub now. He does not have the engine anymore for the full 70"
Happy with the team , I would still have joe dillion in there, but something had to be done with full forward line, hope ball goes in now?? Best of luck Saturday lads

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 07/07/2017 11:20:21    2011885

Replying To blueman1903:  "Happy with the team , I would still have joe dillion in there, but something had to be done with full forward line, hope ball goes in now?? Best of luck Saturday lads"
Quote Liam Kearns:
"My fellas will fight on their backs. It does not matter what the circumstances are. We are playing a division one team in their own back yard, but we will go up there to try and win the match."

So be weary of the wounded team. Remember Waterford????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/07/2017 11:55:27    2011899

Replying To seanorinn:  "Quote Liam Kearns:
"My fellas will fight on their backs. It does not matter what the circumstances are. We are playing a division one team in their own back yard, but we will go up there to try and win the match."

So be weary of the wounded team. Remember Waterford????"
Sean, we were 1/50 to beat Waterford on that oh so sad day for Cavan football. Tomorrow we play a team who played an All Ireland Semi Final last August and were beaten by the minimum by Cork in Cork the last day out.

I like the fact that changes were made up front, they were needed given the performances to date.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 07/07/2017 12:25:18    2011921