Saturday's club provincial intermediate and junior football round-up

November 12, 2022

Castlerahan's Cormac Daly looks to go past Barry Fortune of Cavan Gaels

It was a busy day in the provincial club intermediate and junior football championships with eight matches taking place across both grades.

Cavan SFC champions in 2018 and 2019, Castlerahan put in a strong final 10 minutes that yielded four unanswered points from Sean Og McGearty, Cormac Daly (2) and Karl Cosgrove to see off the challenge of Fermanagh opposition St Mary's Devenish by 0-13 to 0-10 at Ederney.

Donegal representatives Dungloe also secured their progression to the Ulster club IFC semi-finals after coming from three points down at half-time to defeat 13-man Dunloy Cuchullains (Antrim) 1-11 to 0-7 at Ahoghill.

In the Connacht club IFC quarter-final at Tuam Stadium, Matthew Redington's early goal set 15-time Galway SFC winners Dunmore MacHales on their way to a 1-10 to 0-8 victory over St Molaise Gaels of Sligo.

Meanwhile, in the Munster club IFC, Cork champions Kanturk proved too strong for Clare counterparts Kildysart (Clare) on a scoreline of 3-11 to 0-6 and Na Piarsaigh of Limerick enjoyed a double-scores (2-10 to 1-5) win against Roanmore (Waterford).

Roscommon outfit St Ronan's will contest the Connacht club JFC final following their 1-12 to 0-9 defeat of Sligo's Owenmore Gaels.


Connacht club IFC quarter-final
Dunmore MacHales (Galway) 1-10 St Molaise Gaels (Sligo) 0-8, Tuam Stadium, 12pm FT

Munster club IFC quarter-finals
Kanturk (Cork) 3-11 Kildysart (Clare) 0-6, Cusack Park, 1.15pm FT
Na Piarsaigh (Limerick) 2-10 Roanmore (Waterford) 1-5, Kilmallock, 1.15pm FT

Ulster club IFC quarter-finals
Dungloe (Donegal) 1-11 Dunloy Cuchullains (Antrim) 0-7, Ahoghill, 1.30pm FT
Castlerahan (Cavan) 0-13 St Mary's, Devenish (Fermanagh) 0-10, St Joseph's Park, Ederney, 1.30pm FT

Connacht club JFC semi-final
St Ronan's (Roscommon) 1-12 Owenmore Gaels (Sligo) 0-9, Dr Hyde Park, 1pm FT

Munster club JFC quarter-finals
Castlemahon (Limerick) 1-18 Shamrocks (Waterford) 2-12, Feohanagh-Castlemahon, 1.15pm FT
Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) 1-9 Liscannor (Clare) 2-7, Hennessy Memorial Park, Miltown-Malbay, 1.15pm FT

Most Read Stories