Derry edge Armagh for third All-Ireland MFC crown in five years

July 07, 2024

Derry's Cathal O'Mainan celebrates the final whistle ©INPHO/Tom Maher

Derry are All-Ireland minor football champions for the second year running thanks to a 2-7 to 0-10 victory over Armagh in Omagh this afternoon.

Damian McErlain’s lads had led by 0-3 to 0-1 after the opening five minutes at a soaking wet Healy Park ahead of scores from Diarmaid O’Rourke and Fionn Toal tying things up for the Orchard County.

Then came the holders’ first goal via a James Sargent penalty that seemingly put them in the driving seat, but the points of Gavin O’Rourke and Michael Finnegan (‘45’) helped Armagh go in all square at the break (1-3 to 0-6).

Finnegan sailed over another ‘45’ to nudge Aidan O’Rourke’s side in front early in the restart and they’d double their advantage before the Oak Leafers hit 1-3 without reply to storm to the title.

Sargent, Luke Grant and Eamon Young provided the points and, in the end, it was Cody Rocks’ palmed goal 10 minutes from the end that proved the difference as Derry clinched their seventh ever Tom Markham Cup.

Most Read Stories