Derry edge out Armagh to retain Ulster minor football crown

May 26, 2024

Armagh's Gavin O'Rourke tackles Eamon Young of Derry ©INPHO/Leah Scholes

Derry are Ulster minor football champions for the second year in-a-row after edging Armagh with a 0-12 to 1-7 victory in Omagh this afternoon.

Damian McErlain’s lad came up with the goods in the second-half to retain their title, with points from Luke Grant, Ger Dillon and Eamon Young down the home stretch proving the difference for them.

The scoreboard had read 0-4 to 0-3 in favour of the holders when Armagh struck the game’s only goal via Eoin Duffy in the 20th minute.

Derry responded with scores from Young, Dillon (free) and James Sargent to take in the slenderest of leads (0-7 to 1-3) at half-time and extended it after the change of ends thanks to frees form Young and Dillon.

The Orchard County hit back with points from Aaron Garvey and Fionn Toale before the Oak Leafers got motoring again to see out the two-point victory and retain their title.

Most Read Stories