Tyrone down Kerry for second All-Ireland U20FC triumph in three years

May 19, 2024

Tyrone's Eoin McElholm celebrates against Kerry ©INPHO/Ben Brady

Tyrone are All-Ireland U20 football champions for the second time in three years after seeing off Kerry by 1-20 to 1-14 in the Portlaoise sunshine this afternoon.

Joey Clarke’s goal after 13 minutes set the Red Hands on their path to victory as they went on towards a 1-8 to 0-7 half-time lead before winning out by six in the end.

Kerry looked to close the gap with a point from Cormac Dillon early in the restart, but the Ulster champions got four unaswered points instead that left them with one hand on the Clarke Cup.

Ronan Cassidy (2), Eoin McElholm and Ruairi McCullagh raised the white flags that made it 1-16 to 0-11 with 10 minutes remaining at O’Moore Park.

Tomás Ó Sé’s lads got a lifeline two minutes later when they were awarded a penalty which Luke Crowley dispatched and backed up with a point in the very next Kingdom attack.

However, a hat-trick of points from McElholm down the home stretch would ensure the Red Hands’ triumph and their county’s seventh All-Ireland crown overall in the U21/U20 grade.

Most Read Stories